Monday, October 22, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Cloverfield (2008)


Is it just me, or is New York becoming the new Tokyo of monster movies?

A group of friends have a going away part interrupted by something very loud... and large, destroying New York.

This is their footage.  This is their story...

Saturday, October 20, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Halloween (2018)

As a lifelong fan of John Carpenter's Halloween and the franchise it inspired, catching David Gordon Green's direct sequel to the 1978 original was a bit of an overwhelming experience. Possibly even more so for this critic than seeing The Force Awakens.

Suffice to say, that's why my review on our latest podcast was brief, and my thoughts on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show even more so.

Friday, October 19, 2018

Halloween (2018) and The Hate U Give

It's that time of year again (well, almost) and that means everyone is entitled to one good scare . . . even Jason and Shawn.

And that's what The Basement Boys are in for with this, the extended cut of Friday's segment on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show. Why, because they are venturing out of The Basement and into the cinema to see the new Halloween.

Halloween knows The Hate U Give

There are a pair of movies vying for your attention this weekend; one of them a highly anticipated follow up to a 40-year-old classic, the other a super charged take a beloved book.

Given the differences between the latest Halloween film and The Hate U Give, there's room for both movies at the box office. But, when it comes to dollars earned, Jason and Howie will likely put their money on Jamie Lee Curtis during today's segment on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show, starting at 8:20 a.m.

Thursday, October 18, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Tentacles (1977)

A lot of the films discussed during our Halloween Day By Day series were inspired by John Carpenter's Halloween. Given the title and setting of that movie, it's easy to understand why. Duh!

But one mustn't forget that Steven Spielberg's Jaws touched off a whole wave of similar genre films in the 70s and early 80s. And, as with Halloween, most of these ripoffs just weren't as good.

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: IT- Chapter One (2017)


One of the most talked about horror movies in 2017 was the most recent adaptation of Stephen King's "IT".

Well, it's 2018, and I'm going to be talking about it.

What?  Too soon?

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: The Haunting of Hill House (2018)

Taking on a classic psychological horror story like Shirley Jackson's seminal novel The Haunting of Hill House must have been a daunting thing for writer/director Mike Flanagan. It's a classic story that's already been twice told - once with great success by Robert Wise in the 1960s, and once as a big, giant turd in the late 90s.

The key to the book's success, and that of Wise's film, is the implied rather than the seen, which Jan De Bont got so, so wrong with his 1999 adaptation. To draw out psychological horror over a 10-episode series . . . well, that's a tricky thing as most audiences want to see something sooner or later.

Monday, October 15, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: The Children (2008)


Halloween and children go together like peanut butter and jam.  Murder and children... not so much, right?  You might be surprised...

Two families come together to share the holidays together, and ring in the New Year.

Unfortunately, their children start to fall ill, and act irrationally.

The New Year's going to be rung in with murderous intent this year...

Sunday, October 14, 2018

The Proposal, First Man, Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween and Bad Times at the El Royale

Jason and Shawn are back and ready to throw down over an action-packed short film in this, the extended cut of Friday's segment on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show.

What's the short film? It's called The Proposal, and comes by way of long-time friend and collaborator John Fallon, and rising martial arts star Marc Natoli. And it killed it this past week at the Sitges Film Festival in Spain.

Friday, October 12, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Unfriended (2014)


Social Media is a huge part of our lives.  It keeps us connected to friends and family, and news.  It allows us to share our lives with a multitude of people.

But, it has a dark side as well.

Blaire Lily and her friends are talking on Skype, when a mysterious seventh person logs in.  Soon, they learn that they are the target of a vengeful killer determined to expose their roles in the suicide of a fellow classmate... even if it means killing them one by one...

First Man has Bad Times with Goosebumps

It's a big weekend at the box office, with no fewer than four movies competing for your dollar, and Jason and Howie are ready, willing and able to throw down on what to watch as We Came from the Basement returns to the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show.

But they aren't just talking movies, as Netflix debuts a limited series based on the classic Shirley Jackson novel The Haunting of Hill House, and Taylor Swift is now liked 25 per cent less by U.S. President Donald Trump.

