Monday, March 31, 2014

Alien: Isolation haunts gamers in October

Here's one Game Time with Greg is going to be all over . . . and the rest of The Basement crew too for that matter.

Alien: Isolation is a direct sequel to Ridley Scott's genre classic, Alien, and promises to make the titular beast scary again. It's not going to do it on the big screen either. Oh no, this is a survival horror video game.

The first Dawn of the Planet of the Apes TV spot

Alright, I admit it, I haven't seen Rise of the Planet of the Apes yet. Yup. The presence of James Franco turned me off, and I'm just kinda done with the whole Planet of the Apes thing.

But a lot of people dug Rise, and it made a boat load of cash, so we've got a sequel headed our way this summer. The first TV spot appeared during the season finale of The Walking Dead, and now it's landed here in The Basement.

Sunday, March 30, 2014

The Basement and From Dusk Till Con

As long-time Basementites know, our fine program spent three and a half seasons on 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops, and they were good times indeed.

Earlier this season we ventured out on our own, going Internet first off of this site to much success. For that, we thank each and every one of you who stuck with us.

Now a new era is about to begin as The Basement becomes part of From Dusk Till Con's online radio network. What is From Dusk Till Con? It's a website dedicated to the horror genre and related conventions, most specifically Days of the Dead, a travelling horror convention with ties to Fangoria and Bloody Disgusting.

Friday, March 28, 2014

End your week with the Phantasm: Ravager trailer

News broke just days ago that a fifth Phantasm movie was headed our way, and we were able to share the official poster with you fine Basementites.

Now the teaser trailer has hit the Interwebs, and it looks . . . like a Phantasm movie!

ScarJo is sexy with a gun in this Lucy pic

I don't know how the super-powered-chick-action-flick (say that 10 times real fast) Lucy slipped under my radar, but I'm ashamed to say it did.

For one, it stars everyone's favourite hottie Scarlett Johansson, who we've given a lot of love to on this site due to the upcoming sci-fi movie Under the Skin.

Thursday, March 27, 2014

First trailer for Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles looks like a Michael Bay movie

That's pretty much the only thought that flowed through my booze-weary brain after watching this preview for producer Michael Bay's update of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. That and Megan Fox is still hot.

Whether it looking like a Michael Bay movie is a good or bad thing depends on your opinion of the man's movies.

Six seasons and a movie; is Community headed to the big screen?

That's the rumour as Dan Harmon's brilliant, but under seen, NBC comedy nears the end of its fifth season. Although ratings remain consistently low, Community is one of the few comedies on the network's lineup to stand the test of time.

Insiders at NBC and Sony are optimistic that Community will be back for a 13-episode sixth and final season. But what then? Word is Community could be resurrected on the big screen with director Justin Lin at the helm.

Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Some Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles trailer screen caps

The trailer for the Michael Bay-produced, Jonathan Liebsman-directed Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie doesn't hit until Thursday, but a few screen caps have already appeared online . . . and we stole them for your eye holes.

I admit they don't show much, but they are actual images from the controversial reboot of the popular cartoon, film and toy series, and hence warrant some interest.

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

The ball is back again; time for more Phantasm

Although not the biggest fan of Don Coscarelli's Phantasm series -- I admit I've only seen the first two film -- I do have a lot of love for the man's work in general. Bubba-Ho-Tep and John Dies at the End are just brilliant.

The Beastmaster? It owned when I was 10, but can't vouch for how it's held up.

Tucker and Dale Prepare to Battle Evil Again?

Please, please don't let this fall apart before it happens.

Tucker and Dale Vs Evil was one of my favourite films of 2011, and it would be amazing to see Alan Tudyk and Tyler Labine teamed up for a sequel.  While there are no details to be had as of yet, you can check the video link for their announcement at Horrorhound in Cincinnati.

Source: www.fearnet.com

Monday, March 24, 2014

X-Men: Days of Future Past trailer impresses

So of course, I write a very unimpressive headline. But the new trailer for Bryan Singer's X-Men: Days of Future Past trailer truly does impress. There's no two ways about it.

Not counting the standalone Wolverine movies, this is the fifth movie in the X-Men series and the first with Singer at the helm since X-Men 2. And it unites his franchise and the younger X-Men from First Class.

Beware of Zombie Ass: Toilet of the Dead.

Imagine if Sam Raimi and Sailor Moon conceived a child in Pee-Wee's Playhouse, if the Playhouse resided in South Park.

If that sells you on watching a movie, check this one out.  If not, you might want to skip this one.

Jason versus The Funhouse

The Funhouse is one of those notorious horror movies I grew up with but never watched, mostly because there was no way I could convince my parents to let me see a Friday the 13th movie when I was nine, never mind something by the guy who made The Texas Chainsaw Massacre.

