Thursday, May 31, 2012

Jason reviews The Timeslip

If commercials were added, The Timeslip would be a perfect length for an episode of the old Twilight Zone TV series. Whether or not writer/directors Richard and Jonathan Chance had that in mind when they made The Timeslip remains to be seen, but that's the best way I can sum this short film up. It's a solid 15-minute tale made on a low budget with a lot of imagination and filmmaking ingenuity. The film's biggest asset is its main character. It's nice to see someone react to a situation believably, doing what it takes to survive under bizarre circumstances. That aspect alone earns it a Good. But it also holds the viewer's attention despite the lack of dialogue and exposition. How can you see The Timeslip? Hopefully we will be able to screen it at Dark Fest 2013!

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Tom Six promises one final Human Centipede

I have yet to endure The Human Centipede: Full Sequence. It's something I will watch, but intend to put off for as long as possible. Shawn dug the shit out of it, so that means I will catch it eventually. Just. Not. Right. Now.

But Tom Six, the depraved mind who wrote and directed the first two movies, has promised a third and final chapter. On Twitter.

His latest tweet is, and I quote: Yes twitters. What happened to Lindsay stuck in between two corpses in and Martin's strange ending?: I will reveal all in

Yup. Swiped that shit right of the page. Wanna fight about it? But the real question is, how many people really care to watch another Human Centipede movie? Knowing what us horror nerds are like, it doesn't matter if we care or not. Human Centipede 3 will get made, and we'll watch it.

Stick with us! We'll keep you posted on the project as it develops.

On an unrelated note: what is it with Six and that fucking hat!?!

Shawn reviews 9

So, after my Seagal Sunday, I needed a bit of a break. Haha!

9 is something that I pre-screened for my kids. I'll often screen movies for them, before my wife and I let them watch.  I find the rating system fairly flawed in terms of our parenting style. Their ages are 9, 7 and 5. They've all watched the Transformers movies, except the third one.

But my kids will not be watching  9, not because it's too much for them to handle, but because they will likely find it quite boring. They won't really understand the main message and it doesn't offer much else.

Where I can appreciate the visuals, it won't be anything new to them. Their generation gets to see lifelike giant robots transform into cool cars, after fighting other giant robots.

9 was like the aftermath of The Matrix mixed with The Borrowers, if they were dolls. Then animate. Really fucking boring.

They can watch it if they want, but I know they will lose interest a lot quicker than I did. This gets an Ugly from me.

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

All about Prometheus . . . the spaceship that is

Because there isn't already enough anticipation for Ridley Scott's return to the sci-fi franchise Alien, we've got this handy little featurette from the new film Prometheus, due out June 8.

This two-minute video details the design and construction of the spaceship at the centre of the film, the Prometheus itself. There's interviews with the cast, which includes Michael Fassbender, Noomi Rapace and Chalize Theron, Scott and the production designer. It's interesting stuff if you're a hardcore movie nerd like me.

Prometheus follows a team of explorers who discover a clue to the origins of mankind on Earth, leading them on a journey to the darkest corners of the universe. There, they must fight a terrifying battle to save the future of the human race.

Enjoy the video!

Shawn, Steven Seagal and Triple Threat Sunday!

So Jason and I love to make fun of Steven Seagal.  Dude made some bitchin' B movies in the 80s and 90s only to never return to his true form. Sadface.

It got to the point where he even stopped doing a lot of his own fighting. In some movies, a fighting double, (who Jason and I hope to speak with this coming season) can clearly be seen.

Do I watch his movies to see a body double do his fight scenes?  No, I do not.  I watch Steven Seagal movies to watch Seagal spiral fracture arms and perform small circle throws and disgusting joint manipulations. Basically, to fuck people up! He isn't the greatest actor so I watch strictly for his mastery in Aikido.

This past Sunday, I hit up Netflix and took in a triple threat of Seagal's newerish un-seen-to-me stuff.  And one I had.

Ticker (2001):  Stars Dennis Hopper (playing a mad bomber) and Tom Sizemore, who has been in some phenomenal movies, as the "main" character. Seagal is secondary but  ... insert mysterious background martial arts expert here. Not much martial arts. Bad. Hopper saved this one from an Ugly.

The Keeper (2009): Where Seagal is a cop, but also a ... insert mysterious alphabet organization background. He's also a martial arts expert here. Seagal is hired by an old friend to watch said friends' daughter. Didn't mind this one, but still a Bad.

 And finally, I watched Marked For Death (1990) again. Seagal takes on Jamaican drug dealing voodooers. Haha! Awesome. And a Good.

I also took in a documentary about Seagal's extensive training and teaching in Aikido.

As a martial arts practitioner all my life, it is hard not to respect the man.  Even though we make fun of him now, as many others too, he is still The Man, albeit a whole bunch more of a man, but The Man nonetheless.  He revitalized all of the martial arts movies you've seen from the 80's and inspired a whole bunch of them since. With some help from Chuck Norris, of course.

My nickname in high school was Seagal.  I have it on the sleeve of my grad jacket, which means I'll likely watch every Seagal movie that comes out until he's dead. There are still a few I haven't seen, and no matter how much they suck, I'll still suffer through knowing my hero, Fat Seagal is in them. Haha!

Monday, May 28, 2012

Some pics from Quentin Tarantino's Django Unchained

It's hard not to get excited when a new Tarantino movie comes along. As a writer and director, he just gets better with age. As good as Pulp Fiction is, and it's great, I still loved the shit out of the Kill Bill movies and Inglourious Basterds. Basterds is my hands down favourite of his.

