Friday, November 30, 2012

A pair of promos for A&E's Bates Motel

Production is well underway on A&E's Psycho prequel Bates Motel (Basement pal Randall Mensing is part of the crew). Now the network has seen fit to give us not one but two teasers for the upcoming program.

This TV series intends to give viewers an intimate understanding of how Norman Bates' psyche developed from his childhood through his teen years. Fans will have access to the dark, twisted backstory and learn first hand how his mother, Norma (Vera Farmiga), and her damaged son Norman (Freddie Highmore), forged the most well-known serial killing motel owner in history.

Hard to say how this will turn out. But it's not a mainstream network show, so that's a plus. And images I've seen of the infamous Psycho house are spot on. We'll know more when the series premieres on A&E next year.

Now for the promos, bitches!





Thanks to Coming Soon for the teasers.

Jason and Shawn review Universal Soldier: Day of Reckoning and The Barrens

Universal Soldier: Day of Reckoning

Jason: The latest entry in the Universal Soldiers series left me with mixed emotions. Who'd of thunk that from a B-grade action movie!?!

On the plus side: the action sequences in this movie OWN! These are brutal, rough and tumble throwdowns that don't disappoint. The final 20 minutes are bad to the ass! And kudos to Scott Adkins for giving the fight scenes his all.

The bad: Jean-Claude Van Damme and Dolph Lundgren are but bit players in this, yet they are sold as the stars. Not their fault. I blame marketing. Still, It'd of been nice to see more of these guys. Their scenes are great, as are the fights with Adkins, but there's not enough of them.

All said and done, I dug this Universal Soldier. It was different than the entries that have come before, and that's what I appreciate most about it. And it's great to see a venue for Adkins to shine. I'd watch this again, which means it gets a Good.

Shawn: Didn’t like it as much as the last one. Gotta say that right off the bat. Needs more Van Damme. More Dolph. If you are going to have them in the movie, goddamn use them! Both those motherfuckers can act, AND kick ass.

Some pretty rad fight scenes in this movie. Well, one for sure. In the sporting goods store. It was just a weird story. They didn’t pull any punches in terms of violence either. Kid and wife got shot. They showed the kid multiple times as flashback memories with a bullet in her head. Sadly, I think they are a little late on the line-crossing bandwagon too.

While I could find a lot I didn’t like, there was a lot I did. I’ll watch it again, so that rates it a Good. But barely. I would only watch specific scenes. In the old days, this would be a fastforward watch for a second or third time.

The Barrens

Jason: For the most part this is a psychological thriller, with the whole Jersey Devil story serving as the backdrop for one man's descent into madness. Think The Shining set in the Pine Barrens and you kinda get the idea of Darren Lynn Bousman's The Barrens.

The acting really saved this for me. Stephen Moyer, Mia Kirschner and the kids do a really good job. And I love the whole urban legend of the Jersey Devil. Bousman does a good job of keeping us guessing too. Is Moyer losing it? Or is the Devil really after him and his family?

It's the final few minutes that helped me determine my rating. And I loved the way this movie ends. Makes the rest of the trip worthwhile. I'd show this flick to fellow horror fans, as it's worth the watch. A Good from me.

Shawn: Here is a strange little movie. Effective at using the “woods” to creep me out, and that is a chore, since I grew up in the woods. OK, so it wasn’t the woods, it’s the psychotic people in them. Rabies infected bastards.

I didn’t like that the movie toted along and made me believe insanity was the answer…when it clearly could have been…then hit me with a monster. It was a strange formula for me, and it didn’t work, from where I sat. 

I won’t watch it again, because the story wasn’t great either. I found my self easily distracted by the Doritos bag, or shiny stuff… Not horrible, not great. I give' er a Bad.

Thursday, November 29, 2012

The Countdown To Extinction: Independence Day

I wonder. What could happen on the 21st of December, this year?

Could it be alien invasion, such as the movie Independence Day? Even the belly of the giant ships look kinda like the Mayan Calendar! haha.

Independence Day is big budget....and it is one of my top 10 favorite movies of all time. Not because of the wow, or the "eye candy" of the era, but I like the bleak feel of helplessness when the alien ships start appearing.

The  theme gets even more desperate when the ships attack. Not much we can do when something that size invades. Sadly, the "Americans" figure out a way to fight back. Haha. "Sadly"  I kid. The Emmerich brothers both make some great "KILL EARTH" movies. They always start with the U.S. Haha. Wonder if THAT means anything? While I love my American Hillbilly neighbors, it seems the Emmerich's do not, I also dug this movie a lot. A Good. Countdown to the End continues.

Wait until you read what I have in store for December 22, 2012. WOOT.

Billy Trigger set report part one, Universal Soldier: Day of Reckoning and The Barrens

You've read all about it, now hear the skinny on Jason's two-day adventure in action movie filmmaking as The Basement returns to the airwaves with the first audio report from the set of Billy Trigger!

Tonight, you'll hear a round-table discussion featuring Billy Trigger himself -- star/screenwriter John Fallon (pictured) and Fred "The Hammer" Williamson. Plus we've got a one-on-one with director Christian Viel, and co-star Deke Richards. Stick with us!

As always, we review some movies, and the first on the chopping block is Universal Soldier: Day of Reckoning. This fourth entry in the long-running action series once again stars Jean-Claude Van Damme and Dolph Lundgren and adds up-and-comer Scott Adkins to the mix. It also brings back Universal Soldier: Regeneration director John Hyams, so the action should be brutal and balls to the wall.

The Basement Boys then turn their attention to writer/director Darren Lynn Bousman's The Barrens, which stars Canadian hottie Mia Kirshner and True Blood's Stephen Moyer in a horrific tale of a family hunted by the legendary Jersey Devil.

So tune in at 10 p.m. PST at 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops and online at www.thex.ca. You can also follow along to the mad tweets of Mike S of The Corner of Terror on Twitter! We know you've missed us. We can smell it on you.

To revisit Jason's written reports on Billy Trigger, check out part one, two, three and four.

Now for a preview of tonight's filmed entertainment:

Universal Soldier: Day of Reckoning



The Barrens


Riddick is back . . . in French!

We haven't heard much about the upcoming follow up to Pitch Black and the Chronicles of Riddick in quite some time, and that includes a release date for the film. But the R-rated sequel is headed our way in 2013 -- so say the French.

Below is the quite awesome poster for the film's release in the land of cheese and wine. Nothing yet on a North American date or poster, but we'll keep yah posted as always.