So when the flick turned up on my VOD queue, I thought I'd give it a try. How does this 33-year-old slasher movie rate? Stick with me!

Four teenage friends spend the night in a carnival funhouse and are stalked by a deformed man in a Frankenstein mask.

Saturday, March 22, 2014

The Basement on the CBC

On Friday, March 21, The Basement ventured off the Internet and campus radio and was featured on Daybreak Kamloops, the morning program for our local CBC affiliate.

For those who aren't in the know, the CBC is Canada's national broadcaster. Think the BBC for Canada. Kind of a big deal.

Jason versus Homefront

I'm an unashamed Jason Statham fan. He and Dwayne Johnson are the only true action guys around these days if you discount the aging -- and much respected, mind you -- gang I grew up with. However, aside from a few select flicks, The Stath has never taken off with mainstream audiences who likely see his movies as more of the same. Is that the case with his latest, Homefront? Stick with me!

A former DEA agent moves his family to a quiet town, where he soon tangles with a local meth dealer.

Friday, March 21, 2014

The films of Corey Rajala

By now most Basementites should have heard our thoughts on Kamloops-based filmmaker Corey Rajala's B-grade short films Night of the Ooze and Revenge of the Ooze. Yeah, we told you where you could go and watch them, but we've decided -- with Corey's permission of course -- to do yah one better and present both flicks right here in The Basement.

So without further adieu, here's our feature presentations . . .

Thursday, March 20, 2014

The Ooze Edition: the films of Corey Rajala plus an interview with Apocalypse Kiss director Christian Grillo

The Basement is known for putting the spotlight on independent and little-seen genre pictures that exist outside Hollywood -- the Cinematic Basement, as we like to call it.

This edition of Film Reviews from the Basement focuses on the work of a budding genre filmmaker who lives right in The Basement's backyard of Kamloops, B.C.

The zombie apocalypse hits the road in Wyrmwood

Mad Max meets the Zombies, or something.

Wyrmwood is an indie Australian zombie flick. How indie? It’s funding came via an Indiegogo campaign, and they shot scenes as they raised the budget, hoping to continue to raise enough money to finish the film.

Shawn versus Thor: The Dark World

Shawn here, you know, the superhero movie fanboy?...not.  Ok, well maybe a little. Am I bias?  When it comes to my opinion, absolutely.

Watched Thor: The Dark World last night.  I didn't mind the first one as it was a great intro movie.

Obviously, The Avengers carried more of this story, with Loki as the bad guy.  The Avengers movie was very well balanced. So that had me looking forward to seeing Thor 2.

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

6 Degrees and Hell scribe unleashes Camp Dread

Screenwriter Harrison Smith, who penned Corey Feldman's horror romp -- and our Month from Hell selection -- 6 Degrees of Hell and the crackerjack thriller The Fields is at it again.

This time Smith does double duty as writer and director of the slasher flick Camp Dread.

Tuesday, March 18, 2014

Prepare to discover The Evil Within

Batten down the hatches, Basementites, The Evil Within wants out.

That's the premise behind this upcoming horror flick by Australian director Richard Gray, who previously helmed Blinder and The Lookalike.

Incredibles 2? Finally?

So says this tweet:

Well, that would be nice. Of all the Disney Pixar movies, The Incredibles was an instant classic. It was also my favourite.

 Toy Story, Cars, Monsters inc...pretty good. All got sequels. I'm glad to see the one I like most getting some more love.





A New Leprechaun? Where's The Advance Tickets?

Hi, Cory here, with my first post From The Basement.

Two words - Leprechaun: Origins.

Monday, March 17, 2014

How'd you like a three-foot long Godzilla?

No, that's not a special codeword for you know what. It's the real deal, as in a Godzilla toy to end all Godzilla toys.

JAKKS Pacific has created a giant Godzilla action figure to go along with the upcoming Warner Bros. revival of the popular movie monster, and it's pretty damn epic.

Peep this Wolf Cop poster and featurette

Who here in The Basement is excited to see Wolf Cop? I'm hoping everyone put up his or her hand, because it's a movie about a werewolf that's a cop. And that's cool. 

Wolf Cop is also a Canadian, independent-film success story. I never realized how much so until viewing the below featurette about writer/director Lowell Dean's action/horror/comedy. Suffice to say, it made me want to watch this flick even more.

Saturday, March 15, 2014

Production wraps on Utero starring Jessica Cameron

Seems like just yesterday we told Basementites filming had begun on scream queen Jessica Cameron's baby themed horror flick Utero.

But an email arrived in The Basement this morning letting us know principle photography on writer/director Bryan Coyne's flick is complete. The entire movie was shot in Los Angeles.

