Friday, August 17, 2018

Mile 22 goes Alpha, plus a review and junk

We're down to the last couple of weeks of summer break, which means the big movies have all but played themselves out.

However, two wide releases still want to compete for your  movie-going buck, and that means the Basement Dwellers have some talking to do with Howie Reimer on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show.

Thursday, August 16, 2018

Retro Review: Popcorn

Popcorn is one of those lesser-known genre flicks from my youth that I remember enjoying, but doesn't cross my brain pan very often. And when it does, it's not available on any streaming or rental service, so I'm always left feeling "well, shit!" when I want to watch it.

Fortunately, my efforts to find the movie recently paid off, and a fresh copy arrived in my hot little hands earlier this week. Excited to watch it, I sat down and did just that last night. Was the wait worth it? Stick with me!

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Insomniac Theatre: "Rampage" (2018)


Monster movies are a staple of the late night movie world, which means 2018 "Rampage" fits right into the Insomniac Theatre's roster of offerings.

And what an offering it was...

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

When a movie trailer is too scary . . .

File this under so dumb it's almost unbelievable, but sadly true.

It appears the latest marketing effort for Warner Bros. upcoming Conjuring spinoff The Nun was a little too intense for viewers. So much so it was pulled from YouTube.

The video contained a jump scare that was deemed so jolting, it violated YouTube's "shocking content policy." When viewers complained on Reddit and Twitter, the video service pulled the ad.

Monday, August 13, 2018

From the Corner: "The Phantom of the Opera" (1925)


About four years ago, I reviewed the silent horror classic, "Nosferatu: A Symphony of Horror".  The next classic silent horror movie I'm bringing you is "The Phantom of the Opera", starring Lon Chaney, Sr, and released in 1925.

 A mysterious stranger has been threatening the star singer of the Paris Opera House- someone who has signs his letters simply as, "The Phantom".  This stranger wants to clear the way so his protege, Christine Daae can ascend to stardom herself.  Soon, her love for the Comte de Chagny collides with The Phantom's desire for Christine forcing both to take drastic actions in order to be with the one they love.

Sunday, August 12, 2018

Help support Boris Karloff: The Early Years in Canada

Folks, there is a cool little project that needs your help. One that highlights the early years of, arguably, horror's greatest icon.

He is Boris Karloff, and before he became a household name, he spent many years here in the Great White North, including a stint in Shawn and I's home town of Kamloops, British Columbia.

Summer of 84, The Meg and Slender Man

A podcast seven days in the making, the latest From The Basement is here to pleasure your ear holes.

And this week we've got a great one-on-three interview as Jason talks with Montreal-based filmmaking collective RKSS about their latest feature, Summer of 84!

Saturday, August 11, 2018

Review: The Meg

Is 20 years too long to wait for a movie? Can two decades worth of anticipation ever be satiated, especially when it comes to the glorious concept of a giant-shark movie? Can such a big-budget film work given the countless low-budget flicks made about that very same topic? Should Hollywood have even tried to adapt Steve Alten's ultimate beach book to the big screen, given the novel came out in the 90s?

That's a lot of questions to ask one's self going into a Saturday afternoon matinee. Fortunately the answer to all these questions is the same, single word.

Friday, August 10, 2018

Review: Summer of '84

Hot on the heels of our interview with Montreal film collective RKSS, we've got a review of their new movie -- a follow up to their 2015 hit Turbo Kid -- Summer of '84, which get a limited theatrical release today!

What an officious first paragraph for a Basement review . . .

Written and put into production before the phenomenon that was/is Stranger Things and the big-screen adaptation of Stephen King's It, this is very much a loving look back at the 80s, which is when the collective of Francois Simard, Anouk Whissell and Yoann-Karl Whissell grew up.

The Meg swims into Summer of 84

It's Friday, and that means it's time for Jason and Shawn to join Howie Reimer on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show once again.

This week, they're bringing an interview and review with them, along with their thoughts on the big -- as in giant-shark sized -- movie of the week: The Meg!

