Monday, February 29, 2016

Bill Paxton on board for Training Day TV series

That's right, Training Day -- the gritty Denzel Washington flick from like 15 years ago -- is becoming a TV series. And get this, it's actually a SEQUEL to the movie. Because if any movie screamed for a sequel, it's Training Day. And a TV sequel to boot. Yes, I am being sarcastic.

I say this as someone who absolutely loved Training Day, and still gives it a watch from time to time.

Jason and Shawn versus Deadpool

That's right, The Basement Boys actually ventured to the multiplex and took in a movie. Granted, they didn't go at exactly the same time, but they did go on the same day. And both are willing to pleasure your eye holes with written thoughts on Marvel's Deadpool.

Does it live up to the hype and box-office dollars? Stick with us!

Sunday, February 28, 2016

Jason versus Man-Thing

It's funny how, given the success of Deadpool, people are so hyped about R-rated comic-book movies. I mean, they've been around for a while. We had three R-rated Punisher movies, Kick Ass and the Blade franchise, not to mention comic-book style flicks like Robocop and Darkman which were, you guessed it, rated R. And yes, The Punisher and Blade are Marvel properties, just like Deadpool.

Back in the early 2000s, before Marvel and its cinematic universe were all the rage, director Brett Leonard and the producers behind the current onslaught of Marvel flicks made a movie based on a third-tier character named Man-Thing . . . and it never saw the light of day. Well, it eventually debuted on SyFy, but you get my drift.

Friday, February 26, 2016

Credit where credit is due: Mike S

We Came from the Basement has a bit of an unsung hero working quietly behind the scenes, lending his wit and words to this show and site. A man who has helped build The Little Podcast That Could into the success it is today.

His name is Mike S.

It's a killer-robot rampage in Kill Command

OK, why weren't we informed a bad-ass looking killer-robot movie named Kill Command was coming out? Why? This should've been front-page news and broken the Internet. Because . . . damn!

There is indeed a bad-ass looking killer-robot movie coming out, and it's called Kill Command. And it has some of the most awesome killer robots I've seen since the original Terminator back in '84. AND it has some of the slickest production values this side of a Hollywood blockbuster, which means, when the cash is right, who needs Hollywood.

Thursday, February 25, 2016

One week out . . .

Back in late September 2010, I posted an article to this blog reminding Basementites Shawn and I were a week away from our live debut on 92.5 FM CFBX Kamloops. I also encouraged people to tune in for, what we hoped, was a fun hour of movie-related banter and music.

Funny how history has a way of repeating itself.

Elektra gets her due in new Daredevil Season 2 trailer

The last trailer for Daredevil's second season was all about Jon Bernthal's The Punisher. Now, just weeks before the show returns to Netflix, we've got a good look at The Man Without Fear's mysterious lady love, Elektra.

Elektra is brought to life by Elodie Yung, and I am impressed. I shouldn't be surprised by this. So far the brains behind Marvel's Daredevil have knocked everything out of the park, in my opinion. And this is the opinion of a lifelong DD fan.

Wednesday, February 24, 2016

The Wave rolls into North American audiences

Aside from having the best first name ever, Roar Uthaug has proven himself to be a hell of a genre director.

The Norwegian filmmaker made Cold Prey and co-wrote its sequel, Cold Prey 2. Cold Prey is a decent, if not pedestrian, slasher with visual style to spare. Cold Prey 2 is hands down one of the best horror sequels ever made. It was directed by Mats Stenberg.

All Hell Breaks Loose this March

That's right, a movie called All Hell Breaks Loose comes out this March. As in next month. You didn't actually think hell on earth would be unleashed in a few weeks' time, did you? Of course not. That would be silly!

But Jeremy Garner's ode to 1970s horror cinema will hit DVD and VOD on March 22, and the folks at Wild Eye Releasing were nice enough to send a trailer for the mix of bikers, Satanism and bloody violence our way.

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

When Wednesdays attack -- What Movie Wednesday is coming!

It's been a fortnight since Mike S switched on Twitter and set his wit and wisdom on a voted upon movie selection, but the hiatus ends now!

Well, about 24 hours from now. But y'all get to vote on this week's What Movie Wednesday flick sooner. Then, you know, he'll tweet about it.

