Saturday, December 15, 2018

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, The Mule and Mortal Engines

'Twas the second to last weekend before Christmas, and all through The Basement, Jason and Shawn are stirring, and . . . nothing rhymes with basement . . .

But the Basement Boys ARE here to pleasure your earholes with reviews of movies traditional to the season and otherwise, including the new Christmas classic The Christmas Chronicles starring the most bad ass Santa of all time -- Kurt Russell!

Friday, December 14, 2018

The Mortal Engines take a Mule into the Spiderverse

Last weekend, there was nothing. This weekend more than makes up for it, though, with no less than four wide releases with their sites on your hard-earned cash.

And Jason and Shawn join Howie Reimer this morning on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show to tell you all about it!

The week's two big releases are the tween-focused sci-fi tale Mortal Engines and the animated superhero flick Spider-Man: Into the Spiderverse. But there's also a new Clint Eastwood movie, The Mule, to attract a more mature audience, especially fans of the iconic movie star.

Thursday, December 13, 2018

Retro Review: Metalstorm: The Destruction of Jared-Syn

A space ranger and his guide fight a wizard who rules with a giant crystal.

That's the premise behind Metalstorm: The Destruction of Jared-Syn, a would-be sci-fi "epic" that road the wave of early 80s 3D movies. I remembered it fondly from my youth . . . Then I recently revisited it.

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Review: You Might Be the Killer

What's more fun than a movie about a killer hacking and slashing his way through a group of camp counsellors? How about one where one of said counsellors might be the killer, but he doesn't know for sure?

That's the premise behind You Might Be the Killer, a razor sharp, and often comedic, spin on the old killer-in-the-woods trope. Apparently inspired by a Twitter thread that deconstructed the slasher genre, this is a fun way to kill a Friday night, if you'll excuse the pun.

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

True Detective heads back to its roots for Season 3

The latest trailer for the new season of True Detective dropped today, and it's a doozy. 

I say this as a die-hard fan of the first season, which is one of the finest eight hours of TV ever assembled. Like many, I didn't care much for the second season, although its only real crime is it had to follow the first.

Monday, December 10, 2018

New Godzilla: King of the Monsters trailer promises a true monster mash

I love Gareth Edwards' 2014 Godzilla movie. Many complainers complained there wasn't enough monster action, but I liked it fine.

Judging from this latest trailer for the upcoming follow up, there will be no room for complaints in that department when Michael Dougherty delivers the sequel next May.

Saturday, December 8, 2018

John Fallon, Marc Natoli and the Baby It's Cold Outside debacle

We Came from the Basement wouldn't be what it is today if it wasn't for repeat guest John Fallon. The actor/writer/director/producer/stuntman/Arrow in the Head founder was Jason and Shawn's first guest, and he's become a friend and frequent collaborator. Heck, he even helped come up with the show's title.

Fallon updates audiences on his many projects, and he's brought actor/martial artist Marc Natoli with him to discuss their short film collaboration The Proposal, as well as update fans on his second directorial effort, Heretic, and the upcoming The Siege of Robin Hood.

Friday, December 7, 2018

Marc Natoli and John Fallon re-team for Heretic

We just interviewed filmmaking duo John Fallon and Marc Natoli this morning on our Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show segment, where they talked The Proposal and the upcoming Heretic and The Siege of Robin Hood. But it looks like the two collaborators aren't finished yet.

Fallon announced via Twitter that Natoli has signed on to play Davies in Heretic, a medieval action/drama starring Paul Sloan and Mark Lawson. Fallon co-wrote the script and directs.

Avengers: Endgame Trailer


The "Snap" heard through the Marvel Cinematic Universe has occurred.  Earth's mightiest heroes are scattered in defeat.  Guilt... loss... shame fill them with uncertainty about the future.

But there is hope... there is always hope...

John Fallon and Marc Natoli have a Proposal for Radio NL

There are no major releases in theatres this weekend!

That's right. There is nothing of note in cinemas for the next seven days, which means Ralph Breaks the Internet and Creed II are expected to keep cleaning house at the box office. Does that mean there's nothing for Jason and Howie to discuss on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show?

Hardly.

Thursday, December 6, 2018

The real reason for Once Upon a Deadpool

There's been much speculation (not really) as to why Deadpool 2 was trimmed to a PG-13 rating and is about to be released on moviegoing audiences once more (next week, I think).

