Sunday, October 31, 2010

It's Halloween, and everyone is entitles to one good scare. For us in The Basement, that scare came Friday night when we interviewed the ghost of deceased movie producer, director and actor William Castle!

For those that missed our first ever live chat with the dead, there is the podcast to your right that you can listen to at your leisure. Given that the interview was carried out via live chat in a Facebook discussion page, we've included a link to it here. Feel free to give it a read and catch parts of the interview that didn't make it onto the show. And thanks again to psychic Mike S, who mediated the interview for us. You rock!

How could we not broadcast every question and answer? Well, being a movie review show, we did have to talk movies. And Shawn and I just had to share our thoughts on the best underrated horror movies of all time. Being the generous radio hosts that we are, we've included our lists and brief thoughts on each film for you below!

And a big shout out once again to our resident ghost, the late great Mr. Castle! Thanks for making Halloween 2010 a great one for us Basement Dwellers!

The 10 Most Underrated Horror Films



According to Shawn:

Eight Legged Freaks - One of the greatest giant spider movies ever made. Having arachnophobia, this movie is an eye squinter for me when I watch it. Toxic waste spill mutates the spiders at a side-of-the-road spider zoo. The zookeeper is quickly devoured and the spiders take refuge in the town's old gold mines. They grow, and eat people. Awesome!

The Devil's Backbone- Ghosts, war, bombs, and lots of scares.  I remember being a bit squeamish watching it. Thanks for the nightmares, Guillermo Del Toro.

Sasquatch: The Legend of Bigfoot - I was a kid when I watched this TV movie.  I remember it freaked me out. We do live in Bigfoot country after all.  Plausible? Call Mythbusters.

Dead Alive (Brain Dead)- Terrible beginning. Terrible ending.  The bits in between are gold.  Rare monkey is found, bites lady. Cue zombie apocalypse. Features a priest who kicks ass for God. How cool is that?

Freaks – An old, weird movie.  Watched it once when I was young and it's stuck with me ever since. Maybe because they used real genetically unfortunate persons.  May not be the scariest movie on earth, but disturbing.

An American Werewolf In London – I was 10 years old when I watched this.  The werewolf itself wasn't the scariest part. It was the dead victims that impacted me and still stick with me today. Really. I see one of them now!

John Carpenter's The Thing - Again, I was 10 years old when I watched this.  That must have been a defining year for me and movies.  Thanks to George's dad too, who let me watch it.  It was evening, I lived one short block away.  He says "Hey Shawn, have a good walk home and watch out for THE THING!  It could be anybody". Thanks. Words I've lived by.  That molded me.

Pontypool - Awesome one-location, limited-cast apocalyptic film.  Truly makes you use your imagination, gets you thinking, and is pretty damn scary.  Highly underrated!

and No. 1 . . . Dog Soldiers – Werewolves versus soldiers.  Soldiers kick ass. The werewolves are the best ever put on film. I don't care what Mike S. thinks! Violent, gory and believable. Scary even. It's what we in The Basement look for in a horror movie!

According to Jason:



All the Boys Love Mandy Lane - A group of high-schoolers invite Mandy Lane, a good girl who became quite hot over the summer, to a weekend party on a secluded ranch. While the festivities rage on, the number of revelers begins to drop quite mysteriously. Quirky and well done despite its low budget. Got Amber Heard noticed, and for good reason!

The Woman in Black - When a friendless old widow dies in the seaside town of Crythin, a young solicitor is sent by his firm to settle the estate. Pure terror ensues for the solicitor and the audience. Guaranteed to keep you up at night.

Session 9 - Tensions rise within an asbestos cleaning crew as they work in an abandoned mental hospital with a horrific past that seems to be coming back. Limited violence, no jump scares but unsettling none-the-less.

The Orphanage - A woman brings her family back to her childhood home, where she opens an orphanage for handicapped children. Before long, her son starts to communicate with an invisible new friend. From producer Guillermo Del Toro, and scary as hell. The kid in the sack mask still gives me nightmares.

Pontypool - A psychological thriller in which a deadly virus infects a small Ontario town via the spoken word. What Shawn said.

