Tuesday, January 31, 2012

The Avengers Super Bowl spot

One of the best things about the Super Bowl (aside from the cheerleaders) are the commercials. And some of the best commercials are for the upcoming big summer movie blockbusters. For a football and movie geek like me, it's all win.

We've snagged the Super Bowl spot for the upcoming super hero epic The Avengers and, while it doesn't show a lot, it makes me even more psyched to see this movie. The concept of all these great characters played by all these great actors from a series of already decent movies in one fucking movie is just too awesome to comprehend. It's enough to give one an aneurysm.

There it goes!

Anyway, check out the spot below and geek out to the goodness. This movie has a lot riding on it, but I have a feeling it will deliver . . . I hope. Marvel, don't fail me now!!

Monday, January 30, 2012

Behold, the Dead Shadows teaser

Anyone who is a regular listener to our show knows we're fans and friends of John Fallon -- The Arrow of Arrow in the Head -- and his work, be they of the film critic or film maker variety.

Earlier this month we interviewed John about his upcoming projects, including his starring role in the French sci-fi/horror flick Dead Shadows (also covered here on the blog). Well, we've got a treat for you Basement Dwellers today: the teaser for said French flick . . . and fuck me I'm excited.

John promised an FX heavy horror film with lots of ass kicking. The teaser promises the same. Director David Cholewa's movie is still in post production, but Dead Shadows intends to have a presence at Cannes in May. We can only hope to catch more footage before then.

Here's the skinny on the plot: Dead Shadows tells the terrifying story about a young man, Chris (Fabian Wolfrom), whose parents were brutally killed 11 years ago, on the same day that Haley's Comet could be seen from earth.  Tonight, a new comet is going to appear and everyone in his building are getting ready for a party to celebrate the event. There's even an apocalypse theory going around. As the night falls, Chris starts to discover that people are acting strange - and it seems to somehow be connected to the comet. People are becoming disoriented and violent and it doesn't take long before they start mutating into something from beyond this world. In a fight for survival, Chris has to try to escape from his building with the help of another tenant (John Fallon) - but will they make it out alive?

Enough chatter. Give this bad boy a view! And, when you're done, check out the official Dead Shadows Facebook page!


Dead Shadows - Teaser from ADDICT FILMS on Vimeo.

Captain America: First Avenger. Micro Review.

This is Shawn from the basement, reporting live, from the....basement.

We have the technology, the story already exists, and all we need is the movie.

Let's face it:  All these superhero movies are fully capable of executing EVERYTHING the comics books etc, portrayed.  Right? Right?


Save for the excitement and fun of the comic's, cartoons etc.  This movie was slow, boring and when the action kicked in, it really wasn't enough to pull me back from the boredom.  Here's a clue.  The majority of the people, that will watch all these superhero movies, are already fans of said hero. 

We don't need umpteen million reboots and / or a drawn out re introductions of said characters.  They aren't that complex.  Make a movie from the prospective of the villain, then you can build up a huge story as to why he's bad.

The only thing that impressed me was the small Chris Evans.
There were some cool parts from this movie for sure, but in between them, there were a lot of boring parts.

Bad from this basement dweller.

Saturday, January 28, 2012

Jason and Shawn review: Red: Werewolf Hunter and Assassination Games

Red: Werewolf Hunter

Jason: A cardinal sin with film criticism is comparing the movie you are watching to the movie you hoped to see. Yet I committed this sin over and over again while watching Red: Werewolf Hunter. Everyone involved in this movie thought they were creating Shakespeare. This is a serious melodrama about people who just happen to be killing werewolves. I wanted a fun, campy, gory, violent exploitation movie with flippant humour, boobies and lots and lots attitude. I mean, this is called Red: Werewolf Hunter for Christ sake. Come on! I only got about 15 minutes of what I was looking for, so this rates a Bad for me.

Shawn: This was on SyFy channel? Really? Cool! If I were watching the SyFy channel this would have been a welcome surprise. I dug the whole concept and was fairly entertained. The effects are filled with plenty of cheese, but the werewolf design wasn't bad at all. Not Dog Soldiers, but OK for CGI. The lack of funding hurt what this movie could have been, but the makers were able to escape the low budget with a little creativity. All in all, this is a cheesy made-for-TV movie and I didn't mind it. It isn't Good, therefor it's Bad. But I didn't mind the ride.

