Sunday, June 17, 2018

Micro Review: Incredibles 2

Is 14 years too long between movies? Back when The Incredibles came out, there was no MCU, so Pixar's super-hero flick was the biggest and most, well, incredible, depiction of a comic book put on the silver screen.

Nowadays, there's a new super-hero movie out every few months, and visual effects are at the point where the four-colour world of comics can be brilliantly realized. Doesn't this hurt the impact of an Incredibles sequel.

Friday, June 15, 2018

The Incredibles 2, Tag and Superfly

Jason and Shawn are back! And this time they bring The Basement into the Radio NL 610 AM studio and join Howie Reimer on the morning show, marking a new era for The Basement Boys.

Yup, they've kinda sorta gone legit!

Jason and Shawn might be hanging out on the NL Morning Show from here on in, but they're still the same old aging movie geeks. Funny, talented and some times not entirely appropriate.

This week they not only riff on new releases The Incredibles 2, Tag and Superfly, they also sound off on the new Halloween trailer and share their thoughts on the little-seen actioner The Hurricane Heist.

And yes, they even make fun of old people. Send your hate mail to basementreviews@gmail.com.

If you didn't hear the movie-related madness earlier today, you can catch up with it now by pushing play on the player below. And even if you heard the boys during the 8 a.m. hour, it never hurts to listen again.

What are you waiting for? Give it a listen, and stick with us!




Out of The Basement, into the NL studio

Jason and Shawn are back for another forecast of what to watch this weekend, and what was worth noting from the week that was.

Say that five times fast!

However, there's a bit of twist for this, The Basement Boys second foray on Radio NL 610 AM Kamloops -- they're leaving The Basement and stepping into the NL studio!

Today, Jason and Shawn join host Howie Reimer during the NL Morning Show. But fear not, Jason and Shawn are still Jason and Shawn, which means the spirit of The Basement goes where they go. And Howie is a first rate -- and funny -- guy, so the clash of styles will be well worth the listen.

What will be discussed? Well, it's radio, so one ever knows. But, given animated sequel The Incredibles 2 and the comedy Tag hit theatres today, something will likely be said about each.

You can find out for sure at 8:40 a.m. when you hit the Radio NL logo to your right. You can follow along to the mad tweets of Mike S on Twitter at CameTheBasement. A podcast version of the show drops later today.

Stick with us!

Thursday, June 14, 2018

Summer of '84 heads to theatres, VOD

Just a quick hit tonight to tell yah about a groovy looking new horror flick by way of Montreal based film collective RKSS, who brought the world Turbo Kid back in 2015. This time they've set their sites on something . . . sinister.

Summer of '84 takes place during, you guessed it, the summer of 1984. A group of teens begin to suspect one of their neighbours, a cop no less, might actually be a serial killer. Suffice to say, they decide to find out, and things get dangerous.

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Micro Review: The Strangers: Prey At Night

Brian Bertino's The Strangers is one of my favourite horror flicks of the early 2000s. It wore its ode to John Carpenter's Halloween on its sleeve, and gave us a bleak-as-all-get-out ending that most studio efforts lack.

A decade is a long time between sequels, especially successful horror sequels. So I was a bit hesitant going into The Strangers: Prey At Night. There was a different director at the helm, and I wasn't sure we needed more stories about our murderous gang of youthful home invaders, especially after such a long absence.

Monday, June 11, 2018

E3 - a look at Cyberpunk 2077

Back in the day, we had a segment on the show called Game Time with Greg. Greg was a hard-core gamer, who could play three video games at once AND fill us in on all three while he played. No bullshit.

We've not shared much from the world of video games since the Game Time era. Not because Shawn and I aren't players, we're just not hard-core players like Game Time. We do enjoy a good session in front of the Xbox and PS4 though.

Sunday, June 10, 2018

The Predator gets a second trailer

Been at war with stomach flu and a head cold (yes, all at once) this weekend, so finally at a point where I had the energy to get up and post something. Given The Predator was granted a second trailer by the folks at 20th Century Fox, I figured I'd tackle that.

The teaser for Shane Black's sequel to the 1987 action classic came out a month ago, and left a lot of people underwhelmed. I'm not sure why, or what said people expected, as it worked for me. There was action, the titular monster, and some trademark Black humour. I got what I wanted.

Friday, June 8, 2018

Ocean's 8, Hereditary and the MCU

Jason and Shawn return to the airwaves with this, the first segment created for Radio NL 610AM Kamloops!

The episode broadcast earlier today, but you can hear it here again -- or for the first time -- thanks to modern podcast technology.

Back in Black: The Basement returns today

It all begins anew at about 8:20 a.m.!

That's when We Came from the Basement begins it's new season, on a brand new station: Radio NL 610AM!

The Basement Boys kick off their eight to 10 minute segment at about 8:20 a.m., riffing on this week's new theatrical releases, plus sharing their thoughts on whatever passes through their movie-massacred minds.

Michael's back -- it's the Halloween trailer

Ladies and gentlemen, the wait is over! The trailer for the new Halloween movie has arrived, and it is more than worthy!

John Carpenter's classic score is there. Jamie Lee Curtis is back. All the BS about Michael Myers being Laurie Strode's brother is dealt with. And it looks scary as all get out.

Thursday, June 7, 2018

Micro Review: The Hurricane Heist

Think Die Hard meets Twister -- only not as good as either -- and you've pretty much nailed The Hurricane Heist.

That's right, it's another high-concept action movie from the guy who directed the original The Fast and the Furious and xXx. Make of that what you will.

To be honest, I forgot this movie existed until I stumbled across it in my VOD lineup this past weekend. So I watched the trailer on YouTube and decided to give it a go. Seemed like a decent way to kill an evening with a couple of beers in hand.

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Halloween trailer drops this Friday

Oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy!

That's the sound of mad excitement among The Basement crew as word dropped today that we'll finally get a look at the new Halloween movie when the official trailer hits this Friday.

Saturday, June 2, 2018

The Basement and Radio NL

Never say never again. This is something Shawn and I learned during our long and storied history with this show and site.

Ditto the maxim "just when you think you're out, they drag you back in." Such is the case with We Came from the Basement's latest incarnation.

Friday, June 1, 2018

More Sinners and Saints on the way

Back in 2012 we reviewed William Kaufman's brilliant old-school action flick Sinners and Saints, starring all-around cool dude Johnny Strong. At the time, we demanded a franchise, and it looks like that is about to happen.

Kaufman emailed us back in February (long story, don't want to talk about it) saying he was headed to Bulgaria for Sinners and Saints 2: Vengeance, and asked us to join in promoting the venture. Well, Shawn and I are all about being better late than never, so here we go:

Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Micro Review: Death Wish (2018)

People hated the latest spin on Brian Garfield's 1972 novel from the minute it was announced. They didn't like the idea of Eli Roth directing, and didn't get too excited when Bruce Willis took on the lead. And, when the trailer hit, they didn't like the tone, saying it was too light and action-witty, a phrase I just made up.

To me, the dislike for Death Wish is further proof movie fans are incapable of liking anything, and prefer to bitch and complain as much as possible, about anything. Yes, I used anything twice in the same sentence, wanna fight about it?

Sunday, May 13, 2018

Micro Review: Avengers: Infinity War

I don't know what impressed me more about Avengers: Infinity War -- the fact I have to rethink my Top 10 Favourite Movies of All Time list, or Scarlet Witch's cleavage. A statement both bold and crass, but true.

Saturday, May 12, 2018

It's all bullshit anyway

Yup, it's been a long-ass time since anything's been posted on this blog.

Yup, the blurb beneath our page title says we're done . . . again.

Yup, it's me, Jason of the Jason and Shawn duo The Basement Boys, writing at We Came from the Basement.

So what's brought us to this never-say-never-again place in the storied history (like eight fucking years) of this site and podcast? Are we back with a daily dose of movie news, interviews and reviews? Is the show on The X and this site on a weekly or bi-weekly basis? Is Mike S going to tweet along to stuff on our dead and deleted Twitter account?

Nope.