Knowing a new Tarantino movie is coming just in time for Christmas has me excited. And the fact that he's making a spaghetti western has me downright giddy. Throw in a cast that includes Jamie Foxx, Leonardo DiCaprio, Christoph Waltz and Don Fucking Johnson and I'm sold. This is one of five films I will endure a theatre for this year.

The teaser for Django Unchained will appear before Prometheus on June 8, but we've got a few pics below to satiate you with until then. The film follows Django (Foxx), a freed slave who treks across America with Dr. King Schultz (Waltz), a German dentist turned bounty hunter. Together, they try to retrieve Django's wife Broomhilda from the charming but sadistic plantation owner Calvin Candie (DiCaprio) and his band of ruthless slavers.

Like I said, sold. Enjoy the pics!





Spend summer break at The School in the Woods

The bombardment of social media might be turning us all into mindless, isolated drones, but it's also a great way to make contacts and market your films/music/podcasts etc.

Case in point, the upcoming horror movie The School in the Woods. I hadn't even heard about Tony Fox's flick until he started following us on Twitter. Now I've got another film on The Basement's radar, and that makes me smile!

The Alien Propaganda production follows a group of college kids who venture into the backwoods of Louisiana in search of paranormal activity at an old, abandoned school. Suffice the say, they find it . . . found-footage style.

Yes, Shawn and I have pretty much had it with found-footage films, but the format is an easy and cheap way for horror filmmakers to get their projects off the ground. As long as The School in the Woods delivers, we're down. No word on a theatrical release, but the film is due to hit Amazon's Video On Demand in about a month.

You can learn more about the film on the official website, and check out the trailer below!

Sunday, May 27, 2012

A sexy, secret poster for The Dark Knight Rises

Just the other day we gave you a peek at the cool one sheet for Christopher Nolan's Batman finale, The Dark Knight Rises. Well, hidden deep within the electronic bowels of the Interweb is a poster that's even cooler . . . and dead sexy in its own way.

The only way to unleash the nifty design below is by scanning the QR code at the bottom of the previously mentioned poster. Being technically inept, I waited for someone else to do it and nabbed the .jpg. Because I'm evil that way.

Enjoy!
I gotta say, of all the banners and poster and promotional items for The Dark Knight Rises, this is my fave. It's a bit of a personalized throwback to the Joker posters from The Dark Knight. And I've always had a thing for stiletto heels. Sue me.

The Dark Knight Rise arrives in theatres July 20.

Saturday, May 26, 2012

Jason reviews This Means War

Harmless fluff about two spies who chase the affection of the same woman. Think Mad's Spy Vs. Spy only less mean spirited. You know what? It's not bad at all; as for as one-off time wasters go. And it's something the wife can enjoy as well. Chris Pine, Tom Hardy and Reese Witherspoon are all likable, funny actors, and they do a good job here. In fact, with another cast, this could have been really, really awful. Kudos to director McG for knowing how to shoot an action scene. Too bad there weren't more of them. This is like True Lies lite, and it's OK on that level. Not our usual poison in The Basement, but a decent lark all the same. A Bad for this one. FYI: the paintball scene is just awesome!

Get your adrenaline kick with this End of Watch trailer

Cop movies haven't been all the rage in a while. Christ, it's been 10 years since Training Day made its gritty mark on the cinematic world. We're due for another fix, and it looks like the new thriller End of Watch could be the dealer.

Written and directed by David Ayer, who penned the above mentioned Training Day, End of Watch follows two L.A. beat cops who find themselves targeted by a drug cartel. Jake Gyllenhaal and Michael Pena play the cops.

Have to admit, this trailer is pretty badass. Looks like there's some found footage going on but, if so, it's barely noticeable. And there's lots and lots of shooting. Sweet!

End of Watch is due out Sept. 28.



Friday, May 25, 2012

Jason reviews The Woman in Black

There's nothing like a good ghost story, and The Woman in Black is just that. The 1989 British TV adaptation of Susan Hill's horror novel scared the shit out of me, and so does this feature version by director James Watkins and screenwriter Jane Goldman. A scary tale is a scary tale. And what a triumphant return to glory for Hammer Films. This has all the mood, atmosphere and old-school chills one would expect from the classic house of horror. The second act is particularly frightening, with one shorts shitting moment after another. To call it unrelenting would be an understatement. But that's how we like our terror in The Basement -- unrelenting. And kudos to Daniel Radcliffe for erasing all memory of that boy wizard with a great performance here. This is a horror tale for grown ups, and he's more than up for the part. A Good from me.

Blood, boobs and Frodo Baggins? The Maniac remake trailer

Elijah Wood is the last actor you'd expect to star in a slasher movie, especially a remake of a particularly nasty one like Maniac. I mean, he starred in one of the biggest trilogies of all time and generally seems like such a nice guy. More the romantic comedy type.

But Wood is indeed the lead in this redo of William Lustig 1980 cult classic. The original dealt with a troubled young man who vents his childhood abuse on women in New York City. Things get complicated when he meets a beautiful photographer and starts to feel . . . feelings?

Judging from the preview below, Franck Khalfoun's spin doesn't stray too far from the source material. Wood's casting in the real coup here. I'm curious to see how he pulls the part off. Given the amount of red stuff on display, and producer Alexandre Aja's track record for gore, things will be bloody.

Maniac just closed out the Cannes Film Festival, so I'm sure we can expect word on distribution soon. The film is expected to hit theatres this year. 

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Bigfoot flick The Lost Coast Tapes scores North American distribution

We haven't heard much about director Corey Grant's The Lost Coast Tapes in a year, but word broke on the Interwebs today that the Sasquatch thriller has landed North American distribution with XLRator Media. 

The deal was announced at Cannes yesterday, and potential deals are pending with G2 Pictures/Koch Media for Europe and New Select in Japan. 