Assassination Games

Jason: I'm going to admit right off the top that I was let down by Assassination Games, but only because I expected a balls-to-the wall action flick and didn't get it. Instead, I got a movie that tried very hard to have an intricate plot and a heart. A Van Damme movie with heart? Go figure! The man himself impressed me. Van Damme can fucking act. And he can still kick. He's the glue that holds this movie together. I wanted more ass kicking from him than I got here, but he still delivers. So does the limited amount of action that's in this movie. This is an enjoyable enough action film, but I wanted more. Assassination Games gets a Bad from me.

Shawn: I've been watching a lot of Jean-Claude Van Damme movies lately and have been surprised by his ability to actually act. That said, he's been typecast as a depressed, old, ass kicker because he does it so well. Who am I kidding? I loved Bloodsport, so acting isn't really high on my priority list. Van Damme rocks some one-liners in this movie. Some work, some don't. I particularly like "People choose how they will die by how they choose to live." All that said, this movie is awesome. I dug it a lot, even though the story is slightly cheesy. It was still brutal, satisfying and a definite Good from this Basement Dweller.

Friday, January 27, 2012

Red: Werewolf Hunter, Assassination Games and an interview with Josh Hammond

No, the guy above isn't actor/producer/screenwriter Josh Hammond, the talented dude who is Jason and Shawn's feature interview on this, the latest episode of Film Reviews From the Basement. The guy in the picture is the Muscles From Brussels and he's been known to do a little Van Dammage.

But Josh Hammond is no stranger to the big screen either, having drawn up a laundry list of film credits in features like The Tripper, where he starred alongside Jaime King and Lukas Haas, the Randy Quaid vehicle Black Cadillac and Scorcher with John Rhys Davies and Mark Dacascos. And, of course, there's the horror sequel and Basement fave Jeepers Creepers 2.  

Josh recently wrapped production on the new mob comedy Aqua Caliente, which he also co-wrote and produced. He's dropped by The Basement to talk about it, his films, and what it's like working with Jay of Jay and Silent Bob himself -- Jason Mews. It's a fun interview and Josh is a great guy. We guarantee this is a conversation no Basement Dweller wants to miss! And Josh is excited that he gets to swear on Canadian radio!

As for Jean-Claude Van Damme? His latest action flick, Assassination Games, is one of two flicks on the chopping block tonight. The other is a modern action/horror retelling of the Little Red Riding Hood story. Felicia Day, she of the Internet series The Guild, is Red: Werewolf Hunter. We know nothing about this movie, but everyone loves a red-headed hottie. Are these movies Damme good or just damned? Stick with us!

The podcast records live in The Basement tonight and you can follow the tweets at @basementreviews. It hits the Internet airwaves on Saturday.

And don't forget to tune in to 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops, Shaw Cable 106.1 and www.thex.ca at 3 p.m. PST today for the radio version of last week's show. It's a fun way to kill a Friday afternoon without killing anyone!

And now for a look at tonight's fine entertainment:

Red: Werewolf Hunter



Assassination Games

Thursday, January 26, 2012

Lock-Out trailer will kick your ass!

Another day, another trailer for a Guy Pearce movie? And he's playing a wisecracking sci-fi action hero? Hey, stranger things have happened!

And truth is stranger than fiction 'cause Pearce plays just that in the Luc Besson scripted Lock-Out, which we've got the trailer for below.

Pearce plays a convict who is offered his freedom if he saves the U.S. president's daughter from an orbital penal colony. Shades of Escape From New York/L.A.? Sure. Do we care? No. Why? Because Lock-Out looks great. And Maggie Grace stars as the president's daughter.

I've always dug Pearce. He's a good actor and capable of playing anything. Here he gets to cut loose and kick some ass. The movie looks like it does the same. Bring it!

But why try and explain when you can watch? Push play, sound off and check out Lock-Out when it lands in theatres April 20.


Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Revenge backfires in Seeking Justice

We're by no means huge Nicolas Cage fans here in The Basement. I dig his 1990s action flicks and a handful of his other films. Shawn resents him for being cast as Superman at one point in his career.