Until then, here's a synopsis for said image: Betrayed by his own kind and left for dead on a desolate planet, Riddick fights for survival against alien predators and becomes more powerful and dangerous than ever before. Soon bounty hunters from throughout the galaxy descend on Riddick only to find themselves pawns in his greater scheme for revenge. With his enemies right where he wants them, Riddick unleashes a vicious attack of vengeance before returning to his home planet of Furya to save it from destruction.

Poster courtesy of Horror-Movies.ca.

Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Mark Dossett talks The Torment of Laurie Ann Cullom

Below is a feature interview with writer/director Mark Dossett, who is currently putting together funding for his first feature film -- The Torment of Laurie Ann Cullom. Shawn and I will provide an on-air interview with Mark early in the second half of Season Four.

Where did the idea for The Torment of Laurie Ann Cullom come from?
 
I grew up in Hampton Roads Va. Back in 1984-85 there was a guy who was abducting women from the mall parking lot. He would target women who worked late. He'd slash their tires and when they would walk back to the mall he would show up to help them and then abduct them.
 
I also heard about a woman who lived in my neighborhood that would never leave her house. She suffered from agoraphobia. The fear of open places that can cause panic attacks! Sigourney Weaver's character had it in COPY CAT with Harry Conick Jr.
 
I just merged those 2 ideas together. The #1 thing you have to create in horror movies is ISOLATION. Thats why the first line in the majority of horror movies from the past decade has been "Damn...no signal!" Cell phones changed things drastically that way! In the 80's it was.."Damn the phone lines have been cut!"
 
You say you want to do for houses what Jaws did for the ocean. How are you going to achieve that?
 
The first scene in JAWS was terrifying. The woman being thrased around in the water by an unseen force. We never saw the shark but our mind made it the worst monster we could imagine. Our minds do more than anything I can put on screen. As a filmmaker you just have to guide your audience into that mind space. If you lay in bed and stare at a dark corner long enough you will see someone standing there if thats what you are fearfull of! Someone or something in our house is one of the most horrifying  and realistic things that can and does happen. Now imagine you are even more scared of the one thing everyone else would do..... run out of the house. It's that feeling of being trapped. I create that on screen ...well....then I got you!!! If you saw BURIED with Ryan Reynolds...you or at least I felt like I was in the coffin with him. Thats my plan for this film.
 
Is this your first film? If not, what other projects have you worked on?
 
Are you kidding?? I have worked with everyone from Sid Haig to Brad Pitt....... yes it is my first film! I am very happy this will be my first film too. It won't look anything like Ti West's TRIGGERMAN (his 2nd film)...I promise!!!
 
What movies have inspired you?
 
All the ones I am getting ready to mention are based on story and look and feel of a horror movie.
JAWS,THE SHINING,HALLOWEEN are the main ones. Lately I love these 3 french horror films THEM,HIGH TENSION and INSIDE. I am gonna get ripped for this.... but .... I love the look and feel of HOUSE OF THE DEVIL by Ti West! I grew up in the 80's so it was a fun film as well as one I study on lighting. I literally have tons of screen shots of that movie in a folder on my desktop. It is consider a slow burn by many but I like it for that. It was alot different then any other film at the time.
 
The Shining is my main influence on this film! Stanley Kubrick did so much to creep people out on that film they don't even realize it! He had the prop department paint the ALDER typewriter from white to a drak grey to show how Jack was going insane. You don't even realize it but it's there! The carpet pattern used in the hallway that Danny was riding his bigwheel on makes you feel like your either coming or going. It creates a feeling of unease and no escape...subliminal
as it is...it's there for a reason. That entire hotel was recreated on a sound stage as well as the maze. Genuis filmmaking! Why because it stays with you. Just like PSYCHO and JAWS. You don't get in the shower or swim in the ocean with out thinking about those 2 movies.
 
How far into pre-production are you? What's the important next step?
 
My main goal is to pay my cast and crew. They make your film a success. I want them to be commited to the project so I have to be commited to them as well. Thats why I am not approaching
anyone till I know I can put cash in their hand to secure their services. I live in Orlando and there are tons of cast and crew members to pull from due to FULLSAIL being right down the road.
So I am at the funding stage right now! The next step is holding audtions once funding is in place.
 
How are you going about drumming up funding? What is the proposed budget for The Torment of Laurie Ann Cullom?
 
I am running the campaign here  http://www.indiegogo.com/tolac. Twitter has been the biggest help with getting people to it!!! I have a facebook fan page but it is completely useless!! There is no way to reach out to people with it. If there is...it is a shitty concept!! Twitter has made it so easy to find my fan base..we are talking right now becasue of it...not facebook!
The buget is $30,000 and thats out the door submitted to festivals and ready for distribution!
 
 
How can people contribute to the movie?

Simply click here and your golden! http://www.indiegogo.com/tolac My twitter page is https://twitter.com/C_2_IT
 
What incentives are you offering those who contribute to the film?
 
Actually that has been the fun part of this process so far! You have total creativity to do cool things for people! I have everything from a digital download link for $5 all the way to a cameo in the movie and IMDb Co Producer Credit for $2,500. In between that I will shoot a thank you video and place it on your choice of 3 web sites for $50. Just tonight actor Larry Fleming donated $500 and he will not only get a digital download link,dvd,signed poster,phone call from me,signed prop, a thank you video from the cast but also his picture will be featured in the movie. Laurie Ann Cullom being alone would have her house filled with pictures and Larry is one of them now!!! He will get a close up shot so you will see it's him. I call it the TELECOMMUTE THANK YOU .

When are cameras expected to roll?
 
My goal is to get it funded by the end of DEC,cast by middle of Jan and start shooting FEB 15th .....ideally! I will be directing and editing it. I like the Quentin Tarantino/Robert Rodriguez approach to filmmaking.

Any proposed release dates in mind?

Ready to submit to fetsivals by middle of April 2013.  I have it planned for horror festivals because thats where it will do the best. The Orlando Freak Fest and LA's Scream Fest are targets among others!!

The end is near with Maximum Overdrive

Who doesn't remember the clown faced RIG? Also, the end isn't quite the end, without Stephen King.

Another comet comes close to earth, but doesn't smack it.  Instead, the tail dust emits a radiation, bringing machines to life. The machines are homicidal. Why wouldn't they be?  Can the human race survive the eight days in the tail of this comet?

This movie involved AC/DC's Who Made Who album as the entire soundtrack.  his album kicked ass and so did the movie.

I dug the hell out of this movie. Loved some of the machines' kills. Lawn mowers, vehicles, pop machine (fantastic), and an electric knife goes on the attack. There are quite a few more than that.

 Survival turns into a bit of slavery when the machines discover humans are needed to fuel them up!

In the end you can't be as smart as a human. We already know the end it coming.  Dec 21, 2012. Stay tuned for more end of the world!