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: He Knows You're Alone (1980)

Few can argue that John Carpenter's Halloween is one of the most influential films of all time. It's a lean, mean, technically brilliant scare machine that established a formula for genre flicks to come.

Yes, it spawned many imitators. Some were good, most were bad, and then there's ones like He Knows You're Alone.

Review: The Proposal (2018)

"Admit it: that was cool as fuck."

Star Marc Natoli says that line about half way through the action short The Proposal, and there's no better way to sum the film up. Although just 10 or so minutes long, The Proposal is everything an action fan could ask for.

In fact, the only complaint I've got is I wanted more!

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Salem's Lot (1979)


Vampires.  Stephen King.  Halloween Day By Day.  Mike S.

A match made in heaven, right?

Writer Ben Mears returns to his home town of Salem's Lot to write about the local "haunted house"- the Marsten House.  His arrival seems to herald a plague: children disappearing... locals feeling tired and run down... and growing fear and suspicion.

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Malevolent

Netflix is cranking out the genre movies this October. There's so many, they're hard to keep track of. The studio's track record is a bit spotty when it comes to horror, though. Hush is brilliant, The Open House not so much. And now we've got Malevolent.

The trailer was certainly spot on, promising chills and a twist as a brother and sister "ghost hunting" duo look for a big scam to cash in on, only to have something go horribly wrong . . . something far more malevolent than ghosts.

Monday, October 8, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Happy Death Day (2017)


Birthdays are great.  Dying on them, not so great.  Having to repeat your birthday over and over again?  Hilarious...

It's Theresa's birthday today.  After going to a party, a masked person kills her in a dark tunnel.

It's Theresa's birthday today.  After going to a party, she goes straight home... but a masked person kills her in her bedroom.

It's Theresa's birthday today.  It will always be Theresa's birthday unless she can identify and stop the masked person from kill her again... and again... and again.

Marc Natoli throws down in The Proposal clip

Taking a break from our Halloween Day By Day to share with you Basement Dwellers this first clip from the upcoming ode to 80s and 90s action flicks, The Proposal.

Why now, you ask? Because it's Thanksgiving, and we're feeling thankful for your support these last eight years, and the support The Proposal's writer, John Fallon, and star, Marc Natoli, have shown us.

Sunday, October 7, 2018

Venom and A Star Is Born

The time is now! Meaning it's time once again for Jason and Shawn to take to the Interwebs for this, the extended cut of Friday's segment on the mighty Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show.

What is an extended cut, you might ask? Easy: it's extra content created for long-time fans of We Came from the Basement featuring the original duo of Jason and Shawn. The show turned eight this year, and no one in The Basement wants to disappoint those who have stuck with us since the beginning.

Friday, October 5, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Rosewood Lane (2011)


As much as I love slasher horror movies, I still find time to enjoy the more subtle suspenseful psychological horror movies.  I recently took a visit to "Rosewood Lane"...

Dr. Sonny Blake returns to her childhood home in Rosewood Lane after her alcoholic father dies.  Her arrival attracts the attention of the local newspaper deliverer, who offers her a free subscription.

Her refusal begins a dark game of cat and mouse that can only end with one of them dead...

A Star Is Born with Venom

Two decidedly different movies duke it out for your box-office dollars this weekend. One is a highly praised drama from Bradley Cooper, the other a comic-book movie starring Tom Hardy with a parasite.

Yup, Jason and Howie are talking about A Star Is Born and Venom on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show later this morning!

Thursday, October 4, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Piranha (1978)

My only real childhood memory of Joe Dante's Piranha is the beautiful and spunky Heather Menzies distracting a soldier by ripping open her shirt and displaying her braless boobs to him.

Hey, I was maybe eight at the time, and boobs were the tits, to coin a phrase. Still are really. Wanna fight about it?

But that scene, which still plays well today (ahem) sums up the film perfectly. This movie is designed to be a non-pretentious schlockfest intent on being as entertaining as possible. Nothing more, nothing less.

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Prince of Darkness (1987)


As most people who know me are aware, I have a fondness for the older horror movies, so it's no surprise that I would be willing to pop back to 1987 to find an interesting one to review.