But neither of us can deny that Anchor Bay releases some damn fine genre films. So we're probably going to give Cage's latest movie, Seeking Justice, a view whence it comes out. Why? Well, for one, his co-stars are Guy Pearce, who is no acting slouch, and hottie January Jones. As for the plot? Read on:

Cage stars as Will Gerard, a man whose wife is violently assaulted by a criminal. Stricken with anger, Gerard is approached by Simon, who claims to represent a group of  concerned citizens who enact vigilante justice against unpunished offenders roaming the city. Gerard accepts Simon’s offer of vengeance, but the price is high: Simon wants a dirty deed in exchange for a dirty deed.

Sure, the movie was made more than three years ago -- never a good sign -- but the preview promises some decent action. We'll know more when Seeking Justice hits theatres March 16. Until then, give the trailer a watch and share your thoughts. Does it look Good, Bad or Ugly?

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Lily Collins says no to Evil Dead remake

So say our friends over at JoBlo.com, who picked up the news care of Variety. Turns out Collins, who was tapped to play the female version of Ash in the redo, had a scheduling conflict with another movie.

The question is: what next? Our answer is ditch the project altogether. Or push the film back, rewrite the Ash character back to a male lead, and hire Bruce Campbell. Anything less than The Chin as the lead in an Evil Dead movie is just plain fucking stupid.

For those who aren't in the know, Campbell and Same Raimi are producing this new version, which centers on five friends (David, Natalie, Eric, Olivia, and Mia) holed up at a remote cabin where they discover a Book of the Dead. A demonic force is unleashed and possesses each until only one is left to fight for survival. Mia is the Ash character, and she's a recovering drug addict.

The film shoots in New Zealand in March and FilmDistrict plans to release it in theatres on April 12, 2013.

Monday, January 23, 2012

The Twisted Twins are in The Basement

Watching movies might by Shawn and I's passion, but a major highlight of doing this show is the cool people we've met along the way. And Vancouver's Jen and Sylvia Soska are certainly among the coolest.

We sat down with the Twisted Twins earlier today to talk about their indie-smash Dead Hooker in a Trunk and get a taste of their much anticipated follow up, American Mary, due out this year. No strangers to show business, Jen and Sylvia also discuss the dangers of film school, the joys of low-budget movie making, and how doing things their way was a recipe for success.

The interview is certainly one of the most high energy, insightful and downright radcore times we've had in The Basement so far. You'll be able to hear the 20ish-minute conversation on our Feb. 18 podcast along with our thoughts on Dead Hooker in a Trunk. The episode airs on The X Feb. 24.

Now prepare for a taste of Jen and Sylvia Soska's Dead Hooker in a Trunk:

Saturday, January 21, 2012

Jason and Shawn review: The Innkeepers and The Amityville Haunting

The Innkeepers

Shawn: The Innkeepers is a long, drawn out movie with a decent payoff in the end. Not the best, but decent. I would not be a ghost hunter if I was afraid of everything and used a huffer for asthma. And I would not comb my hair like Tintin if I wanted to be taken seriously by anyone on earth. I also wouldn't have recognized the old lady as the hot chick from Top Gun if Jay hadn't of said anything. There is some creepy stuff in parts though and it's better than some scary movies I've seen. I wouldn't own it or watch it again, so it's a Bad.

Jason: If you're in the mood for a deliberately paced, slow-burn ghost story then this is the movie for you. No gore or rapid-fire editing here, just old-school film making and scares. Writer/director Ti West does a great job setting things up and paying them off later, as long as you're paying attention. I really liked the characters in this movie. Claire, Luke, Leanne. They are all well written and well cast. The movie works because we get to know and like them. This isn't a film for everyone, but those who like subtle horror will like it a lot. I will watch this again. A Good from me!

The Amityville Haunting

Shawn: I might buy the Amityville house if I knew what happened in it, but I wouldn't live there. And I would not make my wife live there if she was opposed to it. When my kids started to act weird -- bye bye house! These are the worst good parents I've ever seen. In fact, this movie sucks all kinds of goat ass. I've seen excellent found-footage movies and this is erasing them from my memory like some kind of infectious disease. There are some goosebumply moments, but shorts shitting this is not. Bad.

