Sunday, August 19, 2018

Mile 22, Crazy Rich Asians and Alpha

Summer is winding down, but that doesn't mean Jason and Shawn are! In fact, they're back once more with a look at this weekend's new releases and a review of Millennium After the Millennium!

That's right, The Basement Boys sound off on the documentary that was the focus of a feature interview just a few short weeks ago. How do they feels about Troy Foreman and Jason Morris' ode to the influential 90's TV show? Stick with us!

Friday, August 17, 2018

Review: Millennium After the Millennium

If listeners recall, during each of our sit downs with the fine folks behind the Back to Frank Blank campaign I have preached my love for the TV series Millennium. It is, in my biased opinion, the best TV show that ever was.

Cancelled in its prime, the Lance Henriksen vehicle was never given a proper conclusion, which is where Back to Frank Black came into play. Troy Foreman, James McLean and company pushed for a grand finale that would give closure to the series, and lead character Frank Black's plight.

Mile 22 goes Alpha, plus a review and junk

We're down to the last couple of weeks of summer break, which means the big movies have all but played themselves out.

However, two wide releases still want to compete for your  movie-going buck, and that means the Basement Dwellers have some talking to do with Howie Reimer on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show.

Thursday, August 16, 2018

Retro Review: Popcorn

Popcorn is one of those lesser-known genre flicks from my youth that I remember enjoying, but doesn't cross my brain pan very often. And when it does, it's not available on any streaming or rental service, so I'm always left feeling "well, shit!" when I want to watch it.

Fortunately, my efforts to find the movie recently paid off, and a fresh copy arrived in my hot little hands earlier this week. Excited to watch it, I sat down and did just that last night. Was the wait worth it? Stick with me!

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Insomniac Theatre: "Rampage" (2018)


Monster movies are a staple of the late night movie world, which means 2018 "Rampage" fits right into the Insomniac Theatre's roster of offerings.

And what an offering it was...

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

When a movie trailer is too scary . . .

File this under so dumb it's almost unbelievable, but sadly true.

It appears the latest marketing effort for Warner Bros. upcoming Conjuring spinoff The Nun was a little too intense for viewers. So much so it was pulled from YouTube.

The video contained a jump scare that was deemed so jolting, it violated YouTube's "shocking content policy." When viewers complained on Reddit and Twitter, the video service pulled the ad.

Monday, August 13, 2018

From the Corner: "The Phantom of the Opera" (1925)


About four years ago, I reviewed the silent horror classic, "Nosferatu: A Symphony of Horror".  The next classic silent horror movie I'm bringing you is "The Phantom of the Opera", starring Lon Chaney, Sr, and released in 1925.

 A mysterious stranger has been threatening the star singer of the Paris Opera House- someone who has signs his letters simply as, "The Phantom".  This stranger wants to clear the way so his protege, Christine Daae can ascend to stardom herself.  Soon, her love for the Comte de Chagny collides with The Phantom's desire for Christine forcing both to take drastic actions in order to be with the one they love.

Sunday, August 12, 2018

Help support Boris Karloff: The Early Years in Canada

Folks, there is a cool little project that needs your help. One that highlights the early years of, arguably, horror's greatest icon.

He is Boris Karloff, and before he became a household name, he spent many years here in the Great White North, including a stint in Shawn and I's home town of Kamloops, British Columbia.

Summer of 84, The Meg and Slender Man

A podcast seven days in the making, the latest From The Basement is here to pleasure your ear holes.

And this week we've got a great one-on-three interview as Jason talks with Montreal-based filmmaking collective RKSS about their latest feature, Summer of 84!

Saturday, August 11, 2018

Review: The Meg

Is 20 years too long to wait for a movie? Can two decades worth of anticipation ever be satiated, especially when it comes to the glorious concept of a giant-shark movie? Can such a big-budget film work given the countless low-budget flicks made about that very same topic? Should Hollywood have even tried to adapt Steve Alten's ultimate beach book to the big screen, given the novel came out in the 90s?

That's a lot of questions to ask one's self going into a Saturday afternoon matinee. Fortunately the answer to all these questions is the same, single word.