That interesting one just happens to be John Carpenter's "Prince of Darkness"...

A small church in Los Angeles is hiding a secret... a secret that has been guarded for thousands of year.


A secret that has existed since before time began.


A secret that is finally waking up...

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

Halloween Day By Day: Hell House LLC 2: The Abaddon Hotel

I stumbled across the original Hell House LLC on Shudder earlier this year and found it a surprisingly effective and creepy little found-footage movie. Yes, that subgenera is alive and well and, I assume, is never going to go away.

But when done well, as is the case with Hell House LLC, the format works. Writer/Director Stephen Cognetti crafted some fine analog scares and created a frightening -- and plausible -- back story that was the basis of the film.

Monday, October 1, 2018

Halloween Day by Day in The Basement!


Greetings, everyone.

Welcome to October... a month of chilly breaths seen on the air, and shadowy phantom shapes seen flitting through the corners of our eyes.

The month of Halloween!

To celebrate this, our favorite month of the year, "We Came From the Basement" and "The Corner of Terror" are teaming up to bring you 31 days of horror goodness.

Sunday, September 30, 2018

Night School, Smallfoot and Hell Fest

What happens when a couple of aging film geeks get philosophical, and start talking UFOs, science, God and life after death? The end of society as we know it? Yet are still able to tie it all into film and entertainment?

That is a question best asked before tuning into this, the extended cut of Friday's We Came from the Basement segment on the mighty Radio NL 610 AM Kamloops.

Friday, September 28, 2018

Smallfoot turns Night School into a Hell Fest

It's the last weekend of September, meaning October is just days away, and that can only mean one thing -- Halloween is just around the corner!

While Universal and Blumhouse's Halloween sequel/reboot is still a few weeks off, Lionsgate and CBS Films gets a running start at the spooky holiday with the slasher flick Hell Fest this weekend.

And Jason and Howie are ready to talk about it and the weekend's other big releases today at 8:40 a.m. on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show!

Thursday, September 27, 2018

Retro Review: The Crow

There's a new track by the band Ice Nice Kills called A Grave Mistake, which is based on the 1994 Alex Proyas movie The Crow. It's a great track, which captures the sadness and savagery of the film, and the James O'Barr comic that inspired it. If you haven't heard it, seek it out!

I've listened to the song dozens of times in the two weeks, and was compelled to go back and watch the movie again, having not seen it in probably 15 years. I was a bit hesitant going in. Would it's dark beauty remain? How about the emotional impact, which isn't just brought on by the sad nature of the story, but by the resonance of star Brandon Lee's tragic on-set death?

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

From the Corner: "The Monster Walks" (1932)


We're going to step out of the Silent Movie Era for this next review from The Corner of Terror.  It's an 1932 horror movie in which we learn that "The Monster Walks" never forgets its hatred...

Ruth Earlton returns home after years away for the reading of her father's will.  Soon, the stormy night is filled with the chilly touch of death as some inhuman monster stalks through the halls.  It's up to Ruth's fiance, Dr. Ted Carver to figure out what is happening before Ruth becomes the next victim...

Review: Lethal Weapon Season 3, Episode 1

Like most people, I'd written off the Lethal Weapon TV series before It'd even aired. Take a classic film series that featured award worthy work by two great actors, and turn it into a network show . . . during prime time!?! Sacrilege!

And, like many viewers, I was pleasantly surprised when, after giving the show a chance, I actually liked it. The more I watched, the better it got.

A big part of the show's success was Clayne Crawford's performance as Martin Riggs. He came out of nowhere and made the character his own, which I didn't think was possible. His chemistry with co-star Damon Wayans, although not on par with what Mel Gibson and Danny Glover had, was still solid.

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Not all life is sacred in Blessed Are the Children

When a movie is pitched to you as part Halloween, part Black Christmas and all scares, it's hard not to be skeptical.

I mean, come on -- Halloween and Black Christmas are classics! Not just great horror movies, but great movies in general. And saying your flick is on par with them is, well, pretentious.

Monday, September 24, 2018

From the Corner: "The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari"


I have returned with another old school silent horror movie.  This time it's "The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari" from 1920.

