Monday, December 31, 2012

Jason versus Looper

Finally! I get to end the year catching one of the movies I was most looking forward to in 2012. A sci-fi/action/drama from one of my favourite writer/directors, Rian Johnson, and starring three of my favourite actors -- Bruce Willis, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Emily Blunt. So how does Looper rate?

In 2074, when the mob wants to get rid of someone, the target is sent 30 years into the past, where a hired gun awaits. Someone like Joe, who one day learns the mob wants to 'close the loop' by transporting back Joe's future self.

But that's just the beginning of this thrilling, funny, heart-breaking and mind-bending flick. Leave it to the man who made a pulp P.I. film set in modern high school to take the tired old time-travel genre and make it fresh and interesting. And very, very exciting.

Looper isn't a straight-up action flick though. It asks some uneasy questions and doesn't present us with any easy answers. How far would you go to protect your son? What would you do to save your wife and unborn child? How much is your own life worth? Yet none of this heady stuff gets in the way of an entertaining story.

Acting? Awesome! Gordon-Levitt IS a young Bruce Willis, right down to the speech pattern and facial expressions. Willis hasn't been this invested in a role in years. Hell, aside from the return of John McClane, this is his best work since Pulp Fiction. Emily Blunt? Love her!

This is an easy movie to praise but a hard one for mainstream audiences to like. It's a tough watch at times and doesn't play by the rules. But, if you're up for something ballsy and interesting, it's a win across the board. A Good from me, and one of 2012's best.

Ten movies to watch for in 2013

One of the things Shawn and I get a lot of props for is finding those diamonds in the rough -- the movies that are likely not on everyone's radar -- and bringing them to the public's attention. Some are C-grade indie, others mainstream flicks that still don't get the attention they may or may not deserve.

Below are 10 movies I'm looking forward to seeing in the new year, in no particular order. But first, the obvious runners up, those blockbusters that can't be ignored: A Good Day to Die Hard, Man of Steel, G.I. Joe: Retaliation, Iron Man 3, The Lone Ranger, Fast and Furious 6, Sin City: A Dame to Kill For, Pacific Rim and Star Trek Into Darkness.

Now for the list proper:

The Conjuring (July 19)

Saw and Insidious director James Wan's latest horror flick reveals how world renowned paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren were called upon to help a family terrorized by a dark presence in a secluded farmhouse. Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson star as the Warrens. Given Wan's talent for horror and the cast, I'm in.    

The Last Stand (Jan. 18)

Arnold Schwarzenegger's first lead role since Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines. And it's directed by the great Jee-won Kim, who helmed I Saw the Devil. Like I need a third reason to see it. The leader of a drug cartel busts out of a courthouse and speeds to the Mexican border, where the only thing in his path is a sheriff and his inexperienced staff.

Riddick (Sept. 6)

Vin Diesel returns to the role that made his career. And the franchise returns to its R-rated roots. Plus Riddick is one of the most compelling anti-heroes to grace the big screen. Left for dead on a sun-scorched planet, Riddick finds himself up against a alien race of predators. Activating an emergency beacon alerts two ships: one carrying a new breed of merc, and the other captained by a man from Riddick's past.

Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters (Jan. 25)

I've been championing this flick since I first heard about it. Why? Something about it just clicks with me. It could be awesome, and it could suck hard. But at least the cast -- Gemma Arterton and Jeremy Renner -- is solid. In this dark spin on the fairy tale, siblings Hansel and Gretel are a formidable team of bounty hunters who track and kill witches all over the world.

The Lords of Salem

Residents of Salem, Massachusetts are visited by a 300-year-old coven of witches. Rob Zombie writes and directs. And it stars his hot wife. 'Nuff said.

American Mary

Written and directed by Jen and Sylvia Soska, this much-praised Canadian horror flick follows medical student Mary Mason as she becomes increasingly broke and disenchanted with the surgical world she once admired. The allure of easy money sends Mary into the world of underground surgeries. We're assured things get pretty fucked up from there.

John Dies at the End (Jan. 23)

This dark comedy-horror film is written and directed by Don Coscarelli and based upon the David Wong novel of the same name. And yeah, it looks really messed up, which is why I can't wait to see it. When Coscarelli is on -- Phantasm and Bubba Ho-Tep -- he's really on. Everything I'm hearing suggests he's hit another home run.

You're Next (Aug. 23)

The writing/directing duo of Simon Barrett and Adam Wingard -- A Horrible Way to Die and V/H/S -- are back with this home invasion movie. When the Davison family comes under attack during their wedding anniversary getaway, the gang of mysterious killers soon learns that one of victims harbors a secret talent for fighting back. I dig the fighting back angle. And AJ Bowen is like the indie horror poster boy.

S-VHS

A follow up to V/H/S, which put a horror anthology spin on the found-footage genre. No word yet on what the individual tales will be about, but this sequel brings back Wingard and Barrett and adds The Raid: Redemption helmer Gareth Evans, Eduardo Sanchez of The Blair Witch Project fame, Hobo With A Shotgun director Jason Eisener and Timo Tjahjanto. I dug the first one enough to see what these guys do next.

Sharknado

I didn't even know Sharknado existed until I did some research for this article. When a freak hurricane swamps Los Angeles, thousands of sharks terrorize the waterlogged populace. And when the high-speed winds form tornadoes in the desert, nature’s deadliest killer rules water, land, and air. Yeah, it's an Asylum movie. Sold!