The Poughkeepsie Tapes - When hundreds of videotapes showing torture, murder and dismemberment are found in an abandoned house, they reveal a serial killer's decade-long reign of terror and become the most disturbing collection of evidence homicide detectives have ever seen. Two words describe this film: fucked up! And not for everyone.

Behind the Mask: The Rise of Leslie Vernon - The next great psycho horror slasher has given a documentary crew exclusive access to his life as he plans his reign of terror over the sleepy town of Glen Echo, all the while deconstructing the conventions and archetypes of the horror genre for them. A must see. Why haven't you seen it yet? Get out there and SEE IT!

Dog Soldiers - A routine military exercise turns into a nightmare in the Scotland wilderness as a group of soldiers find themselves under siege by a pack of werewolves. Again, what Shawn said.

Trick r Treat – Actually a better film than my No. 1 choice, but much more well know and therefor it does not rank as No. 1. Four interwoven stories that occur on Halloween: An everyday high school principal has a secret life as a serial killer; a college virgin might have just met the one guy for her; a group of teenagers pull a mean prank; a woman who loathes the night has to contend with her holiday-obsessed husband. One to put in the Blu-Ray player every October.

and No. 1 . . . Splinter - Trapped in an isolated gas station by a voracious Splinter parasite that transforms its still living victims into deadly hosts, a young couple and an escaped convict must find a way to work together to survive this primal terror. Brutal, disturbing and a masterpiece despite the low budget. Great characters who react in rational and believable way to the nightmare they face. I love this movie!

Friday, October 29, 2010

From Beyond the Grave: A Discussion With William Castle!


Tonight is a Basement first! With the help of psychic and frequent contributor Mike S., and the marvels of modern Facebook technology, Shawn and I are going to conduct a live online and onair interview with the spirit of famous Hollywood film director, producer and actor William Castle! 

We've opened a discussion on our Facebook page and, shortly after 10 p.m., our conversation from beyond the grave will begin! Remember, Castle is a ghost, so he's only regained the ability to type, not to speak. Mike S. will speak for him!


Those who want to listen can tune in live at 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops or www.thex.ca. If you want to watch the discussion unfold, or even have a question to ask, stop by our Facebook page.

Castle may be best known for his gimmicks. For example, The Tingler (1959) was about a docile creature that lives in the spinal cord, is activated by fright, and can only be destroyed by screaming. In the film's finale, one of the creatures removed from the spine of a mute woman is let loose in a movie theatre. Some seats in theatres showing the Tingler were equipped with larger versions of hand-held joy buzzers that were attached to the underside of the seats. When the Tingler in the film attacked the audience, the buzzers were activated as a voice encouraged the real audience to scream for their lives.

We've also got music by Rob Zombie and Sick Puppies, plus featured discussions on the best underrated horror films of all time. Stick with us!

And remember, if all of this makes your skin crawl, it's Halloween: everyone is entitled to one good scare!

Below is Castle introducing his film The Tingler.

Thursday, October 28, 2010

Girl With the Dragon Tattoo front-runner for Alien prequel


Noomi Rapace is the front-runner for the Alien prequel. That's the news.

Meetings between Ridley Scott, who directed the original film more than 30 years ago, and a number of potential leads have concluded and the lean Rapace is so far his favourite, so says Deadline.

Other actresses that reportedly took meetings with Scott were Carey Mulligan, Abbie Cornish, Natalie Portman, and Olivia Wilde of the upcoming Tron Legacy. Deadline also states the studio is heavily involved in this particular casting and Rapace's English, or lack thereof, may be the only problem.

As far as I am concerned, Rapace is a great choice.  Her Lisbeth Salender was a major ball breaker. Get her to work on the accent and let's roll. Actually, who cares about the accent. She's a worthy successor to Ripley, even though the film takes place before Sigourney Weaver and company came along.

All I've got to do now is a give two shits about another Alien moving being made.

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

The Dark Knight Retur . . . er Rises!


Christopher Nolan has revealed the name of the third film in his Batman trilogy. In July 2012, we’ll be lining up for The Dark Knight Rises. 

Good title, and it takes advantage of the The Dark Knights' popularity at the box office. Smart move, Nolan.

The co-writer/director went on to dispell the rumour that The Riddler would be the villain this time around, but he hasn't said who the main adversary will be either. It will be tough to beat Ledger's Joker.

Nolan also announced today that he’s convinced Warner Bros. to keep telling his story in 2D, and to continue down the path of hi-def IMAX sequences. He'll get no argument from us in The Basement on the subject either.

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Wanna see some footage from Tron Legacy? Then check out this Daft Punk video


You won't regret it. Trust me.

It was a tough call for news today. If I had all the time in the world I would flood you, Basement Dweller, with all kinds of tidbits of geekdom.Seeing as the day job keeps me busy, you get just one.

It was a toss up between the cool footage/OK music below and word that Lucas may convert the Indiana Jones films into 3D (three extra dollars) for an upcoming release. Seeing as the Lucas news makes me want to punch someone in the nuts, you get the Tron footage, which is pretty slick.

"Electrify the girls and boys if you'd be so kind," Michael Sheen tells Daft Punk, who have a cameo in the film. The track they play is titled Derezzed. The footage is all from the movie, which looks spectacular.

December seems a long way off. Maybe I'll watch the video again.

Monday, October 25, 2010

Orcs, anyone?


They failed to chase down Frodo in The Lord of the Rings and have had their numbers decimated on World of Warcraft, so it only makes sense the green-skinned bastards would want some revenge. Hence the new low budget horror-comedy-action flick Orcs.

In the film, directed by Andrew Black, a band of the fantasy beasties are terrorizing a national park and the only ones who can stop them are a couple of bungling park rangers. Much mayhem and face eating ensues, so we're told.

The film stars Adam Johnson, Maclain Nelson and Renny Richmond. It's due out . . . we're not entirely sure, but there's a preview below for your viewing pleasure.

Saturday, October 23, 2010

Jason and Shawn review: Case 39 and The Road


Case 39

Shawn:
A lot of potential here.  There were definitely some really good scenes, good ideas, but they came across as convoluted, unfinished and forced. That seems like a pretty weak way to make a scary movie.  The "demon" effects were done with Adobe After Effects or software like that and made the production look cheap, just like the so-called scares. The movie was eerie at best. Probably more suspense than horror, and even that was predictable. An Ugly rating for sure.

Jason:
This movie sat on a shelf for years and should have been left there. No one should have to suffer through this. It took me five pints to do so! I hate Rene Zellweger to begin with, so having to watch her for 90 minutes didn't help. And what person in their right mind, knowing achild is the spawn of the Devil, decide to take action by dumping a TV on the floor and telling the brat to get out of the house? Do the world a favour and drop the TV on its head! Ugly, ugly, ugly.



The Road

Shawn:
Here is a post apocalyptic movie that doesn't dwell on what happened, how, or the struggles humanity faces to rebuild the human race.  This movie follows a father and son, as they try to find food.  The end. Boring! I like movies that show the build up to the apocalypse because I like to see society's fall from grace. The Road focuses on fall from dignity, and I don't need to see that. Viewers with children will understand some stuff better than those that won't.  If you don't have children, take it for what it offers. A Bad movie in my books, but has its moments.

Jason:

An epic fail. Everything that worked in Cormac McCarthy's book – the characters, story, tension and underlying sense of doom and dread – is a washout here. What was a riveting, dreary read is nothing more than a tedious bore on film. I hated Charlize Theron's scenes, I hated the boy, and I felt not connection between the father and son. In other words, this film had nothing to hold my attention to it save for a couple of moments here and there, and those aren't enough to recommend it. Another Ugly from me!

Friday, October 22, 2010

Next on the chopping block: Case 39 and The Road


How fast the weeks travel by. But for Shawn and I that's a good thing as we once again get to entertain you with some not-so-random chatter about one of our favourite things: movies!

Being a review program, we've lined up a couple of diverse ones to face the executioner's axe: the post apocalyptic drama The Road and the horror film Case 39. The Road has some amazing pedigree in the form of Cormac McCarthy's Pulitzer Prize winning novel. It's a great book. But how does the movie stack up?

Case 39 stars Academy Award winning actress Renee Zellweger and features a social worker charged with a potentially dangerous child. It's sat on a shelf for years, rarely a good sign, but finally made it to theatres this month. Rarely do Shawn and I venture out to the theatre, but this one's reputation demanded it.