New poster, stills from sci-fi chiller Alienated

Movies about aliens are big in The Basement, largely because Shawn is a huge fan of the alien invasion/abduction/end-of-the-world genre. Although popular in the mainstream thanks to The X-Files and Independence Day, there always seems to be more to mine from the alleged phenomenon.

Which is where indie flicks like Alienated come in. Shot in six day, largely at one location, Brian Ackley's story has a smaller focus, but still promises edge-of-your-seat entertainment.

Monday, February 22, 2016

Get behind the Scream Queen Stream

We love them, those glorious goddesses of gore and hotness known as the scream queen. They are the final girl of our dreams. The survivors -- well, most of the time -- of ghastly terrors. I could go on, but you get the drift.

Ever wonder what it takes to be a scream queen? Not on camera, but off? Or what a scream queen's day-to-day life is like? Well, now you can thanks to scream queens Jessica Cameron and Heather Dorff.

Michael Pare hears "whispers" in this The Shelter clip

We've been negligent with our updates on the progress of our bro John Fallon's debut feature The Shelter, and it's high time we correct that mistake.

We're going to start by sharing this clip from the flick, which stars the great Michael Pare. John recently unleashed it via The Shelter's official website, and on the movie's Facebook page. You can watch it here:

Jason versus Digging Up the Marrow

I've said this on the show, and I will say it again here: at some point in a filmmaker's career he or she will want to make a movie about making movies. Why? Because making movies is fun and people are interested in it. But is it an interesting enough topic for a feature film?

Well, when left in the hands of a horror-movie director like Adam Green, and when said horror-movie director decides to make a fake documentary featuring himself and his crew going in search of monsters, it just might be. So, you know, stick with me!

Saturday, February 20, 2016

Tag-Team Review: The Witch

Contributor Matt Bellamy makes his triumphant return to The Basement when he and I headed to the multiplex this eve to take in Robert Egger's acclaimed horror flick The Witch. Naturally, we were compelled to set down and "discuss" this film, which is sure to polarize movie and horror fans everywhere.

That being said, does this festival fave hold up for a couple of die hards like Matt and I? Stick with us!

Friday, February 19, 2016

Our date with The X

A quick update this Friday afternoon to bring you up to speed on our triumphant return to 92.5 FM CFBX Kamloops, which is coming pretty dang quick!

I said dang so I can get used to adhering to CRTC rules again. THAT will take some retraining!

Basement Classics: Silent Night and Reboot

A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away, a couple of aging movie geeks named Jason and Shawn reviewed movies on a weekly basis on 92.5 FM CFBX Kamloops.

One such week, just before Christmas of 2012, and right before the Mayan apocalypse, they sat down to review Steven C. Miller's slasher flick Silent Night, a cyber-based short film called Reboot, and interview the director of the indie horror Rites of Spring. And it was good.

Thursday, February 18, 2016

Kevin Watt versus Zoolander 2

Zoolander was not a great movie but it had heart. The flick was not well received by critics and, although is has a loyal fan base, it failed to produce at the box office. So in spite of it’s mediocrity Ben Stiller felt we needed a sequel.

John Wick sequel gets title, release date

Good news John Wick fans, we've got an official title and release date for the much-anticipated follow up to the 2014 action hit, and I'm sure there will be much rejoicing.

For one, John Wick 2 is now called John Wick: Chapter Two, which has a nice 80s vibe to it. Back then sequels were generally known as Part 2, 3, 4 etc. Or Chapter 2, 3, 4 etc. This works just fine for an old-school action franchise like John Wick.

Napoleon Dynamite meets Taxi Driver in Chocolate Strawberry Vanilla

You read that right: Napoleon Dynamite meets Taxi Driver, and the bastard love child is a movie called Chocolate Strawberry Vanilla.

Which means I just gotta see!

Wednesday, February 17, 2016

Kurt Russell joins Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

I always like to balance the indie updates with a bit of big news, and I highly doubt today's big news will get much bigger than this: Kurt Russell has joined the cast of Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2.

That's right, Jack Burton himself is headed for outer space!

Australia's first one-shot feature needs YOU!

It's not often a movie comes along that presents itself in one-shot, as in the whole movie is essentially one long camera take. The last one was Birdman. Alfred Hitchcock did it back in 1948 with Rope. There was Timecode in 2000 and Silent House in 2011. So there's been a few.

Now Australian filmmakers Tristan Barr, Damien Lipp and Michael Godsen are deep into post production on their crime flick, Watch the Sunset, which unravels in one long take. And yup, this will be the first such movie in Aussie film history.

Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Here we go again bro: The Predator is coming

A couple of years ago we reported screenwriter/director Shane Black was tapped to helm a sequel to the 1987 action classic Predator. Well, an update has arrived in a BIG way. How big? How about a teaser image promising the movie is indeed being made.

Yup. Check it out:

First trailer and poster bow for Matthew Sconce's Altar

In what looks like the lasted, and hopefully the last, in a long line of kids-go-into-the-woods-with-a-video-camera-and-kids-get-dead movies comes Altar, a horror flick written and directed by Stricken's Matthew Sconce.

I'm being sarcastic, of course, not having seen Altar. It could be quite good. I hope it is, actually. The world needs more good horror movies. And indie horror is the way to go.

Monday, February 15, 2016

Michael Madsen takes aim in this Death in the Desert clip

It was great seeing Michael Madsen back on the big screen again in The Hateful Eight, and it looks like the man wasted not time lining up another project as his latest, Death in the Desert, hits VOD this week.

Madsen stars as legendary casino owner Ray Easler in this flick, which is inspired by the real-life murder of casino tycoon Ted Binion. And The Basement has scored a clip, which we've posted below for your eye holes.

The Daredevil Season 2 trailer is not a half measure

No sir. This trailer, which gives us a whole lot of The Punisher and a boat load of action, is the real deal. It's awesome! Pure awesome.

And, for the first time ever, I think I'm truly excited to see The Punisher on screen. Don't get me wrong, I found something to enjoy in every big-screen adaptation of the character.

Sunday, February 14, 2016

M is for Maggie and Machete Kills

It's catch-up time in The Basement as Jason, Shawn and Amy tackle a couple of somewhat recent releases that begin with the letter M.

Yeah, as the headline says, they're talking about Maggie and Machete Kills.

Saturday, February 13, 2016

Kevin Watt versus Deadpool

Deadpool is director Tim Miller’s first film and, if this flick is any indication, he is going to have a great career ahead of him. And I am guessing writers Rhett Reese and Paul Wernick, who partnered to bring us the awesome Zombieland, are fans of the Deadpool character because the writing brought to life the Deadpool I loved in the 2013 video game.

Let’s be clear that this movie is for a certain audience and anyone seeking a family-friendly Disney-esque extravaganza is going to be needing medication by the end of the opening credits. This is a raunchy, rude and violent movie that clearly loves itself and doesn’t stop long enough to ask if you love it too. There are winks to the Marvel franchise, insider jokes, and more one liners than a night out with Mitch Hedberg. All of it inappropriate and, so long as you keep your thinking cap at home, it is hilarious. This is what low-brow looks like when done right.

Kevin Watt versus Cabin Fever (2016)

What happens when you take a first time director coupled with a failed writer and give them a movie? You get Cabin Fever – the 2016 reboot of Eli Roth’s 2003 semi-hit. This is near line-for-line remake that apparently had Roth’s blessing which begs the question, why they would remake a movie that was not that great in the first place?

Let’s start with the cast – a gathering of CW teen TV show throwaways that will never hear James Lipton recite Bernard Pivot’s questionnaire. The sheriff who reads every line as a sexual innuendo. The townsfolk who apparently were recruited from a failed roadshow of Deliverance. There is not a redeeming character, or a well delivered line, from beginning to end.

Friday, February 12, 2016

The Basement returns to The X

Whoever said you can't go home again didn't know what he/she/it was talking about, because We Came from the Basement is doing just that.

That's right, Jason and Shawn, along with their lovely co-host Amy, are bringing the show back to 92.5 FM CFBX Kamloops!

Camp Dread director unites horror icons for Death House

That's right, our pal Harrison Smith has brought together Robert England, Danny Trejo, Dee Wallace, Doug Bradley and a many, many more of horror's familiar faces for an upcoming fright film that should please any genre fan.

Long-time listeners and readers will remember Harrison has the man behind 6 Degrees of Hell and Camp Dread, two flicks Shawn and I enjoyed. And he was responsible for us interviewing Corey Feldman and Eric Roberts, which are high marks in Basement history.

Wednesday, February 10, 2016

What Hollywood can learn from The Relic

Although it didn't light up the box office during it's initial run, The Relic has, for me at least, stood the test of time, and been a flick I can watch again and again.

