Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Will Michael Myers kill again in Halloween 3D?

Looks like The Weinstein Company isn't done with the Halloween franchise after all as word broke out of Cannes today that Halloween 3D is once again headed to the big screen.

Granted, that's all we know about the project, but it's something.

Table top gaming and Stormtroopers!

That's right. Stormtroopers!  But we'll get into that later.

As we've jumped into the nerd black hole, (Jason was mostly in it anyways) I thought it would be a great opportunity to share an event that a good friend of ours, hosts.  Who?  Nathan Bosa.  Yes, you've heard the Bosa name before.  He is the older brother of our guest reviewer, Anthony Michael Bosa.

The Shadowing has a producer, director and poster

As some of you may know, I don't just review movies and look good for my age. I'm also a screenwriter with a couple of projects on the go, one of which has taken a big step toward hitting the silver screen.

Producer Christopher White of MTV's My Super Psycho Sweet 16 and The ABCs of Death has teamed up with my bro John Fallon (that's us sharing a drink in the picture above) and his company Bruise Productions to bring The Shadowing to life.

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Cast announced for Star Wars Episode VII

There was speculation that J.J. Abrams and company would unveil the cast of Star Wars Episode VII on May 4, that being May the 4th Be With You day or something like that. But that was not the case, as the names were dropped today.

Are you ready for it? It's a mix of fresh and old faces. Some of them very old. Wink, wink. Nudge, nudge.

It's feeding time in this All Cheerleaders Die clip

Seems like it's taking forever for Lucky McKee and Chris Sivertson's All Cheerleaders Die to get released. But the hot-chick fest is finally due to hit VOD on May 8 and theatres June 13.

To celebrate, RLJ/Image Entertainment has released this weird, and kinda gruesome, clip that gives a taste of what audiences can expect from this tale of revenge, dark secrets and boobs. Wanna check it out? Course you do.

Monday, April 28, 2014

Bobcat Goldthwait's Bigfoot flick Willow Creek gets a release date

You read that headline right, 80s shock comedian Bobcat Goldthwait directed a horror movie about Bigfoot. And it's called Willow Creek. I'm just gonna pause and let Basementites digest that for a moment.

Now that that's sunk in, I've heard a lot of good buzz about Willow Creek, which screened at Fantasia last year. The flick's a hard mother to track down, so news of a pending release date is good for us fans of indie horror.

Two new bad ass Godzilla pics

We're just weeks away from the release of Gareth Edwards' resurrection of the classic Toho movie monster. Who's excited? Almost everyone I would hope.

Marketing is in full swing now, with a new trailer, image or TV spot popping up by the day. I'm trying to avoid most of them, but the pair of pictures that showed up this morning were too awesome not to share, as they provide a kick ass look at the King of the Monsters.

Sunday, April 27, 2014

Knights of Badassdom, Zero Charisma and Back to Frank Black

The nerd black hole is a place Jason and Shawn have visited several times during The Basement's storied history. It's a place where things become so nerdy, even the coolest people can be nerded out by how nerdy it is.

Such is the case with the movies on the chopping block this week. Both involve the world of dungeons, dragons, dice and rubber-foam swords. That's right, these movies are all about role-playing, and not the kind with hot chicks and kink.

Saturday, April 26, 2014

Jason versus Rambo: First Blood Part II

It's almost impossible not to think of this film when thinking about the 80s. With one movie, Sylvester Stallone and director George P. Cosmatos tapped into a post-Vietnam war consciousness, Cold War fears of Russia and gave birth to the cinematic one-man army. Impressive, no? But how does it stand up almost 30 years later? Stick with me.

John Rambo is released from prison by the government for a top-secret covert mission in the last place on Earth he'd want to return -- the jungles of Vietnam.

Blumhouse offers up another creepfest with Jessabelle

Blumhouse is one of the few names in horror I trust these days. Paranormal Activity, Sinister, Insidious, and The Purge, not to mention Dark Skies and Oculus, are solid entries in the genre. Sure, they divide fans, but that's what good stuff does.

Producer Jason Blum has yet another flick headed our way later this summer. This one's called Jessabelle, and the trailer below offers us what we've come to expect from the man's production company -- creepy shit going down!

Friday, April 25, 2014

Get ready to howl at the official Wolfcop trailer

Seems like we've been talking about the action/comedy/werewolf movie Wolfcop for freakin' ever, which makes sense because we've been pimping this flick since it was in the early stages of financing.