This is good news for what promises to be a decent horror romp. Aside from Abominable and some really shitty SyFy movies, the big hairy dude hasn't been well represented on film. The legend is due, and here's hoping The Lost Coast Tapes delivers.

As for the plot, when a "Bigfoot Hunter" claims to possess the body of a dead Sasquatch, a disgraced investigative journalist stakes his comeback -- and the lives of his documentary film crew -- on proving the find to be a hoax.

Drew Rausch, Rich McDonald and Ashley Wood star. No trailer yet, but we'll post one when it surfaces.

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Trailer for The Apparition creeps into The Basement

I know, I know. Three posts in one day!?! Are we mad? Or drunk? Possibly drunk on power? Or liquor? Or both? Whatever the reason, I couldn't log off without sharing this preview for the latest wannabe spooky hit to surface in the wake of Paranormal Activity.

I'm pretty sure The Apparition is going to suck, but it's got a nicely cut trailer and the presence of Ashley Greene -- she of the Twilight films -- which means every teenage boy and soccer dads are going to rush out and see this. Warner Bros. surely has a huge hit on its hands.

The premise behind The Apparition is promising enough: a young couple (Greene and Sebastian Stan) are tormented by a supernatural presence unleashed during a college experiment. Cue mix of trendy found footage and conventional scares.

I'm leering of PG-13 horror from a big Hollywood studio, but there are a few moments in the trailer below that promise a shorts shitting outcome, and a couple more that show Greene in lingerie, so I will likely give this a watch at some point. Teenage boys and soccer dads can check it out in theatres Aug. 24.

Ron Burgundy reporting live, again . . .

That's right.  Anchorman 2 recently released a trailer . . . ish or two.

Jason and I both loved the first one.  So when I saw a second one had been made, I couldn't help but to be a bit giddy.

As a day or two went by, and my contemplation and movie watching "experience" kicked in, I found myself unsure of the concept. Is it to make money? Or is it to feed the "Channel 4" fans? Or both?

What worries me most is the time it took to decide to make a sequel.  I put my money on . . . money.  But a bigger part of me is looking forward to learning the answer. Burgundy's character is classic, and the chemistry of the entire news team was perfect the first time. Can another, with a rumored 50-million dollar budget, pull it off?

I'll spend a buck or two to find out.  Then, I'll let you fuckers know. :)

G.I. Joe: Retaliation delayed nine months for 3D

In what has to be one of the dumbest fucking things Hollywood has ever done, the G.I. Joe sequel has been yanked from its June 29 release date and pushed all the way back to March 2013 so Paramount can convert the picture to 3D.

That's right, they spent months pumping June 29 only to yank the film from the schedule one month out so they can charge us three extra dollars to watch it next year. Fuck and You, Paramount.

I was dying to see this movie. It stars Dwayne Johnson AND Bruce Willis plus looked to be truer in spirit to the source material. Everyone who saw a preview thought it looked badass. And it's the fourth most popular flick on the JoBlo.com network. This film would have made killer coin.

But no, the Hollywood execs got greedy. Here's a quote some douche at Paramount told the guys at Deadline: We’re going to do a conscientious 3D job because we’ve seen how it can better box office internationally,” one of the studio execs just told me. “Jim Cameron did all of Titanic‘s 3D in post – and look how well that movie turned out.

I was willing to hit this up in theatres, now I'll wait until I can watch it at home. I'm as pissed about this as The Bruce looks in photo above. This isn't being done to better the movie, it's being done to make more money. Period.

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

The Hoff talks Piranha 3DD

David Hasselhoff has to rank right up there with William Shatner, Adam West and Christopher Walken as one of the most self aware stars of all time. He knows why he's famous, he knows his best days are likely behind him, and he remains relevant by playing to that. As a result, he's pretty much as popular now as he ever was.

Below is a featurette of The Hoff talking his latest role . . . playing himself in the upcoming sequel, Piranha 3DD. Hasselhoff clearly isn't taking himself seriously anymore, so why should anyone else. And I say good on him! This is two minutes well spent, and it's fucking funny as fuck!

Piranha 3DD stars The Hoff, Katrina Bowden, Danielle Panabaker, Gary Busey, and Christopher Lloyd. It'll achieve a limited release in theatres June 1.

Monday, May 21, 2012

Because it's really cool: The Dark Knight Rises poster

It's late, I'm tired and this is a really cool fucking poster! That's reason enough for me to post it here for your eye holes.

Besides, we've done countless stories about Christopher Nolan's final chapter in his Batman trilogy and posted pictures, previews and rumours . . . so why not the poster? Why not indeed!

I'm about as jazzed as jazzed can get for this movie. And it arrives July 20, the day after my 40th, so Happy Birthday to me!

Enough chit-chat. Take a gander at this bad boy. It's cool, and keeps the theme of previous posters for Nolan's Bat films.


Bond, James Bond, is back: the Skyfall teaser.

It's been far too long since Daniel Craig's Bond has graced the big screen. I loved the hell out of Casino Royale and enjoyed Quantum of Solace for what it was . . . a big action movie. Now Craig and his martinis -- shaken, not stirred -- and Walther PPK are back, and we've got a first look at the Sam Mendes-directed Skyfall.

The film finds Bond's loyalty to M tested when her past comes back to haunt her. With MI6 under attack, Bond's gotta do what Bond's gotta do. And with Craig in the role, he does it well.

Skyfall arrives in theatres Nov. 6. And it's one of the few flicks released this year I'm gonna venture out of The Basement to see.

Now watch the teaser!

