Monday, July 29, 2013

Francis Ford Coppola wants your #nightmare

News hit The Basement email this week about something called the most Twixted place on the web. Naturally, we had to check it out.

In reality, the most Twixted place on the web is a website promoting writer/director Francis Ford Coppola's latest flick -- his first excursion into horror since Mike S's fave Dementia 13 -- as it hit DVD and Blu-ray last week. Word has it it's not that great, and stars Val Kilmer. Take from that what you will.

I'm not sure if the creepy pictures and comments were put there by the marketing folks behind Coppola's Twixt or automatically uploaded by average mofos using the #nightmare hashtag on Twitter, Instagram or Tumblr as the site claims.

Either way, it's pretty cool and worth noting. Kinda makes me want to check out the movie and see if it's as terrible as people say. Until I do, you can hit up Twixt Nightmares by clicking on the link.

Source: Twixt

Sunday, July 28, 2013

Jason takes a Bullet to the Head

There was an era of action movies when men where men, women were hot and showed their boobs, and disputes were settled with violent bloodshed. This was the 1980s, and it's sorely missed.

Fortunately, every once in a while, a movie like Bullet to the Head comes along to remind us of this glorious time. And, in a place like The Basement, there is much rejoicing.

After watching their respective partners die, a New Orleans hitman and a Washington D.C. detective form an alliance in order to bring down their common enemy.

How's that for a plot, motherfuckers!?! Lean, mean and to the point -- just like the action movies of the 80s.

The fact  Bullet to the Head and The Last Stand were largely ignored by the movie-going public says little about the quality of the films and a lot about how retarded modern audiences are. Sure, they'll drop $12 for bullshit like Twilight and The Hunger Games, but won't spend a dime on glorious carnage like this,

Pussies, every last one of them.

This is a MAN's movie. It's violent, full of macho banter, and pisses on anything with a PG-13 rating. Real squibs are used when people get shot, not CGI. Disagreements are sorted out with an axe fight, not some airy fairy martial arts throwdown.

Is this art? Fuck no. Will it win an award? Only if there's an award for badassness. THIS is what action movies should be. I dig the Bourne movies and Skyfall a lot, but this is the shit I grew up with. And I'm glad Sly Stallone and Walter Hill are still in the game.

A Good. See it, unless your weak and love shit like Twilight. In that case, I pity you. 

Saturday, July 27, 2013

Jason versus Zero Dark Thirty

Warning: this review was written after a Scotch, two rum and Cokes, and four beer. That'll be all.

A chronicle of the decade-long hunt for al-Qaeda terrorist leader Osama bin Laden after the September 2001 attacks, and his death at the hands of the Navy S.E.A.L. Team 6 in May 2011.

First off, despite the pairing of director Kathryn Bigelow and screenwriter Mark Boal, this sure as shit ain't no Hurt Locker. That's not to say it's crap, because it isn't. But it's too long and lacks the visceral kick of the writer/director's previous collaboration.

Does that mean it sucks? Fuck no. No movie with a special appearance by Scott Adkins and Area 51 can suck. Plus the last hour and 15 minutes, which highlights the final stalk and kill of bin Laden, is pure cinematic gold. But the hour and 30 minutes prior to that could use some trimming.

That said, this is still a decent bit of real world gritty reality. It features a bad-ass cast, featuring significantly awesome turns by Jason Clarke and Mark Strong. And it cemented my growing crush on Jessica Chastain. Not only can the gal act the pants off a Baldwin, but she never ceases to look sexy in every single shot in the movie.

Zero Dark Thirty isn't my typical end-of-the-week poison, but it's a decent watch. Although far from 100-per-cent successful, it's still bad ass enough. A Good. For shizzle.

Friday, July 26, 2013

SyFy sensation Sharknado goes theatrical

That's right folks, if you're a total loser like me and you didn't catch the heavily buzzed about SyFy Channel flick Sharknado, you've got another opportunity.

Regal Entertainment Group brings the crazy ass movie about sharks and tornadoes to 500 movie theatres for midnight screenings on Aug. 2. Course we don't have any Regal theatres near Basement headquarters so fuck my life.

When the film was broadcast earlier this month, #sharknado registered about 5,000 tweets per minute and accumulated more than 600,000 social media mentions. Tickets are available at the box office, online and through the Regal App.

Check here for a list of participating theatres. And watch the trailer below to understand why this is must-see Basement cinema.