Friday, March 14, 2014

Captain America vs Batman vs Superman

No, this isn't the comic-book battle royal to end all comic-book battle royals. It's a release date showdown that's set to take place on the movie viewing weekend of May 6, 2016.

This is the weekend Marvel has earmarked for the third film in its Captain America franchise. That's right, the studio is so confident that Captain America: The Winter Soldier will clean house at the box office next month that a third film is already planned.

Karen Gillan confronts her night terrors in this Oculus clip

Words cannot express how pumped we are for Mike Flanagan's Oculus. Yes, you've heard us praise his previous film, Absentia, and listened to our interview with Oculus composers The Newton Brothers. But advance word is the flick is awesome, and scary. Which makes it scary awesome. Which means we're all over it.

Below is a clip from the movie, which opens April 11, and it promises some shorts shitting moments for sure. And star Karen Gillan in negligee. Check it:

Thursday, March 13, 2014

A first look at NBC's Constantine

We told you about the upcoming NBC TV adaptation of the popular Hellblazer comic last fall. Well, the pilot for the series is shooting right now, and a first look at John Constantine himself has hit the Internet.

Constantine is played by Matt Ryan and, as you'll see, he is very accurate to the comic-book character.

Machinima teases an Enormous web series

Having dropped out of the comic scene several years ago, I'm not at all familiar with Tim Daniel and Mehdi Cheggour's Enormous series via Image Comics. But the concept -- big monsters stomp all over mankind -- is right up my alley.

Thankfully Internet entertainment hub Machinima have tapped Troll Hunter director Andre Overdal to work alongside BenDavid Grabinski on an upcoming adaptation that won't hit the silver or TV screen, but the web.

Wednesday, March 12, 2014

A pair of Scarlett Johansson's assets on display in new Under the Skin poster

I honestly couldn't think of a better headline than that. Sexist yes. Sue me. It's late.

But this new poster for Jonathan Glazer's sci-fi flick Under the Skin does show off Scarlett Johansson's lovely legs. I know most of you thought boobs right off the bat. But no, it's her legs.

Wolf Cop headed to a Canadian theatre near you

It's been almost a year to the day since we first told you about the genre hybrid Wolf Cop. Yup, this is a movie about a werewolf that's a cop, and it's a comedy. So it's a werewolf/action/comedy. Put that in your pipe and smoke it.

You can read our original piece on Wolf Cop right here. And, if you're living in the True North Strong and Free like Shawn and I, you'll have a chance to see writer/director Lowell Dean's movie later this spring.

L.A. peeps, see Afflicted for free

That's right -- FREE! Who doesn't like to see a movie for free? I think everyone does, and Derek Lee and Clif Prowse's found-footage horror flick Afflicted looks like it's a good one, at least from the preview we showed here in The Basement last week.

Afflicted hits theatres April 4, but Los Angeles Basementites can check out a free screening at Hollywood Horrorfest on March 28 at 11 p.m. at the New Beverly Cinema.

Tuesday, March 11, 2014

No Patrick Wilson and Rose Byrne for Insidious: Chapter 3

There's a whole year to go before Insidious: Chapter 3 hits theatres, but a few details about the script have already surfaced online.

Seems screenwriter Leigh Whannell is taking the third flick in a bit of a different direction, which is fine by me.

Another Mischief Night movie headed our way

No, this isn't a sequel to the Mischief Night we reviewed earlier this year. It is in fact the same Mischief Night mentioned on this site before we even knew about the Mischief Night that stars the brother of the guy who starred in Sliders.

Travis Baker's flick will finally see the light of the day via After Dark Originals, which is part of Lionsgate yo, who unleashed a new trailer today. And we have it for yah.

Monday, March 10, 2014

Art takes on an evil guise in Mr. Jones

I know guise might be too "smart" a word for us Basementites -- I actually had to look up the meaning -- but it's the only one that worked in the headline. It means form, but form didn't read right. I'd apologize, but we don't do that in The Basement.

On to the matter at hand, Mr. Jones is an upcoming found-footage horror flick Anchor Bay will release in May, and it actually looks pretty interesting. Too bad about the whole found-footage thing though.

Girl's Eye View: 300: Rise of an Empire


Blood. Guts. Gore. 300: Rise of an Empire has plenty of this to go around. And chiseled men running around in nothing but capes and underwear. But I digress …

Upon watching the trailer for 300: Rise of an Empire, you’d get the impression that it’s the Spartans at it again, with King Leonidas’ wife and queen, Gorgo (Lena Headey), taking on the God-king Xerxes. Well, she does, but that is not what this movie is all about.

Sunday, March 9, 2014

Saturday, March 8, 2014

Anthony Michael Bosa versus V/H/S 2

Our Asylum correspondent is back . . . and not watching an Asylum movie. Nope. The Bosanator takes on the found-footage horror sequel V/H/S 2 and he, like Shawn and I, is tired of found footage. But does he like this movie? Stick with us!