Jason: I was going to give this latest Asylum offering an Ugly for setting a movie in the infamous Amityville house without actually bothering to make the house they used look anything like it. But The Asylum profits off of name brands, so you can't really fault them for being them. And there are boobies and blood within the first five minutes, so at least they tried. But the film isn't scary and the scene where the dad has a nervous breakdown is more comical than powerful. And the bits where the camera blacked out got on my nerve. A lot. This is a Bad movie without a doubt, but what else can we expect from The Asylum?

Friday, January 20, 2012

The Innkeepers and The Amityville Haunting

Few horror films can chill like a good ghost story. Maybe it's the fear of the unknown. Maybe it's the thought of something watching you that you can't see. Or maybe a good ghost story plays on the fear that our home might be haunted too. There are enough tales floating around out there of allegedly true hauntings, so why wouldn't a ghost haunt our house?

Both films on the chopping block tonight take place in real locations with a spooky past. One famous, one not so much. The first movie Jason and Shawn tackle, The Innkeepers, takes place at the Yankee Peddler Inn in Torrington, CT. The second, The Amityville Haunting, should need no explanation.

Let it be known, The Innkeepers is directed by acclaimed horror director Ti West, who helmed The House of the Devil and Cabin Fever 2. He's a restrained filmmaker who knows how to craft a slow-burn scare.

The Amityville Haunting is yet another found-footage thriller care of those fine craftsmen of crap cinema, The Asylum. Which one of these films fares better by Basement standards? Stick with us!

The Basement Dwellers will also be spinning a new video game review care of Game Time With Greg and playing four new songs for your listening pleasure. You can follow the live tweets at @basementreviews and catch the podcast on Sunday!

And don't forget to tune in to 92.5FM CFBX Kamloops, Shaw Cable 106.1 and www.thex.ca at 9 p.m. PST tonight for the radio version of last week's show. It's worth staying in late for on a  Friday night!

A look at tonight's filmed entertainment:

The Innkeepers



The Amityville Haunting

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Reconnect with Resident Evil

To tell the truth, I'm surprised at how popular these Resident Evil movies are. Only one of them, Extinction, is really any good. The rest are passable enough time killers made only mildly interesting by the presence of the Milla Jovovich -- one of the few convincing action heroines on the planet.

What Sony has done right with all the films, which will number five by the time Resident Evil: Retribution hits theatres this fall, is the marketing. These movies are sold really well, and that trend continues with the latest offering.

I like the way this trailer opens, I really do. It harkens back to the first film, which teased us with a commercial and then hit us with the goods. The last bit of footage makes Retribution look like any other Resident Evil movie, but if you dig them, that's why you're gonna go see it.

Joining Jovovich for Resident Evil: Retribution are Sienna Guillory (the pic above), Colin Salmon, Shawn Roberts, Michelle Rodriguez, Johann Urb, Oded Fehr, Kevin Durand and Li Bingbing (No shit!?! Bingbing!?!)

The film hits theatres in the Three-Extra-Dollars format Sept 14.


Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I Am Bruce Lee. I wish!

If Shawn doesn't demand we review this documentary on the show I'm going to throat punch an infant. Not MY infant mind you, but a mutant zombie one for sure.

The legendary martial artist died way too young, depriving the world of his talent, philosophies, and wicked cool movies. Basement Dwellers will remember that Enter the Dragon was Shawn's pick for our first Movies You Need To See Before You Die episode, and I cannot disagree. No one rocked it like Bruce Lee.

Along comes this documentary made with the co-operation of Lee's daughter, Shannon Lee, and wife, Linda Lee Cadwell. The focus of the film is on Lee (duh) and those who have been influenced by his legacy and beliefs. The project also promises to show us rare footage and photographs of the Father of Martial Arts.

Sign me up! I love a good doc, and who isn't hungry for a little more of Bruce Lee? The film hits theatres in limited release Feb. 9.

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Is George Lucas done?

Holy crap! Did our very own George Lucas Death Clock scare the Dark Lord of the Sith into retirement? Has The Basement prevailed and rid the world of the future ruination of the Indian Jones and Star Wars franchises?

Check this out: “I’m retiring. I’m moving away from the business, from the company, from all this kind of stuff.”

That's what Lucas to The New York Times in an interview published online Tuesday morning. Sounds pretty promising doesn't it? Well, not really.