Stick with us! And Happy New Year, bitches!

Sunday, December 30, 2012

Jason's Top 10 of 2012

This was supposed to be a Top 5 list -- 'cause that's what we do here in The Basement -- but I quickly realized we'd watched a lot of cool shit during the last 12 months. As in years past, this list is based strictly on what I was able to see during the year and is genre heavy. Duh. It's what I do.

Note, the list is far from complete. I have yet to catch Skyfall, Looper, Dredd, Django Unchained and Zero Dark Thirty, all flicks that'd have a decent shot at making this list. If only I could be all things to all people.

Anywho, on with my thoughts on the best of 2012.

10 - Kill List

This movie ruined my day in the best possible way. I'm still left reeling from it, like I'm punch drunk. Or just drunk. You decide. I can't say I enjoyed this movie, although I know I will watch it again and would recommend it to horror fans in a heartbeat. Yes, it's a horror film. But not in the traditional sense. It's frightening and surreal, but oddly funny and touching too. I'm not quite sure what happened at the end, but I was disturbed by it. I call this brilliant because I really don't know what else to call it. It pulls no punches and pushes your buttons. A harrowing experience.

9 - The Cabin in the Woods

A horror fan's wet dream, this loving hate letter to scary movies subverts the genre while catering to its every whim. We get the boobs, blood and backwoods terror of the traditional cabin-in-the-woods slasher picture while, at the same time, see the cliches turned on their collective heads. And there's a whole other twist that spins everything 180 degrees. Not especially scary, but very smart and funny . . .  and fun! Good cast, well made and sharply written. Thank you, Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard. In a world filled with sequels and reboots, you've made this jaded horror fan very, very happy. Take note, the less you know going in the better!

8 - Absentia

Talk about going into a movie expecting one thing and ending up with something completely different. Is this a story about a junkie's hallucinations? Is this a story about a grieving pregnant woman seeing things? Or is something far more sinister at play? And there is one shorts shitting moment after another along the way to finding out. Absentia works so well because writer/director Mike Flanagan knows what the fuck he's doing. He wrote a good script, he cast his actors well, and he knows how to make a good, scary film. Sure, some of it's slow, but I know it will stick with me. This is how you make a no-budget movie.

7 - Rites of Spring

Boy oh boy, is this a highly entertaining throwback to the horror flicks of the late 70s and early 80s. Rites of Spring is the kind of movie John Carpenter would have made in his heyday. It's that good. Kudos to A.J. Bowen and Anessa Ramsey, who pull off great performances here, not that that's what we're all about in The Basement. Is there blood? Yes. Boobies? Yup, but not in a fun way. Hotties? More than enough eye candy is present thanks to Ramsey, Katherine Randolph, and Sarah Parchelli. The last 33 minutes of this movie play like gangbusters, satisfying all your horror needs. And the villain of the piece is pretty badass. This is a must for genre fans, and one to enjoy over and over again. I've watched Rites of Spring three times now. I can't wait to see it again. And I am so looking forward to the sequel. Give it a go!

6 - The Pact

I'm having a hard time writing this review. It's not that didn't like The Pact -- because I really did. It's important to note that right out the gate. In a way, Nicholas McCarthy's tale is reminiscent of Absentia in that you go in expecting one thing, but end up with something completely different. Yet horror fans will get everything they want out from this movie. It's unsettling, atmospheric and even has a few genuine shorts shitting moments. Leading lady Caity Lotz is just awesome on the eyes and she can act. We even see Casper Van Dien get a knife to the throat (spoiler alert). This is a creepy fucking movie and McCarthy is a talented filmmaker. I think what's thrown me is that I ended up watching something a little different, and that's not what I expected. Originality is so rare in movies these days, even the ones we love to watch in The Basement. One of our diamonds in the rough!

5 - The Expendables 2

If The Raid: Redemption is the best action movie ever made, then The Expendables 2 is an old-school action fan's wet dream. It's corny, cliched and full of violent gunfights and brutal brawls. And praise Jebus for it! For one, the action is awesome. The opening sequence is bigger and better than the shootout at the end of The Expendables. And things just improve from there. The final battle inside an airport is damn great, as is Stallone's fistfight against Van Damme. It's not a long punch up, but it's worth the ticket price. And all the other stars get their moments to shine. And how about those stars? Arnold Schwarzenegger and Bruce Willis get into the action this time and just when you think you're not going to get enough Chuck Norris, Lone Wolf McQuade comes back for more. Dolph Lundgren provides the comic relief and gets to be big and scary. We like him big and scary. Props as well to Jean-Claude Van Damme. The man has had one too many facelifts, but he's got a hell of a screen presence. Hopefully we'll see him on the big screen again soon. If you like big, loud, and bloody action movies, you won't be disappointed with The Expendables 2. It's better than the first one and entertaining as hell. 