We begin a new segment called Era Flops, where we discuss the worst movie of a given year. We've gone all the way back to 1985 for our first segment. There will also be music by The Kills, Audioslave and whatever great independent artists Shawn has lined up.

So tune in tonight at 10 p.m on 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops or listen online at www.thex.ca. You'll thank yourself for it. The podcast will be up on podOmatic to listen to at your leisure by the Monday.

Now for some previews:

Case 39
The Road

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Leslie Vernon to kill again in Behind the Mask sequel


One of the best, most under-rated horror films of all time is Scott Glosserman's Behind the Mask: The Rise of Leslie Vernon. 

The 2006 flick put a fun spin on the slasher film as a documentary crew follows the next generation of unstoppable killer when they given exclusive access to his life. It great stuff, that totally deconstructs the conventions and archetypes of the genre.

Word has it courtesy of Dread Central that Glosserman and co-writer David Stieve are close to finishing a script for the much-deserved follow up, and Glosserman is looking to start shooting in the spring. Hopefully we'll here some more news soon!

Here's a preview for the first film. If you haven't seen it, Shawn and I suggest you head out and do so!

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Scream Awards trailer for Paranormal Activity 2


While Shawn and I are rockin' it on 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops Friday night several horror fans will likely be heading to local theatres to check out the sequel to last year's hit Paranormal Activity.

We here in The Basement, including Shawn, myself and contributor Mike S, loved the shit out of P.A. and none of us can deny that it looks like a noble effort was undertaken to make a decent sequel in Paranormal Activity 2.

Below is the Scream Awards trailer for the film, which has a kicker of a final few seconds. I admit I am eager to see the film, and may even venture into theatres at some point.




Paranormal Activity 2 is directed by Tod Williams with a story by Michael R. Perry and screenplay by Michael R. Perry and Christopher Landon. The film is produced by Jason Blumand and Oren Peli, who wrote and directed the first film to perfection.

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

WTF? Mark Wahlberg could be the new Crow?


It could be time to break out the goth makeup, Mark Wahlberg may be taking over from the late Brandon Lee in the new version of The Crow.

Word across the Interweb says an official offer hasn't been made yet, but the Oscar winner is apparently in talks with Relativity Media to star in the upcoming remake/reboot of Alex Proyas’ 1994 comic book-based movie. That film is notorious as Lee was tragically killed on the set when a prop gun misfired.

The news is slightly surprising because Wahlberg is considered an A-list star and the series, which degenerated into straight-to-video fair by the time it was done, hasn't lent itself to such talent. Then again, his recent efforts, including the incredibly shitty Max Payne and The Happening, might mean his star has fallen.

Personally, Wahlberg seems a terrible choice. Then again, it's hard to top the work the late Lee did. He owned the role and producers should have left well enough alone after the first one.

Monday, October 18, 2010

A PG-13 Hellraiser remake? Say it ain't so!!


But, sadly, it sounds like that is the case according to boys over at Bloody Disgusting. Dimension's planned relaunch of Clive Barker's classic is aiming for a PG-13 rating when it eventually hits theatres.

The website reports that the toned-down Lament Configuration could be directed by Christian E. Christiansen (say that name 10 times fast), who helmed the upcoming teen-themed thriller The Roomate. Pascal Laugier, director of the bloody French horror film Maryrs, was previously attached.

As far as we in The Basement are concerned anything less than a hard-R Hellraiser film is pointless. Pinhead is all about the ripping of flesh and making one's suffering legendary. How Dimension expects to do that on a PG-13 film is beyond me.

We have a better idea, Dimension: why not leave Hellraiser well enough alone!?!

Sunday, October 17, 2010

Jason and Shawn review: The Joneses and Four Lions


The Joneses

Jason:

The Joneses has a lot to say about consumerism, the economic crisis and people's willingness to go into debt to achieve the American dream. However, what good intentions co-writer/director Derrick Borte had for his film are shattered by a storyline that refuses to break free of the shackles set by mainstream Hollywood. David Duchovny is still a fun screen presence and Demi Moore is looking great at 47, but I didn't buy their romance one bit. And spare me the warm, fuzzy happy ending. This could have been a good movie, but instead it rates a Bad.

