Thursday, March 31, 2016

The Tracey Birdsall interview

Model, actress and all-around class act, Jason, Shawn and Amy are excited to welcome the beautiful and talented Tracey Birdsall to The Basement tonight.

Tracey got her start in commercials, most specifically a series of Sunkist soda ads. And she's gone on to a lucrative modelling career that's had her appear on Macy's billboard ads in New York City and countless magazine covers.

Tuesday, March 29, 2016

This summer has a case of Consumption

Ghosts, demons and cultists might not be everyone's idea of good 'ole summertime fun, but the fine folks at Wild Eye Releasing are banking that horror fans like their grue no matter the season.

That's right, first-time director Brandon Scullion's Consumption is scheduled for a DVD and Digital release this July.

Monday, March 28, 2016

Jason versus The Hallow

After weeks of checking out the latest in mainstream, comic-book entertainment, it was refreshing to go back to what The Basement was built on -- the little-seen, B-grade horror movie. And what better flick to dip the wick into than The Hallow. Not a question, a statement.

The Hallow is a 2015 Irish horror movie about a family that is forced to fight demonic creatures after moving into a remote mill house. It puts a modern spin on old Irish myths, while planting an infant child smack dab in the middle of the mayhem.

Shawn Takes On Batman V Superman Dawn of Justice



Shame on you.  You know who you are.  You’re the ones that apply your opinion, in some pretentious manner, as though what you think is going to change the world.

Structure this, story that, too much this, not enough that.

Did you forget that this was a superhero movie? Yes, you did.  It was so epic, that you forgot.
I’m not going to fan boy, on and on.

Sunday, March 27, 2016

The Conjuring 2 trailer reveals "England's Amityville"

Easter and horror movies don't seem to go together, but that didn't stop Warner Bros. from unveiling the latest trailer for The Conjuring 2 at WonderCon this weekend.

Not one who likes to be left behind, I figured it wise to post the trailer for Basement Dwellers to enjoy, especially after so many new fans showed their love on our Facebook fan page these past 24 hours. Thank you!

Jason AND Shawn versus Daredevil Season Two, the last seven episodes

I don't binge TV. It's not that I don't find shows I enjoy, but I just don't have the time. However, in the case of Daredevil Season Two, I couldn't help myself. The end of each episode compelled me to continue to the next, moving from one to the other like one of The Punisher's bullets hitting its target.

There's not much I can add to my thoughts on this season that I didn't write about in my review of the first six episodes, but that doesn't reflect the quality of the season's second half. Not by a long shot.

Friday, March 25, 2016

Jason versus Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice

Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice is supposed to launch an entire DC movie universe. Given the divisiveness of how this would-be blockbuster is being received, there's a chance Warner Bros.'s plan could be jeopardy. Probably not, but a chance.

Opinions are subjective though, and one person's hatred is another fan's gem. I wasn't pumped heading into Batman V Superman: Dawn of Justice, but I wanted to like it. I'm a Batman fan, enjoyed Man of Steel, and am all about seeing classic characters brought to life on the big screen.

New Star Trek TV series gets a teaser

As in a teaser poster. Sorry Trekkies, the series doesn't debut until 2017. So all CBS has unleashed is a very simple teaser poster, but one that certainly says this will be a Star Trek TV series, and the first on network television since the original series back in . . . well, before I even came along.

But enough about me, here's the teaser poster:

Thursday, March 24, 2016

Hobbit star joins sci-fi flick Rogue Warrior

It's Tracey Birdsall news week here in The Basement, and strictly by coincide I assure you!

But her next sci-fi movie, Rogue Warrior: Robot Fighter, has just wrapped cinematography and the Neil Johnson directed flick gained a pretty big star for its final days of filming -- William Kircher.

Tuesday, March 22, 2016

Trailer lands for Tracey Birdsall rom-com Who's Jenna...?

Ever date anyone who looks suspiciously like a famous porn star? Me neither, but that's the premise of the upcoming romantic comedy Who's Jenna...?

And who is Jenna? She's played by actress Tracey Birdsall, who just happens to be our next guest on the radio show/podcast.

Sunday, March 20, 2016

Jason versus Daredevil Season Two: the first six episodes

This will be a short and sweet, spoiler-free roundup of the first half (ish) of Marvel and Netflix's second season of Daredevil.

It's great. 'Nuff said.

Just kidding.

Blake Lively battles a great white shark in The Shallows

I love shark movies. And by shark movies, I mean flicks like Jaws or even Deep Blue Sea. I don't mean all The Asylum or other SyFy shark movies, which have cheapened the scare factor of a very real predator. I'm talking seriously made, seriously thrilling shark movies.