4 - Goon

Probably the best movie ever made about hockey, and it's as brutally funny as it is violent. There's as much blood and teeth spilled during the fights as there is in an average slasher movie and the games and combat are filmed with equal amounts of energy and wit. The first 20 minutes are the funniest I've ever seen put on film. Seann William Scott and Liev Schreiber are brilliantly cast. Schreiber actually pulls off a Newfie accent better than anyone I've heard this side of the Prairies. And the beauty of Goon is that non-hockey fans will likely dig it as much as those of us who enjoy seeing someone take a puck to the head

3 - The Dark Knight Rises

As a film fan, there's no better feeling than watching a movie told by a master storyteller. Few writer/directors can claim to be such a filmmaker, but Christopher Nolan is certainly one of them. He's proved it with his first two Batman films and movies like Inception and Memento, and he drives the point home with The Dark Knight Rises. Nolan's final Batman film -- and there's no doubt that this story is done -- is just as complex and gritty as The Dark Knight, weaving multiple characters and story arcs into one very grown-up take on what is an epic comic-book story. There's a lot of movie in the two-hour-and-45-minute running time, but everything moves so fast you don't notice. Yet the film isn't all action. There's humour, heart, redemption and a morality lesson or two at play here. A good bye between Alfred and Bruce Wayne is especially moving, as is a final encounter between Batman and James Gordon. It's rare to find an action movie with an emotional core, but Nolan and company pull it off. This is at least as good as The Dark Knight, but is in some ways better. Warner Bros. will surely attempt a reboot, but I won't be seeing them. Nolan's films are the only Batman stories worth any salt. The world doesn't need any more.

2 - The Avengers

Best. Comic. Book. Movie. Ever. Well, it at least equals The Dark Knight. But comparing The Avengers to The Dark Knight is like comparing apples to oranges. Christopher Nolan's Batman films are realistic, gritty, crime dramas that happen to be about a guy in a bat suit. The Avengers is a Marvel comic brought to glorious, vibrant life. It's manic, thrilling, fun, funny and doesn't compromise any of it's great characters or the great actors who play them. Everyone is given his or her due and moment to shine. And the amazing set pieces -- including a 40-minute thrashing of New York -- don't overshadow the quieter moments a memorable movie needs. Bless you writer/director Joss Whedon. You were given something that could have backfired horribly and made it shine. You took all these characters, each introduced in a film of their own, and melded them perfectly into one dazzling motion picture, one that demands to be enjoyed again and again. And yeah, I admit it: it needs to be seen on the big screen. I look forward to watching this with my son when he is old enough.

1 - The Raid: Redemption

I love, love, LOVE this movie! Where have you been all my life!?! Think the final showdown in the hospital at the end of Hard Boiled and that is the entire movie. No bullshit Gareth Evans knows how to shoot an action scene. The gunfights are blazing and the martial arts the best I've ever seen. Period. There is a sequence of carnage where main dude Rama (Iko Uwais) stabs, kicks, punches and elbows his way through about 20 people. No shaky cam, no wire-wu, no faking it near as I can tell. It all happens on screen. It's brutally awesome. And there's about three or four more fights like that. Uwais is Tony Jaa, only better. Don't let Hollywood get a hold of him, they'll ruin his awesome. Evans's script is also willing to slow down and add some character beats. Not too many, just enough to give the viewer time to breathe. Then it's back to what we're paying to see -- the action. I will own it. I will watch it again. And I will screen it for other action fans.

Saturday, December 29, 2012

Jason revisits Mimic

It's been a good 15 years since I'd watched Guillermo del Toro's Hollywood debut Mimic, which starred then hot young stars Mira Sorvino and Jeremy Northam. Seeing as del Toro is the only one involved who's still around, I figured it was time to give the flick a second viewing.

Three years ago entomologist Dr. Susan Tyler genetically created an insect to kill cockroaches carrying a virulent disease, now the insects are out to destroy their only predator, mankind.

Dimension Films is notorious for editing and re-editing the shit out of a director's movie and, apparently, that's also the case with Mimic. Not that you'd really know. It's a bit smarter, darker and edgier than the average Hollywood horror movie, and that's what keep the viewer engaged.

That and the acting. Sorvino was fresh off her Oscar win when she made this and Northam, Josh Brolin, Charles S. Dutton and F. Murray Abraham all do good supporting turns, especially when you consider this is a high-class monster movie at best.

I can't gripe. This is an entertaining enough B-grade horror flick with A-list talent and a director far more talented than the material. There's a couple of shorts shitting moments and some decent gore, plus Sorvino struts around in some groovy lingerie at one point.

Call this flick a win, and give it a Good already. Worth more than one watch for sure.

Guillermo del Toro introduces short film that inspired horror feature Mama

That headline is pretty much the story. The Guillermo del Toro production Mama opens next month and below is the short film that inspired the great director to turn it into a movie. Del Toro introduces the short.

The short and the feature are directed by Andres Muschetti. Given that the short is about two-minutes long, one can expect a lot of ideas will be expanded upon in the feature film.

All I can say is click to full screen, turn out the lights, and crank up the volume. I shit my shorts at least once.

Mama opens Jan. 18.



Video by way of Ain't It Cool News.

Colin Farrell and Noomi Rapace get Dead Man Down

Colin Farrell is doing his damndest to get back on top in Hollywood, and thankfully he's chosen the action-hero route to do it. His Total Recall redo wasn't half bad and the trailer for his latest, Dead Man Down, looks mighty impressive.

Doesn't hurt that he's recruited the director of the original Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Niels Arden Oplev, and the original Girl with the Dragon Tattoo herself, Noomi Rapace, to take him for the ride.