Sunday, May 20, 2012

Jason reviews The Avengers

Best. Comic. Book. Movie. Ever. Well, it at least equals The Dark Knight. But comparing The Avengers to The Dark Knight is like comparing apples to oranges. Christopher Nolan's Batman films are realistic, gritty, crime dramas that happen to be about a guy in a bat suit. The Avengers is a Marvel comic brought to glorious, vibrant life. It's manic, thrilling, fun, funny and doesn't compromise any of it's great characters or the great actors who play them. Everyone is given his or her due and moment to shine. And the amazing set pieces -- including a 40-minute thrashing of New York -- don't overshadow the quieter moments a memorable movie needs. Bless you writer/director Joss Whedon. You were given something that could have backfired horribly and made it shine. You took all these characters, each introduced in a film of their own, and melded them perfectly into one dazzling motion picture, one that demands to be enjoyed again and again. And yeah, I admit it: it needs to be seen on the big screen. I look forward to watching this with my son when he is old enough. A Good, without hesitation. "Hulk smash!"

Saturday, May 19, 2012

Sara Paxton invades your home in Static 3D

Although it bears more than a passing resemblance to 2008's The Strangers, the upcoming home-invasion thriller Static does seem worthy of attention.

For one, the home invaders are supernatural in origin, which makes them a more interesting foe. And there's the presence of genre staple Sara Paxton, who made Shark Night 3D interesting simply by wearing a blue bikini. Throw in another hot Sarah, Sarah Shahi, and we could have ourselves a winner . . . or at the very least a passable time waster.

Shahi and Milo Ventimiglia play a couple on the verge of divorce after the death of their child. Along comes a stranger, Paxton, with a bizarre story that brings supernatural visitors into their home. Cue scares.

We've got a preview below, so you can judge for yourselves if Static is worth the watch.

As for the 3D, the film is the first indie feature shot in the third dimension. Why director Todd Levin chose 3D for a home-invasion movie remains to be seen.

No word yet on when Static hits theatres.



Friday, May 18, 2012

Jason reviews Chronicle

Superhero movies are a dime a dozen lately, but I've never seen anything quite like Chronicle before. Not only does it offer an original take on the comic-book style film, but it twists the found-footage genre in a totally new direction. We feel for the characters, especially our narrator Andrew, and understand why everything plays out as it does. There are no heroes and villains here, just people caught up in extraordinary circumstances. In that sense, Chronicle is, in a way, inspiring. But it also kicks serious ass, especially during the final act when director/co-writer Josh Trank pulls out all the stops and trashes Seattle in a superhero throwdown. And, by not relying on one camera to tell the story, we feel even more a part of the action than most films of this kind. Chronicle is superior storytelling, subverting the superhero genre and catering to its strengths, all at the same time. A Good from me.

Thursday, May 17, 2012

A clip and synopsis for the Arrow TV series

No, this isn't about the life and times of John Fallon. But it is an adaptation of DC Comics classic character the Green Arrow . . . sans the green part.

The series is scheduled to air on CW this fall, and we've got a little clip from the pilot below. But you need to read the lengthy synopsis for the series first. Because we're mean that way. Here it is:

After a violent shipwreck, billionaire playboy Oliver Queen was missing and presumed dead for five years before being discovered alive on a remote island in the Pacific. When he returns home to Starling City, his devoted mother Moira, much-beloved sister Thea, and best friend Tommy welcome him home, but they sense Oliver has been changed by his ordeal on the island. While Oliver hides the truth about the man he’s become, he desperately wants to make amends for the actions he took as the boy he was. Most particularly, he seeks reconciliation with his former girlfriend, Laurel Lance. As Oliver reconnects with those closest to him, he secretly creates the persona of Arrow – a vigilante – to right the wrongs of his family, fight the ills of society, and restore Starling City to its former glory. By day, Oliver plays the role of a wealthy, carefree and careless philanderer he used to be – flanked by his devoted chauffeur/bodyguard, John Diggle – while carefully concealing the secret identity he turns to under cover of darkness. However, Laurel’s father, Detective Quentin Lance, is determined to arrest the vigilante operating in his city. Meanwhile, Oliver’s own mother, Moira, knows much more about the deadly shipwreck than she has let on – and is more ruthless than he could ever imagine.

I actually dig the idea of a Green Arrow TV series. The character, especially the Mike Grell Longbow Hunters era, is ripe for just such a treatment. If done right, this could be good.

The series stars Stephen Amell as Oliver Queen/Green Arrow. Now we'll shut up and let you watch the clip already.


Wednesday, May 16, 2012

A preview for Dibbuk Box . . . I mean The Possession

We've given play to the Sam Raimi produced horror tale The Possession here in The Basement since our run on the radio began. Now we've finally got a look at the movie, which is allegedly based on a true story.

The Ole Bornedal-directed horror film follows Clyde Breneck and his 10-year-old daughter, Em, who purchase an antique box at a yard sale. Em accidentally releases an ancient spirit from the box that wants to devour her. Clyde must team up with his ex-wife to put an end to the curse.

The Possession stars one of my fave actors, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, as Clyde along with long-time hottie Kyra Sedgwick -- who happens to be the wife of Kevin Bacon, whom we featured on the site yesterday. Yes, it's all going according to plan -- as his ex-wife.

I have to admit, I like what I see in the preview below, even if it does look like a lot of other possession movies. There seems to be a degree of quality at work here that many mainstream horror movies don't have. Too bad Lionsgate trimmed it from an R to PG-13. We like R-rated horror here in The Basement.

The Possession rolls into theatre Aug. 31. Cheers to our boys at JoBlo.com for the handy embed.