With Wolfcop headed to Canadian theatres on June 6, isn't it high time we finally saw a trailer for this bad boy?

Friday the 13th TV series on the way

Given the varied success of A&Es Bates Motel and NBC's Hannibal, I suppose it was only a matter of time before someone thought of bringing the story of Crystal Lake's least favourite citizen to the small screen.

Turns out that someone is Friday the 13th creator Sean S. Cunningham and horror documentarian Dan Farrands, as a TV series about the life and times of Jason Voorhees is indeed on the way.

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Matt Bellamy versus The Raid 2

Yesterday I drove down to the Langley Colossus to see The Raid 2, which may seem like a crazy endeavour, but was totally worth it.

This is easily one of the best action movies I have ever seen! I have a feeling that, years from now, when people are talking about what they believe is the best action flick of all time, The Raid 2 will no doubt be mentioned alongside Die Hard, Predator and Terminator 2.

[REC] 4 Apocalypse trailer hits the web

That's right, the uber popular Spanish horror franchise is back for one last horde invasion. And I used the German word for "big" in reference to a Spanish flick. Wanna fight about it?

But don't worry, Basementites, this latest instalment dumps found footage in favour of traditional storytelling. Rejoice!

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Arnold is looking . . . old in this latest Terminator image

The second day of filming just wrapped on the new Terminator movie, which means another pic from the set. Don't worry, we're not going to hit you with new pics every day . . . unless we feel like it that is.

Although excited about the prospect of a new Terminator movie starring Arnold Schwarzenegger, it must be said the former governator is starting to show his age.

New pics from Denzel Washington's The Equalizer

While some might scoff at Denzel Washington taking on the mantel of The Equalizer, first portrayed by the great -- and very British -- Edward Woodward in the 1980s TV series, I'm all for it. Why? It's Denzel Washington, dammit. The man does no wrong.

The flick, directed by Denzel's Training Day partner Antione Fuqua, doesn't hit until Sept. 26, but we've scored some new images from the movie thanks to the fine folks at USA Today.

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

You Are Not Alone dumps found footage for POV horror

I was wondering when someone would take the best element of the found-footage genre -- the first-person aspect -- and do something new with it. Then along comes director Derk Mungor with his new thriller You Are Not Alone to show audiences how's it's done.

Instead of experiencing the horror through some untrained douche bag with a camera, You Are Not Alone puts audiences in the POV of the flick's main character, Natalie. What she sees, we see. What terror she experiences, the audience experiences.

Filming begins on Terminator: Genesis

His last few films haven't exactly caught on, but that hasn't stopped Arnold Schwarzenegger or the peeps behind Terminator: Genesis from getting their sequel/prequel/reboot off the ground.

That's right, the latest Terminator flick -- the first to star Schwarzenegger since Rise of the Machines -- is filming right now!

Monday, April 21, 2014

Blast off with the Starship Rising poster and trailer

We've been pumped for the sci-fi/action flick Starship Rising for a while now. Why? Because it stars Basement fave Brooke Lewis, that's why!

Well, thanks to the lovely Brooke, The Basement has scored the official trailer and poster for Alien Armageddon director Neil Johnson's latest. And it looks like a lot of fun, if you ask me.

Take a second look at Showtime's Penny Dreadful

I've been primed for Showtime's Penny Dreadful since that first trailer hit a couple of months ago. With the show's May 11 debut just around the corner, the marketing campaign is in full swing and has brought us another . . . look at horror-themed series. Suffice to say, it's an eyeful.

Yes, it's been a very puny Easter here in The Basement. Deal with it!

Friday, April 18, 2014

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Citadel director on for Sinister sequel

Scott Derrickson's Sinister was a pretty creepy little number that left the door wide open for a franchise. And it made a boat load of dough, so a sequel was inevitable.

Surprise! Derrickson and his screenwriting partner, C. Robert Cargill, have completed a script for Sinister 2. Surprise again! Derrickson won't be back to direct.

Grave Encounters directors tackle aliens with Extraterrestrial

Shawn and I are big fans of Grave Encounters,  The Vicious Brothers' riff on paranormal "reality" TV. It's sequel not so much, but the boys do have talent and know how to stage a scare. So what are they up to next?

Turns out they have a new flick that'll premiere in just a few days at the Tribeca Film Festival, and they're trading ghosts for space invaders.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Teaser for Eli Roth's The Green Inferno consumes you

It's been a long time since Eli Roth directed a horror movie. He returns with a vengeance with The Green Inferno, which was acquired by Open Road Films at last year's Toronto International Film Festival.