Alan and Francis visit a carnival in the small German town of Holstenwall, where one of the attractions is Dr. Caligari and his somnambulist.  Caligari claims that is sleeping attraction can answer any question asked of it.  When Alan asks when he'll die, his death is predicted for that night... a prediction that comes true.  As Francis and his betrothed investigate Dr. Caligari, things seem to be more sinister than they first appeared...

Sunday, September 23, 2018

The House With A Clock In Its Walls and Life Itself

Shawn is back in The Basement, and just in time for the extended cut of Friday's segment on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show!

What do Jason and Shawn get up to this episode? A whole bunch of stuff guaranteed to hit you right in your entertainment centre!

Friday, September 21, 2018

The Drunken Review: Upgrade

Who doesn't like a good sci-fi actioner? I'm willing to bet most people do. So I went into Leigh Whannell's Upgrade hoping for a good time at the movies.

And, given the amount of beer I had on this Friday night, I was also hoping for some mindless, and often bloody, entertainment. With a wink and a nod as well.

Action short The Proposal will kick ass at Sitges

That headline is accurate in so many ways.

For one, The action short The Proposal (which we've written about here and here) will indeed screen at the esteemed Sitges Film Fest next month, which is cool in its own right.

But we also have it on good authority the film, which is an ode to 80s and 90s action cinema, is also a kick-ass movie, so we anticipate it will blow audiences through the back wall of theatre when the lights go down Oct. 10 at 4 p.m. in Catalonia, Spain.

Life Itself has a clock in its walls

A kids' horror movie directed by Eli Roth and an inspiring story about our place in the universe? So sums up this week's two big movie releases.

Which means it's Friday, and time for Jason to join Howie Reimer on the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show!

Thursday, September 20, 2018

Why we think The Predator fizzled

Shane Black brought the 80s back to cinemas in high style this past weekend with The Predator, a sequel to the hit 1987 Arnold Schwarzenegger flick which Black co-starred in.

The film had everything we in The Basement love -- boat loads of action and explosions, gore, profanity and lots of it, and machismo to spare. Mike S and I love the hell out of the movie, as did those of us with similar sensibilities.

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Having My Say: Whitewashing and Blackfacing


Mike S here to talk about something we touched on in this week's Extended Edition of "We Came From the Basement" with Jason: The possibility of a black Superman and a black James Bond coming to the big screen soon.

It could work- more so for Superman than James Bond in my opinion.

Why?

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

The 90s return with the Captain Marvel trailer

Ah, the 90s. An era that saw me graduate film school, travel the world, meet interesting people, and kinda like them.

As cool as my 90s experience was, it's nothing compared to the cool that comes with the lovely Brie Larson and this equally as lovely trailer for the much anticipated Captain Marvel.

Monday, September 17, 2018

Mermaid's Song trailer sings a creepy tune

Some days, I'm not even sure what I'm trying to say when I write these headlines . . .

Anywho, I guarantee there will not be one singing crab in director Nicholas Humphries spin on The Little Mermaid, which in turn was based on Hans Christian Anderson's classic mermaid tale. In fact, we in The Basement are pretty sure this is going more for horror romp than Disney musical.

Sunday, September 16, 2018

The Predator, A Simple Favor and White Boy Rick

The wait is over, The Basement has returned, and a new extended-cut episode is here to pleasure your ear holes!

And while Shawn is down for the count, Mike S has joined Jay to not only provide wrap-around content for the Radio NL 610 AM Morning Show, but to review this weekend's big new release, The Predator.

Friday, September 14, 2018

Lions, tigers and Predators . . . oh my!

The word from the higher ups at Radio NL is they like us! They really, really, like us! So that means We Came from the Basement is back on the mighty NL Morning Show today at about 8:40 a.m.!

An exclamation mark just because!

Shawn is away, so Jason and Howie talk a whole slew of movie and entertainment news for your ear holes, including a few thoughts on Amazon Prime's Jack Ryan series and the upcoming season of Netflix and Marvel's Daredevil.