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

A look at Kevin Williamson's The Following

Which, upon first glance, looks like just another serial-killer-on-the-loose movie, only with high-class talent like Kevin Bacon, James Purefoy and Maggie Grace.

Surprise, surprise . . . it's a TV series!

Scheduled to premiere next season on Fox, this dark drama centres on a diabolical serial killer (Purefoy) who uses technology to create a cult of serial killers, and the FBI agent (Bacon) who finds himself in the middle of it. Grace plays one of Purefoy's would-be victims.

If this were a movie, I'd say been there, done that. As a TV series, I'm intrigued. I don't know how much mileage they can get out of the idea, but I'd been willing to tune in for a few weeks and give it a chance. And Williamson, who wrote three of the four Scream films and I Know What You Did Last Summer, certainly knows the material.

No word yet on exactly when the show will premiere, but we'll keep you posted. Give the preview a peep and sound off if you please.

Monday, May 14, 2012

Some Guy Who Kills People comes home

And that's good news because this is a little movie that needs to be seen in a big way. Writer Ryan A. Levin's film is darkly funny, charming and yes, a wee bit gory. And it's well directed by Jack Perez. It's a hidden gem, one deserving of discovery.

Well, everyone will get to meet Some Guy Who Kills People when the comedy/horror flick hits DVD and Blu-Ray on July 3 care of the folks at Anchor Bay. The disc includes audio commentary by Perez and Levin, The Fifth -- a short film that inspired the feature, the film's trailer and a behind-the-scenes video.

For the uninitiated, Kevin Corrigan plays Ken Boyd, who might seem like an average comic enthusiast, living with his mother and working to make ends meet as an underpaid, underappreciated ice cream parlor attendant. But Ken has a dirty little secret: he fantasizes about killing people. After being released from a stay in the loony bin, for severe mental trauma suffered when he was beaten and tortured by a gang of high school thugs, Ken's repressed anger suddenly reaches a boiling point. With gleeful enthusiasm Ken hunts down his tormentors, one by one, and exacts his bloody revenge.

Here's the film's trailer:

First clip from Prometheus lands in The Basement

Alright, dammit! Just open already. I'm tired of posting teasers for trailers, teaser trailers, trailers, pictures and clips for Ridley Scott's (hopefully) triumphant return to sci-fi and the Alien franchise.

But I'm not tired of watching shit from Prometheus, I just want to see the movie. It looks boss, and the latest clip -- which does nothing more than show a ship land on a planet -- just makes me want to see it more. June 8, get your ass over here!

Prometheus stars Noomi Rapace, Idris Elba, Michael Fassbender and Charlize Theron in the story of a group of space explorers who set out to discover the origins of mankind. What they find shares DNA with Scott's Alien, and then some.

Now watch the clip!

Sunday, May 13, 2012

The full Dead Shadows preview is unleashed

And boy oh boy does this movie look like it's going to be a ton of fun! Beast, boobs and blood fun!

We've talked Dead Shadows up a lot here in The Basement, and we were honoured to have the teaser trailer play at our inaugural Dark Fest earlier this year. Today the film's star, and our friend, John Fallon debuted the full preview on his official blog.

And we've got it for you right here! Enjoy!



I can't wait to see this movie. It's been a long time since a really cool monster flick has come along, one with more than just one monster. Throw in a mutant apocalypse and some witty one liners and I think we've got a winner here. I love the Justin Bieber crack.

Dead Shadows stars Fallon, Fabian Wolfrom, Blandine Marmigere and Rurik Salle. The film is currently showing at Cannes and will hit theatres later this year.

Friday, May 11, 2012

Jason reviews Underworld: Awakening

There's a lot of reasons to love the Underworld series, a leather-clad Kate Beckinsale being chief among them. But there's also non-sparkly vampires, werewolves, violent gunplay and ass kicking up the wazoo. This fourth entry has all of the above in spades. Yet, for whatever reason, it also feels the most hollow of the four films. Not that I went in expecting Shakespeare or anything. But something was missing. A certain je ne sais quoi. Which makes it the weakest of the bunch. That said, it did have a leather-clad Kate Beckinsale, non-sparkly vampires, werewolves, violent gunplay and ass kicking up the wazoo. Should I complain? No. Will I watch this again, and other entries in the Underworld films? Yes. So Underworld: Awakening gets a Good from this Basement Dweller. And shout out to Bedlam's Theo James for getting decent role in this action flick.

From the makers of Sharktopus: Piranhaconda!

Need we say more? We didn't think so.

For all the quality films Shawn and I encounter here in The Basement, we still have a soft spot for the really shitty ones. The C-grade shitty ones. And Roger Corman's latest, Piranhaconda, fits right into the mold. And it's got Michael Madsen!

This SyFy movie follows a film crew that runs afoul of the titular beast. What follows has all the elements we hold dear: a beast, boobs and blood. CGI supplies the beast and blood, Rachel Hunter and Shandi Finnessey supply the boobs. Sold!

I have a feeling this could very well be our September Special in the making, if not one of the flicks we put on the chopping block at the start of Season Four. But those with SyFy can catch it June 16. Until then, enjoy the cheesy as fuck trailer below!

"I can't believe you just said that!" Wee!

Thursday, May 10, 2012

Jason reviews Bedlam: Season One

You read that right, bitches. We promised with a name change came the potential to expand beyond the film-review motif. And here is a prime example of that.

That's right, I'm reviewing a TV series! Boo-yah! How you like me now!?!

Now that that's out of the way: Bedlam is a British supernatural drama that aired on the BBC between Feb. 7 and March 15 of last year.

Seems the Brits love to keep their TV seasons short. This was six easy to digest episodes that I chowed down in as many nights. I dig. And it left me wanting more.