In a nutshell, a crime lord's right-hand man is seduced by one of his boss's victims, a woman seeking retribution. Terrence Howard plays the crime lord.

This looks pretty damn dark and edgy. And there's a fair amount of violence on display here too. Me likey long time. If you're going to make a bleak action movie, you can do far worse than hire the dude who made the original Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

Dead Man Down opens March 8.



Thanks to JoBlo.com for digging up the trailer.

Friday, December 28, 2012

The first six minutes of Maniac

That's the one starring Elijah Wood and written by Alexandre Aja, not the notorious 1981 slasher pic from William Lustig, because that would be oh so retro.

All involved seem to be fans of first-person slasher movies, as the entire sequence pretty much focuses on Wood's stalk and kill of a victim from his point of view. It's good. Nothing new, but I dig this kind of thing. Can't say it's sold me on the whole movie, but I mind not posting it here.

What's it all about? The owner of a mannequin shop (Wood) develops a dangerous obsession with a young artist . . . one that sends him on a killing spree.

No word yet on when Maniac hits our shores, but it's scheduled for release some time next year.



Thanks to Arrow in the Head for digging up the video.

Thursday, December 27, 2012

A clip and TV spot for Texas Chainsaw 3D

We interrupt your holiday cheer for a few moments of pure terror. At least that's what the makers of Texas Chainsaw 3D promise when the film is released Jan. 4.

With that date fast approaching, we present for you the below TV spot and clip from the film. You know, 'cause film marketing doesn't take a vacation. And neither do we, as it turns out.

The latest Chainsaw tells the story of a young woman (Alexandra Daddario) who travels to Texas to collect an inheritance. Little does she know that an encounter with a chainsaw-wielding killer is part of the reward.

This movie could be fun or it could suck. However, the presence of the lovely Daddario guarantees we will see it at some point. What say you?

The TV Spot



The Clip



Thanks to Horror-Movies.ca for the vids.

Wednesday, December 26, 2012

Jason versus Jack Reacher

Much ado has been made about Tom Cruise playing Lee Child's action hero Jack Reacher. Now, with the film adaptation of One Shot in theatres everywhere, us fans of the Reacher books have the chance to put the Scientologist's interpretation of the ex-military cop turned drifter on the chopping block.

As in the novel, Reacher digs deeper into a case involving a trained military sniper who shot five seemingly random victims. Seemingly being the key word here.

First off, Cruise as Reacher = yes. Sure, he doesn't fit the physical description from Child's novels. But Cruise has the confidence, charisma, and gift for explosive violence nailed. I bought him as long as I didn't let Child's description -- which essentially paints Reacher as a young Dolph Lundgren -- slip into my mind. He works, and it's a good performance.

Next, writer/director Christopher McQuarrie follows the plot of the book, keeping the integral story beats while discarding about four or five characters and adding a couple of action scenes, including a great car chase. As far as an adaptation goes, this is a good one.

Yes, enough has been changed to upset purists. Fortunately, I'm not one of them. I don't want to see a straight-up adaptation. I like to be surprised when I watch a movie, and Jack Reacher hit me with a few. Good for it!

This is an old-school action movie that could have been made in the 70s or 80s. No CGI. Just stunts, squibs and in-camera effects. Plus a great, menacing villain played by legendary director Werner Herzog and a hottie lawyer played by Rosamund Pike and her cleavage.

The more I think about McQuarrie and Cruise's film, the more I groove on it. And I'll watch it again when I'm in the mood for an entertaining throwback to a style of filmmaking I thought Hollywood had abandoned.

Monday, December 24, 2012

Jason versus Saint

Opting to break from tradition -- I'll catch the original Black Christmas tomorrow night instead -- I decided to tackle a holiday-themed Dutch movie I'd had my eye on for some time instead. Hey, a man's gotta mix it up from time to time . . .

Saint, AKA Sint, is a horror film that depicts St. Nicholas as a murderous bishop who kidnaps and murders children when there is a full moon on Dec. 5. And it comes from writer/director Dick Maas, who made the pretty damn good thriller Amsterdamned back in the day. But how does it rate?

Actually, it's entertaining as a whole. Think John Carpenter's The Fog meets Dead Snow and you kinda get the idea. Only with a really pissed off St. Nicholas and an army of murderous Black Peters instead of Nazis and leper pirates.

We've got some decent gore and a few exciting set pieces, plus a scare or two. Nothing shorts shitting mind you, but still an effective enough 90 minutes. And there's a couple of hot Dutch chicks, but no boobies. Sad face is sad.

Unfortunately, that's as excited as I can really get. Saint doesn't have a clear protagonist until the last 20 minutes or so, which makes it hard to cheer anyone on. And there isn't enough of St. Nicholas to bring much menace to the flick. Drag.

Tough call on the rating, as I would recommend this to people who want some effective holiday counter programming, but I doubt I will watch it again. A Bad from me.

Merry Christmas, y'all!

Sunday, December 23, 2012

A Christmas wish from The Basement

It's that special time of year again. A time when black cats and goblins, witches and ghosts . .  .

Sorry, wrong holiday.

In all seriousness, Shawn, Mike S and the rest of  The Basement crew want to wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Eat too much food, get a bit tipsy and, most importantly, stay safe and spend time with the people who matter.

