Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Happy Halloween from The Basement

The scariest night of the year is upon us, kids are out trick r treating, and the candy and beer are flowing freely.

But before us Basement Dwellers numb ourselves into a horror-movie coma, I thought I'd share some music from what I consider required viewing at Halloween.

A lot of people screen a horror film like John Carpenter's Halloween, The Exorcist or Trick r Treat, but I go with a season two episode from the TV series Millennium called The Curse of Frank Black. It's a Halloween-themed episode, with hero Frank Black (Lance Henriksen) facing some demons -- personal and otherwise -- on All Hallow's Eve.

This is spooky stuff, told almost without dialogue, and works as a stand alone episode AND within the series's continuity. It also evokes a real feeling for the holiday. It's awesome television thanks to writers Glen Morgan and James Wong.

Anyway, enough of my jibber jabber. Time to get back to the festivities. Thanks for spending a couple of minutes with me this night. Now enjoy the track and, if you can find the episode, check it out.

HAPPY HALLOWEEN, BITCHES!

Millennium - The Curse Of Frank Black - Mark Snow's 'Jack O Lantern' from Mark Hayden on Vimeo.

The Month of Horror Day 31: Trick r Treat

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! Tonight, Bellamy brings it all to a close with a modern horror and Halloween classic.

Happy Halloween, folks! What better movie to choose for the big, special day than one that celebrates the holiday better than any other? Trick r Treat is a movie that has unfortunately gone unseen by many which is a damn shame because everything that we love about and/or fear about this day is represented; always check your candy, don't blow out your pumpkin before midnight, pranks going wrong, and not turning your lights on for trick or treatres! These are all stories that are intertwined throughout the movie in anthology form, the characters all weave in and out of each story in some small way, from a deranged father who poisons candy and abducts children, to a grumpy, old curmudgeon of a man tormented for not taking part in Halloween, and a couple other ghoulish tales in between. The stories are fantastic but what really sets this film apart and makes it a true Halloween classic is the atmosphere that is dripping off of every frame, I swear you can almost smell the lit jack o' lanterns on every porch! There really aren't many movies actually made with this day in mind, sure, lots of horror movies are released in the month of October but how many even deal with Halloween and make you nostalgic for those days of dressing up and packing a pillow case of candy around your neighbourhood before gorging on it afterwards until you pass out into a candy induced coma? It's a rare thing, is the answer! If you haven't seen this movie yet you love Halloween, and I mean, really love it and miss those days of trick or treating then you need to make this a priority in your scary movie watching schedule, I guarantee it'll become a new favourite for you!


Tuesday, October 30, 2012

A clip from The Collection flickers its way online

The more I see of Marcus Dunstan's sequel The Collection the keener I am to watch it. As we've said here before, The Collector was OK at best, but this flick looks to up the ante. That's fine with us!

The sequel picks up soon after The Collector ends. Arkin (Josh Stewart) escapes with his life from the vicious grips of The Collector during an entrapment party where the villain adds beautiful Elena (Emma Fitzpatrick, pictured above) to his collection. Instead of recovering from the trauma, Arkin is suddenly abducted from the hospital by mercenaries hired by Elena's wealthy father. Arkin is blackmailed to team up with the mercenaries and track down The Collector's booby trapped warehouse and save Elena.

No real dialogue in the clip below, but I dig the flicker effect with the lights and the way The Collector slides his way into the scene. Very John Carpenter. We'll know how the rest of the movie stacks up when The Collection opens Nov. 30.

The Month of Horror Day 30: The Exorcist

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! And Bellamy thinks it's an excellent day for an exorcism.

And the runner-up goes to...! Not to say that this is the 2nd best anything, as a matter of fact, this is actually my favourite scary movie of all time. What's great about The Exorcist is that it takes its material and subject matter deadly serious, there's no screwing around here and no one is having fun, it's just straight up terror! That's what I love about it, and it's also something you do not see in many modern horror movies these days where everything is sold with that young audience in mind where as here it's an adult horror film for an adult audience, screw PG-13! This was also the first movie to really deal with exorcisms which has become all too common in horror flicks now--common and BORING. The first is still the best of the genre, there has never been another movie to deal with this subject matter to even come close, many try to emulate it and fail miserably because they're afraid to take it too far which is exactly where it should go. When this film came out, it disturbed people, it gave people nightmares and even caused many to question their beliefs and faith entirely--show me a movie that has done that since and the drinks are on me. The plot is simple, and as I always say, a simple set up is usually the key to any horror film being successful, there is no need to complicate things in order to scare the bejeezus out of anyone. A young girl is possessed by Satan himself, the demon begins destroying her body and it's up to two priests, men of God, to put their lives on the line to drive the evil entity out of her body and figure out a way to banish it from this world completely. The things that happen in this movie are absolutely disturbing, that's the best word used to describe many of the scenes which I won't go into detail describing but if you are a fan of horror and have never given this a chance then... THE POWER OF CHRIST COMPELLS YOU!!!

Monday, October 29, 2012

A bloody, sexy look at Hansel and Gretal: Witch Hunters

It's never a good sign when a movie's release date gets bounced around more than a New Orleans whore, but I have faith in the upcoming horror comedy Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters.

For one, director Tommy Wirkola did a bang-up job mixing comedy and gore in the Nazi zombie movie Dead Snow. Secondly, Jeremy Renner is a damn fine actor. Thirdly, Gemma Arterton is just damn fine. Add an appropriate level of camp and violence and you're good to G-O.

I think Paramount Pictures and MGM don't know what to do with the project. Blood, humour and children in jeopardy don't sell well. When mixed that is. But at least the studios are trying with this new red-band trailer, which offers plenty of everything I mentioned above.

In this dark spin on the fairy tale, siblings Hansel and Gretel are a formidable team of bounty hunters who track and kill witches all over the world. Whether or not it's any good will be answered when the Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters hits theatres on Jan. 25, 2013.



The Month of Horror Day 29: Jaws

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! Tonight, Bellamy reminds us why it's still not safe to go back in the water.