The Countdown Continues with Night of the Comet

The countdown to the Mayan Calendar's end continues with Night Of The Comet.

Stargazing a comet can kill. Not many survive this celestial event that doesn't actually crash into earth. It does leave some effects. Most of the population dies in a haze of red dust. Some survivors are zombie-ish. True survivors escaped the radiation by being in some sort of metallic container as the comet passed.

One survivor,  Catherine Mary Stewart, is as beautiful today as she was in the 80's and then some.

That said, her and her "valley girl" friend ( Kelli Maroney) battle the evils to survive, in a sparsely populated earth.

There is a few twists and turns which make this movie a fun and halfway intelligent ride.

I could survive the end with these two hotties. haha. This was my first ever end of the world movie. Dig it, suckas. Good.

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

International poster for Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters adds Famke Janssen

And that's pretty much all that's different from the domestic poster for the upcoming Jeremy Renner-Gemma Arterton horror/comedy Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters. Oh, and some of the writing is in Japanese or some shit.

But hey, any excuse to show off some Arterton, right? Right? And yeah, I'm still looking forward to Tommy Wirkola's spin on the classic story of siblings and witches. Only now Hansel and Gretel are all grown up and kicking witch ass. The lovely Famke Janssen plays a witch named Muriel.

The film's release date has been kicked around more than a red-headed stepchild, but we'll finally get to see the R-rated tale on the big screen Jan. 11, 2013.

Until then, take another look at the red-band trailer for said film. Cheers to Shock Till You Drop for the poster.


Get punked by this ghostly elevator prank

This has absolutely sweet fuck all to do with movies, but it is right up our alley here in The Basement. And seriously, who doesn't want to watch people get freaked out by a ghost in an elevator. Or at least get freaked out by what they THINK is a ghost in an elevator.

The video comes by way of the Brazilian variety show Programa Silvio Santos and starts with a person walking into an elevator. Suddenly the elevator stops, the lights go off and, without the passenger knowing, a girl looking like the creepy chick from The Ring crawls in via a side panel. When the lights come back on, either she screams or the passenger screams, and a few emotional scars are created.

Gotta admit, I laughed a lot. Totally makes sense that this thing is going viral. We'll be back with some movie news shortly.

Monday, November 26, 2012

First image from V/H/S sequel S-VHS

And there said image is in all its gory goodness! Take a look at that!

I dug V/H/S a lot but don't know whether its worthy of a sequel. I suppose it all comes down to how it's handled. Thing is, the first was a decent attempt at a horror anthology using the found-footage format. I don't think that can be replicated well. Time will tell I suppose.

The sequel brings back writer/directors Adam Wingard and Simon Barrett and adds The Raid: Redemption helmer Gareth Evans, Eduardo Sanchez of The Blair Witch Project fame, Hobo With A Shotgun director Jason Eisener and Timo Tjahjanto.

The film is produced and financed by The Collective and Bloody Disgusting. The plot follows a pair of investigators who discover a tape while looking for a student.

Stick with us for more. Kudos to Arrow in the Head for the deets.

Saw editor helms ghost-hunting tale Sighting

Between the Paranormal Activity and Grave Encounters franchises and the upcoming flick The Conjuring -- not to mention a plethora of "reality TV" shows -- it's safe to assume that ghost hunting is all the rage.

So it should come as no surprise that yet another horror movie is headed our way with ghost hunters as the main characters.

This one is called Sighting and it's directed by Andrew Coutts, who edited Saw VI and Saw 3D: The Final Chapter. The flick stars True Blood's Kristina Anapau (pictured above), Brendan Fletcher, Alexis Cruz, and Ed Corbin as a ghost-hunting team that explores the King's Ransom Winery in California, which has a sinister history of recurring suicides.

Sighting is in post production and seeking distribution. Thanks to Arrow in the Head and Bloody Disgusting for the news.

Shawn enters ZOMBIELAND and eats some SOYLENT GREEN

As I continue the countdown to the Mayan apocalypse, I must incorporate a zombie franchise or two.

Zombieland became an INSTANT classic. How does this happen? Good chemistry + Bill Murray death scene = EPIC
Then toss in the zombies and zombie kills of the week.

Woody Harrelson is badass, Emma Stone is hot and Jesse Eisenberg is ...well ..nerdy.  Nothing unexpected there.

For a movie to just show up, tackle a tired genre, breathe it new life and become an instant hit with genre lovers?  That is worth seeing at least once.

I've seen it a few...dozen times...haha. Never tiring.

Definitely a Good if The Basement were to toss a rating on this end times dessert.

Since I missed my countdown movie yesterday, I'll do two today, and continue tomorrow.




You can't talk about world-ending events without Charlton Heston.  Of all the "end of the world" movies, Heston was involved in, I chose Soylent Green.

In real life, Heston was a gun supporting, bug out bagging, true believer of societal collapse. In some way, shape or form.

This movie is about a dystopian future where everything is dying, and food rations contain....people. Soylent Green IS people!

This is a bleak look at a possible future, where the events happening are more than science fiction. Some are already happening.

This movie is a fun, yet unsettling, ride.  If it came down to it, could someone eat people?  If you didn't know, then I guess so. As we touch on apocalyptic survival movies, I'm sure, we'll run into cannibalism and other unmentionable horrors.

Heston died in 2008. He never did get to put his own personal beliefs of apocalyptic breakdowns and battles to the test.  He did leave us with a ton of these great fucking movies though.Good!

Soylent Green is people. It could be another view of why the Mayan's may have ended their calendar.  Maybe they knew there was no hope. Stay tuned, as the Countdown to Extinction continues.

Sunday, November 25, 2012

U.S. trailer for British sci-fi/horror flick Storage 24

Never, ever heard of this flick before, but who doesn't love a good Alien-style monster movie? Everyone does? Good!

Directed by Johannes Roberts, Storage 24 takes place in London after a military cargo plane has crashed, leaving its highly classified contents strewn across the city. Completely unaware that the city is in lockdown, Charlie and Shelley, accompanied by best friends Mark and Nikki, are at a storage facility dividing up their possessions following a break-up. Suddenly, the power goes off. Trapped in a dark maze of endless corridors, a mystery predator is hunting them one by one. In a place designed to keep things in, how do you get out?

Sounds kinda fun actually, and it's getting good reviews across the pond. Storage 24 hits VOD on Dec. 6 and gets a limited theatrical release via Magnet Releasing on Jan. 11, 2013. Until then, give the preview below a watch.



Thanks to Horror-Movies.ca for scrounging up the trailer.