Was it money? Disney acquiring 20th Century Fox and wanting to make the R-rated Marvel product more family friendly? Pure, outright greed?

We here in The Basement could continue this debate (I think Howie and I discussed this a few weeks back), but why Wade (get it) in when we can let Wade Wilson and Fred Savage answer these, and other questions, for us (we're lazy)?

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Insomniac Theatre: Queen of the Amazons (1947)

Late night movie viewing is the time when you usually come across obscure little films.  Some of them keep you awake with interest... while others seem to help cure your insomnia...

Seeking to find her missing fiance, Jean assembles a small expedition to the jungles of Africa.  Fear, sabotage, and death follow the group amidst hushed rumours of "white she-devils" that rule the dark jungles.  Is her fiance alive... or has the "White Goddess" gotten him...?

Tuesday, December 4, 2018

Review: Death Kiss

If you're considering Death Kiss as a weekend watch with a couple of liquor drinks, and you think there's something familiar about its star, Robert Kovacs, you're right. The man looks a hell of a lot like the late, great Charles Bronson.

I'm sure writer/director Rene Perez was counting on that when he cast Kovacs in this flick, which is itself an homage to the kind of movies Bronson made when he'd set up shop at Cannon Films, a company that churned out a lot of this stuff.

Review: Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018)


Well, this is not "normal" for me: reviewing a second movie that's recently been in the theaters.

Of course, this could be related to what Jay was discussing in his article about Studios closing the "Theatre-to-Digital Gap".  I suggest reading that article by the way.  I rate it in "The Good".

But I'm here to review to "Solo: A Star Wars Story".

Monday, December 3, 2018

New Captain Marvel trailer brings the noble warrior hero

Truth be told, the reality of a Captain Marvel movie had me at Brie Larson. She's a damn fine actress who's already proven her worth in a big-budget blockbuster (Kong: Skull Island) and looks the part of superhero. Period.

Note the lack of anything sexist in the above paragraph . . .

Saturday, December 1, 2018

About that Happy Death Day 2U trailer

Sequels, especially horror sequels, and especially especially slasher-movie sequels, are usually the first movie repeated. As much as  I love 'em, the Friday the 13th and Halloween parts two through 20 are pretty much just the first movie done again, and again, and again.

And, on the surface, that's what Happy Death Day 2U appears to be too. Take Happy Death Day and repeat it. It is Happy Death Day 2 after all.

The Possession of Hannah Grace and Anna and the Apocalypse

Not rain nor sleet nor technical difficulties can keep the latest podcast From The Basement from reaching your fine ear holes. Such is the case this week, at least.

Please don't hit us with a Me Too for the fine ear holes comment...

But the Basement Boys did experience some technical glitches during their latest recording session, not that you'll notice, and the show went on. What did Jason and Shawn ramble on about this week? The usual of course: all things entertainment!

Friday, November 30, 2018

The Possession of Anna and the Apocalypse

Sure, December lands tomorrow. But it's all demons and zombies at the multiplexes this weekend as two new movies duke it out for your hard-earned coin.

Which one is worth your dollar? Jason and Howie give their two bits and change today on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show!

Thursday, November 29, 2018

Retro Review: Hell Night (1981)

Given the success of John Carpenter's Halloween and Friday the 13th, the 80s was a hotbed of slasher movies. It can be argued that for a good decade the horror genre was simply made up of crazed/masked killers murdering teens.

Many of these films came and went with little fanfare other than poor reviews by mainstream critics. And, as is often the case, several have earned a cult status among fans.

Hell Night is one such movie, and it's not a bad one by any standard.

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

The Animated Addict: The Incredibles 2 (2018)


I'm going to say up front that this is one animated film that I was super looking forward to watching and reviewing, since I loved the first one... but you know what they say about getting what you wish for...

After being arrested for a battle with The Underminer, the Parrs face a return to a mundane existence... until Winston Deavor approaches them with a plan to make "supers" legal again.

While Helen returns to duty as Elastigal, Bob adjusts to "normal" life as a father... with superpowered kids...

Tuesday, November 27, 2018

Charles Bronson look-a-like comes home Dec. 4

The low-budget vigilante flick Death Kiss has been on our radar for some time. Why? Well, it's an action movie for one, and we're all about that in The Basement.

But the main reason is because it stars a dude named Robert Kovacs, and he bares a striking resemblance to one of the most iconic action heroes of all time -- Charles Bronson. Take a look at the above pic and tell me if I'm wrong.

