Friday, January 31, 2014

Jason versus Visiting Hours

I vaguely remember the TV ads for Visiting Hours when I was a 10-year-old boy, and was totally creeped out by them. Surprise! The movie is now on Netflix, so I finally got to face my fears. Is this 1982 slasher flick are scary as the commercials let on? Stick with me!

A crazed, women-hating killer attacks journalist Deborah Ballin. When he discovers that his attack didn't kill Deborah, he comes to the hospital to finish what he started.

Enough with the previews for previews already

A trend has developed during the last couple of years, a trend of teasing movie trailers. You know, those things that play before a flick that's supposed to make you want to watch the damn thing?

Well, seems it's not enough to have a trailer anymore, or even a teaser trailer. Now Hollywood thinks we need a trailer for the damn trailer. What do you need a trailer for a trailer for? Isn't that the teaser trailer's job?

Lex Luthor and Alfred cast in Batman vs. Superman

And they're not the first choices you'd think of either, at least for Lex Luthor.

Veteran bad guys Mark Strong and Brian Cranston were rumoured to play Luthor, but Warner Bros. and director Zack Snyder have decided to go with Zombieland/The Social Network star Jesse Eisenberg as Superman's arch nemesis.

Thursday, January 30, 2014

Shawn takes on Green Lantern: The Animated Series

I can do T.V. shows. Hell yeah. But due to my mental age, they are pretty simple. Take, for example, Green Lantern The Animated Series.

I like the idea of Green Lantern. The live action movie wasn't terrible. But animation can just do things that movies can't. Especially in 22 minutes.

Also, not really my mental age, but I've spent a lot of time breeding little humans. They are at the age when all this stuff is cool. We've started watching season 1 and I gotta tell ya, for superhero fans, this show kicks ass.

Red-band trailer for A Million Ways to Die in the West will freak you out

Why? Because it's fucking funny, that's why. That's right, I swore in the first line of this post. Wanna fight about it?

Pussy.

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Liam Neeson and Maggie Grace return for Taken 3

I'm gonna toss this into the Enough Already pile, but given the success of Taken 2 ($376 million worldwide) it should come as no surprise that screenwriters Luc Besson and Robert Mark Kamen have more Taken movies in the cannon. A third flick has been greenlit.

Jason versus The Fifth Estate

What!?! A talky drama about journalism reviewed on a site dedicated to B-grade horror and action movies? Sacrilege!

Hey, these things happen . . .

The Fifth Estate is a dramatic thriller based on real events that reveals the quest to expose the deceptions and corruptions of power that turned an Internet upstart into the 21st century's most fiercely debated organization -- WikiLeaks.

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Universal asks Vin Diesel for more Riddick

Mad props to Vin Diesel. The man sure loves his fans, and they sure love him back. And within that relationship is a constant flow of communication from Diesel to his fans about the projects he's working on.

Today, Diesel posted on his Facebook page about the DVD success of his latest film, Riddick, and how Universal has asked him to develop a fourth installment in the anti-hero's franchise. For us Riddick fans, this is very, very good news.

Suzanne Cappelletti versus The Raid: Redemption

After seeing the buzz on The Raid 2 from Sundance, I knew I had to check this one out, and holy hell I was not disappointed.

I love action movies. I mean really LOVE action movies. And I was asked what the last great one I saw was as I was watching this. That was not easy to answer, and my answer was Shoot 'Em Up because they choreographed a gunfight to Ace of Spades. Picking this was a stretch. I had to stop and think.

Sunday, January 26, 2014

Absentia director reflects evil in Oculus

Get it? The movie is about something evil living in a mirror. And mirrors reflect images. Get it?

All stupidity on my part aside, this preview for director Mike Flanagan's Oculus is pretty scary. This doesn't surprise me because Flanagan made the utterly creepy Absentia, which we reviewed on the show a couple of season's back. It's nice to see the man getting a shot at the big time with this Blumhouse release.

Saturday, January 25, 2014

Jason versus Haunter

Everybody likes a good ghost story, right? Well, how about a story where pretty much everyone is a ghost? That's the premise behind Cube and Splice director Vincenzo Natali's Haunter. Original, yes. Any good? Stick with me.