Thursday, September 13, 2018

Animated Addict: "Up" (2009)


The Animated Addict is back in town, and in the Basement with another review!  Today, I'm going to take a quick look to the skies as I review Pixar's 2009 release, "Up"!

Carl met the love of his life at the age of nine.  Ellie was fearless, adventurous, and energetic... and she had her own clubhouse.  They both shared a dream to visit Paradise Falls- a dream they would work to accomplish throughout the length of their relationship.

Until tragedy struck the loving couple.

Wednesday, September 12, 2018

Retro Review: The Last Shark AKA Great White

I wasn't really sure if I wanted to make this review a Drunken one or a Retro one. The Last Shark is an old . . . as in retro . . . movie, but I was drinking while watching it. Just not to the level that warrants a Drunken Review.

Then I figured I was thinking about it too much, and stopped. We go Retro on this one!

The Last Shark, or Great White, as it was known while making the rounds in theatres back in 1981, is a notorious Italian Jaws rip off that, when I was a kid, was very hard to find. Thankfully it's popped up on Amazon Prime, and I was able to take this mother down.

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Solo: A Fanboy's Story

No, this isn't a review, as that ship clearly sailed back in May. But I did finally watch Solo: A Star Wars Story, a movie I was in no hurry to see.

Given the film's "poor" (I use "" as it's hard to imagine a film that made more than $200 million domestic being considered a failure) box-office performance, I guess a lot of people were in the same space about Solo as I was.

Monday, September 10, 2018

Insomniac Theatre: "The Foreigner" (2017)


Sometimes, late night movie viewing can give you the opportunity to discover a rare gem of a movie- such as Jackie Chan's 2017 "The Foreigner".

After an IRA bombing kills his daughter, Ngoc Minh Quan asks the police to give him the names of the bombers involved.  They refuse to do so, and advise him to let them deal with things.  When Deputy First Minister Liam Hennessy- a former IRA member, denounces the attack, Quan seeks Hennessy's assistance in tracking down the bombers.

Saturday, September 8, 2018

The Drunken Review: Victor Crowley

What the hell, Jay!?! Another Drunken Review? The heck is a matter with you? You on vacation or something?

As a matter of fact, I am. And it's almost over. Now piss off and let me review (ish) Victor Crowley before I pass out, would yah!

Not a question. A statement.

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

Halloween scares up a great new trailer

We're only six (ish) weeks away from David Gordon Green and Blumhouse's new Halloween movie, and Universal Studios has seen fit to unleash one more trailer for the sequel/reboot, and it's a doozy.

Doozy is, of course, a technical term.

We all know this is a direct sequel to John Carpenter's classic, and one that pits Jamie Lee Curtis' Laurie Strode agains the terrifying Michael Myers one last (ish) time. So let's cut right to the chase.

Monday, September 3, 2018

"Johnny Gruesome" Trailer


October is just around the corner, so it's reasonable that we in The Basement here would start thinking and talking about horror movies, right?

Right.  You know us so well.

Coming this October to Video on Demand is an offering from Uncork'd Entertainment is their movie based on the 2007 novel "Johnny Gruesome" by Gregory Lamberson.

Wednesday, August 29, 2018

From the Corner: Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1920)


Mike S here again with ANOTHER silent horror classic that I reviewed on my own blog.  This time, it's the 1920 version of "Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde", starring John Barrymore (Drew Barrymore's grandfather).

Dr. Jekyll is a fine, upstanding member of society: respectable, intellegent, and giving of his time to the poor in his clinic.  When criticized by his soon to be father-in-law, for his lack of worldly experience, Jekyll is determined to gain experience in the darker side of life.  A potion he creates allows him to revel in humanity's depravity as Mr. Hyde... but soon Hyde begins to take over.

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Insomniac Theatre: "The Incredible Petrified World" (1957/1960)


What sort of film fits into the world of The Insomniac Theatre?  Well, movies that were completed in 1957... but not actually released until three years later for starters...

Four oceanographers exploring the deep get trapped in a maze of underwater caverns.  They must find their way out before the volcano above them erupts... or they fall victim to a mysterious shipwreck survivor dwelling within the winding tunnels...