If anyone can send a Christmas version of this classic our way, you can find us at basementreviews@gmail.com. We'll be forever grateful.

Source: Shock Till You Drop

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Catch a look at the Red Sleep TV series

It's not often The Basement gets an advanced look at a TV series, so we jump at the opportunity when we can. Thanks to the makers of the upcoming Red Sleep for bringing us up the speed on what promises to be a slick new show.

Written and directed by Andre Welsh, Red Sleep touches on the U.S.'s long history of medical experimentation on prison inmates and the pharmaceutical/military industrial complex. I know. Big words, especially for us.

Or, as the official synopsis goes: an escaped inmate makes a deal with a U.S. military drug experiment in exchange for his freedom. After taking on a new identity in Los Angeles, the drug's side effects and his past, catch up with him

Here's a trailer mofos:

RED SLEEP Trailer from Andre Welsh on Vimeo.


Red Sleep stars Chioke Jelani Clanton, Ron Kaell, Jessica Sonneborn and Don Stark. Wanna keep up with the series? Check it out on Facebook.

Source: Red Sleep

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Acclaimed French short Coupe Court will blow your mind

Not the catchiest of headlines, but there's no other way to explain the brilliantly bizarre short flick I just watched.

Written and directed by Pascal Chind, Coupe Court (Short Cut) is best described as a David Lynchesque fantasy/love story. But even that doesn't do it justice. It's weird, but I couldn't take my eyes off it. And it's big in France, where it's the most broadcast short in French TV history.

The plot: for Tom, when it comes to big love, size doesn't matter. But for Françoise, the woman he loves, it might. If the woman doesn't weigh up the consequences of her actions, other people might solve the little disagreement.

Watch, and judge for yourselves, Basementites!


Coupé Court (SHORT CUT : select "EN" on screen... by CoupeCourt-lefilm

Coupe Court stars Karen Alyx, Jean-Paul Bernard, Chris Egloff, Christophe Fluder and Jean-Francois Lam.

Big thanks to Anna Brooke for bringing Coupe Court to our attention!

Shawn:  Just wanted to add, that everyone should have a friend, that would do this for them!  Awesome.

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Horror starlet Jessica Cameron unleashes Truth or Dare

You gotta love it when a gal turns out to be more than just a pretty face. Such is the case with Jessica Cameron.

The Canadian scream queen has already appeared in more than a dozen features and has at least as many more lined up. Plus she's getting ready to unleash her directorial debut Truth or Dare.

Jessica also stars in this tale of six college kids who find Internet stardom when they make Truth or Dare videos with a violent twist. Things take a dark turn when their No. 1 fan decides he wants to play too.

We're in line to review Jessica's flick when post production wraps. Until then, Basementites can scope out the gruesome trailer below and keep tabs on the movie via its official website. If you want to learn more about the lovely lady, check her out on Twitter.

 

Source: Truth or Dare

Behold: My Synthesized Life Episode 1.

The wait is over, Basementites! We've pimped writer/director Nate Golon's web series My Synthesized Life for months now (with articles here and here) and the mofo has finally arrived.

The first episode premiered today, with subsequent episodes released every Tuesday and Thursday. What is it? A comedy series about Jimmy Bales, whose voice naturally auto-tunes when he gets electrocuted by his radio during a rap song.

Wanna watch the first one? We've got it for you right here:



Just checked it out myself, and I can safely safe the series is funny without being silly or corny. The auto-tune gag really comes off well. I'm curious to see where Nate and company take the story from here.

The series stars Brent Bailey, Jonathan Schwartz, Katie Gill, Katie Seeley and a slew of special guests including Katie Leclerc of ABC Family's Switched at Birth, Barrett Foa from NCIS: Los Angeles and Tony Award Winner Marissa Jaret Winokur.
 

For more check out the show's Facebook page and follow it on Twitter.

Source: My Synthesized Life

Monday, July 22, 2013

Halloween 35th anniversary Blu-ray specs and cover art

Can you effin' believe that John Carpenter's Halloween came out 35 years ago? I was six. Put that in your pipe and smoke out.

I know I bought the 25th anniversary DVD a decade ago, but I'm gonna double dip and get this new release. It's on Blu-ray, includes a new HD transfer and audio mix plus a slew of extras, including a new commentary by John Carpenter and Jamie Lee Curtis.

The disc will be available Sept. 24 and comes in a collectible limited-edition book-style package (available only for the first printing) with 11 pages of archival photos, an essay by Halloween historian Stef Hutchinson and specially commissioned cover art by Jay Shaw.

As for those features, check it:
  • All-new commentary track with writer/director John Carpenter and star Jamie Lee Curtis
  • The Night She Came Home new featurette with Jamie Lee Curtis (HD)
  • On Location
  • Trailers
  • TV & Radio Spots
  • Additional Scenes from TV Version
Source: HalloweenMovies
It will be available in a collectible limited-edition book-style package (available only for the first printing) with 11 pages of archival photos, an essay by HALLOWEEN historian Stef Hutchinson and specially commissioned cover art by Jay Shaw. Read on for all the goods and have a look at the cover art below! - See more at: http://www.joblo.com/horror-movies/news/cover-art-and-details-revealed-for-the-halloween-35th-anniversary-blu-ray#sthash.dXuLrVRc.dpuf
It will be available in a collectible limited-edition book-style package (available only for the first printing) with 11 pages of archival photos, an essay by HALLOWEEN historian Stef Hutchinson and specially commissioned cover art by Jay Shaw. Read on for all the goods and have a look at the cover art below! - See more at: http://www.joblo.com/horror-movies/news/cover-art-and-details-revealed-for-the-halloween-35th-anniversary-blu-ray#sthash.dXuLrVRc.dpuf
It will be available in a collectible limited-edition book-style package (available only for the first printing) with 11 pages of archival photos, an essay by HALLOWEEN historian Stef Hutchinson and specially commissioned cover art by Jay Shaw. Read on for all the goods and have a look at the cover art below! - See more at: http://www.joblo.com/horror-movies/news/cover-art-and-details-revealed-for-the-halloween-35th-anniversary-blu-ray#sthash.dXuLrVRc.dpuf

Sunday, July 21, 2013

Jason versus Under the Bed

There's few things cooler than watching a movie made by or starring a past Basement guest. It's the cat's ass really. Last season we interviewed director Steven C. Miller about his brilliant slasher flick Silent Night, and he dropped some deets about an earlier effort, Under the Bed, that had yet to be released.

Well, it's out now bitches. And I've seen it!

The premise is shit simple: two brothers team up to battle a creature that lives under the bed. Sound corny? Well, the final product sure isn't. It's like an R-rated Amblin Entertainment flick from the 80s, only sombre.

Steven does a lot here with very little. The cast is limited, as are the locations. And sadly not enough of Eric Stolze's script is developed for my liking. This is a slow burn that burns a little too slow, in my opinion.

Fortunately the final act really delivers the goods. We get gore, scares, a couple of laughs and even some suspense that would make John Carpenter proud. And Steven peppers a few such thrills throughout the rest of the movie too.

Again, Under the Bed was made pre-Silent Night, and I can see how this flick earned Steven the chance to make his seasonal slasher. This is a decent, albeit flawed film. But it's one I will watch again, as it's entertaining and satisfying enough.

A Good.

Jason versus The Conjuring

How come a traditional haunted house flick is one of the best reviewed movies of the year? Because it is one of -- if not THE  -- best movies of the year, and the best horror film to come done the pike since Carpenter celebrated Halloween. Believe it.

Paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren work to help a family terrorized by a dark presence in their farmhouse. Forced to confront a powerful entity, the Warrens find themselves caught in the most terrifying case of their lives.

I pretty much spilled the beans on what I thought about The Conjuring. To elaborate, this is an old-school creep fest along the lines of The Exorcist or The Changeling. Hell, even The Amityville Horror. James Wan's film isn't a series of jump scares, but a genuinely terrifying experience with sustained sequences of horror that pushed this Basementite to the limits of how much shit his shorts can hold. It's that scary people.

Kudos to Wan for relying on film making too. The Conjuring is 99.9 per cent practical effects. Most of the horror takes place on camera and is backed up Kirk M. Morri's film editing and John R. Leonetti's moody cinematography.

What sets The Conjuring apart from most fright films is the solid screenplay and even better performances. This is a good, scary story told by actors who own their roles. Everyone is good, from Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga as Ed and Lorraine Warren to Lili Taylor and the rest of the actors portraying the Perron clan.We care about the people in this movie, and that makes the scares scarier.

If you get the chance to catch The Conjuring in theatres do so. This is a crowd movie if ever there was one. It's a Good, and it's good and scary.

Thursday, July 18, 2013

Latest Grabbers clip features a creature autopsy

Shawn and I have talked long and loud about how much we dug the Irish horror/comedy Grabbers. We reviewed it, and pimped the flick's pending North American release. Now it's time to share with ye fine lads and lasses a clip, don't ya know.

The clip is good for a few things; it shows off one of the creatures, provides a taste of the comedic banter, and let's you know what our very own Cameron "The Establishment" Thompson would look like if he were an Irish science geek. No bullshit.

Watch and judge for yourselves:



Grabbers is directed by John Wright and stars Richard Coyle and Ruth Bradley. Guess what? It hits theatres and VOD tomorrow (July19)! We in The Basement strongly suggest you seek it out. Worth the effort.

Source: Arrow in the Head

Tuesday, July 16, 2013

Horror flick Crawl Bitch Crawl gets a trailer, picked up by VMI Worldwide

It's been a long time since we heard anything about the claustrophobic horror flick Crawl Bitch Crawl. A couple of years easy, and that was through one of the film's stars -- and Basement Twitter follower -- Torey Byrne.

Word landed in our email box today that writer/director Oklahoma Ward's feature has been picked up by VMI Worldwide and will hit theatres some time this year. A trailer was also released. Wanna see it? Then push play mofos!



An elite security team assigned the task of protecting the last known woman who can become pregnant, find themselves caught in an endless claustrophobic underground tunnel system. The team soon learns the real horror is not the unstoppable force chasing them, but the ever growing smaller tunnel itself.

Sounds great, looks promising, and you know we'll get our Bitch on when this bad boy and its hot ladies comes our way. In the meantime, follow the flick on Facebook or Twitter and check out the official website.

Source: Crawl Bitch Crawl

Monday, July 15, 2013

Shawn breaks his silence on Man of Steel

Basement fans know, or at least should know by now, that I'm a pretty big fan of anything Superman. 

It started at five years old, with my Superman sleeping bag.  So cool.

While I won't go all nostalgic, or go on and on, I will give you my pretty fucking biased opinion.

I've been collecting Superman anything for a while. including the tattoo. Haha.

So in 2006 when I saw Superman Returns, I feared a great number of changes.  In my nerd kingdom, I feared the new Supersymbol, Supersuit and the cast of the movie didn't have me convinced that they would "get it right", either.  But, after the Matrix's wicked special effects, everyone flying around doing ridiculous things, I had some hope for Superman Returns.

Then it happened.  Superman Returns stayed pretty true to the old unwavering, hands on his waist, "Truth, Justice and ..." Bla bla bla.  Boy scout. I am also a  fan of the series Smallville and its new age rendition of Superman's early years, so after seeing Superman Returns it was evident that I was longing for a new Superman.  Superman Returns didn't let me down, but it didn't feed me anything unexpected.  In fact, I enjoyed Smallville more!

That said, far before it hit the theaters, Man Of Steel projected the use of Henry Cavill.  A slightly more comic book, "jacked" version of Superman.  I needed this. I looked forward to it.  Finally, straying away from the Christopher Reeves version.  Leave it like that, as respect to the Reeves. A perfect little legacy.

Man Of Steel pretty much changed everything.

Everything.

This was the Superman I was waiting for. Craving.  It needed to be changed.  It needed to be brought to the "now".  We aren't the populace that needs saving from a boy scout anymore. We are a dirty, grungy society built on fading morals and greed.  We are troubled. We raise an alien to be our "saviour", he's gonna be troubled too.

Fuckin eh!

There are those that said "SUPERMAN WOULD NEVER KILL, or ENDAGER the people he is protecting!! As he fought villains, wrecked the town and city and yes, spoiler alert, did kill.

But, Zod and his minions weren't put in "Jail" in the Reeve's version, either.  He and Lois Lane KILLED them. 

Transformers swore to protect the humans, but destroy and YES, through collateral damage from their battles, killed the very things they swore to protect.

DO the needs of the many, outweigh the needs of the few?  Welcome to my nerd universe, motherfuckers.  Innocent people may have died in the collateral damage of Superman's battle...but I'm sure, adjusted for inflation, they were far from innocent.

I could go on and on.  Basementreviews@gmail.com if you would like to discuss further.

I hope they continue down this path with Man Of Steel and give us more of this Superman.  I definitely dig it and give it a Good.  Bitches.

Sunday, July 14, 2013

Jason versus The Prowler

Joseph Zito's The Prowler is one of those cult film's of the early 1980s that has garnered a reputation as must-see cinema for horror aficionados. It's got a reputation as a violent, gory entry in the slasher genre, with primo effects by the one and only Tom Savini. Was it worth coming down off the mountain for? Stick with me!

A masked killer, wearing World War II U.S. Army fatigues, stalks a small New Jersey town bent on reliving a 35-year-old double murder by focusing on a group of college kids holding an annual Spring Dance.

Let's cut to the chase -- this is good shit. Sure, it's derivative of other slasher movies. But, looking back, it was one of the first of its kind. Calling The Prowler derivative is like calling John Carpenter's Halloween derivative -- stupid! This flick helped set the bar in terms of formula and graphic kills. I respect it for that.

About those kills; they're pretty damn realistic. Effects genius Tom Savini makes the murders brutal, bloody and believable. And he mixes T&A with the violence. Granted, I'm not sure if I was supposed to be aroused or repulsed. But at least I felt something. Nicely done, Tom.

Director Joseph Zito gives us a slick looking flick. The film-school nerd in me appreciated the technical expertise while the horror freak dug the stalks, kills and boobs. The Prowler impressed and entertained. I'd buy that for a dollar.

A Good. For shizzle. 

Friday, July 12, 2013

War is hell in Frankenstein's Army

A Second World War found-footage movie about Russian soldiers squaring off against an army of Nazi monsters created by the mind of Dr. Victor Frankenstein? Sign me up!

That is indeed the premise of co-writer/director Richard Raaphorst's flick, due in theatres and on VOD July 26. While found footage is dead and done in my opinion, the Frankenstein/Nazi/WWII angle is a gooder. And the preview below certainly promises some fucked up shit, if you'll pardon my French.

Behold:



Frankenstein's Army stars Karel Roden, Joshua Sasse and Robert Gwilym. Trust me, Shawn and I will hammer out a podcast for this one!

Source: Arrow in the Head

Thursday, July 11, 2013

Agent Carter returns in Captain America inspired short

Remember Peggy Carter, Captain America's love interested in . . . Captain America? Well, she's back. And so is the sexy actress who played her -- Hayley Atwell.

Atwell stars in the short film Agent Carter, which is set to premiere at next week's San Diego Comic-Con before it turns up as a special feature on the Iron Man 3 DVD/Blu-ray in September. The flick follows Carter's further adventures a year after the events of Captain America: The First Avenger.

The short is part of Marvel's One-Shot series, which means there's more films featuring more characters in the works. This appeals to me for several reason. One, it's a very comic-book idea, taking supporting characters and giving them a chance to shine. And two, it's another cool thing to add to the DVD/Blu-ray experience.

I was gonna buy Iron Man 3 anyway. Agent Carter is just another reason to be excited about the disc. So is the short film.

Peep the promo poster below.

Source: Entertainment Weekly

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

The Basement will "return" . . .

Yeah, I know; technically we haven't been gone and only informed you a couple of weeks ago that we're taking a break. But a plan is in motion for our return to a regular schedule.

Check it: we will be back as a podcast starting in October. Two shows a month. One review per show plus some other cool shite. We promise you will not be disappointed.

One of the October podcasts will be our annual Halloween Spooktacular, 'cause we love Halloween.

At that same time regular updates will resume on this site. Two to three a week guaranteed. Plus whatever thoughts we want to share on the flicks we watch.

Until then, things continue as they have the last couple of weeks. Check back here often, and at our Facebook group and fan page. Plus shit goes down on Twitter @camethebasement. I've also got some cool stuff going on with Dr. Action and the Kick Ass Kid and Moe Porne. Gonna be fun!

Stick with us!

Source: We Came from the Basement

Monday, July 8, 2013

Billy Trigger is locked!

The final edit of the Montreal-based action flick Billy Trigger, written and starring John Fallon, is complete! What does this mean? The world is one step closer to seeing this movie on the big screen. Excited? You should be.

Here's what John had to say about the state of the project, which shot last November:

"I believe that Billy Trigger is the best film (director/editor) Christian Viel and I ever collaborated on. His camera work is tops and his action scenes are bad and ass. This is also (surprisingly) the “meatier” flick we’ve ever done as the characters/relationships are fleshed out and layered. A result of the many re-writes I did on the script at the request of executive producer Berge Garabedian and director Viel and of the actors, who brought their own ideas and of course their own energy on set. For example, there’s a love story in the film that wasn’t really on the page, but that was born and took life on set due to the chemistry two of the actors shared (me being one of them)."

I visited the set and got my ass shot to death in the movie. John assured me today I don't suck in my small role.

Billy Trigger also stars screen legend Fred "The Hammer" Williamson, Matthew Bennett, Anderson Bradshaw, Pia Metni (pictured above with John) and Meghan Gabruch

Here's what John said about the cast:

"Fred Williamson goes back to his Black Caesar roots with his nuanced performance here, fans of The Hammer will love this role! Anderson Bradshaw gives what is in my opinion his best showcase to date, his key scene with The Hammer was the tits! Meghan Gabruch is simply a revelation, local casting agents should be beating down her door with axes, the girl’s got chops and then some! Matthew Bennett steals every single scene that he’s in and Pia Metni will make you fall in love with her."

What's next? Sound effects, scoring and then distribution. In a nutshell anyway. All I can say is we're looking forward to seeing a trailer for this bad boy ASAP. We'll keep you posted as the film rolls through post productions.

Revisit my reports from the set with part one, part two, part three and part four

Source: John Fallon

Jason and Shawn versus World War Z

Jason: I'm pretty much done with zombies. Hollywood has taken yet another craze and beaten it to death with a severed limb. Zombies are popular. It's time to move on.

But, and this is a heavy but, Hollywood did right by me with World War Z. We've done the small-band-of-survivors thing to death. Time to go big and go global. Give us a spectacle. That's what Hollywood does well, and they nailed it with World War Z.

This is more of a virus movie where the virus happens to be zombies. I'm cool with that. We get to see swarms -- literally swarms -- of the living dead assault apartment buildings, cities and even unleashed on an airplane in flight. I loved that. Then shit gets toned down for the final act. Nice!

No real blood or gore? Fine. I've got my indie flicks for that, and few indie flicks could go as epic as World War Z does. Every once in a while, I need that.

As for casting Brad Pitt? He does his thing here, and he does it well. Mike S likes to point out that big stars rarely work in horror, and they don't. But Pitt worked here. He knows his market, and he played to it. Good for him.

And Good for World War Z.

Shawn: World War Z starts right up my alley. Forget that it is a zombie movie. Cause spoiler alert, it is. Haha. It has all the elements I crave in a disaster movie. A little build up, some news broadcasts, hinting this or that, then...BAM. Worldwide crisis in no time.

I'm a simple guy, I've always liked simple things. This is no exception. Even the fact that it was rated PG 13, was OK. I've seen enough of zombies pulling people's intestines out, or pulling flesh from the bone..(it's practically on every channel).

This was as fresh a take as they could get, as the genre is quite overdone. If this is the last zombie movie for a while, I'd be OK with that, as I've seen it twice now.

I don't read books. Every Basmentite knows this. But of the four books I've read in my life, World War Z is one of them. If you are expecting this to be the book, then you are going in with expectations that exceed what a film can do. World War Z is written post zombie war. Fragmented and chopped into mini stories. Yeah, film can do that, but I'm glad they didn't with this one. There is room to do stories from the book now.

This movie is the beginning. Before the book...ish. Of course I liked it, hard not to like a zombie movie. Extra points for trying to be more original with it too.

Good from me!

Saturday, July 6, 2013

Jason versus Jaws 3D

It's been a while since I've returned to the movies of my youth. And what better flick to revisit the trend than the second sequel to one of the greatest movies ever made? And it cost three extra dollars to see.

The sons of police chief Brody must protect civilians at a Sea World theme park after a gigantic 35-foot shark becomes trapped in the park.

On the surface, if you'll pardon the pun, this should be a shit-tacular movie. Truth is, it's an awesome piece of B-grade cinema. Sure, it can't hold a candle to the Steven Spielberg original, but that doesn't mean Jaws 3D isn't worth the watch.

For one, it's got a brilliant cast including Dennis Quaid, Bess Armstrong, Louis Gossett Jr. and Lea Thompson. Oh yeah, and Manimal is in it too. Plus the late, great Richard Matheson co-wrote the script. Impressive, no?

Talent aside, this is a fun, mindless romp with some cheesy 3D effects, passable suspense and a few groovy kills. It's not Shakespeare. Hell, it's not even Spielberg. But it's a fun, lightweight and entertaining. What more can a viewer ask from summer entertainment?

Remember when movies where fun and entertaining? That was back in 1983. I give this a Good. The world needs more flicks like this.

Steven Seagal will be an Expendable?

That's what some unnamed Bulgarian sources are saying. The Fat One himself is good to G-O for The Expendables 3.

So says ExBlog, the "Ultimate Blog of The Expendables Franchise." And these same sources told ExBlog Mel Gibson is down for a role as the villain.

Regular readers and listeners know we have a love/hate relationship with Steven Seagal in The Basement -- we love to make fun of the fact that we hate he got fat. If he has a role in the next installment of the action franchise, that's fine with us.

If this rumour is true, Seagal and Gibson join fellow newcomers Jackie Chan, Nicolas Cage, Wesley Snipes and Milla Jovovich . Mickey Rourke returns after sitting out the second film. Sylvester Stallone, Jason Statham and the rest of The Expendables are back as well.

Red Hill director Patrick Hughes helms the flick, which hits theatres Aug. 15, 2014.

Source: Ain't It Cool News

Friday, July 5, 2013

Ryan Shovey offers up his new horror short The Audition

Y'all remember our boy Ryan Shovey, the writer/director of the bad ass horror short Hunter? Course you do. If not, refresh your memory right here.

Now that we're all on the same page, Ryan took a break from turning Hunter into a full-fledged feature to craft another short, one he intends to make part of a horror anthology flick. A very R-rated horror anthology flick.

Ryan and his crew from Hunter made The Audition as part of a 100-hour film contest, which challenged the filmmakers to take a project from concept to screen in, you guessed it, 100 hours. Check out the end result right now.



Pretty groovy yes!?! We think so, which is why Shawn and I have shared it with you Basementites.

We'll keep you updated on The Audition and Hunter as the projects develop.

Source: Freak Daddy Production

Wednesday, July 3, 2013

The Conjuring's FX wiz join's The Shelter

Yah, yah. We say we're taking a break and then not seven days later Shawn and I each post something. Wanna fight about it? Didn't think so.

But this is some wicked cool news. News that should have been delivered earlier this week. But . . . well, there was sun and booze involved.

Our man John Fallon's feature directorial debut The Shelter has landed yet another talented individual, one with a connection to a high-profile flick opening on July 19, my birthday, for those who care.

Thomas Wilson has joined John's crew as visual effects supervisor. His previous handiwork will be on display in James Wan's upcoming flick's The Conjuring (opens July 19) and Insidious 2. Past efforts also include Men In Black 3 and Gangster Squad.


If that's not impressive, then I don't know what is. Like we weren't already pumped enough for this movie.

The Shelter, written and directed by John and starring none other than Michael Pare, rolls in January. Keep up with the film's pulse on its Facebook page.

Source: John Fallon
Enhanced by Zemanta

90's CINEMA HOTTIES!!

Shawn here. Even though we are taking a "break" from The Basement, I still feel compelled to write a highly chauvinistic and sexist look back to the 90's era and the "hotties" it produced.  Not all of them, just my favourite(s).

The reason for this post is that I came to a startling revelation. I made a graaaave error, that was still rewarded with goodness, over the years.........Ha.

This past weekend I watched some 90's flicks. Two, in particular, caught my eye. The first was The 5th Element. Milla Jovovich.Who I had come to believe, as I look back from afar, is my favorite hottie of the 90s.

BUT here is my mistake.The second movie I also watched was Species.

This is when the realization had set in -- that it was Natasha Henstridge who was the one I liked most. I had mixed them up. Simple mistake. Although, very clear to me now. As they both take a distant 2nd and 3rd place finish next to my beautiful wife. First place. Hands down.. 

It happened because Milla continued in movies that I was into. Natasha did not. In my view, she just disappeared and Milla filled the gap...and I had confused them.

Even though I remember thinking, "I swear Milla had bigger boobs than that!" The whole being a brunette, not a blonde, wasn't even a consideration, or an "observation" for that matter. Or that seemed to matter. Haha. 

A simple "google images" search on both ladies will lead you to some exxcellaaant images. Natasha, seemingly more brave, of the two. 

But it was definitely Natasha who was my favourite looking back. But I'll tell you what, both ladies, still look spectacular today

Who was your favourite hottie from the 90's?  These were mine:


Milla










Natasha
Enhanced by Zemanta