Shawn:

Hello X-Files and G.I .Jane, long time no see.  This was the best you could get? I get it. Keep up with the Joneses. But even the Joneses are fucked up. The chemistry was terrible between Demi and Duchovny.  I know the relationship was supposed to be awkward, but the performances seemed just a little too rough around the edges. And salespeople with consciences? Please. I guess I'll have to wait for karma to come around and reward me for my hour and a half lost. This is Ugly through and through. 



Four Lions

Jason:

I so wish I could write a review for this movie that would do it justice. Instead, all I can say is SEE IT! This is one of the best and funniest independent comedies to come down the pipe in a long, long time. The film is emotionally engaging without being sappy, slapstick without being silly. And it has some of the best, most quotable lines of any film since Black Dynamite. Did I mention you need to see it? SEE IT! One to own and watch again and again. A Good review from me.

Shawn:

Trailer Park Boys meets Hezbollah.  But a movie about British Muslims is quite a bit funnier. This movie was hilarious.  I found myself hoping that they actually succeeded.  Sick yes, but I haven't watched a good black comedy in a long time. Well done, well casted and funnier than shit!  Did I mention, it was actually funny? This rates a Good, even though one sheep was blown up in the making of this movie.

Saturday, October 16, 2010

Chatting with ghosts: The Basement interviews William Castle

Halloween is our favourite holiday here in The Basement, and we've got something special planned for our Oct. 29 episode to celebrate.

With the help of psychic and frequent Basement contributor Mike S., and the marvels of modern Facebook technology, Shawn and I are going to conduct a live online and onair interview with the spirit of famous Hollywood film director, producer and actor William Castle.

Yes, Castle is back from beyond the grave and he's willing to take some time out from overseeing the collaborative horror novel Scare It Forward (which yours truly is taking part in) to answer some questions about his life, career and the movies he made.

Castle may be best known for his gimmicks. For example, The Tingler (1959) was about a docile creature that lives in the spinal cord, is activated by fright, and can only be destroyed by screaming. In the film's finale, one of the creatures removed from the spine of a mute woman is let loose in a movie theatre. Some seats in theatres showing the Tingler were equipped with larger versions of hand-held joy buzzers that were attached to the underside of the seats. When the Tingler in the film attacked the audience, the buzzers were activated as a voice encouraged the real audience to scream for their lives.
  
We're going to open a discussion section on our Facebook page at about 10 p.m. PST on Oct. 29. Our conversation with Castle, who has regained the ability to type but not to speak, will begin in that section soon after. Those who want to listen can tune in live at 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops or www.thex.ca. If you want to watch the discussion unfold, or even have a question to ask, stop by our Facebook page.

Shawn and I are very excited about this interview, a Basement first. And we encourage everyone to stop by Scare It Forward, give it a read, and leave a comment or two.

And don't forget to tune in next week for reviews of Case 39, The Road and our discussion on era flops circa 1985!

Friday, October 15, 2010

Next on the chopping block: The Joneses, Four Lions and a little something about The Kamloops Project


Another Friday night and another great episode of Film Reviews From the Basement: The Radio Show has been lined up for you.

For the first time in Basement history Shawn and I are going to be reviewing a pair of comedies, each tackling a timely topic. First up is the David Duchovny/Demi Moore consumerism satire The Joneses. The second is the terrorism-themed Four Lions, which has been generating great buzz on the festival circuit.

We'll also begin a new segment called Top 5, wherein Shawn and I discuss five things we like or don't like about film. Tonight's topic: our five favourite opening sequences.

And for the locals, we have Kamloops Daily News editor Mel Rothenburger talking about The Kamloops Project, a social experiment the city's only daily newspaper has created.

So tune in tonight at 10 p.m. on 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops or head online to www.thex.ca and enjoy. Your life will be better for it. A podcast version will be available here and over at podOmatic by Monday.

Now some previews:

The Joneses



Four Lions

Trailer Alert: Drive Angry 3D


Two Nicolas Cage-related stories in one week? Shawn's going to explode. But maybe not when he sees this trailer for the new grindhouse-style action/horror movie from director Patrick Lussier, who made the great My Bloody Valentine 3D.

Now there are some who are sick of 3D and will find the preview borderline cheesy, almost campy even. I agree completely. But we here in The Basement don't mind cheese and camp if done right, and we love us our ultraviolence.