Monday, November 26, 2018

From the Corner: Apollo 18 (2011)



Space is a big, wonderous place.

Unless you're in a horror movie that is...

Unknown to the world, the cancelled Apollo 18 mission of 1974 did occur.  Three astronauts went to the moon on a secret military mission, only for things to go horribly wrong.  This is their footage... and their terrifying story...

Sunday, November 25, 2018

Review: Creed II

I don't know where to begin with Creed II. It's a moviegoing experience that, surprisingly, proved as much an emotional ride for me as The Force Awakens was three years ago.

Yup, a movie about boxing hit me in the feels -- both nostalgia wise and on an emotional level -- as much as an entry in my all time favourite film series.

Ralph Breaks the Internet, Creed 2 and Robin Hood

Comin' at yah from the mighty Radio NL via the Internet audio waves to your ear holes; it's this week's extended cut podcast for We Came from the Basement.

Once again, Jason and Shawn not only bring you The Basement's Friday morning segment from the NL Morning Show, they also share the audio from their Facebook Live broadcast that makes up this extended cut, complete with bad language and boob references.

Friday, November 23, 2018

Creed 2 breaks the Internet with Robin Hood

The big Thanksgiving weekend is underway in the good 'ole U.S. of A. What does that mean for us folks up in the frozen north? Movies, dammit! And lots of them!

There are three, count 'em three, big releases out this week. Two of them are sequels and the third, well, is another telling of story everyone knows like the back of their hand. Which means we probably didn't need it.

And Jason and Howie take to the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show to tell you all about these movies three, plus discuss some entertainment news and suggest some stuff you can watch at home.

Thursday, November 22, 2018

Review: The Curious Creations of Christine McConnell

I need to come right out and say it: shows about baking, crafting and sewing aren't my pint of ale. Anyone who has followed this site and our show over the years should know that. In fact, Shawn and I are pretty much the exact opposite of such things.

So why did I binge all six episodes of Netflix's The Curious Creations of Christine McConnell the other night? Because it's just so ducking good!

Wednesday, November 21, 2018

Insomniac Theatre: Android Insurrection (2012)


Movie history is filled with great movies about machines turning against humanity.  "Terminator", "The Matrix".... "Maximum Overdrive"...

And then there's "Android Insurrection"...

A group of elite soldiers in the year 2353 are dispatched to eliminate a rogue AI before it creates the ultimate killing machine.

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Editorial: studios look to close theatre-to-digital gap

The times they are a changing, as Warner Bros and Universal Studios look to shorten the length of time a film plays in theatres, in favour of a quicker jump to digital and the home market. 

When I was a wee lad, it wasn't unusual for a movie to stick around our local cinema for weeks, even months. I remember Raiders of the Lost Ark playing in town for 30 to 40 weeks - that's seven or eight months!

The last movie I remember getting such a long theatrical run was Titanic, which played for almost a year.

Monday, November 19, 2018

From the Corner: The Others (2001)


Ghost stories are one of the hardest things to do visually without resorting to extensive CGI or gore to bring the scares.  Finding a good, solid, suspenseful ghost movie is a challenge for someone like me.

Living in an isolated manor during World War Two, the Stewarts find themselves alone and depending on each other to survive the threat of invasion.  Adding to their isolation is the affliction that affects the two children.  One day, they hire some servants... only to find that they'd brought "The Others" with them.

Or maybe "The Others" were there all along already...

Saturday, November 17, 2018

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, Instant Family and Widows

Jason and Shawn return in this, the first extended cut podcast in three weeks! The event also marks a new milestone for The Basement Boys, as it's the first they've record live on Facebook!!

What does this mean for the future of the show? Not much changes really. Although there's some mugging for the camera that can only be seen when watching the video on We Came from the Basement's Facebook page.

Friday, November 16, 2018

Fantastic Beasts create an Instant Family out of Widows

The wait is over, and so it begins again. It's time for Jason to return to the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show with the weekend rundown of what to watch in theatres, and at home.

Joining him, as always, is Howie Reimer, and together they cover what is a pretty diverse list of films hitting cinemas today.

Thursday, November 15, 2018

Retro Review: The Taking of Pelham One Two Three (1974)


It's rare when a remake is better than the original. Only the best remakes, the ones that bring something new to the table, can at the very least live up to the source material.