The ghost of a teenager who died years ago reaches out to the land of the living in order to save someone from suffering her same fate.

Friday, January 24, 2014

John Fallon wraps The Shelter

It's been a while since we wrote about our bro John Fallon's feature directorial debut The Shelter. Long enough that the flick just wrapped production in Abbeville, Louisiana. Yup, the same place where The Blob remake was filmed.

Suzanne Cappellette versus Splatterlands

Splatterlands 2013, Grey Matter Press. Edited by Anthony Rivera and Sharon Lawson

From Necrophilia to a hitman with a heart. A family heirloom, a letter written by a distraught parent and so many points in between. Welcome to the Splatterlands.

As a long time reader of anthologies, there are high and low points. This has no low points. This is what short horror fiction is all about. The first story is a slap in the face.. you see it coming and it knocks you on your ass. Each story in this collection has its own pulse, you never get a chance to catch your breath. They just keep coming.

Thursday, January 23, 2014

RoboCop throws down with ED-209 in this new clip

Finally, we get to see some of the action on display in the new RoboCop, which hits theatres next month. Given the flick is rated PG-13 for gun violence, there's an appropriate amount of shooting in this clip.

Guns, guns, guns, as Clarence J. Boddicker once said.

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Domestic trailer for The Raid 2 is . . . wow!

That's all I can say really. We shared the international trailer for yah a couple of weeks ago, and it was great. But this domestic trailer -- meaning for us North American folk -- is infinitely more bad ass. Infinitely.

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Creepy flick The Babadook gets an equally creepy poster

And this poster is 100-per-cent legitimate. We promise!

Just last week we told you about Jennifer Kent's Australian horror flick The Babadook, which earned rave reviews after a screening at Sundance. We showed you the trailer, and there was much shorts shitting I am sure.

Nothing sucks more than a cool looking movie handcuffed to a terrible or uninspired poster. Fortunately, this poster lives up the creepy trailer mentioned above. Observe:

UPDATED: First Fast & Furious 7 teaser poster hits the web

Well, it seems like that cool poster below is fan made and was released via a fake Vin Diesel Twitter account. How do we know this? Because director James Wan said so via his Twitter account. And it's the real deal. He also acknowledges it's a pretty damn good poster!

Our bad, and sorry if we got anyone too excited :)

Here is the original post:

Monday, January 20, 2014

Lionsgate has Cooties

Funnily enough, Matt Bellamy and I were talking about Elijah Wood's new horror/comedy Cooties around the beer and wing table just the other night. Now we hear director Jonathan Milott and Cary Murnion's flick, which is getting rave reviews at Sundance, is being eyed for North American distribution by Lionsgate.

Sunday, January 19, 2014

New RoboCop TV spot will take you dead or alive

We're less than a month away from the release of the RoboCop reboot, and I'm still primed to see it.

Sure, this isn't the RoboCop I grew up with. And, as Suzanne Cappelletti pointed out, the black suit does make him look kinda like a rejected Cylon. But this still looks like a decent bit of Hollywood escapism. Would I have been happier with an R-rated RoboCop? Yes. But this is 2014. That just doesn't happen.

Friday, January 17, 2014

Radio Silence, Devil's Due and The Art of the Steal

So begins a new era in The Basement -- a return to our roots with all the awesomeness we learned from spending four seasons on campus radio. We promise you, you will be awesomed out by how awesome things are.

Modest, we know.

Thursday, January 16, 2014

A spooky story comes to terrifying life in The Babadook

God damn, this trailer gives me the willies. Big time. If Sundance is showing flicks like this, I gotta get my ass to that festival one day.

The trailer for Jennifer Kent's creepy Australian horror flick The Babadook debuted within the last 24 hours, and it's brilliant. I know Dead Snow: Red vs Dead is one of the horror big guns at Sundance, but this could be the flick that walks away with all the praise. Watch, crank up the volume, and understand.



See!

The Babadook makes its world premiere at Sundance on Friday, Jan. 17. Here's the official synopsis: a single mother, plagued by the violent death of her husband, battles with her son's fear of a monster lurking in the house. But she soon discovers a sinister presence is all around her.