As for 3D, yup. We're sick of it. But Lussier used the technology to great effect in MBV3D, so I'm willing to give him a break this time around.

Oh, and Amber Heard is in this. Yum!

The film is due out early next year. Give the trailer a view and share your thoughts.

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Inception actor to tackle role in the new Batman . . .


. . .  but there is no word yet on who Tom Hardy is going to play. All that's confirmed is co-writer and director Christopher Nolan has cast him in a lead role in the film.

While there’s zero confirmation on his part, we in The Basement encourage you to go bug  nuts with your guesses – would he make a good Riddler? Is he taking on one of the other iconic characters from Bats’ rogues’ gallery? Bruce Wayne's mail man? Hey, it could happen.

Hardy has been shooting the latest version of Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy for Thomas Alfredson and will appear in McG’s action comedy This Means War alongside Reese Witherspoon (whom yours truly caught a glimpse of in Vancouver last week. She's short and 50 per cent leg) and Chris Pine. His version of Mad Max has been temporarily waylaid due to bad weather Down Under.

The next Bat film is due out in 2012, just in time for the apocalypse.

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Rumour Alert: Highlander to team up with Ghost Rider


Connor MacLeod of the clan MacLeod, Christopher Lambert, may be in the running to star alongside Nicolas Cage and his latest crazy haircut in the Ghost Rider sequel.

Dread Central reports the actor revealed on his Facebook page that he's in talks to star with Cage in Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance. The second Marvel Comics adaptation to feature the ghastly motorcycle rider also stars Ciaran Hinds, Violante Placido, Idris Elba and Johnny Whitworth.

Mark Neveldine and Brian Taylor (writer/directors of Gamer, Crank) are in pre-production on the project, which is due in theatres Feb. 17, 2012.

I didn't care for the first Ghost Rider much and Shawn isn't shy about his hate for Cage. But Neveldine and Taylor have done some wild stuff and the chance to see Lambert on screen again creates some geek excitement for us in The Basement. Highlander was one of my favourites growing up.

Micro Review: A Nightmare on Elm Street (2010)


Slick production values and a capable new incarnation of Freddy Krueger in the form of Jackie Earle Haley can't save this otherwise flat, boring remake Wes Craven's 1984 classic. A prime example of if it ain't broke, don't fix it. What was once a creepy, campy, low-budget excursion into slasher-horror has become just another Hollywood product void of fun, energy and, sadly, scares. Rooney Mara may look good, but her Nancy lacks any of the charm Heather Langenkamp brought to the role. The other characters are just as lifeless as the corpses Freddy leaves in his wake. A Bad review from this Basement dweller.

Click here to check out a review by frequent contributor Mike S.

Monday, October 11, 2010

Jason and Shawn interview John Fallon

For those who just want to give it a listen, we've posted the entire interview with actor, writer, director and film critic John Fallon, AKA the Arrow of Arrow in the Head, to the embedded player to the right. It's the entire interview, and only the interview, in one continuous cut. Enjoy!

For those who want to hear the Oct. 8, 2010 episode in its entirety, complete with the interview, our reviews of Bitch Slap and Rampage, and some pretty cool music, then just scroll down the player to hear the entire show.

Who says you can't have it both ways!?!

Jason and Shawn

Sunday, October 10, 2010

Jason and Shawn review: Bitch Slap and Rampage


Bitch Slap

Jason: What kind of a critic am I? Can I be so easily bought by some gratuitous T&A, graphic violence, heavy metal music and girl-on-girl action. Why yes, apparently I can! And I hate myself for it! Well, not really. Bitch Slap is a guilty pleasure best watched with copious amounts of beer, rum and Coke. The trio of sexy ladies, Erin Cummings, Julia Voth and America Olivo, redefine sexy. Story and character development don't matter, just enjoy the pretty pictures. A Good review from me! Dammit!

Shawn: Seriously, what the fuck!?! There's enough T&A here to last a lifetime. Possibly one of the most predictable movies I've ever seen, but all that is pointless because I am a man. Wow! The ladies, the violence and STUFF BLOWS UP!!! All the gals like each other, and that's cool. This is a man's movie through and through, and earns a Good rating because of it. I was so entertained.