Dr. Action reviews Gangsters, Guns and Zombies

So last week in my hometown, it was time for the annual Zombie festival of Leicester in the UK. The festival itself is called Day of the Undead, Leicseter is a strange place to hold a zombie fest, the nearest we get to zombies here is 3 a.m. on a Saturday morning, when people are heading home from the clubs.

I saw a new remastered print of Fulci’s Zombie Flesh Eaters and Cockneys vs Zombies, both were great, ZFE needs no introduction of course. A mystery screening was at 9 p.m., it turns out a premiere of Gangsters, Guns and Zombies, a British horror/comedy was to be shown. The co-writer/director Matt Mitchell was there himself to introduce the movie, a very funny and enthusiastic introduction set the movie up.

So like me I guess when you first saw Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, you thought, HEY this flick needs zombies. No, just me then I guess, but this i would say mixes Lock Stock antics with Night of the Living Dead zombie fun. The director himself describes it as Night of the Living Dead in a transit van.

The plot is a basic one, a gang of six have just committed a robbery, they have got away but one of the gang has been shot. We find out the driver is new to the group, and this is his first job, each character is given an introduction as to who they are, and what they bring to the group. Crazy Steve played by Fabrizio Santino is a real highlight whenever he is onscreen, a great performance by him.

So out of the blue a zombie outbreak occurs which leads our gang stuck in the van with their safe house the destination, all the time trying to help their friend with the gunshot wound, and battling zombies when they leave the comfort of their van.

Along the way more people are introduced and new relationships develop, especially with the introduction of a Grandmother and her Grandaughter.

The movie seems to slow up around the middle of the movie, this is to benefit a very fast paced opening and set up for a strong finish. The best thing about about the movie is simple, this movie is FUNNY, I can only give the writers a huge round of applause for this. Written jokes and very funny visual jokes run all through the movie. I’m not the biggest fan of comedy, but this kept a smile on my face throughout the running time. The horror stuff is everything a zombie film needs to be.

Matt Mitchell is definitely a name I’ll be looking out for in the future, I rate the movie as Good, just think Lock, Stock and Shaun of the Dead.

Listen to the podcast Dr Action and the Kick Ass Kid commentaries which you can find here.

Saturday, November 24, 2012

Shawn's Countdown Continues with Mars Attacks

What happens when Tim Burton takes on an Alien invasion?

Mars Attacks!  That's what!

This is on the fun side of an earth-altering alien invasion!  It was fun, less serious and just enough violence to keep it out of ridiculousness.

It must be awesome to gather so many talented actors and let them have fun on the set of something like this. Jack Nicholson was funny as shit! 

This was a rad little movie, I've watched it several times.  Especially when the mayhem and serious tones of all the other apocalyptic movies start to drain on me. haha.

This is a GOOD, fun movie.  It is silly but there is enough entertainment value, to not feel violated, after watching it.

As the Mayan calendar counts down, to its end, this would be a fun way to celebrate.

Shawn Continues the Countdown To Extinction with Impact

I missed my apocalyptic post for yesterday and will make up for that, with two, today.

Haven't seen Natasha Henstridge in much these days, but she is still very hot. And she is in this.

This was a 2 x 90 min part mini series made for T.V. and a bit more "sciency" than I'm used to. But it still had earth's impending doom, cool effects as the earth as the moon approached, and some decent acting.



Basically, a meteor shower, including a "brown dwarf" crashes into the moon, changing the orbit and weight of it, putting it on a collision course with earth.

I liked this two parter. I don't know how strong the science is, but love it when a movie can find scientific reasons for the impending apocalypse.

They have 40 days to change the moons trajectory. Otherwise "WHAM". No more us. Cool as fuck.
Even for two parts, of 90 minutes a piece, this held my interest for the entirety. Perhaps it is my love for the extinction of cinematic humanity. Or perhaps it was just a decent little flick. I will go with the ladder.

A Good from me as I've watched it a couple times. If you are a disastermovieaholic, check it out!

Friday, November 23, 2012

Hottie Rachel Nichols battles an ancient evil in Becoming

It's Thanksgiving in the good ole U.S. of A., which means movie news grinds to a halt for a few days. Gotta love Americans. They really know how to holiday.

But we have learned via Horror-Movies.ca and Bloody Disgusting that genre hottie Rachel Nichols (G.I. Joe, Conan the Barbarian,) has joined The Hangover's Justin Bartha in the upcoming Canadian psychological thriller Becoming.

Details are scant at this point other than Nichols (pictured) and Bartha play Lisa and Alex, a young couple on a road trip tracing some family roots. Alex is gradually taken over by a malevolent entity that replaces his identity. One can assume it's bad scoobies from there.

Becoming is directed by Omar Naim. No details yet on when cameras roll or a potential release date. 

Thursday, November 22, 2012

Girl's Eye View: Savages

Allow me to quickly introduce myself: My name is Kara, and I live over at www.karaschatter.com . I have no experience in the movie industry, other than watching and appreciating them. I thought I would offer up my movie reviewing skills, or lack thereof, to The Basement to give readers a female perspective on movies, new, old, good, and bad. 


After watching Blake Lively play a totally believable oxy addict in The Town, I was looking forward to watching her switch things over and playing a stoned-out hippie child named O in Savages. Joined by BC-born actor Taylor Kitsch (playing Chon) and Aaron Johnson (playing Ben) as her love interests, Savages provided a good dose of sex, drugs, and rock n' roll. (Okay, not so much rock n' roll, but heads DID roll …)
 
Savages revolves around the luxurious life of three drug-dealing entrepreneurs from Laguna Beach, California. Their love life is … interesting … to say the least, and that's what piques the interest of Mexican drug lord, Elena (played by the gorgeous Salma Hayek). 


In a nutshell, Elena is cheesed that Chon and Ben don't want to make a business deal, and since they both have a little more than an eye for O, she takes advantage of that. As a result, getting even and the love of their lives back is the only thing on Chon & Ben’s mind, and they don’t cut any corners doing it.
 
Rounding out the Mexican drug dealing team are Lado, played by Benicio Del Toro, and Alex, played by Demián Birchir (Weeds). It was rather refreshing to see the pair play the “evil henchmen” in the movie instead of the usual actors. (I find that the same guys play the same roles when it comes to evil Mexican drug lords.) They do an excellent job playing Elena’s bitches and it’s rather amusing to watch the guys hang their heads in shame as she scolds them.

 
John Travolta takes a backseat and plays a small supporting role in the movie as well, which adds a bit of heavy Hollywood hitter credit to the flick. Not that it needs an A-lister like Travolta to give the movie any more credit; it could do with anyone playing this role, but Johnny-boy brings a certain swagger to the role that just works.