I had a discussion with a co-worker awhile back about whether or not Jaws is actually a horror movie, he did not think so but I absolutely believe it is--can you think of another film that caused as many phobias? Since it came out in 1975, many people have been terrified of both the water and, of course, sharks. You can't tell me there's never been an occasion where, for example, you've been in murky, deep water, you can't see the bottom and that infamous 'daaaaa na" theme pops in your head! If fear like that isn't horrifying then I don't know what is. Aside from this being one of the most truly scary horror movies ever made, it's also one of the greatest films ever made, period. I am proud to say that Jaws fits very comfortably in my "top five" list of favourite movies of all time--if it shows up on tv, I'm watching it, and while I'm watching it, my day has instantly been improved. If you're for whatever reason unfamiliar with the story, or God forbid, haven't even seen it (yikes), it goes like this: a killer great white shark terrorizes the beaches of a quaint, island town until a motley trio of men vow to hunt it down, destroy it, and put an end to the bloodshed. Fairly simple stuff however plot complexity is not needed here as it's all about the fear that has blanketed this island town over the fourth of July weekend when tourists and vacationers (or lunch and dinner) are in abundance. I love the characters here and the actors that portray them, they're all working at the top of their game and you never once don't believe anything they are saying or doing on-screen. Roy Scheider, Richard Dreyfuss, and Robert Shaw become iconic in their roles, especially Shaw who plays the grizzled seaman Quint--his speech about the USS Indianapolis towards the end is the stuff of legend, one of the greatest scenes committed to any film. Jaws is a classic, a masterpiece, and still one of the most terrifying films ever made. What more could possibly said except... SMILE YOU SON OF A-

Girl's Eye View: The Girl Who Played with Fire

Allow me to quickly introduce myself: My name is Kara, and I live over at www.karaschatter.com . I have no experience in the movie industry, other than watching and appreciating them. I thought I would offer up my movie reviewing skills, or lack thereof, to The Basement to give readers a female perspective on movies, new, old, good, and bad. 

After reading the Millennium series written by Stieg Larsson, I was rather excited to watch the movies. I will admit that I watched the American version of Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, so I was slightly apprehensive to watch the Swedish version of the next film in the trilogy, The Girl Who Played with Fire

I know that Jason and Shawn had reviewed the first two films a while back and they had mixed feelings. Jason noted that the two leads didn’t spend much (if any) screen time together, but I’ll note that if I remember correctly, they don’t share many “pages” in the novel either. I digress … 

I caught myself up with a little Wikipedia and IMDB digging and Roomi Rapace returns as Lisbeth Salander, the misunderstood yet brilliant tech-savvy woman, and Michael Nyqvist as Mikael Blomkvist, the investigative journalist.

I wish I had watched the Swedish version of Dragon Tattoo so I could have something to compare the series to, but alas, I didn’t. However, the Swede version of Played with Fire is just as raunchy as the English version of Dragon Tattoo, if not, a little more. It also appears to pick up exactly where Dragon Tattoo left off.

It’s been a while since I’ve read the novel, but Played with Fire follows the storyline fairly well and did not disappoint, even though I had to read subtitles. (SPOILER ALERT!) Lisbeth returns from her overseas escapades only to learn that she has been framed for a triple murder and begins the search to find out who has done so. At the same time, Mikael is trying to do the same thing.

I could tell you how everything plays out, but I won’t! I really encourage anyone who hasn’t read the books to do so and find out. They’re well written and hard to put down once you get into them. I’ll admit that it took me several tries to get into Dragon Tattoo, but once I did I couldn’t put it down.

I really hope that the cast and crew from the English Dragon Tattoo film returns to make an English version of the film (Partly because Daniel Craig’s Mikael is much nicer on the eyes, partly because I’d like to see their spin on things). Either way, I did enjoy the Swede version, subtitles and all. A Good from this girl!

Sunday, October 28, 2012

The Month of Horror Day 28: Zombieland

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! For tonight's edition Bellamy has to decide if it's nut up or shut up time.

Perhaps more of a straight up comedy than a horror? You can make that argument but it has zombies in it, and it's pretty gory so... I'm saying it counts! Right off the bat, you know this movie is going to be awesome because we jump into some rules you really should abide by in order to survive the zombie apocalypse--limber up, double tap, always check the back seat, just to name a few! Jesse Eisenberg stars as the main character, a young geek (playing comfortably outside his usual roles *cough*), on a journey trying to cross several hundred miles of dangerous and undead landscape to reach his parents who it turns out are actually most likely dead *SPOILER ALRET*. While on his journey he meets up with Woody Harrelson, Emma Stone, and Abigail Breslin (yum) (wait, no, I meant that for Emma Stone), as they eventually join together after some initial friction and become a sort of dysfunctional family. Their new goal is to head to Los Angeles to possibly seek refuge in an amusement park but it's really more the idea of one last hurrah in a dead and joyless world that is mostly appealing to them. Best part about this flick? A certain celebrity they find while in Hollywood, deciding to crash in his mansion for awhile, I won't give away who it is because it's worth finding out for yourself if you haven't seen this yet! It's Bill Murray **ANOTHER SPOILER ALERT**. A complete joy to watch, it never wears out its welcome, the writing is clever, the chemistry between the actors feels very real and natural and the "Zombie Kills of the Week" are a scream; this is essential Halloween viewing!

Saturday, October 27, 2012

Dr. Action reviews Skyfall

So Skyfall came out yesterday in the UK, its been four years since 007 last lit up the silverscreen. Quantum of Solace left a lot of people cold, I myself enjoyed it, but in all honesty I’m a huge Bond fan. Every British lad wants to be Bond, and if they don’t....well their liars, so lets say the audience reception to QOS was, let's say, stale. Bond had to step up.

What of the plot, well I can’t say too much, that would be unsporting. First up, Bond of old always had a great opening, well this is no different. This one sets up the storyline perfectly, Bond starts to question just how expendable a secret agent can be and who he can trust, M? Which leads to our villain of the picture, here portrayed by an excellent Javier Bardem. He appears to have a very personal grudge against M, one which sees MI6 being blown up. Well there is only one super agent who can save Blighty, thats right -- 007.

Like Bond of old, we go globetrotting to find the culprit. Also we have a new Q, a welcome addition played by Ben Whishaw who I hope will be around for a long time to come. I really cannot say too much more about the plot, its best to go in with fresh eyes.

Sam Mendes comes in as director, his pacing is good, the movie does not drag, and the action set pieces are expertly done. I certainly hope it's not a one off Bond movie for him. Plaudits must also go to editor Stuart Baird who returns from Casino Royale. Gone is the quick cutting action scenes from Quantum, and the action is not blink and you’ll miss it. The screenplay is also excellent, which gives Craig the chance to bring the one liners back to Bond, I would say this is now CRAIG's Bond. A mixture of the Dalton action 007, and the quipiness of Moore.

So would I recommend it to movie fans? More importantly Bond fans? YES and YES, I thoroughly enjoyed it, a solid Good. It promises that Bond will be back and I certainly hope we don’t have to wait another 4 years.

Oh and if Daniel Craig doesn’t fancy returning, surely UKs own Dr.Action can step into 007s shoes, can’t he? PLEASE.

Please give a listen to the action commentary podcast I do every week with the After Movie Diner, we cover the best 80s/90s action classics. Find us right here as part of the 2nd Unit Podcast Network. This is Action, Dr.Action.