I recall catching it twice on opening weekend in 1997,  then at least a couple of times on VHS (remember those?). Then it fell off my radar for a while. A long while, actually, because I didn't revisit The Relic until a couple of years ago, when I rented it on VOD.

Sunday, February 7, 2016

Kevin Watt versus Dead Silence

Beware the stare of Mary Shaw
She had no children, only dolls
And if you see her in your dreams
Make sure you never ever scream…
Or she'll rip your tongue out at the seam.

Saturday, February 6, 2016

Basement Classics: The Hole and Airborne

Return with us now to those thrilling days of yesteryear as Jason and Shawn take a step back in time to a classic episode of We Came from the Basement! That's right, we'll be revisiting old episodes from the previous six seasons of our show, ones fans and us Basementites feared long gone.

This week, we return to the eve of the Mayan apocalypse and our December 2012 episode featuring reviews of The Hole and Airborne. Or, as we said way back then:

Friday, February 5, 2016

Jason versus Maggie

Arnold Schwarzenegger in a zombie movie sounds like a great idea. Because, if you know the Schwarzenegger of his heyday, then you're in for a zombie-ass kicking good time. Right! I said right?

You mean this is a drama about a father coming to terms with the fact his daughter has been bitten by a zombie, and will do everything to protect her until the turn finally happens, when he is asked to do what any father would deem unthinkable? Really? I said really?

Thursday, February 4, 2016

Mike S tweets Hirokin: The Last Samurai

After a week's absence, our Mad Twit Mike S returns to the @camethebasement account for another Thursday night tweet-a-long. And this time he's putting the 2012 indie action flick Hirokin: The Last Samurai on the digital chopping block.

Never mind the samurai is played by a white guy. These are movies, for Jebus sake, and such details are trivial.  Besides, Hirokin looks kinda . . . spacey . . . ish. I'm sure Mike S will add more later tonight.

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Jason versus The X-Files Season 10, Ep. 2 & 3

The X-Files revival continues to truck along, drawing in big ratings -- at least by today's standards -- both in live broadcasts (that's another word for first run) and streaming. This is good news for fans, who likely want more seasons in the future, and studio executives, who want to make more money off a long-coveted franchise.

The season debuted with a return to the alien conspiracy, and promises to revisit the spaceman for the season finale. In between? We've got the monster-of-the-week shows, baby, which fans long consider the best episodes The X-Files had to offer, myself included. 

Is this still true? Stick with me!

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Fear falls midweek

Like sands through the hourglass of time, so too falls the terror that is What Movie Wednesday!

That's right, after a week's break, The Basement's own Mad Twit returns for for another go round of horror-related tweets. And he needs your help in selecting the flick that'll land on the Twitter chopping block.

Elizabeth Banks takes on the Power Rangers

I've only caught a handful of Power Rangers episodes in my day, and that's because of the hotness that was/is Pink Ranger Amy Jo Johnson. Otherwise, it isn't my cup of tea. This from a g guy who grew up with the Toho Godzilla movies.

Hey, giant lizards are greater than big robots. Truth.

Latest Suicide Squad footage storms Instagram

There's so much social media crap out there it's hard for an analog-cog-in-the-digital-wheel guy like me to keep up with all of it, nor even make sense out of it. Snap Chat? Don't get it. Instagram? Something about pictures, right?

Well, studio marketing people sure get it. And the folks behind the upcoming Warner Bros./DC Comics release Suicide Squad are hard at work getting the flick's Worst. Heroes. Ever. message out there.

Monday, February 1, 2016

New The Witch trailer goes peek a boo

A24's The Witch is getting great reviews. Check that, stellar reviews, with some critics saying it's the best horror movie to come down the pike in years. This makes it a must see in my books.

And, truth is, Shawn and I have been invited to a screening in Vancouver next week. Whether or not we go depends on travel arrangements etc, but I sure hope one or both of us can pull it off.

First look at xXx: The Return of Xander Cage

No, this isn't a trailer for the upcoming threequel to Vin Diesel's 2002 action hit. But it is a set pic from the first day of shooting, which apparently was not all that long ago as Diesel posted the aforementioned shot to his Facebook page on the weekend.

I heard a sequel featuring Diesel was in the works, but had no idea filming was underway until this morning. That's pretty under the radar for what I'm sure is intended to be one of the bigger movies of next year.