We'll be taking a short break from this site because, really, nobody cares about B-movies at Christmas. Regular updates will resume on or before Jan. 2. And we return to 92.5 FM CFBX Kamloops and thex.ca Thursday, Jan. 10, at 10 p.m. PST. The podcast will now launch on Sunday mornings.

On that note, I leave you all with my favourite Christmas song and head off to enjoy a fourth coffee and Baileys. Have a Merry Ho-Ho, Basementites!


Saturday, December 22, 2012

Jason versus Total Recall (2012)

Gotta hand it to Colin Farrell, the dude has been lucky enough to star in two of the most unnecessary remakes of all time, yet both have been better than film fans deserve. Props to you, sir. And this time you get to make nice with two of the hottest women on the planet -- Kate Beckinsale and Jessica Biel. Well played, Colin. Well played.

A factory worker, Douglas Quaid, begins to suspect that he is a spy after visiting Rekall -- a company that provides its clients with implanted fake memories of a life they would like to have led -- goes wrong and he finds himself on the run.

As far as remakes go, this is pretty decent. It holds true to the original film -- which was itself an adaptation of Philip K.Dick's We Can Remember It For Your Wholesale -- while bringing new elements to the table, including an Earthbound resistance plot and bad to the ass set design.

Did I mention it stars Kate Beckinsale and Jessica Biel, two of the hottest women on the planet? It does. Well played, Total Recall. Well played.

This is a fast paced and entertaining sci-fi/action movie that's mindless entertainment and spectacle and nothing more. You push play, switch your brain off, watch the pretty lights, and enjoy. As someone who grooved on Arnold Schwarzenegger's 1990's classic, I wasn't offended by this. In fact, it works fine in its own right. Good for it.

Technically, this film is incredible, but I expect no less from a Hollywood blockbuster. It doesn't need to exist, but it does. I accept that, I enjoyed the one watch, and I'm done with it. A Bad from The Basement from me.

Why the world should have ended yesterday

Hi there. Did you miss my DOOOM and GLOOM "Countdown To Extinction?" Yeah, as foretold by Prophet Shawn, in the Basement, the "end" fell short and disappointed conspiracy theorists everywhere. Put your "bug out" bags back on the shelf, and get your asses back to work. Lol.

Yesterday, was prophesied to be THE END. Not a rapture, (X2 because of bad math), not a second coming, or massive floods. THE END. Armageddon. Some people thought that they may even escape death and actually prepared, for surviving this "end". When I think of this whole idea, I think of atmosphere stripping solar winds, planet smashing collisions and other absolute Earth ending, nothing survivable, events. At all. By anything. So the idea of stocking up on ammo, food, water etc . . . never crossed my mind. 

Those "preppers" aren't entirely crazy, though. The time they will "need" their stockpiles won't be from natural extinction level events (e.l.e.), but from their fellow man. Man can be a nasty animal. When we get nasty, I'm glad that the "preppers" will be there to stand up against what our monstrosity can produce.

In terms of monstrosities, I speak of the movie, Disaster Movie. I'm not even going to put a trailer on this blog to talk about it.
Disaster Movie was endured because that is my job here in The Basement. To watch "B" movies in search of hidden gems and spread the word. The word I spread here is I fucking took one for the team. At one point, my wife yelled down the stairs, "What is all that singing and dancing going on down there???" . . . Basementites, I shit you not.
This movie is one reason I held out a teeeeeny tiiiiny bit of hope that maybe the world should have ended yesterday. Imagine this movie as a legacy of man??! Lol.


In the end, (Lol) I'm very glad we are still here!! And in the words of Barry Manilow, "Looks Like We Made It..."

Thanks for sticking with us, enduring the Countdown to Extinction.

Hope you enjoyed the Mayan's 2012 A-crap-alypse.

Friday, December 21, 2012

A first look at Eli Roth's Aftershock

Don't let that headline mislead you though, the horror maestro doesn't direct the new thriller Aftershock. But Eli Roth did co-write it and he does co-star in it. So we're not totally bullshitting you.

In Chile, a group of travelers who are in an underground nightclub when a massive earthquake hits quickly learn that reaching the surface is just the beginning of their nightmare.

Nicolas Lopez directs while Selena Gomez, Andrea Osvart, and Ariel Levy join Roth for the mayhem.

Aftershock hits theatres some time next year. Thanks to Collider for the heads up and IGN for the preview.

A Christmas wish from Trick r Treat

Well, it's actually from Fear.net, but the video below features everyone's favourite Halloween mascot Sam from Michael Dougherty's brilliant Trick r Treat.

I don't want to spoil things, but the video -- entitled Happy Holidays -- features everything we've been bred to love about Christmas: snow, snowmen and children having a joyful good time with everything Basementites have grown to love about Halloween: murder, mayhem and a morbid sense of humour.

But enough of my idle chatter. Have yourself a merry little Christmas the Halloween way!



Cheers to Arrow in the Head for digging up the video.

Jason and Shawn review The Hole and Airborne

The Hole

Jason: In many ways, The Hole is more of a tribute to 80s cinema than J.J. Abrams' Super 8. For one, it's directed by one of the finest purveyors of 80s movie making -- Joe Dante. You know, the guy who made Gremlins, Explorers, and Inner Space? Hell, when it comes to horror, this is the dude who made the original Howling and Piranha

But is this movie any good? Yarp. The creepy kid and creepy doll sequences are beau-coup scary. Actually, this movie really took off for me when the ghost of the dead kid AND the creepy clown were introduced, almost simultaneously. Actually, every horror sequence in this movie works. Flawlessly.

I admit, I'm a bit too old to fully enjoy The Hole. This would be a perfect flick for someone in his early to mid teens. Hell, even the jail bait that is Haley Bennett is cast strictly to entice young male viewers. 

That said, my son will love this shit when he is old enough to fully appreciate it. And I know I will watch this again with him, and that rates a Good in my book.

Shawn: Nickelodeon does horror. 

Hey, this movie had a butt-load of potential. It had some fantastic imagery in some spots, a good bit of hair-raising moments. However, the look and feel of the actors was all wrong. It brought what looked like a feel-good kids' movie into the wrong genre. There were some strange plot holes, and odd behaviour. 

This could have been a shorts shitting movie had they made it a bit “grittier." Otherwise, it was just a YTV movie that bordered on horror and abuse. I’ve watched too many of those. I have to give it a Bad.

Airborne

Shawn: I went into this movie dragging my heels, and my guitar in my lap, for distraction purposes. Just in case. A movie set mostly on a plane. Woot. Feel the energy and excitement. Woot.

BUT you know what? This movie came around! I was pleasantly surprised. Mark Hamill was a secondary character. He is a flight control supervisor trying to save the plane from multiple assailants, including the spirit of some EVIL Japanese GOD! How are you going to save it? …Use the force, Luke! 

Naw. A pleasant surprise that I may even watch again. Bad acting and all. Gotta give it a Good!

Jason: Poor Mark Hamill. He hasn't got any respect since Star Wars, and even then everyone knew Harrison Ford was the man. He seems pretty wasted here, in that he has nothing to do. Whether or not he was sober during the shoot isn't any of my business.

Airborne is very contrived. A flight full of red flags, a plot to steal some valuable artifact AND some kind of evil Chinese god? Sure. I know movies are supposed to be bullshit, but I can't even suspend my disbelief enough to believe that all this shit could go down at once.

This movie isn't bad to the ass at all. It's just bad and ass. I'm not even going to give it a Bad, actually. It wasted my time, so it's an Ugly.

~FIN~


Thursday, December 20, 2012

The Hole and Airborne

Just in time for the Mayan apocalypse comes the mid-season finale of Film Reviews from the Basement, the official radio show/podcast of We Came from the Basement. And how do we bring 2012 -- and potentially the world --  to an end? With the return of not one, but two, icons from Jason and Shawn's youth!

First up is The Hole, directed by legendary 80s filmmaker Joe Dante. The same Joe Dante who made Gremlins, The Howling and the original Piranha. This time, Dante tackles a Nickelodeon nightmare about two brothers who discover a mysterious hole in their basement. Said hole then unleashes their inner nightmares . . . and Haley Bennett. Is The Hole any good? Stick with us!

And stick around for the return of Luke Skywalker himself, Mark Hamill, in the British thriller Airborne. Hamill plays an air traffic controller trying to save passengers on a transatlantic flight as they disappear one by one, much like his career.

Then it's time to unleash the fury that is Jon Cross of the After Movie Diner and Moe Porn of Drunk on VHS as the two podcasting titans launch a new segment discussing trends in movie. Tonight's trend: remakes. That'll be all.

So tune in at 10 p.m. PST at 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops and online at www.thex.ca. You can also follow along to the mad tweets of Mike S of The Corner of Terror on Twitter! It's exactly how you should spend your last night on Earth.

Note, we're back on The X with new episodes Thursday, Jan. 10, same Bat Time, same Bat Channel.

Now for a peep at tonight's motion pictures.

The Hole



Airborne


James Franco and Seth Rogen say This Is The End

I think I just peed myself. This Red Band trailer for the upcoming ensembles comedy This Is The End is that fucking funny.

It starts with a found-footage style introduction by James Franco and Seth Rogen that is hilarious to begin with. Then the trailer kicks in and things get . . . messed up?

Written and directed by Rogen and Evan Goldberg and starring Rogen, Franco, Jay Baruchel, Craig Robinson, Danny McBride and Jonah Hill as themselves, the film finds six friends trapped in a house after a series of strange and catastrophic events devastate Los Angeles.

Inspired to be sure but, if the whole movie is as funny as this preview, we're in for a comedic gem. If the world does end tomorrow, I can die knowing that I watched some funny shit during my last day on Earth.

Now get ready to laugh until you pee yourself. This Is The End arrives in theatres June. 14.


2012. This. Is. It.

1

2012

This is it, Basementites, the end of the world. Yours and my LAST day, as we know it.

2012 is a movie specifically dedicated to tomorrow's date. 12-21-12. A lot of this movie was filmed in my back yard, here in Kamloops, British Columbia. Mostly the "Yellowstone" segments,  and Chinese labour camp. Cool indeed. So we in The Basement, are directly connected to this homage, to tomorrows DOOOOM.

This movie was done by the Emmerich brothers, who love to make end-time movies (The Day After Tomorrow, Independence Day and a whole bunch more), and also love to start by destroying the U.S. Haha.



Lots of sciency, nerdy, explanations for this one. Neutrinos from the sun interact with the core, heating it, melting the mantle, causing all kinds of chaos and end-times shit. All the technology in the world and the Mayan's saw this coming, 5000 years agoish. The Mayan's. This movie ends the Countdown to Extinction. As tomorrow is D-day. 