Back in 2009, Denzel Washington and John Travolta starred in The Taking of Pelham 123, a remake of the 1974 film, which in itself is an adaptation of Morton Freedgood's novel of the same name.

One can argue the Denzel vehicle is just another adaptation but, having seen the two version, it feels like director Tony Scott was trying to outdo the older film, and just couldn't cut it, despite his talented cast.

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Top 5: Marvel movies we'd like to take back

The Marvel Cinematic Universe is the envy of rival studios everywhere. This well crafted, and plotted, run of quality films IS the world of Marvel Comics realized on screen, and a true legacy to Marvel creator Stan Lee.

The box-office goldmine comes with a price, as before Iron Man and Robert Downey Jr. there was a long line of failed attempts to bring Marvel characters to the big screen.

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Stallone returns to action in Backtrace

Sylvester Stallone is one busy dude, especially for a man of 72. Creed 2 comes out in a few short weeks, he's filming Rambo 5 as I type this, and he's somehow managed to wrap the new thriller Backtrace without anyone knowing it.

What's a Backtrace? Well, the movie details a heist gone wrong, a prison breakout, and Stallone's efforts to track down the bad guys. Much shooting is involved, given what I've seen from the trailer below.

5 Grimm Fairy Tales I'd Like to See as Movies


We were all kids once... or at least I'm assuming we all were.

Anyways, as kids we all heard or read the classic Grimm Fairy Tales, right?

Right.  I'm going to assume you said, "Right".

Monday, November 12, 2018

Marvel legend Stan Lee dead at 95

Word has reached The Basement that Marvel Comics creator Stan Lee has died. He was 95.

Lee passed away in the early hours of this morning at Cedars-Sinai Medical Centre in Los Angeles. The cause of death has yet to be determined.

Toy Story 4 teaser a delightful mess

This is sure to tickle the fancy of our Animated Addict: Disney and Pixar quietly dropped a teaser trailer for Toy Story 4 online this morning, much to everyone's delight I am sure.

Maybe it's because I'm not all about the cartoons, but I had no idea a new Toy Story movie was coming out, let alone as early as next summer.

Sunday, November 11, 2018

Review: Overlord

A movie about Nazi zombies -- or Nazbies as I like to call them -- isn't what you'd expect Hollywood to release on the Remembrance Day weekend, but I'm glad they did.

Why? The world needed a respectable Nazbie movie; one that takes place during the Second World War, on the eve of D-Day, which was called Operation: Overlord, hence this Nazbie movie's title.

Longest run-on sentence in history. Doubtful. But I'll get there...

Friday, November 9, 2018

Back on the air, and Facebook Live... ing it

Life is slowly returning to normal in The Basement, and that means it's almost time for Jason to rejoin Howie Reimer on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show, and Jason and Shawn to resume their extended cut podcast... with a slight twist!

That's right: when Jason and Shawn sit down to record said extended cut they are going to take it live... Facebook Live that is.

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

The Animated Addict: My Neighbor Totoro (1988)


In the 1980's, anime really hit North America, and became a massive part of it's pop culture- finding a home for many of Japan's mature storytelling (like "Akira" (1988), and it's more charming tales.

"My Neighbor Totoro" falls into the latter.

Satsuki and Mei have just moved into a new house near the hospital where their mother is recovering from an illness.  From the start, they knew that there was something unusual about the house, and the surrounding fields... but then Mei discovers Totoro... and their lives take a definite turn for the magical...

Thursday, November 1, 2018

A death in the family

We in The Basement wanted to let our readers and listeners know regular episodes/articles will be on hold until after Nov. 11 so Jay can deal with a death in the family -- his mother passed away shortly before Halloween.

The Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show segment will resume Nov 16, with the extended cut podcast debuting Nov 18.

Mike S will resume posts in The Basement at some point next week, once he returns from holidays. Jay anticipates returning to his duties on a limited basis the following week. 

Much thanks for your understanding and support during this time. We look forward to entertaining you for years to come.

Stick with us!

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Halloween (1978)

As I sat down to write this, I wondered what the point of yet another review/write up of John Carpenter's seminal movie would be. Writers far more talented, an learned, than I have already said their piece. Film historians and cinephiles have contributed their two bits to this classic film.

Do I have anything new to add? Is there more that can said about a movie that made its mark on horror movies -- and cinema in general -- 40 years ago?

Halloween Day By Day: It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown (1966)


Just as it wouldn't be Christmas without watching "A Charlie Brown Christmas", it wouldn't be Halloween without watching, "It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown"... so I did.