Best described as Kingdom Hospital meets 90210, Bedlam focuses on an upscale apartment block called Bedlam Heights -- which is renovated from the structure of an abandoned mental asylum -- and the strange hauntings that occur there. Theo James plays Jed Harper, a new arrival to the block who possesses the ability to see the ghosts and receives visions of their deaths. 

Given that this a TV series, each episode features a different malevolent haunting with Jed determined to discover the spirits' motives and thwart their sinister plans. When he's not busting ghosts, Jed makes nice with his flatmates: his cousin, Kate (the yummy Charlotte Salt), who manages the complex; Ryan (Will Young), who is troubled by the recent violent death of his brother; and Molly (Ashley Madekwe), a childhood friend of Kate and Jed.

Like any good TV series, Bedlam has a solid mythology behind it. Kate's family owned Bedlam Heights when it was an asylum and there's an interesting back story there that ties into the disappearances of local women. And Jed has spent time in the looney bin because of his supernatural powers.

Fortunately, Bedlam plays out better than I think I just made it sound. For one, it has some genuinely shorts shitting moments. The pilot episode is especially creepy, subsequent episodes not so much. But each episode presented an interesting new ghost and, given the short run, I didn't have time to get tired of the episodic nature of the series.

Creators David Allison, Neil Jones and Chris Parker wisely keep the soap-opera elements to a minimum, and play up the sexy Kate. This is good. We even get to see some boobies. Thank you, BBC!

I had a really good time with Bedlam. In fact, the season ended with such a perfect cliffhanger, and season two hasn't even started filming yet, so I'll likely watch the entire run again in order to get a fix. You know what that means: Bedlam gets a Good in this Basement Dweller's book.

Wednesday, May 9, 2012

Get a load of the Gangster Squad

Noir-style cop movies aren't all the rage these days, but Zombieland director Ruben Fleischer and stars Josh Brolin, Sean Penn, Emma Stone, Nick Nolte and Ryan Gosling seem poised to change all that with their upcoming flick Gangster Squad.

Sure, the title is a little silly, but the preview below looks anything but. This tale of a rogue band of cops taking down an L.A. gangster during the dirty 30s looks as badass as the production design is beautiful. Did I mention Emma Stone's in this? She is.

This is a great cast and, if there's one thing Hollywood is good at, it's putting on a spectacle. Gangster Squad is due out some time this year, and it's a film I am going to keep on my radar. In the meantime, give this trailer a peep and sound of if you are so inclined.

PS: excuse the Revlon ad at the beginning. Just click on as soon as you are allowed. It came with the trailer. Promise!

PPS: I gotta dust off my fedora and trenchcoat :)

Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Re-enter the Mihmverse with House of Ghosts

We admit it, we're pretty big fans of writer/director Christopher R. Mihm here in The Basement. No one has been able to capture on film the look, feel and corny good nature of 1950s drive-in cinema like he has. 

Shawn and I featured Mihm's previous work on two editions of the show last season, and there will certainly be more to come once we return to the airwaves for season four. How do I know this is true? Because there's another Mihmverse movie due out in 2012.

House of Ghosts is Mihm's first true foray into supernatural horror, and the film has storyline that would make William Castle proud. Read on: 

Rich socialites Isaac and Leigh have a tradition of throwing exclusive dinner parties that include unique (and expensive) forms of entertainment. This time, they've booked a spiritual medium who promises to "open a portal to the great beyond" and allow the couple's equally eccentric guests to contact the "afterworld." But, before he begins his presentation, the occultist offers a warning: once the door has been opened, no human being can anticipate or control what might come through. Regardless, the group collectively agrees to go forward, only to find itself greatly disappointed by the results... at first. Trapped in the couple's oversized house by a massive winter storm, the partygoers begin to experience unexplainable and increasingly frightening things. As these occurrences intensify, it becomes apparent that something evil is at work.

Mihm's previous work has been a lot of fun, and this promises to be more of the same. We look forward to seeing House of Ghosts once it hits later this month. Until then, we've got the period-perfect preview below.

Shawn reviews The Human Centipede 2 (Full Sequence)

Remember when I said I wasn't interested in a second version of ass-to-lips gore porn?

Well, what kind of "B" movie critics would we be if we didn't look into something like this?

The first hour is an incredibly dark look at the main character, Martin. Where his intent is to finish the Dr.'s work from the first film, except Martin is not a doctor,(completely opposite from the first movie actually) and is coined "mentally retarded" by his own family doctor.  Who isn't so awesome in the head, himself.

This is not a scary movie. However, the things they didn't show in the first movie, (happened off screen) you see in full view, in this one.  All be it black and white.(Minus a nice treat at the end...*shudders*)  The black and white really didn't ruin it.

This movie is pure gore porn.  The first hour wasn't bad, and if you are a genre-aholic, you'll dig it.  It is dirty, filthy, disturbing, and violent as fuck thrasher/killer style.

The ass-to-mouth sequence is still a little ridiculous in my mind.  Not really seeing the fetish there. So it really detracts from what I was enjoying in this movie.  It's just stupid, but does add the element NO OTHER movie would, after going as far as this movie did, during the first hour.  But it keeps getting darker, and far more disturbing.

So, where does that leave my thoughts?  I'm a little unsure myself.  As a genre-movie lover, this was fantastic on so many fronts. I feel kinda guilty for liking it as much as I did.  I really kinda want to give this a Good for that.  I wouldn't go out of my way to watch it again, but...maybe I would watch it if it were on.

For now, until my brain wraps around what I just watched, I gotta give it a Good.  Still stupid in concept, but a far more superior movie than the first one.

