Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Behold the Taken 3 . . . I mean Tak3n trailer

Every other movie site on the planet has posted about this, but that's never stopped us before. So we're proud to bring you the official trailer for Tak3n, which I still think is a stupid title for a movie. Just call it Taken 3. Please.

That being said, I think the trailer looks damn good. A hell of a lot better than I expected. And the two minutes are certainly more interesting than the entire running time of Taken 2, which was not called Tak2n.

The Month of Horror is coming

That's right, a Basement tradition dating back three years is ready to be unleashed once more as the best month of the year -- The Month of Horror -- begins tomorrow.

Ah yes, October. A time when a young man's fancy turns to fear, terror and, you guessed it, horror!

Saturday, September 27, 2014

Taken 3 . . . I mean Tak3n opens in January

I don't know how excited I can get for a third Taken movie. The first flick owned big time but the sequel left me pretty cold. The concept doesn't lend itself to a franchise, but that's never stopped filmdom before. Why should it now?

Today the international poster for Taken 3 . . . I mean Tak3n . . . debuted on Collider and it looks like a movie poster. There's not much more I can say then that.

John Fallon's The Shelter is almost complete

Just a quick note on this gloomy Saturday morn to let Basementites know our bro John Fallon's flick The Shelter is almost done. As in 100-per-cent ready for the viewing public.

The Shelter filmed in New Orleans in January and has been in post production -- editing, scoring, sound design, special effects etc since. Word has it from John himself that post should be complete by the end of October.

Thursday, September 25, 2014

Review: The Den

When horror works, it's a commentary on our times, not a random selection of torture porn scenes. Sure, there can be gore and shorts shitting moments, but the best genre flicks have something to say about the world we live in at the time they're made.

So how does a horror movie about social media reflect our modern society? Does The Den have something to say? Stick with me.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

The Torment of Laurie Ann Cullom hits the Freak Show

It's been a couple of years since we spoke with writer/director Mark Dossett about his debut feature film The Torment of Laurie Ann Cullom. Long enough we wondered what became of his throwback to 80s style horror.

Surprise! Mark not only got the film funded and filmed, but he's taken Torment on the festival circuit.

Monday, September 22, 2014

Review: Oculus

Oculus is a movie Shawn and I had a lot of anticipation for. We dug director Mike Flanagan's previous flick, Absentia, which is one of the best low-budget indie horrors in recent memory. To top things off we landed an exclusive interview with Oculus composers The Newton Brothers prior to release. Of course, we never got to catch the thing in theatres.

I finally sat down with Oculus the other night and got to answer the age-old question -- was it worth the wait? Was it? Stick with me!

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Almost Human, American Muscle and Rachel Faulkner

The Basement is back for this, its sixth season of movie reviews, news and interviews designed to pleasure your ear holes. You'll enjoy it, trust us.

First up is the sci-fi/horror flick Almost Human, writer/director Joe Begos' throwback to 80s terror. What's it about? Alien abduction, violent murders and a plot to take over the world. Is it as much fun as it sounds? Stick with us!

Friday, September 19, 2014

Kicking back Basement style

As regular readers of this site and followers of the podcast know, Season Six was supposed to kick off today. It did not. All we'll say is it's a result of a shitty situation that was beyond Shawn and I's control. We're resilient here in The Basement, and the show will go on.

However, it won't go on as Basementites have come to expect. Stick with me here.

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Bigfoot strikes in this Exists clip

Bigfoot is a hot cinematic commodity these days, especially in the realm of found-footage horror. I just checked out Bobcat Goldthwait's effort Willow Creek (read the review here) and eagerly await Eduardo Sanchez's spin on the sasquatch legend Exists.

Exists doesn't hit until next month. In the meantime, our bros over at Arrow in the Head have dug up an exclusive clip, and it's pretty slick. Check it:

Monday, September 15, 2014

Matt Damon and Paul Greengrass are Bourne again

Couldn't resist that headline. Cheesy, sure. But couldn't resist.

So yeah, Matt Damon and director Paul Greengrass, who partnered for The Bourne Supremacy and The Bourne Ultimatum, are in talks to return to the popular action franchise. This, of course, brings to mind a title from another espionage franchise -- Never Say Never Again.

Sunday, September 14, 2014

Jason versus Willow Creek

Bobcat Goldthwait isn't a name most Basementites associate with horror, so it came as quite a surprise when the former shock comedian turned his directorial interests to a found-footage movie about Bigfoot. Shakes the Clown and World's Greatest Dad, sure. But a horror movie about Bigfoot? Stick with me!

A couple interested in Sasquatch lore head into the wilderness where the infamous Patterson-Gimlin footage was shot, with terrifying results.

Friday, September 12, 2014

Holy fuck . . . John Wick!