Source: Twitch
Enhanced by Zemanta

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Jason versus You're Next

There's been a lot of home-invasion movies released the last several years; The Purge, Mischief Night and The Strangers to name a few. While some are better than others, there's usually something missing -- and something annoying -- about them all. Where does Adam Wingard and Simon Barrett's You're Next fit in the mix? Stick with me!

When the Davison family comes under attack during their wedding anniversary getaway, the gang of mysterious killers soon learns that one of victims harbors a secret talent for fighting back.

Take note of those last two words, because that's what makes all the difference with You're Next. Someone. Fights. Back. Which people aren't supposed to do in movies like this. The victims are supposed to be self-important, well-off people who make stupid decisions and get messed up by the killer or killers.

Well, those people are in this movie too. But so is someone who fights back. In fact, this "Final Girl" is as capable as our trio of killers, if not more so. And it's awesome. Too say much more than that will ruin the watch for those who haven't seen it. Had Lionsgate pushed this element in the marketing, they'd of had a huge hit on their hands.

Why? Because the rest of the movie is smart, well made and well acted. There's twists and turns, and beautiful bloodshed. This isn't just a great slasher movie, it's a great movie. And a fun, fun ride that had me gasping out loud more than once.

You guessed it; You're Next is a Good.
Enhanced by Zemanta

The Conjuring spinoff has an Annabelle to haunt

It didn't take long for Warner Bros. to realize they'd struck gold with last summer's horror hit The Conjuring. A spinoff featuring the creepy Annabelle doll was announced in November, and now a cast has been announced.

Coincidentally, one among them is named Annabelle. Or would that ironically?

Annabelle Wallis (pictured) and Ward Horton (never heard of him) will work with director John Leonetti and executive producer James Wan, who of course directed The Conjuring. Gary Dauberman wrote the thing.

Normally, I'd shit all over the idea of a spinoff to anything, but The Conjuring is one of the scariest movies to come down the pike in a long-ass time. And a portion of its success can be credited to the Annabelle doll. If this is done right -- meaning less Chucky and more of what we saw in The Conjuring -- then the flick could work. Having Wan involved gives me confidence. The fact that Wallis is hot doesn't hurt either ;)

We'll bring you more on Annabelle, the movie, once production gets underway Jan. 27.

Source: Variety
Enhanced by Zemanta

Suzanne Cappelletti versus The Bell Witch Haunting

I saw this last night on Netflix. Being a fan of ghost movies and the Bell Witch how bad could it be? Well, it can be a train wreck. First off, it's found footage. I think it's overused and a poor substitute for actual film making, but there are times it works well. This is not one of those times. Next the cast (also uncredited) just didn't fit to me, the parents seemed too young and the kids too old.

The movie itself was nothing that we haven't seen before, I understand that with the found-footage ghost house shots there isn't a whole lot more that can be done... but C'MON! You can come up with a little something can't you? No. You have your standard flickering lights, video blurring, doors closing and voices. The basics, family moves to a house in Adams TN, kid brother is filming everything and cue the above. They even included an exorcism complete with green puke.

There is nothing new here. There isn't much likable either and I tried to find something good ... nothing. Not even a jump scare. I think they all decided to go uncredited so their names wouldn't be immediately attached to it. There were a few bloody bodies, but still... This is not worth anyone's time.

I have to rate this movie UGLY, with capital U G L Y.

You can follow Suzanne on Twitter at @Flyye01
Enhanced by Zemanta

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Devil's Due baby prank spooks New Yorkers

Hollywood has come up with a lot of clever marketing schemes, and this has to be one of the best.

With Devil's Due hitting theatres this Friday, 20th Century Fox decided to unleash an animatronic devil baby on the streets of New York. The below video shows the results. And it's pretty damn cool. Between this and the Carrie coffee-shop prank from late last year, movie marketing is headed in a new direction. A Punk'd direction.

Now all they gotta do is build a giant lizard and have it stomp the shit out of downtown Tokyo. I would pay big money to see that.



Devil's Due is a found-footage horror film directed by Radio Silence and starring Zach Gilford and Allison Miller. Our interview with Radio Silence also hits this Friday.

Source: The Wrap
Enhanced by Zemanta