The Month of Horror Day 27: Let Me In

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! Today Bellamy risks the wrath of movie nerds everywhere by liking a remake more than the original!?! Shame! 

I am going to catch some heat for this but I prefer this American remake in just about every way to the Swedish original. Yes, I know that the original Let The Right One In is held up on a pedestal and even the mere mention of a remake was blasphemous when it was first mentioned but I think that director Matt Reeves (Cloverfield) pulled it off in a very big way. It's filmed in a very classy and slow burn manner which is how the material should be handled as it allows the atmosphere to organically build and the characters to realistically grow, and that's where this story truly excels is in the character department. Chloe Grace Moretz and Kodi Smit-McPhee play the two children that the film revolves around, one is just a normal adolescent boy and the other is a world weary vampire forever stuck in a young girl's body. The two young actors are absolutely fantastic and you believe every interaction between them, and (dare I say it in a horror write up?) even bond in a realistic and sweet way to the point you honestly believe the young boy is falling in love with his new non-human friend, growing increasingly fascinated by her as he realizes she is not what she appears to be. Don't let that "L word" turn your stomach too much, there is plenty of real horror here as blood is spilled, throats are torn out, bodies dismembered, and even people set on fire! 'Let Me In' is easily one of the most touching horror flick I've seen, well, ever actually. I am a very big fan of this remake and will defend it to everyone who says it should never exist in the first place--it does, it's fantastic, deal with it! If you've never seen any iteration of the material then I say you should absolutely seek this out, it came and went in theatres way too quickly and demands a watch.

Friday, October 26, 2012

The Month of Horror Day 26: From Dusk Till Dawn

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! Tonight, Bellamy offers you a two for one pussy sale.

You know, I really hate to say it but this flick has not aged well and is not nearly as enjoyable as I once found it although it's entirely possible that watching it stone sober was a catastrophic choice. It starts well, it does, as the two main anti-heroes played by George Clooney and Quentin Tarantino, fugitives on the run, seek refuge in a Mexican bar/brothel called "The Titty Twister". What's disappointing about this film is that it seriously starts out SO good, you're completely engaged and glued to the screen by everything that is happening--Salma Hayek in her prime as a stripper makes that extremely easy, too. It's once the bar patrons are revealed as vampires that it quickly takes a nose dive into shlock, poor writing (Sorry, Tarantino), and the worst crime of all, it becomes boring. The flick tries to play rough, it tries to be edgy and irreverent but it comes off as amateur hour and actually feels really immature--again, lack of alcohol on my part could be paramount in hindering my enjoyment here. I do love the cast that was assembled though outside of the leads, full marks there: Harvey Keitel, Salma Hayek (yum, again), Fred Williamson, Cheech Marin, John Hawkes, Michael Parks, Juliette Lewis, and even makeup guru Tom Savini! Yes, in many circles this is seen as a messy and fun little horror/action flick and with a solid group of a friends and a few dozen beers this could absolutely be a blast to watch, and perhaps that was Tarantino's and director Robert Rodriguez's intent? Get sloshed, chill with some buds, and watch a whole bunch of vicious vampires tear people apart. Oh, and most important of all, boobies! Hey, it's a selling point.



George Bell reviews Orphan

I really wanted to like Orphan. Horror movies about demented children can sometimes get a pass on the
creepy kid factor alone. Other times, such as this one, that pass gets revoked and lit on fire as a warning
for future audiences to run far, far away. Isabelle Fuhrman does a great job playing Esther, a 9-year-old
psychopath, but almost nothing else in the story even passes the smell test.

The cast, including Vera Farmiga and Peter Sarsgaard, should have been able to carry this film, but the
script decided to veto that notion right out of the gate. It’s about a pretty well-off couple with two
children looking to adopt a third. Several years ago, Kate (Farmiga) lost a pregnancy, and she and her
husband, John (Sarsgaard), have been debating adoption ever since. Well, I guess all that ponderous
thought amounted to meeting Esther once, shooting the shit about her paintings, and signing up
without much else to go off of. That’s really the process they went through. On top of that, one of the
only lessons I learned while watching Orphan is that nuns should not be handling adoption services. Like,
ever. Any time there’s a disturbing event involving Esther and the parents need more information about
her from the nuns, all they say, basically, is “Durrh, I don’t know anything about her past! Ha ha! Sorry!”
They should open up a used car lot while they’re at it. Think of the T.V. commercials and catch-phrases
they could use: “Come on down, we’re in the…habit…of saving you money! Just, uh, don’t ask about
crash histories.”

Despite all my efforts, the other thing I couldn’t bring myself to believe is the relationship between
Kate and John. Most of the time, they act like a normal, happy couple. But when the first sign of trouble
arises, John is all about blaming Kate for everything. Granted, there were certain things that happened
to them in the past that would potentially cast her in a bad light, but during a significant scene with
John, Kate, and their marriage therapist, their exchanges are pretty laughable. Despite all the logic and
evidence Kate provides, they still gang up on her like two bullies and discount every word that comes
out of her mouth. I’m pretty sure that’s not how it works, and if it is, someone’s doing it wrong. That
unearned theme of distrust sticks throughout the latter half of the film, and it brought me out of the
experience quite a bit.

The worst offender, though, is the horrible ending. I wouldn’t exactly call it a twist, since you’re given
literally no information about what’s actually going on until the last 15 minutes, but I would say it’s
one of the dumbest endings in a horror movie that I’ve seen in a while. I would love to spoil it for you,
but then you couldn’t share in my misery. The reveal aside, I also grow tired of lazy writing that can’t
produce answers to questions in a natural, flowing manner. Instead of pacing itself, the script dumps all
of the crucial information on the viewer essentially right before the credits roll. In my opinion, that’s a
lame, cheap way of telling a story. Yea, this one gets a Bad.

Thursday, October 25, 2012

An interview with Corey Feldman: The Halloween Spooktacular 3

The Lost Boys. Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter. Stand By Me. The Goonies. License to Drive. Dream A Little Dream. All classic movies of the 1980s. All of them star Corey Feldman.

Corey started his career in TV, and is best known for his string of 80s movie blockbusters, but he's sustained a career in Hollywood for more than 35 years as an actor and singer. The star's own words say it best: he's more than a movie star, he's an icon.

Tonight, Jason and Shawn bring The Month from Hell to a close with a 15-minute chat with 6 Degrees of Hell star Corey Feldman. And it becomes very clear very quickly how enthusiastic he is about director Joe Raffa and screenwriter Harrison Smith's horror film. The bulk of the conversation is about 6 Degrees of Hell, but Corey also touches on his earlier work. It's a great interview with a legend of the 80s, and one no movie fan wants to miss.

As is the tradition with The Basement's annual Halloween Spooktacular, Jason and Shawn don't review any movies tonight. But they do talk about them. And this edition's topic is the goriest movies of all time . . . according to The Basement Dwellers that is. The two approach the subject matter with their usual irreverent flair.

By the way, everyone's favourite Scream Queen, Brooke Lewis, is back this episode! Stick with us!

Tune in at 10 p.m. PST at 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops and online at www.thex.ca. You can also follow along to the mad tweets of Mike S of The Corner of Terror on Twitter! It's not the Halloween season without a special episode . . . in The Basement!

The Month of Horror Day 25: Killer Klowns from Outer Space

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! There is no komment suitable for tonight's entry, save for "no komment."

Here it is, the very first "clown horror movie" during the month of horror, let's all celebrate with some popcorn and cotton candy! Do you prefer your cotton candy as a cocoon for human bodies while all of their guts and body parts are liquified within? Oh good, I'm glad I'm not the only one, it's delicious! This 80's cult classic, courtesy of The Chiodo Brothers, absolutely belongs in the "so bad it's good" pile, which also happens to be one of my favourite categories to choose from. The premise is paper thin and that is more than fine as evil clowns from outer space land in the woods surrounding a small town, kidnapping local citizens and turning their bodies into cotton candy and sno-cone sludge. The clowns themselves appear in all sorts of different shapes and sizes, definitely deranged and a very far cry from Stephen King's It--take that however you will because I know many who are absolutely terrified of Pennywise. Once a few very attentive characters realize that people are going missing and alien clowns are running around, they put two and two together and brilliantly realize that perhaps there is a connection. Everything about this flick is low budget, from the sets, to the effects and of course, the Z-grade acting but that's what's so watchable about it--it's a complete trainwreck you can't help but be entertained by! Word has also been circulating over the last couple of years that the Chiodo's would like to film a sequel, that's right, not a remake but an actual honest sequel! I hope it happens because this kind of of dementedness really does not come along often enough, fingers crossed! 

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

The Evil Dead remake trailer revisited

A week and a bit ago we brought you a bootleg of the teaser trailer for the Evil Dead remake. It was gone within 24 hours. Apparently, the powers that be don't like bootlegs.

Now we've got the real deal, and it's a red-band version.

As we've said before, Shawn and I have a lot of hate for this movie. So do most Evil Dead fans. I will give it credit for not catering to the PG-13 crowd. This will be bloody. But we still question its existence, and won't stop until we see it for ourselves.

The new spin on Evil Dead features Mia, a young woman struggling with sobriety, who heads to a remote cabin with her brother and a group of friends, where the discovery of a Book of the Dead leads to danger and horror. Fede Alvarez directs the film, which is due out April 12, 2013.

For better or for worse, here it is . . . again!


The Month of Horror Day 24: My Bloody Valentine (1981)

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! Tonight, Bellamy shows us his romantic side.

Although I did enjoy the remake, this is the original, and it's... decent! This was basically Canada's answer to the slasher flick and it definitely made its mark especially considering the buzz before it was even released when word got out that ten minutes of violence and gore had to be cut because it was too extreme--pah, there is no such word! Canadians have obviously always been known for being too extreme at everything so the editing was seen as a compliment, how could it not be? You can't pay for publicity like that! The story is pretty disturbing as it revolves around a group of miners in the 60's who are trapped in a cave-in after the foreman takes off to attend a Valentine's Day dance. One of the trapped miners ends up murdering and then eating his co-workers because when the walls are closing in and death seems imminent, well, cannibalism is always a fine answer. When the sole survivor is rescued he is committed to a mental asylum and vows that if the town ever again celebrates Valentine's Day, everyone will meet a grisly end (for me, that's the only way V-Day ever ends). Guess what happens next!? That's right, some of the younger cupids around town party it up like it's 1981, and they will pay for it with a pick ax to the head! 'My Bloody Valentine' falls into the typical slasher tropes fairly quickly, at least once the more modern group of teenagers are introduced and you can telegraph everything that will happen from a mile away but such is the genre, that's just the way it is. Some of the kills are good, you get a bit of nudity, and again it's Canadian so it has that going for it. It doesn't hold up too well though so that's why the remake was a welcome addition, and I even prefer it to the original!

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Briefcase creator takes on My Synthesized Life

Earlier this year we brought you writer/director Nate Golon's snazzy little short film Briefcase. It was bad the ass, and very much in line with some of the classic episodes of The Twilight Zone. Suffice to say, we dug it.

Not one to rest on his laurels, Nate has gone done and attacked another project -- a web series called My Synthesized Life. Which sounds kind of like that old Claire Danes TV series My So Called Life, but in name only.

My Synthesized Life is a comedy about a young man whose voice naturally synthesizes after he gets electrocuted by his radio during a rap song. That. Is. Original.

Still in production, the series stars Brent Bailey, Jonathan Schwartz, Katie Gill, Katie Seeley and special guest Katie Leclerc (pictured above) of ABC Family's Switched at Birth.

We've included a promotional video below, and will update you as the series draws closer to its premiere. And you can keep up with the show here on Twitter and Facebook.

Briefcase rocked, and I anticipate My Synthesized Life will be equally as special.



The Month of Horror Day 23: Phantasm 2

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! For this installment, Bellamy further explores the delusions of a disordered mind.

The Tall Man is back! I think it's safe to say that he belongs in the same company as other horror icons such as Freddy, Jason, or Michael Myers--there is just something inherently creepy about him! This sequel picks up several years after the original, the main character from that film has since been institutionalized because, well I mean come on, after the stuff he dealt with before how could he NOT be messed up? He begins having increasingly disturbing and vivid dreams though of a young woman in peril from horrors that he is all too familiar with; are they true psychic visions or is he simply growing more insane? He decides to go with his gut feeling and believes something is very wrong and that this woman exists and needs his help right away. He concludes that he's going to act normal for awhile and because of that he's granted release on good behavior (in a Shell Busey voice "It's just that easy, folks!). Upon release, he tracks down and finds the woman and it turns out that yes, she is in some serious danger by an enemy he is all too familiar with... The Tall Man! He's brought with him some all new evil minions and yes, his trusty and diabolical silver sphere of death--never leave home without it! The Phantasm series of films are so demented and only grow more bizarre as they go on and I think therein lies the charm! Writer-director Don Coscarelli is kind of a genius with some of the ideas he comes up with and then commits to film on a relatively low budget; imagine what this guy could do with a hundred million dollars! I love these movies, especially this sequel which, for me at least, may even trump the original. If you want twisted, disturbing, ridiculous, bloody, and something very manic then this is the series for you! 

Monday, October 22, 2012

Sushi fights back in Monster Roll

Now this is a flick we can get behind here in The Basement. Here's hoping some studio exec somewhere watches writer/director Dan Blank's short and gives him enough cash to get a full-length feature off the ground.

Monster Roll follows a group of sushi chefs in Los Angeles who must battle giant fish, squid, and crustaceans from the deep, all unleashed by rampant overfishing. What Blank does in six minutes is jaw-dropping cool, with humour, a great backstory and some awesome special effects.

But we're not gonna waste your time by talking about it. Watch and enjoy, then pay the film's official site a visit for more. Nicely done Dan!

Monster Roll from Dan Blank on Vimeo.

The Month of Horror Day 22: Tucker & Dale vs. Evil

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! Tonight, in celebration of his birthday, Bellamy oogles some Katrina Bowden. And we let him.

This movie is to slasher flicks what Shaun of the Dead is to zombie films, a loving send up that never once pokes fun of or cheaply parodies the genre, instead paying homage to it. If you like your horror movies with a healthy dose of comedy then this should be at the top of your "to see" list--this is especially accurate if you're a fan of movies like the Friday the 13th or Sleepaway Camp series. Tucker and Dale are two very normal, hard working, simple, Pabst Blue Ribbon swilling buddies. You believe right from the first moment you see them onscreen that they have been good friends for a very long time, there is a history that is evident not through any sort of backstory but through their awesome chemistry and interactions with each other. They recently bought a summer cabin together that they're excited to fix up so it can become their regular fishing retreat away from a society that perhaps they don't fit in with so well. Things begin to get sticky though when a group of stock young twentysomething characters, vacationing in the same area, incorrectly believe that Tucker and Dale are backwoods, inbred, hillbilly murderers, stalking and killing them in your typical horror movie order. It's a complete role reversal and that is where the bulk of the laughs come in, with plenty of winks and nods to past scenarios within the genre. I really love just how good of a pair Alan Tudyk and Tyler Labine are as the titular characters, the casting couldn't have been more spot on, not like there was any other choice as they were also a part of the writing process. Tucker & Dale vs Evil is only a couple years old but it is well on its way to becoming a cult horror classic--pop some corn, grab a PBR or four, and enjoy!

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Jason revisits Anacondas: The Hunt for the Blood Orchid

I've seen far worse movies than Anacondas: The Hunt for the Blood Orchid. But I've seen far better too. Still, for a Sunday night at the movies over a couple of brews, this was an OK way to kill 90 or so minutes.

A scientific expedition sets out for Borneo to seek a flower called the Blood Orchid, which could grant longer life. Meanwhile, they run afoul of snakes and each other.

This is a stand-alone sequel to Anaconda, with none of the original cast returning save the titular snake. Or, in this case, snakes. I hate snakes. A lot.

That said, there's not as much snake in this movie as I remembered. But the snake scenes do deliver, especially the mating ball sequence toward the end. Lots of snakes = plenty of heebie jeebies. 'Nuff said.

At risk of offending, this film was made at the height of the era when every film needed a smart-mouthed, urban black dude. I was really hoping the one in this film would get eaten. He's as annoying as fuck. He doesn't. Spoiler alert! But still. Shut up already.

KaDee Strickland is one of the hottest chicks on two legs. Ditto Salli Richardson-Whitfield. Thank you, ladies, for coming out. And Johnny Messner needs an action franchise. These three kept the movie going for me. And the snakes. I hate snakes, but they add an ick factor that works well here.

A decent outing, and a Bad from me. I didn't waste my time at all.

The Month of Horror Day 21: Shaun of the Dead

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! Today, Bellamy heads across the pond and discovers some of the British can be a little bitey.

That's right, about bloody time I got to this one! Viewed now as a modern classic (oxymoron?), Shaun of the Dead has become the new template that seemingly all horror-comedies are based on, and for good reason, it's easily the best in the last decade. More of a loving homage as opposed to a parody, writer-director Edgar Wright, as well as Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, obviously admire and respect this ghastly genre as it shows in just about every frame. George A. Romero would be proud, and I'm pretty sure that he was! Simon Pegg and Nick Frost star as the two main characters, lazy and unmotivated in life, shambling through life one pint glass or bag of "pig snacks" at a time until one evening the dead mysteriously begin to rise, and, yep, you've got it, ZOMBIES!!! How would two regular guys react in such a bizarre, surreal, and frightening situation? Well, once they actually notice that the world has gone to hell their survivalism kicks into high gear, they quickly gather some supplies and formulate a plan: get to the pub! Wait, pick up those who are closest to them first and THEN... get to the pub, much better. It's impossible to not at least grin throughout the majority of the runtime, the chemistry between the leads is honest and real, the laughs are genuine and earned, and there's real heart here too, y'know, before it gets torn out by zombies. I would also like to make note that the zombies in this movie are "slow-moving zombies" which is how it should be. In many recent horror movies of this type, "fast, running zombies" have been popular and although there are many who enjoy that, I'm a purist and believe that shambling and groaning is the only way to go! "KILL THE QUEEN!"
 

Give this trailer for the Hunter short film a watch

Or we swear your suffering will be legendary . . . Sorry, Hellraiser flashback. Sundays do that to me.

In all seriousness though, this is a great little trailer for a great little short film that we hope turns into a feature for director Ryan Shovey. He chatted the project up on the show last season and we peeped the short film a couple of months back. It's good stuff, and will make an awesome opening to the eventual movie.

The Hunter short has its world premiere at the Shockfest Film Festival in Hollywood on Nov. 17. Get your tickets by clicking on the link. And stick with Hunter-TheFilm.com to stay up to date on the project as it develops.

What's it all about? A group of college kids try to figure out who is killing their friends while unraveling an unresolved string of murders from twenty years prior and connecting them to the recent killings.

Now watch the trailer, and enjoy the rest of your Sunday.

Saturday, October 20, 2012

The Month of Horror Day 20: Frailty

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! Today, Bellamy wants to know if you have what it takes to kill a demon.

Now here is a horror movie where it's not so much about freaky things jumping out to scare you, or unstoppable killing machines murdering innocent people (well, not exactly) because this is the type of horror movie where horrible things happen with the intent to disturb you and make you feel uncomfortable. Directed by, and starring Bill Paxton, this is the story of a single father of two pre-teen boys in Texas who one day receives a vision from the heavens which instructs him to hunt down "demons" disguised as regular human beings. This once upstanding, and responsible father soon becomes obsessed with his mission and enlists his sons to aid him in his holy undertaking, stopping at nothing to rid their county of evil. Kind of creepy, right? Absolutely. What's disturbing about this film is that you're never certain whether or not this is all for real; did he really see a vision or is he going crazy? As his sanity slips and he begins dragging his sons down into a destructive environment of killing and kidnapping with him, your stomach ties itself into a knot, tighter and tighter as the movie goes on. Matthew McConaughey stars as one of the sons during the present, the less said about his story the better because I don't want to be entering spoiler territory too much, this movie is honestly too good to ruin if you haven't seen it yet! If you enjoy horror flicks with an underlying religious theme, which are some of the themes I find most disturbing, then this is one you will not want to miss, it'll shake you up!

Friday, October 19, 2012

Girl's Eye View: My least favourite Halloween movies

Allow me to quickly introduce myself: My name is Kara, and I live over at www.karaschatter.com . I have no experience in the movie industry, other than watching and appreciating them. I thought I would offer up my movie reviewing skills, or lack thereof, to The Basement to give readers a female perspective on movies, new, old, good, and bad. 

I’m not a fan of Halloween. No – let me rephrase that; I like Halloween – the candy, the cutesy little kids coming to my door and asking for said candy. I do NOT like the horror movies that come along with the “holiday.” I don’t like being scared. I don’t like having to lock myself in my house and being paranoid by every noise I hear in or outside our house. I especially don’t like going anywhere near cemeteries, clowns or voice distorters. I digress …

I’m pretty sure my distaste for the thrills and chills of horror started when I was 10 or 11. It was around Halloween, and the USA Network had a horror marathon on with various scary movies. My friend and I would try to act cool around her older brother and sister and watch the movies with them, but secretly, I was terrified out of my mind. These movies, while they may go down in history as great classics, are my least favourite Halloween movies.

One of them was A Nightmare on Elm Street. That face, those claws … I was afraid to go to sleep.
Another? Child’s Play. That red-headed, blue-eyed doll was the beginning of my fear of clowns, and I will never give my child a doll because of him. I’m pretty sure the only movie from the series, if it even counts, is the Bride of Chucky. It’s not even scary, really.

Finally – Scream. Ghostface to this day scares the piss out of me, but at least I know to never, EVER run upstairs while being chased, or that I will fit through a cat door in a garage door.

There’s another movie out there, but I don’t remember the name, that features the Mr. Sandman song during the credits. Because of that movie, this song gives me the heebie jeebies.

So, there you have it. Sorry, Basement fans. Scary movie fan I am not.

The Month of Horror Day 19: Maniac Cop

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! Tonight, Bellamy reminds you that you have the right to remain silent . . . forever.

This is a fun and somewhat demented series out of the late 80's and early 90's about a psychotic police officer striking fear into the public by randomly popping up like Jason Voorhees and murdering innocent people. The first movie is the best and also boasts the best cast which includes Bruce Campbell and Tom Atkins, two horror staples of their generation! If I'm going to be completely honest though it really isn't a great movie--the acting is mediocre, the story isn't exactly original, the kills are nothing to write home about, and the direction is pedestrian. That's not to say you can't find enjoyment out of it if you're a fan of the genre and the actors involved, that's why I picked it up in the first place! What this flick sort of reminds me of is a horror version of Magnum Force, the second film in the Dirty Harry franchise, where cops are the violent killers. Here, it's just the one maniac cop and there does seem to be something oddly supernatural about him; is he dead and out seeking vengeance against a system that failed him? It seems to almost go that way at one point and then sort of forgets that plot line entirely, leading up to a messy conclusion that sets up a sequel instead of building to anything satisfying. Again, if you like lousy horror flicks out of the 80's, Bruce Campbell, or Tom Atkins then sure, what the hell, give it a whirl. 

Jason and Shawn review Bait 3D and Compliance

Bait 3D

Jason: For a movie that's one of the silliest sounding ideas on paper, Bait 3D actually turned out to be more fun than I thought. How's that? Easy: sharks + eating people = awesome!

The cast did a good job here, and what a lovely assortment of ladies. Rrrowwr. There were times when this movie felt like a wet T-shirt contest. I could have done without all the melodrama between shark attacks, but beggars can't be choosers.

When the chips were down, Bait 3D was a shark-attack movie in a supermarket. People are eaten and, in one case where live bait is used, I was cheering out loud. Will I watch it again? Yes. This is perfect Friday night fare. A Good from me.

Shawn: Waaayyy better than I expected. Holy shit. Ha ha. I was thinking this would fall in the realm of the Megasharktocroctapuss-style movies, but it had decent acting, great effects, good sharks etc. It felt like a Final Destination movie, back when they had the money to do the kills really well. That I dug.

The pleasant surprise was this was exactly what I was looking for -- a mindless movie about a shark or two in a supermarket. Eating people. Yeah, ironic . . . ish. Dug it. Giving it a Good.

Compliance

Jason: And to think this was made by one of the creators of Homestar Runner!?!

Based on a true story? You bet. Some quick research revealed this shit actually happened. Seventy such incidents in 30 U.S. States during a single decade. Yup, there are that many sheeple out there willing do what some nameless voice on the phone tells them.

Compliance is more like a found-footage movie than most found-footage movies. This movie feels real. It's hard to watch at times and writer/director Craig Zobel doesn't even show you much . . . save for Dreama Walker's great boobs. And given what this gal went through, I feel dirty for saying that.

Great performances, especially from Walker, Ann Dowd and Pat Healy as the sicko on the phone. They keep this slow-paced movie afloat. It's an engrossing enough watch, especially once. And pretty brazen at times. But I wouldn't call it entertaining. A Bad from me.

Shawn: This is by far the stupidest movie I have ever seen in my entire life. I can't even fathom the concept and the ridiculousness that this was built on . . . real life! Maybe it's my background in security and surveillance, or maybe it's my common sense and humanity. Jesus Christ.

"Tell you what, I ain't doing shit until a uniformed officer arrives. I can't identify you over the phone, thank you for the information, now, fuck off!" That's all anyone had to say.

Getting passed the stupidity, the movie is very well constructed and well made. It's well acted and well directed. I can see this movie being loved or hated. Nothing in between. I hated this movie for its sheer stupidity. If this really is inspired by true events, I feel bad for the victims. I also feel bad for humanity. Seriously?

I'm not going to give it an Ugly though. It deserves better for how it was made. But holy fuck is it stupid. Bad.

Thursday, October 18, 2012

The Basement and Billy Trigger

Who would have thought that a podcast recorded in a basement would lead to this?

On Nov. 15 and 16 yours truly (this is Jason by the way) is headed to Montreal to get my ass kicked and killed in the upcoming action flick Billy Trigger. And I can't freakin' wait!

Better yet, the man killing me is Billy Trigger himself -- John Fallon. Yup, the same dude who was our honoured guest at Dark Fest 2012 and is the star of Dead Shadows. You might also know him as The Arrow of Arrow in the Head.