Monday, May 7, 2012

Amazon welcomes some Mysteries Most Macabre

Early last season Shawn and I introduced you to retro world of John C. Alsedek and his Blue Hours Productions. 

We say retro not because of John's love for 1930 fedoras and trenchcoats, but because he writes, produces and does the voice work on radio-style dramas for Blue Hours along with his partner in creativity Dana Perry-Hayes.

John let us know today the Blue Hours audio-horror series Mysteries Most Macabre, Inc. is now available for instant download on Amazon.com.

Mysteries Most Macabre, Inc. is a tongue-in-cheek 1930s detective series about Blake and Beatrice Ashton, a Cary Grant/Kate Hepburn-style couple who always end up on cases that take a Supernatural turn. 

Production has already begun on the next seven episodes of Mysteries Most Macabre, Inc. Blue Hours has also started work on the first installment of Cthulhu Radio Theatre, a series of Mythos stories adapted for radio dramas in conjunction with Miskatonic Books.

Blue Hours is also editing the pilot episode of their revival of the classic anthology series Suspense, with the BBC and National Public Radio expressing interest in the production.
 
Congrats to John, Dana and the entire Blue Hours crew. This is very good news indeed! Keep up the good work and we'll be sticking with you!

Take the Sweet Hand of the White Rose

About a month ago we introduced you to the work of Italian writer and director Davide Melini with his award-winning short The Puzzle. The only way we could think of to follow up that exceptional piece of work was to show another one of his films.

Shot in 2010, The Sweet Hand of the White Rose tells the tale of two lives that intersect with supernatural consequences. As with The Puzzle, this is a well-made, and sometimes spooky tale, that clearly strikes a personal note with Davide as the tragedy of the story resonates long after the film's 16-minute running time. It's good stuff!

The Sweet Hand of the White Rose has screened all over the world, including the U.S., Spain and South Africa. It's also won several awards at more than a dozen film festivals. The film stars Carlos Bahos, Natasha Machuca, Leocricia Sabán, Stefanya Hernández, Shani Jones and Vicky Beceiro. It's produced by Melini and Fabel Aguilera and edited by Biktor Kero. The music was composed by Christian Valente.

Watch and enjoy this great little film.

Sunday, May 6, 2012

Shawn Reviews The Avengers

So I took a step out of The Basement norm, hit up a big Hollywood summer blockbuster.  On opening weekend.

I went in with extremely high expectations for this movie, based on the trailer, and ALL the individual movies that were made to build up this one.

I love superhero movies, and I am the biggest Superman fan. Although I have really enjoyed the Iron Man series a lot lately, as they live up to their hype. Effects are top notch, and I don't even see them as effects anymore. Just Iron Man flying around doing cool shit. So with a new Superman coming next year, this movie makes me very nervous and I'll tell you why.

The Avengers was ALL kinds of ridiculous. Here is where Hollywood, on the rare occasion, can live up to their hype. This movie opened with some big events, and I was like "It's alright...not skirt blowing..."  But as it progressed, whatever skirt I may have been wearing was ripped off, shredded and had me giddy crazy.

This movie felt a lot like The Transformers in that, not only did I NOT question the effects behind the heroes -- they were sooo well done -- but another major city (New York) gets absolutely ripped to hell. The story was decent, but everything was so smooth that you were truly immersed in the events..

Being familiar with all the characters was nice, and they jived extremely well here. The chemistry was bang on. The introduction of the new guy for The Hulk worked very well too.  And Hulk smash?? Absofuckinglutely.

So where we in The Basement, RARELY tip our hats to Hollywood style big blockbusters, I concede here.  Job well done.  Movies like this raise the bar, almost too high, for other movies that some may be looking forward to. Superman, has a lot to contend with, and it's still a year away.

Definitely a Good.

But don't pay the extra 3 bucks for 3d. Fuck that.  Would not be necessary.

Micro Review: Dead Silence

I haven't revisited James Wan and Leigh Whannell's follow up to their smash hit Saw since its initial release in 2007. At the time, it didn't do a lot for me. Now, having distanced myself from the franchise they made uber popular, I found myself enjoying this scare story a lot more. This isn't torture porn, it's an old-school horror film about a cursed town facing a supernatural evil. It's heavy on atmosphere and light on gore, which likely explains why it didn't do well at all. But, if you like creep corridors and moody old buildings, you'll dig Dead Silence. And dolls . . . if you're scared of dolls, this will chill you to the bone. This isn't a classic, but it doesn't deserve to be ignored. A Good from me.

Saturday, May 5, 2012

Jason and Shawn review: Superheroes

Superheroes

Jason: I get mixed signals from this documentary, the same mixed signals I feel toward the superhero movement. On the one hand, good on someone for standing up for what they believe in and trying to make a difference. On the other hand, seek professional help crazy fuckers! I think the filmmaker is as conflicted about the whole thing as I am. I had a hard time grasping what I was watching only because it's hard to believe people are really doing this. I can't admire them because I think they're mentally ill. And most of them will probably get killed in the process. As a work of journalism, I liked Superheroes. But I won't watch it again. So it gets a Bad from me!

Shawn: Wow. Did I ever consider a vigilante-costume-ass-kicking gig? Why sure. The reason I didn’t actually partake in it? I’m not mentally unstable NOR do I have superpowers. I came off this doc with a bad taste in my mouth. It was far more sad than I could really have imagined. I felt sorry for a few of the “heroes." Living in a van, living with obvious alcoholism and I’m sure some mental disorders. This was a neat look at real-life superheroes, but not a great documentary, as I’m not sure how I am supposed to feel about the subject matter. But in the end, I didn’t like it. So Ugly for me.