And if you thought Roth couldn't top Cabin Fever and the Hostel films, think again -- this one's about cannibals baby!

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

V/H/S director might helm next Friday the 13th

Those rumours that the new Friday the 13th movie could go the found footage route might be true as word has it V/H/S and The Signal co-director David Bruckner is in talks to direct the next instalment in the famed horror franchise.

Bruckner wrote and directed the Amateur Night segment for V/H/S. His story involved three guys who bring a mysterious girl back to their hotel room, with terrifying results.

Agent Carter series likely for ABC

We last told you about Hayley Atwell's uber sexy Agent Carter in July, when the Captain American heroine starred in her own original short film, which appeared on the Iron Man 3 Blu-ray.

Having not seen the Agent Carter short, I can't speak to its quality, but I dig the character and the actress who plays her.

Monday, April 14, 2014

First trailer, poster surface for David Fincher's Gone Girl

David Fincher is hands down my favourite director, alive or dead. Not him of course. But, of all the directors who have lived and died, he's The Man.

So when The Man makes a new movie, I pay attention. And his latest, Gone Girl, promises to be more greatness from the guy who brought us Se7en, Fight Club, Zodiac and the underrated The Game.

Willem Dafoe, Matt Dillon lured to Bad Country

It's been a long time since I've watched a decent southern noir, and the upcoming crime flick Bad Country looks like it'll fit the bill.

I admit I'm a bit startled by the fact the early 80s make the film a period piece. That's within my lifetime after all, so I guess I've been around a while. Ha!

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Suzanne Cappelletti versus Oculus

Thursday night after much deliberation and a few beers to numb my better judgement, I got tickets for Oculus.

I was a little surprised at how empty the theatre was. Maybe 40 bodies in the seats max. I was taken in by the minimal ad campaign with the stories of the mirror and the tragedies involved. Lately, trailers seem to give away every key detail and take the jump scares away, so needless to say, I was intrigued.

Jason versus Phantasm II

Just when you thought it was safe to go back to the cemetery, The Tall Man and Don Coscarelli's weird-ass horror franchise return to drive balls through your skulls.

Sounds kinda perverse when put that way, doesn't it?

Mike, now released from a psychiatric hospital, continues his journey to stop the evil Tall Man and his grim work.

Saturday, April 12, 2014

Found-footage horror gets Indigenous

That's right, yet another found-footage movie. The twist with Indigenous is the footage involves the legendary, and potentially real, Chupacabra.

No, the blood sucking fiend isn't behind the camera. It's trying to suck the blood of the people shooting the alleged found footage.

Jason versus Enter the Ninja

Enter the Ninja was the first R-rated movie my parents let me watch. It also started my lifelong fascination with ninjas and made Sho Kosugi one of the biggest martial arts stars of the 80s. That's a lot of baggage for one movie to carry. How does it hold up 33 years on? Stick with me!

After completing his training in the ways of the ninja, an army vet travels to the Phillippines and finds himself battling a land grabber who wants his war buddy's property.

Friday, April 11, 2014

Tyler Mane, Tamara Glynn set for Cabin Pressure

There's a groovy horror short in the works starring a host of genre legends, and it needs your help if it's going to take flight.

You read that right, Tyler Mane, Tamara Glynn, Leslie Easterbrooke and Justin Beahm need your help. Are you up for it, Basementites?

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Take a look behind Under the Skin

And who better to take viewers behind the scenes of Jonathan Glazer's Under the Skin than its sexy star, Scarlett Johansson? Yeah, I couldn't think of anyone else either.

What I do find amusing is that The Basement is giving so much press to a movie that really isn't up our alley. I mean, why would we watch an erotic sci-fi movie starring Scarlett Johansson?

Some Dead Shadows clips for your eye holes


We reviewed the awesomeness that is David Cholewa's Dead Shadows a good year and a half ago, and have eagerly awaited the French horror film's North American release. Well, that happens April 29 thanks to the folks at Shout Factory.

Did we mention the flick stars our good friend John Fallon, The Arrow of Arrow in the Head? Well, it does.

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

And Godzilla is rated . . .

Before we get into this, and I'll be brief, let's be honest: no one expected Gareth Edwards' spin on Godzilla to be rated R. Nor was a movie about giant monsters stomping the living shit out of everything going to be rated G.

This is as big a summer movie as big summer movies get. Warner Bros. and Legendary Pictures need to make a tonne of dough on it. So it was made with that in mind.