Rampage

Jason: I have never been so surprised by a movie. Dr. Uwe Boll actually made a solid film that has something to say about modern society. Every fibre of my being wanted to hate it and what the angry, young protagonist does, but Boll handles the material well. The eventual rampage, which has the "hero" marching through his town in body armour armed with machine guns is harrowing and disturbing, but the sequence is handled with a surprising amount of care by the writer/director. The scene in the bingo hall is probably one of my all-time favourites. Once again, a Good review.

Shawn: Our star, Brendan Fletcher, is an amazing actor. He doesn't play it crazy, although he lets some loose wires show. He makes Bill a character who is sick and tired of the world he sees and who just has to go out and do what he does. And he executes his plan perfectly, as well as 74 plus people. If this were real, it would be reprehensible. As a movie, whoa! The sequence in the bingo hall is a new favourite. Another Good from the Bad Man.

Friday, October 8, 2010

Next on the chopping block: the John Fallon interview, Rampage and Bitch Slap


Alright guys and ghouls -- a bad, overused pun I know -- tonight brings the world the second episode of Film Reviews From the Basement: The Radio Show and we promise it will be a good one!

The bulk of tonight's program will be an interview with actor, writer, stunt man and film critic John Fallon, better known as The Arrow of Arrow in the Head, part of the JoBlo.com Movie Network. The dude is a fun, honest and entertaining interview, and I am sure fans will dig it.

We've also got reviews of the Dr. Uwe Boll anger epic Rampage and the T&A exploitation romp Bitch Slap plus some music for your ear hole if time allows.

So crack a six pack or two, grab some nachos and tune in to 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops tonight at 10 p.m.or head online to www.thex.ca. A podcast version will be available on Sunday.

And now some previews:

Rampage



Bitch Slap


Thursday, October 7, 2010

Season of the Witch due in January


As a concept, Season of the Witch sounds great: a 14th century Crusader returns with his comrade to a homeland devastated by the Black Plague. A beleaguered church, deeming sorcery the culprit of the plague, commands the two knights to transport an accused witch to a remote abbey, where monks will perform a ritual in hopes of ending the pestilence. 

Gotta love a medieval horror film. But the project is helmed by director Domenic Sena, who made Swordfish and Whiteout, two of the worst movies ever made. And it stars Nicholas Cage who, love him or hate him, has a dodgy track record when it comes to selecting lead roles.  


For the record, Shawn hates Cage and I don't mind him.


Season of the Witch was supposed to be released earlier this year, but bad buzz prevailed, reshoots were ordered and now Lionsgate will release the film Jan. 7, 2011. This does not bode well.


In the meantime, check out the trailer below and judge for yourself. 


Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Guest Review: "A Nightmare on Elm Street"


Since Wes Craven's "My Soul to Take" premiered last night, Mike S thought we would watch and review the Samuel Bayer directed "re-imagining" of the classic Wes Craven's "A Nightmare on Elm Street":

"This is a slicker looking version of Wes Craven's Nightmare... and not much more.

If you've seen the original, you'll be able to easily predict much of the events that happen, and the roles that the various characters fulfill. For a "reimagining", there really isn't that much imagination in this film.

Jackie Earle Haley does a decent job of portraying Freddy Krueger, but lacked that magic that Robert Eglund had. He just seems to be going through the paces of getting revenge- rather than enjoying the torment he was inflicting.

The characters are pretty flat, and rather bland. Even Nancy, the heroine, was simplistic and interchangable with pretty much any other character in the movie.

The one really nice touch I appreciated was the fleshing out of how the characters fit into Krueger's need for revenge.

For looks, this movie is pretty good, but for everything else, I'll take Wes Craven's original, and rate this one as Bad."

Tuesday, October 5, 2010

Guest Review: "The Satanic Rites of Dracula"


Mike S reviews a classic horror film- "The Satanic Rites of Dracula".

"When I found out that Hammer Films was alive and well again- and in the process of producing a few new horror films, I started getting a little nostalgic. Growing up, I was a HUGE fan of the Hammer horror films, and have been looking for them on DVD for quite a while. A horror library is not complete without at least one of their films.


It was with great pleasure when I found "The Satanic Rites of Dracula" on DVD. I was literally, "geeking out" over it. I felt like a kid opening the biggest present under the Christmas tree. It's sad, but true.