And I get to act opposite Fred Williamson as one of his evil henchmen. Pumped much? Yes!

What does this mean for The Basement? Our first official set visit bitches, that's what! I'll be reporting throughout my two days on set and provide the gory details of my untimely demise. It'll be awesome, promise!

Billy Trigger is the first full-length feature financed by popular movie fansite JoBlo.com. It reunites Fallon with director Christian Viel. The two collaborated on Recon 2020, Recon 2022: The Mezzo Incident, Recon 2023: The Gauda Prime Conspiracy and the action film Deaden in 2006. 

Oh yeah, the score is by my co-host and good buddy Shawn! He's gonna make my death sound good :)

What's it about? Irish mobster Billy Trigger has been the O’Brien family’s number one enforcer for three years now. And for good reason: he is cold, calculating and relentless and has never tackled a job he couldn’t finish. His life is trouble-free and solitary and consists mainly of three things: loose women, doing the work and cashing in. That’s until Pops (Williamson), the head of the organization, hands him his next assignment. Trigger is tasked to look over Pops’ young mistress, Catherine (Pia Metni), while he’s away. Of course, nothing goes as planned and Trigger ends up on the wrong side of Pops’ esteem . . . What happens when the best in the business is pitted against the business? Place your bets!

The Basement is thrilled to be a part Billy Trigger. Stick with us!

Bait 3D and Compliance

Sharks in a supermarket. Sound dumb? Yes. But that's the premise behind one of two movies The Basement Dwellers have on the chopping block tonight.

The other is a true story that should send any level-headed human being into a nut-punching frenzy.

Bait 3D is our first film of the night. And yes, this Australian entry does feature sharks in a supermarket. Now, this could be good or bad cheese, depending on how the proceedings are handled. We like shark movies in The Basement. Hell, Jason and Shawn endured a couple of Mega Shark flicks and Sharktopus just because. Is Bait 3D more Jaws than Deep Blue Sea? Stick with us!

Then comes Compliance, a true story about a crank caller who convinces a fast food restaurant manager to interrogate an innocent employee. The film has polarized audiences and generated shouting matches at festival screenings. How does the flick sit with Jason and Shawn? Tune in tonight and find out.

Which brings us to the third installment in The Month from Hell, where we feature interviews with the cast and crew of the upcoming horror flick 6 Degrees of Hell. It all culminates in our Halloween Spooktacular and an exclusive interview with star Corey Feldman. Tonight: we talk with co-stars Nicole Cinaglia and Brian Gallagher!

You know the drill: tune in at 10 p.m. PST at 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops and online at www.thex.ca. You can follow along to the mad tweets of Mike S of The Corner of Terror on Twitter! It's radio that's so good it doesn't even sound like radio.

A preview of tonight's attractions:

Bait 3D



Compliance


The Month of Horror Day 18: Splinter

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! And we hate to say it, but Bellamy gets a little prickly with tonight's installment.

Nope, it's not a biopic about our favourite Ninja Turtle mentor and sensei, as awesome as THAT would be, instead it's another low budget, independent fright fest! One more horror flick perhaps you haven't heard of? Just because it's small and hasn't been seen by many doesn't mean it isn't special in its own right, um, take that how ever you will. Moving on! What you have here is your typical set up of a loving couple heading off to enjoy some R&R in a remote location until (wait for it) something goes awry and bad things start happening! What sort of bad things? The lovebirds actually get carjacked by a guy and his drug addict girlfriend, screaming and yelling ensues and it's around that point a monster starts killing everyone. Whoa, wait, a monster? What about these addict criminals? Yeah, so, everyone eventually winds up at this gas station together and there's a monster comprised of spikes and splinters (hey-oh, title call out!) which begins impaling and devouring anyone unlucky enough to be hanging around. We're not really sure where this monster came from, what its origins are exactly, but what we do know is that it is one damn cool looking creature! I dig this movie; it's lean, it's mean, and it has the appropriate amount of chuckles thrown in for good measure. We never really see too much of the monster so it's never over exposed however I would have liked to have seen it a little more than we actually get. Minor nitpicks like that aside, if you're a fan of low budget creature features then I think you'll get a kick out of it!



Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Sam Raimi directing Poltergeist remake?

That's the word on the street anyway. Well, the Internet street. Which really isn't a street at all. More like a bunch of 0s and 1s and shit.

Anyway, Arrow in the Head, Hollywood Reporter, Bloody Disgusting, HorrorMovies.ca and a few other Internet/movie sites are reporting this is the case despite there being no official announcement. But Pulitzer Prize winning writer David Lindsay-Abaire, who will pen the screenplay, told reporter Scott Feinberg that Raimi is the man.

I guess that's about as on the nose as it gets.

We in The Basement take a wait-and-see approach. A Poltergeist redo has been talked about for almost a decade. As far as we're concerned, this is yet another rumour in the mill. And we don't really want the movie remade anyway.

The Month of Horror Day 17: Jack Brooks: Monster Slayer

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! Today, he's Matt Bellamy: Monster Slayer.

"Jack Brooks-who?" He's a monster slayer, it's what he does, and if he also just so happens to be either drunk, stoned (or both) at the same time then so be it! See, Jack is a normal guy, he's a pretty good plumber except that he has a disturbing past: his parents were eaten alive by monsters while on a family camping trip. Nope, this is not a metaphor for something else, his parents were literally dragged away bloody and screaming by demons while his young self looked on in terror, from that day vowing vengeance against such evil! This is a low budget, independent, Canadian film so right out of the gate you already know it's going to be fantastic -- it doesn't hurt that Freddy Kruger himself, Robert Englund, is in this, too! In a way, this flick is very reminiscent of some of the best corny horror films of the 80's; solid practical effects and makeup, a memorable musical score, buckets of blood, and one heck of an entertaining wise-cracking protagonist in Jack Brooks! It's a little seen gem but hopefully after reading this you'll seek it out and give it a shot, you'll have a lot of fun here! A beverage in hand certainly couldn't hurt either, it's that kind of movie, and that is definitely meant as a compliment.


Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Alfred Hitchcock wants you to turn off your cell phones

In what has to be one of the cleverest viral marketing ploys for a movie I've ever seen, we bring you this PSA from the Master of the Suspense himself -- Alfred Hitchcock. And he would like you to turn off your cell phones during the movie.

The great Anthony Hopkins brings the director to life here, as he does in the upcoming biopic Hitchcock, due out next month. This is awesome. Pure awesome. And very much in line with the way Hitchcock used to introduce his TV series and films.

Directed by Sacha Gervasi, Hitchcock stars Hopkins, Helen Mirren, Scarlett Johansson, and Jessica Biel.

Watch, share and enjoy.