Searching for a missing student, two private investigator break into a house and find a collection of VHS tapes. Viewing the horrific contents of each cassette, they realize there may be dark motives behind the student's disappearance.

Jason versus Gravity

Much adieu has been made about director Alfonso Cuaron's sci-fi/adventure Gravity. Most heralded the film an experience best enjoyed on the big screen. Given it's almost a cold day in hell that sends me to a multiplex, I dared catch this visually impressive film in a darkened home theatre, the sound cranked. How does it hold up? Stick with me!

A medical engineer and an astronaut work together to survive after an accident leaves them adrift in space.

Friday, March 7, 2014

Go behind the scenes on John Fallon's The Shelter

Post production on our bro John Fallon's feature directorial debut The Shelter got underway last week. That means Shawn's going to be busy scoring the flick very soon.

John, along with star Michael Pare, producer Donny Broussard and other crew members took some time to discuss the supernatural thriller and their experience making the film in a great article at Arrow in the Head. You can read an excerpt below.

Anthony Michael Bosa versus American Brawler

Our Asylum correspondent Anthony Michael Bosa is back in The Basement to share a few words on the mockbuster studio's latest Z-grade effort. In this case, the mega sharks and crocosaures take a backseat to . . . martial arts?

A martial arts instructor must enter the world of illegal pit fighting in order to save his family and his dojo.

Eric Bana battles the supernatural in Deliver Us from Evil

Basementites might remember us mentioning Eric Bana's new flick, Deliver Us from Evil, back when it was called Beware the Night. Well, NAME CHANGE!

Deliver Us from Evil is scheduled to hit theatres in July, and the preview for director Scott Derrickson's latest horror/thriller dropped onto the Interwebs today. We've delivered it to your computer screen right now.

Battle of the Damned, Bad Milo and The Newton Brothers interview

Talk to any self-respecting filmmaker and they'll tell you a movie's score is everything. The music sets the mood and heightens the story. Take it away, and a film doesn't work. Just ask John Carpenter, who's classic Halloween was rejected by studios until he added his landmark soundtrack.

On April 11, moviegoers will hear The Newton Brothers' latest score when they take in director Mike Flanagan's horror film, Oculus. Andy and Taylor have worked on a variety of projects, including film, TV and opera, and have a varied musical background.

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For trailer brings the noir

Killers, dames, violence. Sounds like an average night in Sin City, a beautifully grim world envisioned by acclaimed comic-book scribe Frank Miller and brought to glorious life on the big screen by Robert Rodriguez in 2005.

That film was bad ass and made a boat load of cash, so a second holiday in Sin City was inevitable. The first trailer for Sin City: A Dame to Kill For hit today, and it is awesome.

Halloween 5 star joins Hillbilly Horror Show

By now most Basementites should have watched the first episode of the Filthy Fingernails produced web series Hillbilly Horror Show, which we've pimped here and here.

And most self-respecting Basementites will have seen Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers, because it's required viewing for horror fans.

So, when we toss out the name Tamara Glynn, most of you should know it.

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

See the Devil in this second Oculus trailer

Who's pumped for our interview with Oculus composers The Newton Brothers? That bit of Basement goodness lands on Friday. To tide you over, we thought we'd show you this second, shorts-shitting preview for the movie itself.

You like to be scared right? Then Oculus will be right up your alley.

Scream queens galore line up for the Axeman

Horror fans will be able to see some of the genre's most prominent scream queens together in one razor-sharp slasher movie when Axeman hits Canadian and U.S. DVD/VOD markets in May.

Tiffany Shepis, Brinke Stevens, Elissa Dowling and Jamie Bernadette are on board for Joston Theney's blood-stained love letter to old-school slashers.

New DVD artwork and stills for Apocalypse Kiss

We pimped some details just yesterday about Christian Grillo's sci/fi serial killer flick Apocalypse Kiss, and now we've got some groovy stills and DVD artwork to share.

Grillo's movie, which hits the home market April 8, has been called Blade Runner meets Sin City. During our interview with him, which you will hear March 21, he referenced Richard Stanley's Hardware, which is another gooder. We have high hopes for this one.

Tuesday, March 4, 2014

The first Transformers: Age of Extinction trailer is here

Huh!?! That is not what I expected.

I mean, the robots are there. The patriotic flag waving is there. The hot chicks and explosions aplenty are there. But something about this preview for Transformers: Age of Extinction feels different than the previous three Transformers movies.

Found footage gets Afflicted

No matter how done audiences are with found footage, people keep making more entries in the genre.

At least the latest one, Derek Lee and Clif Prowse's Afflicted, looks like it takes the filmmaking convention to new levels of fear and action.