 
Overall, I really enjoyed Savages. I expected a little more fire-fight action, but the storyline is exceptional and it was well worth the $7 video-on-demand pricetag. Even the surprise ending was slightly unexpected and pleasant. I give it a Good!

The Countdown To Extinction Continues: Shawn reviews Deep Impact

Megadeth provided my article title and Deep Impact, with its Earth destroying asteroid, provides the entertainment.

This is the little less known film, than the OTHER asteroid destroying movie, that came out in 1998.

This one did NOT have Bruce Willis. But that's ok. It had Morgan Freeman as the president!

I enjoy watching movies that destroy earth. It's comforting because, if they make it in movies, I can pretend it's "make believe". That way I don't have to have the guilt of hypothetically killing 7 billion of my fellow fucking humans. haha.

This movie has been a staple in my video library since it came out. Not because it is astounding, but because I like the story, the build up, the discovery, and all the events leading to the cataclysmic event. Then it had enough of a budget to kill some cities, title wave, and successfully followed different views of survival and acceptance.

This was when the race to release similar styled movies, was between Paramount and Bruckheimer. That's who would battle it out. This movie had a 75 million dollar budget compared to 140 million for Armageddon. So we get two eye-candied, similar styled movies, compared to today's Asylum copy movies. (Asylum often being more fun to watch than big budget Hollywood movies, if you don't mind sacrificing expensive effects for cheesy ones).

 I've watched Deep Impact more than once, and more than the "other" 1998 blockbuster asteroid movie. (Armageddon). So this is a Good, in a very ordinary way.  If that makes any fucking sense. 

This was Day 2 of my countdown to extinction. Stick with us, until the scheduled end, December 21, 2012.

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

A report from Billy Trigger Part 4

My work on Billy Trigger didn't end with my demise. Like everyone else involved with the movie, I chipped in and did my part moving lights and props and taking behind-the-scenes pictures for the film's Facebook page.

From left to right: Deke Richards, Fred Williamson, makeup artist Marlene Jacques, Anderson Bradshaw, Meghan Gabruch, sound man Dimitri Medard, John Fallon and director Christian Viel.

The Hammer wrapped filming on the Friday, but not before I got to read lines for him during a scene where he talks with Bruno (played by Battlestar: Galactica's Matthew Bennett) on the phone. Bennett had wrapped the week before, so someone had to cue The Hammer to his lines for filming his side of the conversation.

I was hanging out in the kitchen when I noticed him looking my way. He gestured me over, and looked very serious.

"Read lines for me," he said. So I did.

Rehearsal went well but, for some reason, I flubbed my reading during the first couple of takes. Suddenly, I was nervous. Shaking. Dying is easy, reading lines with The Hammer is hard.

"It's all in the script, man. No need to fuck up," said The Hammer, who then broke the sequence down for me in a way that made me feel totally relaxed.

The next take was smooth as silk, and Fred gave me a smile and a handshake for my effort.

That night there was a press event where I recorded audio for our upcoming episode of Film Reviews from the Basement (Nov. 29 at 10 p.m. PST on www.thex.ca) plus got to mingle with leading lady Meghan Gabruch (left). I never got to see her work on set, but understand she's as talented as she is beautiful, and nailed the role.

The event also provided a great opportunity to bullshit with John, Deke, Christian and Anderson without any on-set pressures. Anyone who thinks working on a film is easy clearly hasn't done so. It's fun yes, but a lot of hard, fast-paced work.

On the morning I left, I shared a ride to the airport with The Hammer. It was the first time I felt truly relaxed around him as we talked movies and cigars. It was a nice way to end the trip.

The man I have to thank for all this is my good friend John Fallon, who invited Shawn and I to come out. Shawn couldn't make it, but he's scoring Billy Trigger, so he can't complain. But I must also thank Christian, Anderson and Deke for being so accommodating and encouraging.

As for any future set visits, all I can say is stick with us!

Kudos to John "The Arrow" Fallon for making this happen. A true friend and class act.

Revisit parts one, two and three.

The Dark Skies trailer promises alien horrors

It's been a long time since there's been a good alien-themed horror movie. And I don't mean the Alien franchise either. The last decent entry was probably Signs, and that's going back a decade or so.

Along comes Dark Skies, the latest offering from Dimension Films. And it actually looks pretty damn creepy, blending elements of Insidious and Paranormal Activity, sans the found *spits* footage. Makes sense given that it's produced by the people responsible for those movies.

Keri Russell and Josh Hamilton star as a suburban couple who find their family targeted by an unseen alien presence. Dark Skies is written and directed by Scott Charles Stewart, who made Legion and Priest. Take from that what you will (for the record, I dug Legion).

Dark Skies hits theatres Feb. 22, 2013. Kudos to Arrow in the Head for the news.


Shawn and 12 Monkeys

December 21, 2012 is fast approaching.

With the end of the world forecast, in just one month's time, I decided to revisit an old "end times" flick. 12 Monkeys.

A "volunteer" prisoner is sent back in time, to discover the cause of an apocalyptic plague, that killed over 5 Billion people.

Bruce Willis gives his usual commanding performance, however, not as the sturdy, steadfast hero. More unsure of himself, than most of us, on a bad day.  It was slightly unsettling.

Obviously, being a revisit, this rates a Good in my books. (I don't actually own a book)

I forgot Brad Pitt was in this.  Dude blew my mind with his performance.  I actually forgot it was Brad, that was the crazy dude, it's been that long!  If you haven't seen this one, I recommend it.


 I think, until the Mayan calendar end, I may take in a disaster movie a day. 

Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Evil Dead remake poster makes bold claim

I call bullshit!

A report from Billy Trigger Part 3

My death scene comes and goes quickly, which is to say everyone on set is so professional that things go off without a hitch.

Christian has me walk across the deck, Luger pistol at the ready. Billy Trigger is in the bedroom. He sees me and ducks into a closet, closing the pocket door behind him.

I open the door to the deck and walk in, gun in front of me in a two-hand pistol grip. I notice the closet door move and snap off a round one handed before ducking outside, waiting for the return shot to come. When it doesn't, I step in and prepare to fire again. That's when John Fallon as Trigger blows me out the door with a well-placed bullet.

Anderson and Christian take me through the motions of being shot and falling without hurting myself. And Christian has several camera set ups to make the scene pop.

He shoots it first from inside the bedroom, catching John at the closet and me on the deck. The second set up is done inside the closet as John and I exchange shots. A third is of me getting my ass shot out the door and hitting the deck.

Me and stunt co-ordinator Anderson Bradshaw

A few things to make note of -- even half-load blanks are loud. And they're loud even with plugs in your ears.

Another point, I hit the deck about two or three times and it didn't hurt. Those elbow pads came in very handy.

Thirdly, firing guns in a movie is a lot of fun! Think all the games of army you played as a kid and times it by a thousand. It's a rush.

Christian started out as a editor. He knows exactly what he wants and shoots what he needs. He shoots fast, and from what everyone on set was saying, Billy Trigger looks great.

I played my corpse for a follow-up shot where John leaves the closet. But I won't tell you what happens next. You'll just have to see the movie.

Stay tuned for a wrap-up report. And revisit parts one and two of my report.

This clip from The Host 2 crushes all in its path

I wasn't the biggest fan of Joon-ho Bong's 2006 Korean monster movie The Host. I also know I'm pretty much in the minority on that front. The monster stuff was cool, but the movie itself just kinda dragged.

Not so with this clip from the upcoming sequel, which snuck its way online today. The follow-up is directed by Park Myeong-chan and the footage comes by way of visual FX house Micrograph. There's a break down of some of the effects shots after the clip. 

The sequence in question is a monster attacking a group of children. Sucks to be them, I assure you. Have to say, I like what I see. Hopefully the rest of the film will just as bad to the ass.

No word yet on a release day, so let's get with the smashing. Kudos to Twitch for the clip!

Monday, November 19, 2012

Original cast, crew back for Insidious Chapter 2

We've got some good news for fans of the rather great horror flick Insidious by way of the rather great folks over at Arrow in the Head: all the cast and crew from the original hit are coming back for the sequel, and FilmDistrict will release it Aug. 30, 2013.

That means James Wan will again be at the helm and Leigh Whannell will pen the screenplay. One wouldn't doubt his paranormal investigator character makes a return appearance. Also back are stars Patrick Wilson and Rose Byrne (pictured).

How Wilson, who was possessed by a spirit at the end of Insidious, figures into things remains a mystery, as no plot details are being released at this time. Given Wan and Whannell's track record with horror, I am sure it'll be cool.

Some people had problems with the first film's tonal shift toward the end, but I really dug it. And, if a good story and some decent scares are cooked up, I'm in for Insidious Chapter 2.

Stick with us!

A report from Billy Trigger: Part 2

The condo we're shooting in -- literally and figuratively -- is owned by Valerie Wiseman, who also plays Jezebel, one of Pops' minions. And it's a beautiful crib to film in. An open-plan main level with stairs leading up to a bedroom well lit by big windows.

Us thugs with Anderson Bradshaw and Fred Williamson

There are five of us on the hunt for Billy Trigger, along with Pops of course. My cohorts include Richards, Gouchy Boy (recently seen in Fat Steven Seagal's Maximum Conviction), Neon Cobran and Danny Blanco-Hall. All of them are seasoned actors and stuntmen with lots of action experience.

Stunt co-ordinator Anderson Bradshaw has worked with the likes of Jean-Claude Van Damme and Dolph Lundgren, to name a few. He's also a former soldier. Suffice to say, he knows his shit.

Anderson gets us ready, handing us knee and elbow pads. You get shot. You fall down. You need protection. Neon puts on a back protector as well because his goon takes a tumble down the stairs leading to the bedroom.

"We going to be using MP5s?" asks Gouch. No. Pistols, says Anderson. But we're firing half-load blanks from our guns. Blood from our bullet hits will be added in post using CGI because its faster and cheaper.

I'm handed a Luger pistol, a hat and a pair of Aviators. I love Aviators.

"I like the look," Anderson says of my costume.

Time to shoot. Director Christian Viel's first set up has The Hammer leading us down a hallway to the condo. We're ordered against one of the walls and draw our pistols. The Hammer tells me to head through a side door where a flight of stairs will lead to a deck off the bedroom. Richards as Mikey will stay in the hall. The rest go inside.

We rehearse, then run through it once. For some reason, I end up at the end of the line and my going through the door looks awkward. The second take works better, even though I step on The Hammer's heel. We do a third. Perfect.

When it comes time to shoot my ascent of the stairs, Anderson and Christian lead me through rehearsal. For some reason, I'm more relaxed. Although the glasses make it hard to see and I'm paranoid about tripping over a step. As a thug, I'm supposed to be concerned with Billy Trigger popping out and shooting me than where I'm walking.

"Very good," Christian said after a second take. "You are a natural."

I thank him. Now it's time to get ready to shoot the next scene . . . the scene where I die at the hands of Billy Trigger.

Stay tuned for Part 3.

Check out Part 1 of our report.

Sunday, November 18, 2012

A report from Billy Trigger: Part 1

Looking back at my experience on the set of Billy Trigger, it's all become one big blur. A fast-paced and surreal adventure that won't ever be forgotten. I travelled somewhere I'd never been before, hung out with some great people, met Fred "The Hammer" Williamson, and got my ass killed on film. Pretty awesome stuff really!

To break it down:

I touched down in Montreal at about 7 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 14, and caught a taxi to the downtown office John Fallon shares with fellow actor/producer Deke Richards, who fans will remember from Deaden. Richards plays mobster Mikey in Billy Trigger.

It was good to see The Arrow again, and we caught up over a few whiskies before hitting a local pub, McKibbins, which doubles as the bar owned by The Hammer's character, Pops, in the film. John said I can't come to Montreal and not have some traditional poutine. I've had the dish before, but nothing compares to the plate I downed at McKibbins. Good grub!

Then it was back to Arrow in the Head headquarters for a couple more drinks. I got to meet Deke, who is one cool dude, before we called it a night.

Call time was 9 a.m. and the day ahead called for a gunfight at an upscale Griffintown condo in the Irish section of Montreal

The next morning we were all up with the sun. Deke not only acts in the movie, but he transports cast and crew, moves equipment and picks up lunch.

"That's the way it is on a low-budget movie man," Richards explained.

Then he was out the door. A short time later, we got a phone call. Our call time had been moved back to 10 a.m., giving me some time to kill. So I ran a couple of blocks over and paid my respects to the Bell Centre, home of John's beloved Montreal Canadiens. It was a thrill.

We got into Deke's car shortly before 10 and whipped over to a nearby hotel to pick up The Hammer, who is just as big and imposing as he looks on film. And the cat is always on. Think Black Ceasar or any one of the characters Fred has played on screen, and that's him in reality.

"How's it going my man?" he asked, and shook my hand when John introduced us. He's got big hands. He later told me he only uses Desert Eagle pistols in his movies because they don't disappear in his grip.

The rest of the drive to Griffintown was passed with small talk, but when it's The Hammer cracking jokes, there's nothing small about it.

We pulled up in front of our location -- an old mill that's been converted into condos. One of the condos doubled as an apartment owned by Jinny (Meghan Gabruch), Pops' daughter.

It's also the condo where I met my demise . . .

Stay tuned for Part 2!

Brooke Lewis boards sci-fi flick Starship: Rising

As if scream queen Brooke Lewis wasn't busy enough already, the lovely lady has joined the cast of Morphius Films' Starship: Rising, an intergalactic tale of a weaponized spaceship that gets taken over by revolutionaries.

Written and directed by Neil (Alien Armageddon) Johnson -- who describes his film as Game of Thrones in space -- Starship: Rising features Brooke as the pilot of Starship One, the greatest space vessel in the Federation. When the ship is overrun, she must choose between her love for a man and her duty to the Federation.

Joining Brooke are Claudia Wells,  E.J. De La Pena, Marilyn Ghigliotti, Darren Jacobs and pop star Emii. The film is currently in production, but Brooke was nice enough to send us the above photo of herself, De La Pena and Claudia Wells.

As always, we'll keep you updated on the film as it nears release. And with Brooke in it, you know we'll see it!

Friday, November 16, 2012

Jason and Shawn review Grave Encounters 2 and Maximum Conviction

Grave Encounters 2

Shawn: I’ve got to say, right off the bat, that I’m disappointed in this movie. It was more of the same recipe. That made it boring. Not Shorts Shitting at all. I was really hoping to shit my shorts, you know?

I’m not even sure how to critique this one. It was the same. But not fresh. Worn out, same old, boo.

I’m just going to give this an Ugly.


Jason: Grave Encounters 2 isn't that scary. And it suffers as many horror sequels of the 80 suffered by taking elements of the original and repeating them. But The Vicious Brothers and director John Poliquin do try damn hard to add new elements to the film.

I really dug the whole meta approach, especially the first 40 minutes or so, which are awesome. Also liked how they brought Sean Rogerson back and expanded the mythology of the asylum.

The cast wasn't as likable this time around, although I could look at Leanne Lapp all day. Hot chicks go a long way in a movie like this. And some some of the monsters, especially the tall, big-mouthed thing, were freaky.

All in all, this wasn't as good as Grave Encounters, but I still enjoyed it. Enough to watch it again? I don't know. Gonna give it a Bad me thinks.

Maximum Conviction

Shawn: Fat Steven Seagal, you so awesome. Still. Every ambiance that is you, is here.

This movie was pretty neat, same style as most Seagal movies, but sometimes the chemistry hits just right. This was a good-chemistry Seagal movie. I dug it, was entertained mindlessly by it, and so would even watch this one again. I would because I’m able to watch most Seagal movies more than once. IN our universe, that ranks it a Good.

No delusion here. This is not an award-winning movie by any stretch. I just dug it. I think other Seagal fans will too.

Jason: Oh, Steven Seagal, how the mighty have fallen. Sure, we've been aware of this for some time. Otherwise we wouldn't have spent the last couple of season's making fat jokes about you. Of all the 80s action guys, you've fared the worse. And it shows.

Had the fight scenes in Maximum Conviction not been so good, and the two chicks so hot, this would rate an Ugly. My film-school nerd bristled at the shitty, shitty dialogue and lame acting, especially Seagal and Stone Cold Steve Austin. Someone needs to tell Seagal to stop saying “Man” so much and acting like a surfer dude. You're not. You're a 60-year-old former action star. Deal with it.

But the fight scenes are awesome. Every one of them. Even Seagal, when he takes a few moments to put down his bucket of chicken, kicks serious ass. His final beat down on Michael Pare is epic. Nice to see Pare in something as well.

In the end, this is Bad to the bone, man.

Thursday, November 15, 2012

Grave Encounters 2 and Maximum Conviction

The Vicious Brothers' found-footage flick Grave Encounters is one of the finest horror movies of the last couple of years. It's witty, well acted, expertly executed and creepy as fuck. And it prompted The Basement to coin the phrase Shorts Shitting Entertainment. You owe us a nickle for every time you say that, by the way.

A sequel was inevitable given the film's success. This time, the brothers take a meta approach, implying that Grave Encounters is just a film and the events in this follow-up are inspired by it. Or something like that. The brothers also turned the directing duties over to John Poliquin and instead focused on writing the script.

Now it must be asked, how does Grave Encounters 2 stand up? That's a question Jason and Shawn intend to answer tonight as the movie is placed on the chopping block. Good, Bad or Ugly? Stick with us!

Then, if you thought the Basement Dwellers were all out of Fat Steven Seagal jokes, think again. The boys take on the latest effort from the 80s martial arts/action icon, Maximum Conviction. His guest star isn't the expected bucket or chicken either. Seagal has Stone Cold Steve Austin by his side, so who knows? Could be a winner. Or not.

You can find out at 10 p.m. PST at 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops and online at www.thex.ca. And follow along to the mad tweets of Mike S of The Corner of Terror on Twitter! We promise you that you won't have to think too hard for the hour we're on the air.

Note: there will be no show next week, Nov. 22, as Jason is busy getting himself killed in Montreal on the set of Billy Trigger with John Fallon and Fred Williamson. We'll be back Nov. 29 with a full report.

Now some previews, previews, previews!

Grave Encounters 2



Maximum Conviction


Wednesday, November 14, 2012

New featurette for The Collection gives us the gore

Yeah, we've been pimpin' the Marcus Dunstan's gore porn sequel The Collection for a while now, and we're not even huge fans of the original. But . . . and this is a heavy but . . . there's something about this follow up that just looks so . . . bloody!

Case in the point, the featurette below, which explains some of The Collection's bloodier bits in detail. Grim detail. What can I say? This is a video worth posting. Especially given that the film spills 55 gallons of blood in the first few minutes. Sold!

The sequel picks up soon after The Collector ends. Arkin (Josh Stewart) escapes with his life from the vicious grips of The Collector during an entrapment party where the villain adds beautiful Elena (Emma Fitzpatrick, pictured above) to his collection. Instead of recovering from the trauma, Arkin is suddenly abducted from the hospital by mercenaries hired by Elena's wealthy father. Arkin is blackmailed to team up with the mercenaries and track down The Collector's booby trapped warehouse and save Elena.

Enough chitter chatter, get to the watchin'! The Collection opens Nov. 30.


Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Maria Bello joins Jame Wan's House of Horrors

Actually, that headline is a bit misleading. The film isn't called House of Horrors anymore. It's called Untitled, as in there is currently no title for this movie. But it used to be called House of Horrors. So there.

And James Wan isn't directing. He's producing. But, I guess it is technically HIS film.

Anyway, Maria Bello does star as a police psychologist who is investigating the horrific murders of five college students in a decrepit, abandoned home. One of the survivors tells 5-0 the victims were a group of ghost hunters, and the murders had nothing to do with the people involved, but the house itself.

Sounds good, and Wan does know his horror. The flick will be directed by Will Canon and filming is scheduled to begin in Baton Rouge in January. Dimension Films will release the picture, and hopefully find it a name.

This Silent Night clip offers body parts and Jaime King

All things considered, that's not a bad combination if you're a horror fan. We dig our gore and our hotties, and this clip covers 'em both. Awesome!

King plays a cop out to stop a murderous Santa Claus who is picking off residents in a small town on Christmas Eve. In this scene, she tracks a ringing cell phone to a gruesome crime scene.

Directed by Steven C. Miller, Silent Night also stars Malcolm McDowell, Brendan Fehr, Ellen Wong and Donal Logue. The flick hits theatres Nov. 30 and DVD/Blu-Ray on Dec. 4.

Thanks to the folks at Arrow in the Head for this clip.




Monday, November 12, 2012

A new batch of Billy Trigger pics for your eye holes

The second week of shooting on the action flick Billy Trigger commenced today, and there's already a bunch of production stills and some behind-the-scenes shots on the Interwebs. So we decided to grab a few  -- 'cause we're shifty that way -- and share them with yah.

If you wanna see more cool shit, check out the movie's official site/blog or visit Billy Trigger on Facebook and give the film a Like. We did. You should too!

And we'll have a series of set reports for you later this week when I hit Montreal. Stick with us!

Billy Trigger (John Fallon) announces last call at the bar.

Meghan Gabruch is Jinny, a broken girl who figures into the action.

Fred Williamson and Anderson Bradshaw go over some lines.

In case you forgot, Irish mobster Billy Trigger has been the O’Brien family’s number one enforcer for three years now. And for good reason: he is cold, calculating and relentless and has never tackled a job he couldn’t finish. His life is trouble-free and solitary and consists mainly of three things: loose women, doing the work and cashing in. That’s until Pops (Williamson), the head of the organization, hands him his next assignment. Trigger is tasked to look over Pops’ young mistress, Catherine (Pia Metni), while he’s away. Of course, nothing goes as planned and Trigger ends up on the wrong side of Pops’ esteem . . . What happens when the best in the business is pitted against the business? Place your bets!

Saw, Insidious director takes on . . . MacGyver!?!

You read that right: James Wan, he who's made some pretty creepy and influential horror films, is in talks to direct a big-screen adaptation of the classic 80s adventure series MacGyver.. 

There's been rumblings about a MacGyver movie for years. And hey, if The A-Team can do it and an Equalizer flick is on the way, why the fuck not? Wan would be an interesting choice, and he's dabbled in action before with the under appreciated Death Sentence. 

The ABC series ran for seven years starting in the late 1980s, with Richard Dean Anderson as the titular be-coiffed agent of the Phoenix Foundation. What made MacGyver unique was he didn't use guns, but escaped tough situations with what he could find -- tools, tape, paperclips, gum etc.

I'm not even going to ponder if this will be any good. It all comes down to the casting and how Wan, should he sign on the dotted line, approaches the material. Until then, we'll leave you with the show's opening credits.

A bootlegged clip from Hatchet III

A bad-to-the-ass bootlegged clip from the upcoming slasher sequel Hatchet III has made its way online!

Why is it bad to the ass, you ask? Because it's got a bunch of dude's with guns -- including Derek Mears and Zach Galligan -- attempting to put the smackdown on swamp ghoul Victor Crowley, once again played by Kane Hodder. And Crowley will have none of that.

The clip is rough, but awesome. Shawn and I loved the shit out of the first two Hatchet movies, and this will be one to watch when it hits some time next year.

This time around a search and recovery team heads into the haunted swamp to pick up the pieces and Marybeth (Danielle Harris) learns the secret to ending the voodoo curse that has left Victor Crowley haunting and terrorizing Honey Island Swamp for decades.

Now watch the clip, bitches!

Sunday, November 11, 2012

The plot for The Last Exorcism 2

I guess The Last Exorcism wasn't really The LAST Exorcism after all. A weak joke I know, but that's all I've got right now.

The Eli Roth-produced horror flick cost little and made a bundle. In Hollywood speak, that means you make a sequel. I dug The Last Exorcism until the final five minutes, which felt like a big fuck you. But still, most of the ride was alright.

Word comes via Collider that Ashley Bell will return for The Last Exorcism II: The Beginning of the End, and that the sequel will be hard R instead of PG-13. OK, I'm interested. Ed Gass-Donnelly directs and Roth returns as producer.

What's it about? Continuing where the first film left off, teenage Nell Sweetzer is found dirty and terrified in the woods having just escaped a demon ritual in which a cult helped her give birth to a demon baby. Confused and scared, Nell is examined by doctors but she doesn’t remember much about the previous few months except that as a result of everything, her family is now dead. She is moved into Davreaux – a girls’ halfway house in New Orleans, where she will try to put her life back together with the help of the therapist, Frank Merle. She even begins to date a boy named Chris and starts a job at a local hotel.

But something doesn’t feel right to Nell. She is being sought after by the demon who possessed her in the first LAST EXORCISM. It wants Nell, but in a different way than before…

As always, we'll keep you posted on the project as it develops.

Saturday, November 10, 2012

A look at Billy Trigger week No. 1

The Cast and crew of Montreal-based action flick Billy Trigger have just wrapped their first week of shooting, and word from the front is all went well despite some setbacks.

In the words of Billy Trigger himself, writer/actor John Fallon: DAY 3 was all about a shootout/stalk scene in a junkyard with the great Anderson Bradshaw (Ewan). The location was eye popping to say the least (a maze of beat up cars, the sun reflecting on them), I loved doing the action scenes (shooting, ducking, jumping over the hood of a car) and yes my leg got in the way, but I worked with it.

To read more about it, check out Fallon's official blog where he spits out the full truth about what went down on set. Word has it the film is taking on the vibe of a 70s action/exploitation movie, which sounds damn fine to me.

Below are pics from the first week that I submit for your approval, Basement Dwellers.

Matthew Bennett, Fallon, director Christian Viel and Anderson Bradshaw on the eve of shooting.

Billy Trigger (Fallon) filming a foot chase through Chinatown.

Ewan (Bradshaw) pursues Trigger through a junkyard.

Trigger hunting Ewan.

Another shot of Trigger on the prowl.

Look for full reports from the set of Billy Trigger by yours truly Nov. 15 and 16, when I join the cast and meet my demise!