The Month of Horror Day 16: Final Destination

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! For this entry, Bellamy looks death in the face, and laughs.

My favourite horror series over the last decade; it's not like they're particularly great movies but they really speak to my sick, twisted, and blood thirsty sensibilities. I actually love the concept: death a.k.a. the grim reaper seeking to right the wrongs when someone manages to escape or cheat their fate, sending them six feet under in some of the most ingenious and creative methods imaginable. You never see the villain, it's always just some sort of supernatural force that will stop at nothing to balance out the universe. The first in the series follows a group of high school students and a teacher that were supposed to perish on a flight to Paris however through a premonition by the main character, seeing the disaster minutes before it happens, they get themselves removed from the plane. Their fate was sealed, they were supposed to die but they didn't so now it's up to that hard working reaper to pick them all off one at a time, in increasingly brutal and horrific "accidents". This isn't my favourite of the franchise, that would belong to either the 2nd or 5th entries but this is the original after all, so that counts for something! This is also the most serious one as well, much more horror here before the sequel took things in a darkly comic, and wholly more satisfying direction. People watch these movies for the inventive kills and that is exactly why I like them, the writers must have a great time coming up with situational, absurd yet still somewhat realistic ways for the characters to die--isn't that the pedigree of some of our favourite horror flicks? I think that's a big yes!

Monday, October 15, 2012

The Evil Dead remake trailer

It's a camera copy from the New York Comic Con, but the folks over at Dailymotion have the first trailer for The Evil Dead remake . . . and it's clearly a red-band version.

You all know our hate for this film, but  . . . and this is a heavy but . . . this is some pretty intense shit right here. It might not be warranted, but the remake is certainly trying to be a rollercoaster ride of blood and terror. As far as this preview is concerned anyway.

The new spin on Evil Dead features Mia, a young woman struggling with sobriety, who heads to a remote cabin with her brother and a group of friends, where the discovery of a Book of the Dead leads to danger and horror. Fede Alvarez directs the film, which is due out April 12, 2013.

Now watch, and sound off, if you please!


stuff by Welgraum

Chloe Grace Moretz is 'just a girl' in this Carrie teaser

This era of film has produced more remakes than any other in history. I have no stats to back that up, but I stand by what I just said. Prove me wrong. I dare you.

And the remake train has finally rolled around to the film adaptation of bestselling author Stephen King's first book, Carrie. Be still my beating heart.

Today Yahoo premiered the teaser trailer for Carrie, which is directed by Kimberly Peirce -- who directed the Oscar nominated Boys Don't Cry back in 1999 -- and adapted by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa -- who is best know for . . . Glee?

OK, interesting choices for behind the camera. As is the casting of Hit Girl herself, Chloe Grace Moretz. This film has some talent, I will give it that. Maybe not the Glee part, but still.

At least the plot hasn't changed: a sheltered high school girl unleashes her newly developed telekinetic powers after she is pushed too far by her peers.

The new spin on Carrie hits theatres March 15, 2013.

The Month of Horror Day 15: Piranha 3D

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! Tonight, Bellamy satiates his lust for beasts, boobs and blood! And Christopher Lloyd too.

In the last decade or so, there really hasn't been a movie with as much blood on screen, in fact, this set a Guinness record for most practical blood ever used in a movie--now that is an honour! Directed by Alexandre Aja (High Tension, The Hills Have Eyes), I initially thought this would be a dark and serious movie like the other films in his resume however that could not be further from the truth, what you get here is something so off the wall that you can't help but laugh even as someone is getting their face chewed off. The bare-bones plot goes like this: prehistoric man-eating piranha are unleashed on a Nevada lake where it just so happens that thousands of tourists and horny teenagers are hanging out for spring break--a recipe for awesomeness! Elizabeth Shue (still looking hot) is the local sheriff trying to keep everything in order, and as the crap hits the fan she realizes she is obviously in over her head with people being killed all over the place, luckily, she has her trusty deputy (Ving Rhames) with her to kick some piranha ass! The best part about this movie is the massacre climax it builds up to where everything goes sideways and we see some serious blood, gore, and yes, boobies. Hats off to the KNB makeup team who really knocked this one out of the park, Greg Nicotero was clearly having fun here, applying some truly gruesome prosthetics and having a field day coming up with wicked and creative kills! Watch with friends, consume some silly juice, and laugh your butt off!




Sunday, October 14, 2012

The Month of Horror Day 14: The Blair Witch Project

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! Today, Bellamy revisits a movie the redefined the word nightmare for city boy campers worldwide.

Here it is, the one that started the "found-footage" horror genre! Still one of the strongest entries, this film really pioneered a new film-making technique and whether you're a fan of these types of movies or not, you have to admit they've paved the way for a generation of new and young directors. I have to imagine that initially, the idea of a group of people making a faux-documentary, grabbing relatively cheap hand-held cameras and running around in the woods, yelling and screaming, must have seemed silly but they did mostly pull it off. Looking back on The Blair With Project now, sure it's dated and pretty corny in some scenes but I actually really prefer the camera work here to some more recent attempts at the found footage film, it's still pretty shaky but not nearly as bad as it's gotten over the years! With the lights off and watching this alone it's still very creepy and frightening in parts, especially those last few minutes which still stand as some of the most chilling scenes in horror history -- I don't think that's an exaggeration either, makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up just thinking about it! I am really not a big fan of the found footage genre, just not my thing however this easily remains near the top of all the ones I've seen, it's pretty great.


Saturday, October 13, 2012

The Month of Horror Day 13: The Human Centipede 2 (Full Sequence)

Basement contributor Matt Bellamy has taken it upon himself to watch and review at least one horror movie a day for the month of October . . . because he's awesome that way! No comment on what Bellamy is discussing today.

*Collective gasp* "WHY WOULD YOU WILLINGLY WATCH THAT!?" Yeah, I'll give you that, a very valid question to which I really do not have a valid answer--all I'll say in my  defense is that I'm kind of a weirdo! Seriously though, over the last few years there have been no other horror movies (save for maybe the Paranormal Activity series) that have been discussed as much as 'The Human Centipede'. They are not good movies, they're terrible however the reason everyone talks about them is because the concept is so insane, ridiculous and disgusting that heads turn as soon as the film is mentioned. What that concept is exactly, well, I won't go into too much detail because I'll assume you already know however what I will say is that in the first movie it was three, and in the sequel it is now twelve! The main character/villain is a parking attendant who was obsessed with the first movie and decides to complete a centipede of his very own, even going so far as to kidnap one of the actors from the original and include her in the sequence, very meta! Turns out that he's actually not a very good surgeon (shocker), everything goes wrong, people suffer and so do you for watching it. It's gross, it's upsetting, and it's on Netflix if you have the stomach to give it a shot!