Will you be doing anything special tonight? Will you be doing anything special on the 22nd? I, personally, do not believe the end is neigh. I will live today as I have yesterday and will seek comfort, knowing that I have lived my life with little regret, in case tomorrow truly is the end.

Good luck, Basementites. We will see you soon. Whether on this blog, or, on the other side.

                                                                                                             1

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

A first look at NECA's Aliens action figures

I know what I want under the Christmas tree next year, and I don't care if I'll be . . . too old for toys. Wanna fight about it!?!

Toymaker NECA unveiled today the first images of their upcoming Aliens action-figure line, and they are bad to the ass! The figures include Hicks, who was played by Michael Biehn, Bill Paxton's Hudson and an alien warrior. Hicks and Hudson are nearly 7″ tall, feature over 30 points of articulation and come with multiple heads. I'm sooooo glad they included the "Game over, man. Game over" look!

As for the alien warrior, it’s 9″ tall and has more than 30 points of articulation, including a bendable tail, hinged jaw, and sliding inner mouth.

NECA's Aliens line is expected to hit a toy store shelf near you in the spring. Props to Collider for finding these bad boys!

The end is: The Day After Tomorrow

2

Two days. So, literally, the day after tomorrow. Where will you be?

The Day After Tomorrow contains my favourite, relaxing, movie soundtrack of all time. I literally don't make it through the opening credits. Not because it is a bad movie, but because it is my comfort movie.  

I've seen it a 'few' times. Basically, the premise is, that our "global warming" has forced the earth to repair itself. This repair comes from balancing out the atmosphere, by changing the Oceanic currents, that changed due to the amount of fresh water, from melting glaciers. This forms super storms. The super storms, basically, suck super-cooled air from the upper troposphere . . . etc . . . blah, blah . . . super-nerdy stuff.  Basically, new ice age. The entire northern hemisphere.




Survive the cold? I can. I'm Canadian. Nothing new, except a bigger beer fridge for me, bitches. That's what I'll be doing, the day after tomorrow, if the Mayans were right. Filling up my new beer fridge, to watch the day go by.                                
                              
                                                                                                                2


Tuesday, December 18, 2012

John Dies at the End gets a Red Band trailer

Oh my God does Don Coscarelli's John Dies at the End ever look awesome! On VOD Dec. 27 you say? Sign us up!

And nothing sells a cult movie from the maker of Phantasm and Bubba Ho-Tep like a Red Band trailer. Movies like this need to be sold on their merits -- gore, boobs and fucked up shit -- and that's what the Red Band trailer below does. Thank Jebus for that!

And check out the plot, mofos! A new street drug that sends its users across time and dimensions has one drawback: some people return as no longer human. Can two college dropouts save humankind from this silent, otherworldly invasion? I certainly want to find out!

But enough said; give this bad boy a look. You know Shawn and I are watching this shit ASAP!



Thanks to IGN for the trailer.

Universal will unleash Riddick next September

We've talked at length about the return of everyone's favourite sci-fi antihero. Now we can let you know when the latest Riddick arrives on the big screen.

Sept. 6, 2013. In theatres and Imax.

The fall release date is likely because of the movie's hard-R rating. And we're cool with that. Hard-R = awesome in our books, especially when it has to do with the further adventures of one Richard B. Riddick.

What' it all about? Betrayed by his own kind and left for dead on a desolate planet, Riddick fights for survival against alien predators and becomes more powerful and dangerous than ever before. Soon bounty hunters from throughout the galaxy descend on Riddick only to find themselves pawns in his greater scheme for revenge. With his enemies right where he wants them, Riddick unleashes a vicious attack of vengeance before returning to his home planet of Furya to save it from destruction.

Back for another round is Vin Diesel (duh) and Karl Urban. Joining the fray are Battlestar: Galactica's Katee Sackhoff,  Keri Hilson and Dave Bautista.

I know it's not quite Christmas, but hurry about and get here September.

Cheers to Arrow in the Head for the update.

Dead Shadows: The Countdown to Doom

3
Get your affairs in order.  The Mayan Calendar ends in just three days. Ours ends in 13. 

Our buddy John Fallon introduced a trailer for Dead Shadows at our 2012 Dark Fest. Since then, we have watched, and reviewed this "end times" flick. We both thought it was great.

This movie hits a number of nails on the head, with monsters, titty spider women, violence, gore etc and so forth. Everything the end of the world needs to have to truly, call itself the end. All at the hands of a rogue comet that pixie dusts earth, with monster transforming madness.

I wish this movie had a HUGE theatrical release. Maybe a sequel would . . . if they make one. After all, they only have three days left.

We are down to the last three days until the end. I wish we had more days, as there are so many more movies that could slide in and countdown to our extinction. Either way, crunch time, folks.
33333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333

The end is 28 Days Later

4
Four days until 12- 21 -12. Can you handle
the coming apocalypse?????

Rage zombies. Huh. Took the fun right out of zombie movies. Anyone can run from a slow moving, decaying, deadite. But not these kind. 

For me, this movie shut down my hankering for a zombie apocalypse. There are still those that wish it, morbid fuckers, but they will not survive RAGE ZOMBIES. Haha.

Waking up from a coma right in the middle of the apocalypse, has got to suck ass too.