Thursday, August 9, 2018

Retro Review: The Return of the Living Dead

Some movies stand the test of time, some movies don't. Some live up to your memories, some do not.

The Return of the Living Dead is one of those odd ducks that does and doesn't. How so? Stick with me!

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

Mike S's Top 5 Marvel Heroes That Deserve a Big Screen Adaptation


Recently, I did a list of my top five DC heroes that I felt deserved a big screen adaptation (you can read it here).  It's only fair that I do one for Marvel, right?

Right.

I have to be honest though- I'm not altogether familiar with the Marvel heroes, having grown up mostly reading DC... however, there are a few that have caught my eye over the years, and I think would make good movie entertainment.

Tuesday, August 7, 2018

RKSS brings Summer of 84 to The Basement

Few things get Shawn and I as pumped as filmmakers sending us their movies to watch and review. In fact, the only thing more exciting is getting to talk to said filmmakers about said movie we're reviewing.

And that's exactly what's happening this week, as Montreal-based filmmaking collective RKSS (Roadkill Superstars) speak to us about their latest movie, Summer of 84, which hits select cinemas on Friday.

Monday, August 6, 2018

The Animated Addict: "Akira" (1988)


The Animated Addict is back with a review of possibly one of the MOST influential animated movies of ALL time- 1988's "Akira".

Years after the mysterious destruction of most of Tokyo, a new city- Neo-Tokyo has grown around the ruins of the old city.  Rebellion is becoming an every day event, and bike gangs wage turf wars throughout the streets.  During one such skirmish, Tetsuo- a member of the Capsules is injured.  Before his friend Kaneda can get him to a hospital, the military shows up and spirits the injured Tetsuo away.  As he seeks to find out what happened to his friend, Kaneda gets involved with a rebel plot... and learns that his closest friend may in fact be his biggest threat...

Saturday, August 4, 2018

Patrick Stewart reprises Capt. Picard in new Trek

Holy spaceballs Star Trek fans! It looks like Capt. Jean-Luc Picard will live long and prosper!

That's right, word dropped just an hour ago from Patrick Stewart himself that he will return to the franchise that made him a superstar in a new Star Trek series for CBS All Access.

Christopher Robin and The Spy Who Dumped Me

Shawn is back in The Basement this week as a slew of new releases hit theatres -- none of them up The Basement Boys' alley, but the show always goes on.

Truth is, Jason and Shawn are never short on words, so this week they do indeed riff on Disney's Christopher Robin and the Mila Kunis/Kate McKinnon comedy The Spy Who Dumped Me, plus a couple of other releases.

Friday, August 3, 2018

It's I-don't-want-to-watch-anything Friday

Summer is pretty much half over, and that means the majority of summer blockbusters are out, and what few big movies remain are still a week or so away.

And that means there's very little for Jason, Shawn and Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show host Howie Reimer to talk about this week.

Just kidding! They always have stuff to talk about!

Thursday, August 2, 2018

Bond hottie headlines sleep-based horror Mara

It's been a while since I've seen former Bond girl Olga Kurylenko in anything, which is a shame as, aside from being downright beautiful, she was one of the better Bond girls in recent years.

But she's back in the upcoming horror flick Mara, which hails from one of the producers of Paranormal Activity and Insidious. Pretty good pedigree as far as I'm concerned.

Wednesday, August 1, 2018

New Halloween flick is rated R

After months of speculation by horror fans, the MPAA has finally gone done and handed down a rating for David Gordon Green's upcoming Halloween movie . . . one that should please fans as much as fans can be pleased.

Instead of going the PG-13 route of recent Blumhouse horror hits, Green and co-writer Danny McBride went old school, and the movie will indeed be rated R!

Tuesday, July 31, 2018

John Fallon's The Shelter hits Vimeo On Demand

Long-time fans know Shawn and I have a strong connection with filmmaker John Fallon and his directorial debut The Shelter.

Which means we're super pumped to report the critically acclaimed film, which the L.A. Times called "remarkably ambitious," is now available to watch anywhere in the world on Vimeo On Demand!

Monday, July 30, 2018

Insomniac Theatre: "Swamp Women" (1956)


It's 3:00 am.  The air wafting through the drapes is hot- slowly sucking the moisture from you.  Your restless mind feels clogged with cotton balls.

You can't sleep, but you can't fully wake up either.

That's when the flickering images on the TV screen catch your attention and you realize that you're watching an old movie.

You're watching "Swamp Women"...

Sunday, July 29, 2018

Review: Teen Titans Go! To the Movies

I'm not a fan of animated films. Gotta get that off my chest right away. Shawn sure is, and Mike S is our Animated Addict. That's their thing, not mine. Shawn even tried to get me to watch the animated DC films, saying they're the cat's ass (my words, not his). I could care less.

But when your six-year-old son wants to go see Teen Titans Go! To the Movies, as the Teen Titans Go! TV series is one of his all-time favourites, you take him. It's part of being a dad.

Millennium After the Millennium, Mission: Impossible - Fallout and Teen Titans Go! To the Movies

Aside from having the longest episode title in Basement history, the latest entry in our eight-year-long series also marks the first time Shawn has not appeared on the show!

Yup, no Shawn for you! He's on vacation.

But the Mad Twit Mike S sits down with Jason for this, the extended cut of Friday's segment on the mighty Radio NL 610 AM Kamloops, featuring an interview with filmmakers Troy Foreman and Jason Morris about their documentary Millennium After the Millennium.

Friday, July 27, 2018

Your mission, should you choose to accept it

It's summer, which means it's holiday time for many people, Shawn and Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show co-host Howie Reimer among them. So where does that leave The Basement's weekly segment?

In the capable hands of Jason and Morning Show co-host Shane Woodford of course!

Thursday, July 26, 2018

Lord of the Rings meets The Descent in Dragon Mountain

You read that right, it's the high-concept mashup you didn't even know you needed to see . . . coming straight to Video On Demand in August!

Yup, director Chris Raney has made a medieval horror flick with dwarves, dragons and something sinister lurking inside a cave, and it's called Dragon Mountain.

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Insomniac Theatre: "Dune" (1984)


It's 2:30 am, the summer night breeze is wafting through the open balcony door as the distant, lonely sound of a train floats mournfully as it passes.

And I find myself watching David Lynch's 1984 film, "Dune"- based on Frank Herbert's novel of the same name.

Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Review: Within (2016)

It's rare when you come across an obscure horror movie that starts with the Warner Bros. and New Line Cinemas logos. These are the studios who brought us The Conjuring films and their spin offs, plus other horror hits like Lights Out. Most of their flicks go theatrical, and not straight to VOD.

Within? Never heard of it . . . until it showed up on my Netflix account.

Pushing play, I didn't know what to expect. I certainly didn't think I'd get into it as quickly as I did, or enjoy it at all. I figured it was one of those flicks you fall asleep to after a night at the pub.

Monday, July 23, 2018

Mike S's Top 5 DC Heroes That Deserve a Big Screen Adaptation


With the recent release of the "Aquaman" and "Shazam!" movie trailers, I started thinking about a few of my favorite DC Comics characters that I felt deserve to be on the big screen.

Without further ado, here they are in alphabetical order:

Saturday, July 21, 2018

Comic-Con trailer round up: SHAZAM!, Aquaman and Godzilla: King of the Monsters

Comic-Con 2018 is in full swing down in San Diego, and The Basement is unable to be there. But we can bring you the goods when able.

And at this moment, we can present the trailers for the upcoming DCU flicks SHAZAM! and Aquaman and the much-anticipated Godzilla: King of the Monsters.

Millennium After the Millennium

We Came from the Basement is scheduled to return to the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show this upcoming Friday, and we're bringing our first interview in quite a while with us.

Joining Jason and Shane Woodford at about 8:40 a.m. (Shawn is on vacation) are filmmakers Troy Foreman and Jason Morris, the driving forces behind the upcoming documentary Millennium After the Millennium.

Friday, July 20, 2018

Review: The Equalizer 2

2014's The Equalizer was a loose, but decent, adaptation of one of my favourite childhood TV shows. It was a brutally violent film with a compelling lead character and some corny 80's TV show elements.

The Equalizer was a pretty big hit, so a sequel was inevitable. Four years later we've got The Equalizer 2, and I'm happy to say it was worth the wait.

Glass trailer brings Split and Unbreakable together

Ohmygod, ohmygod, ohmygod! The first trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's Glass has arrived, and it is a thing of beauty!

Fans have waited 17 years for a sequel to Unbreakable, not knowing Shyamalan snuck one in under the radar (kinda) with Split. Thankfully, that movie was a big hit, because the fine folks at Universal and Blumhouse put things in motion to bring the characters of The Beast, David Dunn and Mr. Glass together.

Thursday, July 19, 2018

Review: Tau (2018)

Netflix has created a nice niche for itself as a purveyor of B-grade genre flicks, and we in The Basement applaud the move, as that's our bread and butter here.

Some are better than others. Spectral was decent, The Open House not so much. A couple of weeks back they unleashed Tau, featuring the voice of Gary Oldman and It Follows and The Guest starlet Maika Monroe in a one-location sci-fi thriller about a kidnapped woman and a deadly AI.

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Nazi zombies attack in Overlord trailer

For some reason, the whole idea of Nazi zombies just doesn't get old. It was used to great -- and some times comedic -- effect in two Dead Snow movies. And now J.J. Abrams is bringing the scares and gore in the upcoming period horror flick Overlord.

Overlord, for the record, was the code name for the D-Day invasion of Normandy by Allied troops in World War 2. Just so you get the reference here.

The Animated Addict: "The Secret Life of Pets" (2016)


Have you ever wondered what your pets get up to while your gone?  I have, so I figured "The Secret Life of Pets" might be entertaining...

Max the terrier has the perfect life: a warm bed, free food, and a loving human.  Then his human gets a second dog... a large shaggy one named Duke.  During their struggle to determine dominance, they find themselves lost in the city.  Now, they must team up to find their way home...

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Some behind-the-scenes pics from The Proposal

Cameras are officially rolling on the upcoming action short The Proposal, written and produced by our man John Fallon and starring actor/producer/martial artist Marc Natoli.

In fact, the shoot is a couple of days and change old at this point, which means it's high time to share a few behind-the-scenes shots for your eye holes.

Monday, July 16, 2018

From the Corner: "Death on Demand" (2011)


When I buy my horror box sets, I expect plenty of low budget horror movies.  I expect a fair number of bad ones.  I expect fewer decent ones.  I expect even fewer jewels.

"Death on Demand" definitely wasn't one of those jewels.

Sunday, July 15, 2018

Skyscraper and Hotel Transylvania 3: Summer Vacation

Jason and Shawn return one more time before a two-week hiatus, with an all-new episode featuring their latest appearance on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show with Howie Reimer, plus a bunch of other cool shat.

That's right, the Basement Boys talk Dwayne Johnson's latest effort, the Die Hard in a skyscraper action flick Skyscraper, plus the Adam Sandler animated Sequel Hotel Transylvania 3: Summer Vacation.

Friday, July 13, 2018

Die Hard in a Skyscraper

Another week has come and gone, and a few new movies are ready to land in cineplexes across North America. That must mean it's Friday, and Jason and Shawn are ready to join Howie Reimer on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show.

This weekend there's a pair of new movies that will compete for your movie-going dollar: Skyscraper and Hotel Transylvania 3.

Thursday, July 12, 2018

First look at Godzilla: King of the Monsters

I'm a hard-core Godzilla fan. I even have a tattoo of the King of the Monsters on my right leg. Love the classic Toho films. Love the 2014 version by Gareth Edwards. The 1996 Matthew Broderick film?

... not so much.