Looks like the new Sony release The Shallows is attempting to take a serious stab at making sharks threatening again, an they've picked a serious star and and a high concept to do it.

Friday, March 18, 2016

Jason and Shawn versus Indigenous

The chupacabra is not Mexican food. It's actually a legendary monster rumoured to terrorize the people of Mexico and South and Central America. It sucks your blood too, so I wouldn't call it Mexican food to its face.

It also happens to be the big bad guy in Alastair Orr's new creature feature Indigenous, which Shawn and I checked out the other night before hitting the 92.5 FM airwaves on CFBX Kamloops. And our thoughts are below.

Thursday, March 17, 2016

Blood Rush, comic-book movies and the Slender Man

Jason, Shawn and Amy are back on The X for another hour of music and banter related to all things entertainment!

And what an hour it is, as the Terrible Trio tackle a movie review and a pair of subjects one wouldn't normally lump together -- Internet memes and comic-book movies.

Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Skew director returns with stripper/horror flick Peelers

I've said it once, I will say it a thousand times: the best part of this gig is the people we've met and befriended. And these people are even cooler when they make a movie about strippers.

Writer/director Seve Schelenz is THAT man. We met him back in 2011 when he submitted his first feature, Skew, to The Basement for review. And we partied with him and John Fallon at Dark Fest 2012. Now he's back with his sophomore flick Peelers, and it's a horror movie about strippers.

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Fight breast cancer with a Killer Rack

It's been a long while since we talked about the Brooke Lewis horror/comedy Killer Rack, in which our favourite scream queen -- and regular guest on our Halloween specials -- voices a killer set of boobs.

I can't believe I just got to type that!

Monday, March 14, 2016

Jason versus The Wave

On April 7, 1934, a rock slide triggered a tsunami that destroyed a Norwegian village, killing 40 people. Believe it. And two other similar Norwegian tragedies have claimed the lives of more than 100 others.

Norwegian filmmaker Roar Uthaug (Cold Prey) has used these disasters as the basis for his latest flick, The Wave, a small-budget disaster picture that gives large-scale Hollywood blockbusters a serious run for their money. Yeah, I liked it. A lot.

Saturday, March 12, 2016

Jason versus You Are Not Alone

Found footage has been done to death, but how about the first-person thriller? That's right, a movie that places you front and centre as the eyes and ears of the main character.

Hardcore Henry is just days away from being unleashed on audiences, but a little horror flick called You Are Not Alone has been bouncing around the festival circuit for some time now, delivering first-person thrills and chills to horror fans from around the world.

Kevin Watt versus 10 Cloverfield Lane

First time director Dan Trachtenberg, John Goodman (Roseanne), John Gallagher Jr (The Newsroom) and Mary Elizabeth Winstead (Scott Pilgrim) join forces to bring us a movie that is not at all a sequel to Cloverfield.

I will start by strongly suggesting you do not read reviews for this movie. Any spoilers could ruin the journey this movie takes you through, and the trailer did an amazing job of pulling you in without really telling you anything other than the basic plotline: after getting in a car accident, a woman is held in a shelter by two men who claim the outside world is affected by a widespread chemical attack.

Silence is killer in Hush

As far as I'm concerned, director Mike Flanagan is a name to watch when it comes to genre pictures. Sure, Oculus wasn't as good as his low-budget effort Absentia, but the man's chops were still on full display. He knows suspense, and has a talent for milking every ounce of dread he can.

While we (still) await the release of Before I Wake, which seems to have been scheduled to come out forever, Flanagan has ANOTHER movie headed our way called Hush, and it will be delivered to us exclusively by Netflix.

Thursday, March 10, 2016

It's a friendly neighbourhood Spider-Man

I cared less about another cinematic incarnation of 'ole Web Head until the final few seconds of the latest trailer for Captain America: Civil War. Then I was like, all giddy and stuff. 'Cause that little kid who grew up on Spider-Man realized there's a good chance the character will finally be done right now that he's back in the hands of Mighty Marvel.

Oh yeah, by the way, there's a new trailer for Captain America: Civil War out. Wanna see it? Course you do.

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

First look at Alexandra Daddario in Baywatch

No, I haven't paid a lot of attention to the upcoming Baywatch movie before now. Yes, I am paying attention today because Dwayne Johnson posted a pic of himself and Alexandra Daddario from the flick's set. I'm a guy.  It's Alexandra Daddario. Sue me.

But yes, there is a Baywatch movie coming out next summer that riffs on the uber popular 1990s lifeguard TV series. And it does star Dwayne Johnson as Mitch Bucchanon, who some guy named David Hasselhoff portrayed on the show.

Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Suzanne Cappelletti versus Damien Season 1, Ep. 1

I had no idea this show was happening until I was channel surfing last night and decided, against my better judgment (Rosemary's Baby anyone?) to give it a watch. Im not sure where I stand yet, but these are my observations.

There were some things I liked. The score was great, I was rattling windows. Barbara Hershey is a big plus for me, she is great in everything she's in. I also liked seeing cuts from the original movie, but after I lost count how many there were, it started to feel like filler. With all of the shots from the original it makes me wonder how much of the budget went toward paying for them. The location shots made it visually appealing as well.

Satan also has a favourite day of the week -- What Movie Wednesday

I'm not going to lie to you. It's getting harder and harder to come up with catchy headline's for Mike S's ever popular What Movie Wednesday Twitter event. But damn, it's just too cool a thing to give up. Headlines, I will keep writing thee!

By now, you know the name and the drill, so let's reveal this week's candidates to put on the chopping block:

Monday, March 7, 2016

Alien: is it horror, sci-fi or both?

Contributor Suzanne Cappelletti returns to The Basement with a cinematic dilemma of sorts, one that movie fans and genre geeks have agonized over for years: just what kind of a movie is Alien?

Don't know what I'm talking about? Read on:

Beware the Slenderman heads to HBO

We live in interesting times when an Internet creation can compel someone to commit a crime and become the focus of a documentary. But, the same can be said -- I'd assume anyway -- of any popular medium.

Comics were blamed for corrupting the morals of children, music has caused listeners to worship the devil, and now an online phenomenon known as Slenderman is the focus of a new documentary film.

Friday, March 4, 2016

The Basement wants you!

That's right, We Came from the Basement is looking for a few good men and women who want to contribute an article, review, editorial or news item a week to our little corner of the Interwebs.

See how direct that was? No beating around the bush, subterfuge or misdirection. We want people who enjoy movies, who enjoy talking about movies AND who enjoy writing about movies to come write for us.

Witness Keanu Reeves' firearm training for John Wick 2

Any self-respecting movie fan knows how hardcore Keanu Reeves is when it comes to training for an action movie. The man became a black belt for The Matrix movies, and worked hard for months to get ready for the awesome fights scenes in the first John Wick.

The below video popped up online showing Reeves doing firearm training for his upcoming John Wick: Chapter 2, and it is nothing short of jaw dropping. This guy needs to become my BFF. Seriously.

Thursday, March 3, 2016

Matthew Sconce, Altar and Top 5 Martial Arts Fights

So it begins, the seventh season of We Came from the Basement, and the first on 92.5 FM CFBX Kamloops in almost three years.

And tonight's episode is a good one, especially if you dig horror movies and enjoy insight into the filmmaking process.

The Ghostbusters trailer will slime you

Not a lot of time for the jibber jabber this morning, but Amy brought the unveiling of the new Ghostbusters trailer to my attention, and I had to give it a watch and post about it.

For one, my burning hatred for the project is gone. Two, I laughed some while watching it. Three, I appreciate they acknowledge the original movie happened. So this is another sequel/reboot as opposed to a remake.

Wednesday, March 2, 2016

Get ready for A Haunting in Cawdor

Horror and William Shakespeare? Why not! The Bard's tales often featured ghosts and murder, which are staples in any good horror story. And it looks like writer/director Phil Wurtzel's A Haunting in Cawdor intends to make the possibility a reality.

Opening in 10 markets across the United States on March 11, A Haunting in Cawdor is described as "a frightening twist on Shakespeare' Macbeth." Sounds pretty good to me!

Luc Besson heads to TV with Artificial Intelligence

That is correct, Basementites -- action-movie guru Luc Besson makes the jump to television with a project he created about a fugitive robot. And, like David Fincher and Sam Raimi before him, he's likely directing the pilot.

The series, Artificial Intelligence, has been picked up by TNT, and is about a robot gone rogue and the people who are recruited to stop it.

Tuesday, March 1, 2016

What Movie Wednesday for the win

How fast time flies, but when the awesomeness that is What Movie Wednesday looms on the horizon, how can one not look forward to a little midweek terror. Not a question. A statement.

Voting begins at midnight for this week's What Movie Wednesday tweet fest. And Mike S has dug deep into his cinematic vault to conjure up a trio of possibilities that will, individually and as group, chill your soul. Or his fingers as he tweets away. Or both.

The Dark Tower confirmed

I've avoided posting news about the planned big-screen adaptation of Stephen King's The Dark Tower series until now because everything was rumour and conjecture. And the last time I wrote anything about it, which was years ago, the whole project fell through. Once bitten, twice shy.

But today the project has been 100-per-cent greenlit, with cameras set to role in seven weeks, so I think it's safe to say it's a go.