I don't think I know many horror, B, or zombie fans, that didn't really like this flick. I give it a Good and HOPE this isn't what the Mayan's meant when they ended their calendar.  Maybe, hopefully, they just ran out of rocks to carve. Otherwise, four more days.

                                                                                                                           4

Monday, December 17, 2012

A first look at A&Es Psycho inspired Bates Motel

We've already teased you about the upcoming TV series Bates Motel, which explores the life of young Norman Bates and his relationship with his mother. Now we can unleash upon your asses some real footage with the preview/featurette below.

The casting is key here. I'll pretty much watch anything with Vera Farmiga in it, and Freddie Highmore looks like he'll be a decent Norman. Vera plays mom, by the way. How they're gonna milk a TV series out of the premise remains to be seen.

Tune in to A&E in March and find out. And thanks to Bleeding Cool for the preview.


Jackie Chan on for The Expendables 3

At least that's what Cinema Online is reporting. And we're willing to take them on their good word.

Actually, the article claims that Sylvester Stallone offered the legendary martial arts star a role in the second film, but Chan had a prior commitment. However, in the Drunken Master's own words . . .

"But he did extend his invitation to the third movie, which I agreed on the condition that I will be appearing as more than just a minor role with a few scenes," said Chan.

Chan also expressed an interest in seeing The Expendables 3 be more of a buddy-buddy movie, whatever that means. All I want is these legendary action guys to blow shit up. As long as that's going on, I'm cool.

There you go. The Expendables 3 continues to rock and roll forward. And yes, Nicolas Cage is still on board. Shawn died a little inside with that bit of casting.

A full trailer takes Star Trek Into Darkness

A couple or weeks ago Paramount Pictures released a teaser for the Star Trek sequel, and there was much rejoicing. Now get ready to rejoice some more as the studio has unleashed a full trailer offering more . . . of everything.

Still no official word on who Benedict Cumberbatch's villain is. There's a lot of speculation, which we've engaged in on this site and the show. But really, do we need to know? Don't we want to be surprised and excited when Star Trek Into Darkness hits theatres May 17?

I know I do. I miss the days when movies were something I could get excited about. I haven't been truly excited for a movie since . . . I don't know when. But I'm feeling an inkling of excitement for this. And I am happy for that.

After the crew of the Enterprise find an unstoppable force of terror from within their own organization, Captain Kirk leads a manhunt to a war-zone world to capture a one man weapon of mass destruction.

Paramount keeps killing our videos of the trailer, so go watch it over at Apple!

Sunday, December 16, 2012

A Good Day to Die Hard poster brings The Bruce

The Bruce and things that go pop, as that old Outland comic strip once said. Did I just date myself? If so, I hope I put out.

Yes, this appeared in Entertainment Weekly a couple of days ago. But, in the interest of good taste following the Newtown shootings, we figured we'd hold off for a day or two before posting anything with a firearm on it. And, being an action movie, guns figure big in A Good Day to Die Hard.

I actually dig this poster for the fifth Die Hard film. It gives supporting player Jai Courtney a bit of the short shift, but this franchise still belong to Bruce Willis, dammit. So he deserves to be front and centre.

This time around John McClane travels to Russia to help out his seemingly wayward son, Jack, only to discover that Jack is a CIA operative working to prevent a nuclear-weapons heist, causing the father and son to team up against underworld forces. 

A Good Day to Die Hard opens Feb. 14.

War of the Worlds: Countdown to Extinction 5

5

As we get down to the nitty gritty, the last 5 days of doom, we're gonna get serious. How serious? Scientology . . . er Tom Cruise serious!

War of the Worlds. Aliens come, kick our asses, leaving little hope for our survival. Stephen Hawking, from his chair of prophecy, thinks an outcome such as this is possible. Why not the Mayan's? That is WHY their calendar ended, right?  Doooooom.

Too bad for the aliens that our boogers are toxic to them. 

Anyways, really dug this 2005 version, the remake of the movie (1954) based on Orson Wells' panic-inducing radio broadcast, in 1938. 

I think, I would have enjoyed the radio broadcast, more than I enjoyed either movie. Not knowing it was a hoax, would have tested my psyche, would have let me know whether I was a true shorts shitter or brave!
 
I watched both the 2005 and 1954 version, more than once, giving both a Good in their own right.
I'm POSITIVE that the Mayan's are straight up "shorts shitters". Just hoping to return the favour, for us. Haha. IN FIVE DAYS....
                                                                                                            5

Saturday, December 15, 2012

Our watery end . . . Waterworld

6
After the tragic events in the U.S. yesterday, I decided to take a day off from reminding the world that it is ending in under a week. Our thoughts and prayers go out to the community of Newtown, Connecticut. 

Kevin Costner. Some would say that Waterworld was not only an "apocalyptic" ish movie, but the beginning of the end of Costner's career.
Perhaps the Mayan's saw that one coming. 

I don't think Waterworld was the end of his career. I liked it. Polar ice caps melted, turning the world as we know it, into one big ocean. Swell. (heh) 

It has been sooo long since the "flood," people are evolving gills. Cool. 


I dug Waterworld, and admire Costner for accepting a role like that. It must have been tough. Haha.

The Mayans give us six more days. Will we flood? Stock up on oil, bitches. For it is your savior. hahaha

                                                                                                                  6