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

District 9 director to helm RoboCop sequel

And we're not talking a sequel to the 2014 remake either. Nope! Neill Blomkamp will direct a sequel to the 1987 Paul Verhoeven classic that starred Peter Weller and coined the phrase "I'd buy that for a dollar."

Sweetening the deal: the script for RoboCop Returns is by Michael Miner and Edward Neumeier, who penned the original film, with a polish by Justin Rhodes, who scripted the upcoming Terminator.

Insomniac Theatre: "14 Blades" (2010)


At one time or another, we have all been there- unable to sleep, flipping idly through the channels and creating our own story from the bits and fragments we catch between channel flips, until we come across a show or movie that makes us go, "Huh... this might be interesting."

Or in my case, flipping through my DVD/Blu-Ray collection.

Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Chicago Fire, Ray Donovan star headlines Bronx SIU

We don't talk a lot of TV here in The Basement, but I figure it's high time that we do. TV, books, video games . . . it's all up for grabs from now on.

And that brings us to Bronx SIU (Special Investigations Unit), which hits UMC and Amazon Prime on July 19.

Monday, July 9, 2018

Having My Say: The Good, The Bad, The Fandom


Star Wars fans are the latest group of "fandoms" that have become toxic to their chosen franchise, and geekdom in general.  Their outrage at the prequels, a Jamaican sounding alien, a black stormtrooper, the revelation about Rey's parents, the introduction of Rose, the portrayal of an older Luke Skywalker, etc.

They make me shake my head.

Sunday, July 8, 2018

Ant Man and the Wasp and The First Purge

It's the big holiday weekend in the U.S. of A., and Jason and Shawn are back to chat what they think is worth watching during the week ahead in this, an extended cut of their segment on Radio NL 610 AM Kamloops.

Shawn wasn't able to attend the NL Morning Show with Howie Reimer, but he delivers his two bits and change on the weekend's big releases: the latest MCU effort Ant Man and the Wasp and the horror prequel The First Purge. What does he have to say and what does he think? Stick with us!

Friday, July 6, 2018

Make mine The Basement on Friday

It's the biggest weekend of the year down the good 'ole U.S. of A., and that means a mighty Marvel Cinematic Universe release is headed our way.

This of course can only mean one thing: it's time for We Came from the Basement to join Howie Reimer on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show and talk about it.

Thursday, July 5, 2018

Retro Review: The Hidden

Some movies, no matter how dated, are like comfort food. When you're in the mood to watch it, you just gotta. Predator is like that for me, as is Jaws, Aliens, and a few other 80s action/sci-fi/horror flicks.

Flicks like 1987's The Hidden!

I had a crap day full of family crisis on July 4, and just needed to unwind with a couple of cold ones. For whatever reason, all I wanted to watch was The Hidden. It had been a few years, so I guess I was due. And watch it I did!

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Movie Catch Up: Tomb Raider (2018) and A Quiet Place

Given the juggle that is family, a full-time job and this site, neither Shawn nor I get to see every movie we want to in theatres. While unfortunate, it also means we have the joy of catching up with these flicks when they hit the home market.

I got to do just that this Canada Day weekend, taking in not only the new Tomb Raider, but the much acclaimed A Quiet Place. How do these flicks rate on the Basement scale? Stick with me!

Monday, July 2, 2018

Mike S's Top Five Canadian Horror Films


It's the Canada Day long weekend, and what better way for me to celebrate... than with a list of my top five favorite Canadian made horror movies?

Am I right- or am I right, eh?

Right.

The Drunken Review: Shark Lake

The Drunken Review is a Basement feature wherein movies are reviewed under the influence of alcohol. Why? Because some movies are better reviewed with booze, almost like the filmmakers designed them that way.

Last night, I tackled the 2015 Dolph Lundgren flick Shark Lake. Because if any movie was designed for The Drunken Review, it's one where Dolph Lundgren punches a shark in the nose . . . in a lake. Does Miller High Life make this a fun and enjoyable ride? Stick with me!