How did this movie slip completely under my radar? And why hasn't Lionsgate been pushing the new Keanu Reeves vehicle John Wick for months? 'Cause this, this has badass hit written all over it.

It's also further proof that messing with a loner's dog is seriously, seriously stupid. And it is. Observe:

Thursday, September 11, 2014

Wrong Turn 6 star enters a State of Desolation

The Basement recently sat down with Wrong Turn 6: Last Resort starlet Sadie Katz for a one-on-one interview about that upcoming flick, among the actress's many other projects. You can hear the conversation next month on our podcast.

One of the flicks Sadie let slip about is Jim Towns' zombie apocalypse tale State of Desolation. And we've learned the movie recently wrapped production in Los Angeles.

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

A trailer and poster for The Town That Dreaded Sundown

This is, of course, a trailer and poster for the remake of The Town That Dreaded Sundown, not the 1976 original, because we'd be waaaaayyyy behind the times if that were the case.

No, this new version comes by way of producer Jason Blum (Insidious, Sinister, Paranormal Activity) and American Horror Story co-creator Ryan Murphy, which makes it required viewing in my book.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Interview: Sledge director Kristian Hanson

Sledge is a horror/comedy that's getting a lot of good buzz on the indie circuit. It's a spoof where the psychopathic killer not only believes he's living a movie or video game, but that he's the star of the story.

The flick hit VOD earlier this month and lands on DVD Oct. 7. The Basement took a few minutes to engage writer/director Kristian Hanson in a Q&A about the movie and how it came to be.

Monday, September 8, 2014

Bring Hillbilly Horror Show home

We're all about Hillbilly Horror Show here in The Basement, having pimped the online series for the better part of a year and reviewed two of the three episodes produced so far.

If you haven't stopped by the show's official website and given it a watch, shame on you. But you can make amends by purchasing a copy of the first season on DVD.

Saturday, September 6, 2014

Retro Review: Bad Moon

Before Twilight neutered vampires and werewolves there were a string of movies that made the iconic monsters scary. When it comes to werewolves, Eric Red's Bad Moon is a flick horror fans mention often as an underrated genre classic.

I caught the Michael Pare vehicle when it hit VHS back in the mid 90s and dug it then. How does the movie hold up some 20 years later? Stick with me!

Retro Review: Highwaymen

I discovered the vehicular action/horror movie Highwaymen a decade ago, having sought it out because it was The Hitcher director Robert Harmon's first foray into film in a long ass time. I dug the hell out of it, and quickly logged it on my Guilty Pleasure list. How does Highwaymen hold up 10 years down the road? Stick with me.

Renny Cray embarks on a bloodthirsty rampage to avenge the death of his wife, who was struck down by a serial killer -- a man who hunts and kills women using his '72 El Dorado.

Friday, September 5, 2014

"I don't want to die in Canada," a clip from Tusk

On the surface, horror and Kevin Smith don't go together. But that hasn't stopped the indie director best known for Clerks and Jay and Silent Bob from trying.

His first effort, Red State, was so-so. I'd say it falls more into thriller territory than horror. His latest effort, Tusk, sounds a lot more like a straight-up genre picture, with a little bit of Smith's humour thrown in for good measure.

Thursday, September 4, 2014

14-year-old Emily DiPrimio's Carver gets a trailer

Hey Basementites! Remember Emily DiPrimio? She's the now 14-year-old girl who launched a Kickstarter campaign to fund her first feature film, a loving tribute to 80s slasher movies called Carver. Here's the story we wrote a year ago.

Guess what? Emily raised the money and made her movie, which makes Shawn and I feel kinda like proud parents. Wanna scope out the trailer? Then check it:

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

You have 16 seconds to watch this new Equalizer trailer

The only movie I'm jonesed enough to see in theatres for the remainder of the year is The Equalizer. I was a huge fan of 80s TV series, am a huge Denzel Washington fan, I dig Antoine Fuqua as a director and every word I've heard about the flick so far has been positive.

Can't say that about most movies can you. Not a question. A fact.

Tuesday, September 2, 2014

Head's up, it's a new Dead Snow: Red vs Dead poster

Oh yes please! We've talked loud and long about the upcoming sequel to Tommy Wirkola's bloody awesome Dead Snow. So much so that I (almost) tire at revealing little tidbits about the flick and just want to see the damn movie already.

Alas, we have to wait until next month before Dead Snow: Red vs Dead hits VOD and limited theatres. In the meantime, we have a groovy new poster for your eye holes.

Six seasons and a movie?

September has rolled around, in some parts of the world school is back in session, and that can only mean one thing -- another season From The Basement!

On Sept. 19, Jason and Shawn embark on their sixth season of movie reviews, news and interviews that will pleasure your ear holes. Six seasons is a lot, especially in Internet years.