It's Halloween, and the Peanuts gang is trick or treating... except for Linus.

He's waiting... waiting for the mysterious Great Pumpkin to rise, and bringing Halloween goodness to the world.

I'm probably going to sound biased since I've been a fan of Charlie Brown since I was a kid, but that's because I am biased. LOL

This is one of those cartoons that is just a relaxing, charming tradition for me.  There's an innocence to it that is charming, and allows you to forget the sort of things that are part of our modern world.  There's no moral to the story- you're not being preached to about this thing or that thing.  It's simply meant to make you smile and forget your cares for a bit.

Yes, the animation is dated- but in my opinion, that makes it all the more charming.  It's perfectly in keeping with the simplicity of the story, and the childhood wonder of the characters.

And that's why I love watching it every year.  It's just a great way for me to pop my feet up, scarf down some Halloween candy, and simply relax and smile.  For that reason, it sits firmly in "The Good" for me.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Ghostwatch

On Oct. 31, 1992, the BBC broadcast Ghostwatch, a Halloween mockumentary that "investigated" an alleged haunted house. It used real BBC personalities, including Sarah Greene, Craig Charles and Michael Parkinson, and loosely based the haunting on the famous Enfield poltergeist case.

The end result was so damn convincing -- and ultimately frightening -- that Orson Welle's War-of-the-Worlds level of panic was caused. Viewers were terrified, one person is rumoured to have died from fright, and Ghostwatch was banned, never to be seen again.

Monday, October 29, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Terrifier

I've always found it interesting how people are so scared of clowns, myself included. I suppose it's all context. I see a clown at a circus, no worries. But, as Alfred Hitchcock once said, "there's nothing scarier than a clown after midnight."

In the case of the slasher flick Terrifier, there's nothing scarier than a clown after midnight . . . on Halloween!

Yup, that's the plot of Damien Leone's 80s throwback movie. Literally, there is no more to the movie than that. But that's also why it works: this is a simple horror film that aspires to give us no more than hot chicks on the run for a murderous clown on Halloween night.

And gore . . . Leone also gives us lots and lots of gore. Oh, and a Psycho-like twist. Spoiler alert.
Whether or not you like the movie depends on your tastes. I enjoy this kind of thing, and found David Howard Thornton's performance as Art the Clown to be quite ominous. He says nothing, and conveys a real physical menace. Seeing him out after midnight would suck balls!

Halloween Day by Day: Ouija (2014)


I suspect that everyone, at one point or another, has either played- or thought of playing with a Ouija board.

After her friend dies, Laine Morris and her friends use a Ouija board to contact her...

Too bad, they reached the wrong person...

Friday, October 26, 2018

The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina interview, Hunter Killer and Indivisible

A family emergency means this week's extended cut isn't as extended as it usually is (does that make sense?), but the show still goes on!

While you won't get the usual Jason and Shawn banter, you do get Jason and Shawn's full interview with Elizabeth Thomson, the art director on Netflix's newest spooky creation, The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina!

Halloween Day By Day: The Cabin in the Woods (2012)


I'm heading out for vacation today (don't worry I've got a bunch of stuff scheduled to auto-publish as part of #HalloweenDayByDay!), so I figured I would watch and review the 2012 film, "The Cabin in the Woods".

A group of college friends go to an isolated cabin for the weekend.  But it's not your garden variety cabin.  There's something sinister under it.  Something sinister that is the only thing standing between them... and a greater threat.

The artistic Chilling Adventures of Sabrina interview hunter kills the Indivisible Johnny English

So that was a pretty damn wordy headline, but this is a pretty damn wordy edition for the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show, one that promises to shed light on the creepy look of Netflix's newest show, The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.

Jason and Shawn interviewed Elizabeth Thomson, the show's art director, earlier this month, and have a three-minute clip to share with audiences this morning. Thomson reveals how a show's production design comes together, and what an important facet of filmmaking it is.

Thursday, October 25, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Malevolence 3: Killer

In the world of movie making, there's a fine line between making an homage and crafting a ripoff. Malevolence 3: Killer walks this razor's edge in fine style.

Mena, who continues a trilogy that began with Malevolence in 2003 and continued with a prequel, Bereavement, in 2010, is clearly a fan of John Carpenter. So much so he makes no attempt to hide it. In fact, he embraces it.