A bone-crunching The Raid 2 clip

The Raid 2 is one of the few movies out this year that's guaranteed to get my ass in a theatre seat. The first flick is by far the best action movie ever made, and everything I've heard about the sequel suggests it's even better.

The clip below is just a taste of some of the action viewers experience, and left me wanting more. But that's why studios release clips like this, isn't it. Not a question. A Statement.

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

Check out this way cool poster for The Drownsman

Here's a movie that slipped completely under The Basement's radar . . . until now. And if The Drownsman is half as decent as the image below, then horror fans are in for a treat.

I mean, this poster needs a place of honour in my screening room. It will be mine. Mark my words, it will be mine.

A short but sweet Guardians of the Galaxy clip

At this point, I don't think my anticipation level can get any higher for Marvel's upcoming Guardians of the Galaxy. I mean, a big budget tentpole movie directed by the guy who made Slither and Super? How sold am I? Very!

And this new clip/bit of coolness for James Gunn's flick just makes me want to see it even more. Check it:

Monday, April 7, 2014

Alexandra Daddario sexys up this pic from Joe Dante's Burying the Ex

Joe Dante and horror/comedy go together like beer and pizza. Or beer and hot wings. Or even beer and bacon. Do you see a trend developing here?

Mmmmm, beer.

Peter Mayhew will play Chewbacca in new Star Wars

Insert Wookie cry of joy here as word hits The Basement that Peter Mayhew will once again suit up as Chewbacca in J.J. Abrams new Star Wars movie.

Granted, no official casting has been announced, but The Hollywood Reporter ran a story today saying Mayhew is on board for Episode VII.

Jason versus The Heat

That's right, I voluntarily sat down and watched a buddy cop/chick flick starring Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy. Without the wife. Wanna fight about it? No? OK. I'll tell you what I thought instead.

An uptight FBI Special Agent is paired with a foul-mouthed Boston cop to take down a ruthless drug lord.

Sunday, April 6, 2014

The next evolution of The Basement . . . ish

We interrupt your Sunday night for an important announcement . . . there will be no more seasons of Film Reviews from the Basement . . .

. . .  because we're now going to be doing the show year round!

Afflicted, Camp Dread, Time to Kill and an Enormous interview

Get ready for a triple threat of genre entertainment as Jason and Shawn put three, count 'em three, movies on the chopping block for the first time since Season One way back in . . . a long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away.

Sorry, Star Wars flashback.

Saturday, April 5, 2014

Jason versus Phantasm

Given the pending release of Phantasm: Ravager, and having only caught the second instalment in Don Coscarelli's cult franchise, I thought it best to go back and watch the entire series from the beginning. So how does the classic first flick stack up? Stick with me!

A young boy and his friends face off against a mysterious grave robber known only as the Tall Man, who keep an arsenal of terrible weapons with him.

Get awesomed out by this extended look at Godzilla

If everything you've seen and heard about the new Godzilla movie doesn't make you jones for it in the best possible way, then I weep for you.

Actually, I don't, because real men don't weep. But it really is too bad.

Mike Flanagan's Oculus follow up scores distribution

Director Mike Flanagan's Oculus opens next week, but the up-and-coming horror director already has another film in the can, and that flick was just picked up for North American release by Relativity Media.

Oh, the movie is called Somnia, for the record.

Friday, April 4, 2014

Matt Bellamy versus Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Very good, but not quite great, Captain America: The Winter Soldier is definitely entertaining, with solid acting and an engaging plot. However, it's nothing you've never seen before. Cap is finally a more interesting character though, so that's a plus.

I liked the action, but there were no real set pieces that blew me away. It was, for the most part, fairly grounded and not full of unbelievable CG like some more recent Marvel movie. Hey, Thor 2 and Iron Man 3, what's up?

Thursday, April 3, 2014

The Expendables 3 gets a bad ass new teaser trailer

First we showed you some bad ass character posters for The Expendables 3. Now we've got a bad ass new teaser trailer that promises one last, action-packed ride for some of my generation's favourite movie heroes.

That's right, The Expendables 3 is gonna be the last in the series, and it looks like it'll be a good one. But why take my word for it? Watch, and judge not lest ye be judged yourself.

New Oculus images for your eye holes

Oculus looks and sounds like the real deal -- a creepy supernatural thriller from a rising star director. And we have it on good authority the music for Mike Flanagan's spooky tale is pretty damn good too.

The flick comes out next Friday. This morning a slew of new images appeared online that we've decided to share with our fellow Basementities. Check 'em out below: