Saturday, August 27, 2016

Why are movies boring?

Think of this as a companion to my What's wrong with Hollywood? piece. But, for the most part, I find myself bored with movies.

Now, take into consideration that by movies, I mean new to newer movies. And yes, there are exceptions to this statement, which I admit is a bit generalized.

I have noticed, though, the list of movies I want to catch in a theatre grows smaller with each passing year, likely because everything is a reboot or remake. And movie news, which I used to be glued to on a daily basis, is now something I catch up on Saturday mornings and not feel like I've missed anything.

Sunday, August 14, 2016

Review: The Sleeper

The 80s were the heyday of the slasher film. The subgenre WAS horror, at least for the better part of that decade, with few ghost or vampire stories in sight. And for every Halloween or Friday the 13th sequel, there were a dozen cheaply made knockoffs to cash in on the better flicks' popularity.

Justin Russell's The Sleeper is a tribute to those 80s slasher films. Made in 2012 on a $30,000 budget, he's lovingly crafted a period piece set in 1981, where a crazed killer sets his sights -- in this case his hammer -- on the hot chicks living in a small town sorority house.

Saturday, August 13, 2016

What's wrong with Hollywood?

This isn't going to be another rant against the Hollywood studio system. Shawn and I did enough of that during our six seasons on the air. But, as a box-office watcher, I've noticed something has gone wrong this summer. Although I'm sure studio suites are paying attention, I thought I'd go ahead and state the obvious.

Summer is when the studios release their blockbusters and potential sleepers in hope of earning some serious dough. Traditionally these flicks do bring in beaucoup bank.

Sunday, July 31, 2016

Review: Star Trek Beyond

That's right, I made it to the theatre twice in one weekend. That hasn't happened since before my son was born. But the wife and I were lucky enough to snag a sitter and go see the new Trek, because we're fans and all.

Star Trek Beyond is the third in the rebooted spin-off universe, and although well received by critics and fans, it isn't exactly tearing up the box office. Why, you may ask? I know I do, especially after seeing it.

Review: Jason Bourne

Fifty-six per cent on Rotten Tomatoes. That's it. Only 56 per cent of lamestream critics liked the new Jason Bourne movie. The chief complaint among them is the latest entry in the long-running series is too much like the other films. Which critics generally loved.

I watched Jason Bourne last night, and yes, it's a lot like the previous entries in the series, which I loved. There's brilliantly staged set pieces, a couple of harrowing car chases, some brutal beat downs and a bunch of hi-tech, international espionage.

Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Top Five: Books That SHOULD be Made as Movies!


Before there were movies, there were these things called books.

Then there were movies.

Then there were movies based on books.

I think I'm safe in saying that at some point, each of us have been reading a good book, and thought, "This would be sooooooooooo cool as a movie!  Why hasn't Hollywood seen the potential for milking this book's popularity for all it's worth?!?"

Sunday, May 15, 2016

Animated Addict: "Inside Out" (2015)


Mike S hijacking The Basement for a review of a film in a genre that I'm addicted to: animated.  You might think that's odd for someone who loves horror movies the way I do.

But that's just how I roll the potatoes.

The first animated feature I'm going to review is 2015's "Inside Out" by Disney/Pixar.

So, let's get those potatoes rolling...

Thursday, April 28, 2016

TV Worth Watching and The Remake Train

Jason and Shawn are back one more time before switching to a loose schedule for the summer, and they've got something a bit different to talk about this episode. How different?

Think TV.

Yup, The Basement takes a break from movies to discuss how good television has become, with quality programs like Marvel's Daredevil and Jessica Jones, House of Cards, and Banshee drawing big talent away from the big screen. What are Basementites watching and what do they think? Stick with us!

Saturday, April 23, 2016

Q&A: Alienated producer Princeton Holt

We've written about actor Taylor Negron's final film, Alienated, before. The flick just wrapped up a limited theatrical run and is now available for viewing on VOD via Gravitas Ventures.

The Basement recently sat down with Alienated producer, Princeton Holt, to talk about the movie, which tells the story of a married couple on the verge of an alien abduction, and his other projects.

Thursday, April 14, 2016

He Never Died and Summer Movies 2016

It's hard to believe, but the summer-movie season is almost upon us once again. In fact, it officially kicks off May 5 with the release of Captain American: Civil War. And there's a gazillion movies scheduled to come out during the three months that follow. Do you know what you want to watch this summer?

Jason, Shawn and Amy put that question to each other as they figure out to watch -- and what not to watch -- between May and September. And that conversation is just one of many the Terrible Trio log during tonight's show.