I couldn't wait to watch it, but I wanted it to be special. At night, with the lights off... alone. Just me, Dracula, and Van Helsing.

And, man, was it worth it.

By today's standards, this movie might not be considered great- but for me it was fantastic. This film has the British sensibilities for horror, without relying on heavy gore and sadism. Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing were excellent in this movie- which was Lee's last one as Dracula.

I won't lie, but it's not necessarily scary or creepy or errie compared to some of the more recent movies, but when you watch it, you can see why Hammer films were considered the pinnacle of the genre back in the 70's. Their movies were, in a word... fun.

And isn't fun what it's all about?  Yes, it is- and that's why I'd rate this movie a Good."

Monday, October 4, 2010

"My Soul to Take"- Wes Craven in 3D

Wes Craven returns to the horror genre with "My Soul to Take", and follows other big name directors by going 3D.  Will it take your breath away, or will it wind up be souless eye candy?  You'll be able to find out for yourself since this movie opens tonight in theatres.

Seven people born on the same day as a serial killer was killed.  A sleepy little town sixteen years after the killers death.  People vanishing.  Is it the killer... or someone else?

The trailer looks like this movie has potential- and Wes Craven has always had a solid understanding of the horror genre, having done "Nightmare on Elm Street", and "Scream".  All we can hope is that he's not simply trying to cash in on the 3D technology that's out there.

Check out this trailer and let us know what you think.

Sunday, October 3, 2010

Jason and Shawn review: Centurion and The Disappearance of Alice Creed


Centurion

Jason: The latest effort from writer/director Neil Marshall highlights his talent for crafting exciting action and suspense sequences but lacks the tightness of script he showed in earlier efforts Dog Soldiers and The Descent. Events don't happen out of logic, but because the screenplay requires them to. As a result, Centurion feels contrived and isn't as much fun to watch as Marshall's earlier work. I hope he abandons his loftier ambitions and returns to his low budget roots, much like a certain Spider-Man director. A Bad rating from me.

Shawn: Why do you need to start such an exciting movie with a slow, slow, slow opening credit sequence? Whoa. Blood. What a great movie!  The story was awesome, and I went through most of the movie not really knowing who to cheer for. Actually, there wasn't really a side you could pick. This was a cool emotion, because the vengeance by either side was served up with a fantastic amount of blood. Ha ha! A Good review from this Basement dweller.




The Disappearance of Alice Creed


Shawn: Can't even describe it.  I watched it in 10-minute increments per day.  That was all I could take.  I made it through it all, but damn.  I've been subjected to stupid movies before, but not like this.Actually, the idea was cool, but the movie is terrible. There is no need to turn some ideas into movies.  The only emotion it evoked from me was hate.  I wasn't offended by it, I wasn't intrigued by it, and I most certainly was not entertained by it. Ugly!

Jason: A taut, intense and well-crafted little thriller with three characters and one location. Has all the trappings of a classic Alfred Hitchcock film and works them to great affect. The first 10 minutes are all action and no dialogue. The first 30 minutes are the film's best, but the rest is well worth the ride. Gemma Arterton deserves an award for delivering such a good performance despite being restrained for so much of the movie. Not something I could watch regularly, but still a Good review from yours truly. 

Friday, October 1, 2010

It will be a day long remembered . . .


Well, for us anyway.

Nine months of podcasts and planning have led to tonight's premiere of Film Reviews From the Basement: The Radio Show at 10 p.m. on 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops and www.thex.ca.

Actually, that's a bit of a lie. The radio show simply happened, thanks to the fine folks at The X! And we thank them for that.

Our goal is to give fans old and new a fun hour of movie news, reviews, interviews and music as only Jason and Shawn can do it. For those of you who have heard all 15 podcasts and two summer specials, you have an idea what that is. If you haven't, we hope you enjoy listening to us as much as we enjoy being heard.

Films on the chopping block tonight include the Romans vs. Scotts epic Centurion and the British thriller The Disappearance of Alice Creed. We've also got music from Marilyn Manson, Shinedown and a couple of little known but very talented musicians.

The Basement reopens tonight at 10 p.m. We hope you will join us. Look for a podcast version by Monday morning.

Jason and Shawn