Friday, May 4, 2012

Micro Review: Haywire

As good as parts of Haywire are, the whole just isn't as satisfying as I'd hoped. And that's a shame too as director Steven Soderbergh brings his trademark visual style and retro vibe to what could have been a solid action flick. And he cast MMA babe and all around badass chick Gina Carano. Unfortunately, aside from a few signature bone-breaking moves and looking really, really good, Carano is given very little to do here. Nor is Soderbergh's awesome supporting cast. Bill Paxton? Fuck yeah! Michael Douglas? Still a class act. There's some good fights, but the action never escalates, nor do we fear for our lovely leading lady's safety. There's no doubt she'll pull through, and the film ends more with a thud than a bang. I can't wait to see Carano in another action movie, one worthy of her talents. The Expendables 3 maybe? That said, Haywire gets a Bad.

Next on the chopping block: Superheroes

Believe it or not, there are real superheroes out there trying to make the world a better place for everyone to live in. They have costumes and secret identities and even some not-so-cool gadgets to help them fight crime.

Yes, one can argue anyone who puts on a costume and ventures out to deliver justice has a screw or three loose, and that's one of the many points touched on in this HBO documentary. And it's a point Jason and Shawn ponder on this, the first of five summer specials bridging seasons three and four of We Came from the Basement.

Does this look into the lives of real superheroes inspire with its tale of heroism and doing good? Or is this documentary little more than a depressing excuse to drink some beer? Stick with us! The May Special arrives tomorrow morning at 7 a.m. PST.

Our special episodes are stripped down versions of the radio show. Just a review and some lively banter. We'll be back in The Basement and back on 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops in October for all new episodes with season four. Stick with us!

And now a preview of coming attractions:

Thursday, May 3, 2012

Machete will kill with Amber Heard

Because one story about Amber Heard a week isn't enough . . . the genre fave and all-around hottie has signed on for the much-anticipated sequel, Machete Kills.

And she's in good babe company too, joining series' veterans Jessica Alba and Shawn's fave, Michelle Rodriguez. Heard will play an assassin code-named Miss San Antonio.

Also along for the ride are Machete himself, Danny Trejo, and legendary action dude Mel Gibson. That's right, Mel Gibson.

The story, as we've previously reported, is as follows: "Machete is recruited by the U.S. Government for a mission which would be impossible for any mortal man. Machete must battle his way through Mexico to take down a madman cartel leader and an eccentric billionaire arms dealer who has hatched a plan to spread war across the planet with a weapon in space. Machete takes on an army in an effort to dismantle a plan for global anarchy."

Machete Kills is due out next year.

Trailer round up: The Expendables 2 and The Amazing Spider-Man

Alright, the day was just too big to promote one trailer, so The Basement brings you both of the big trailer premieres. Don't say we don't dig each and every last one of you, because we do.

Granted, neither preview changes the game when it comes to our anticipation for each film. We in The Basement were already sold on The Expendables 2. No amount of awesome on display below changes that. Now, we just want to see it even more. This is kick ass, redefined.



As for The Amazing Spider-Man? Sure, it's a nice trailer, and I love the character. But this is a rental for me. I had my fill with the Sam Raimi take, and I'm not plunking down $10 for more. But I know this is a movie I will watch and enjoy with my son when he's old enough.



The Expendables 2 opens August 17. The Amazing Spider-Man hits July 3.

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Get yelled at by Terry Crews in this teaser for The Expendables 2 trailer

I'm already sick of this teaser-for-the-teaser-trailer trend coming out of Hollywood, but I have to admit this is at least halfway clever and amusing.

Terry Crews, one of the many stars of the upcoming ode to 80s action awesome that is The Expendables 2, hosts this trailer. And by hosts I mean he screams at you. And shit blows up. That's it. The actual teaser is due out tomorrow.

This stunt does nothing to diminish my anticipation for the movie. In fact, I laughed at the end of the short clip, which comes care of the boys at JoBlo.com. Mission accomplished I supposed.

In case you've been living under a rock, The Expendables 2 hits August 17 and stars Crews, Sylvester Stallone, Jason Statham, Dolph Lundgren, Jet Li, Chuck Norris, Jean-Claude Van Damme, Bruce Willis and Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Just awesome!

 

Dark Fest 2013 is a go!

Sat down with our amigos at the Kamloops Film Festival Committee tonight and received the good word that Dark Fest 2013 is a go!

Why? Easy! The crowds loved it, they wanted more, and the positive buzz spread beyond our humble little town. Dark Fest 2012 was a hit, and hits always mean sequels. This is the film business after all.

The plan thus far is to have a 9 p.m. screening on the first Friday and Saturday night of the Kamloops Canadian and International Film Festival. The committee doesn't intend to hold late night screenings with the mainstream festival on those nights, which will avoid any competition. Festival dates haven't been confirmed.

We haven't locked the films that will be screened or the attending guest. But Shawn and I pledge to continue the awesome that was Dark Fest 2012. I do recall a certain John Fallon mentioning that Dead Shadows would be ready by early next year, and our favourite Twisted Twins -- Jen and Sylvia Soska -- do have American Mary due out some time this year. Hint hint!?!

We will keep you posted on Dark Fest 2013 as it develops. Thanks to everyone who supported the inaugural festival. We won't let you down.

Stick with us!

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Awesome redefined: a new Dark Knight Rises trailer

Oh. My. A-God! What more can be said?

This is chill-inducing stuff, the kind of awesome that makes guys like me not ashamed to be geeks. Not at all. You know the deal, you already know your ass will be in a theatre seat come July 20 (one day after I turn 40. Happy Birthday to me!), and there is little to no doubt that Christopher Nolan's film will be superb.

But you still gotta watch this trailer . . .