Lucas goes on to say he's still leaving room for a possible fifth installment in the Indiana Jones franchise and he might go back to his THX 1138 roots and make experimental movies that would only be shown in art houses. You know, because everyone wants him to do that. 

Still, there's hope that Lucas might finally be done tinkering with at least one of his popular franchises, which is fine by me. His new movie Red Tails hits theatres on Friday. And I don't care if I ever see it.

Monday, January 16, 2012

The first five minutes of Haywire

The new action movie starring MMA star Gina Carano doesn't hit theatres until next week, but we've scored the first five minutes of the Steven Soderbergh action flick.

And shit like this makes me smile in a big way. I dig action movies. And I dig it when a female can kick ass in a convincing way. Given Carano's street cred and what's on display here, I'm pretty sure she's got a long career ahead of her as an action star.

This is also a great way to open a movie. Some mystery. Some promise of things to come. And some ass kicking. All from an Oscar winning director. Sign me up!

Haywire co-stars Michael Douglas, Antonio Bandaras, Bill Paxton, Ewan McGregor, and Michael Fassbender. It hits theatres Jan. 20

Anyway, enough chit chat. Now let Carano pleasure your eye holes.

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Jason and Shawn review: A Lonely Place To Die and 11-11-11

A Lonely Place To Die

Jason: Not the movie I expected but that's not a bad thing. This is actually one of the better sit downs I've had in some time. The mountain climbing sequences are intense and well shot. Makes you feel like you're on the mountain. Actually, all the action scenes are well done. I like the way this flick was put together. There's also one of the best “Oh shit” moments at the 32-minute mark. Actually put my hands up to my face in shock. The bad guys were two of the most vicious bastards I've ever seen. But they were well written and played. Actually, the whole cast did good. Still, I have no desire to see it again. I think this will have to rate a Bad because of that. But see it!


Shawn: I thought this was going to just be an exciting mountain climbing movie. Sarcasm included. Haha. But it turned out better than I thought. The film is pretty slow to start but, once it got rolling, I started to enjoy it a bit more. I like that I legitimately grew attached to the characters; more so than to the little girl they rescue. And when they died -- and they do die -- I felt the loss. Fair enough. There's some really good scenes in this movie, some really exciting scenes. Some "oh shit" scenes. I was almost going to give this a Good but . . . no. I won't watch it again. It's cool stuff, but I have to give it a Bad.

11-11-11

Jason: Ha ha! Fuck you, Asylum. Fuck you! Duped by your cheap knockoff ways. We thought this was Darren Lynn Bousman's much ballyhooed 11-11-11, but it's not. It's one of your inglorious mockbusters. This is more funny than scary. When the creepy cat lady next door comes out of the shed in the back yard, I laughed. When the hot satanist nanny kicked the crap of the hot, not-satanist nanny, I laughed. When the . . . ah, forget it. I laughed a lot. This movie is bad. Fuck it. It's so bad. No, wait. It's Ugly.


Shawn: I was pretty excited to watch this movie because Jay was exciting to watch this movie. Turns out it wasn't the movie he was excited about and we watched the wrong one. Still, it's an interesting movie, especially given that it's an Asylum movie. It was pretty good for what it was. Most of its success hangs on the dad, who was really well played. His acting holds the movie together. There are some unsatisfying deaths, but the kid does die at the end and we don't usually see that. This gets a Bad from me, but Asylum . . . nicely done.

Saturday, January 14, 2012

Micro Review: Shark Night 3D

A better, more appealing, and accurate title would be Sara Paxton In A Bikini, as she and said bikini are the only reasons to watch this movie. There's few sharks, even fewer shark attacks, and 75 per cent of the film takes place during the day. And these are PG-13 shark attacks done without the skill a master like Spielberg would bring to the table. If I'm watching a shark movie, I want shark attacks and lots of them. And they better be cool! Still, we do get Sara Paxton in a bikini, and she and the article of clothing save this from an Ugly. But it's still Bad.

Friday, January 13, 2012

A Lonely Place To Die and 11-11-11

Times they are a changin' in The Basement! And it has nothing to do with the lovely lady above realizing any Basement Dwellers even exist.

Regular listeners to the radio show and podcast are probably wondering what the deuce happened last week (Jan. 6). The radio show had a steady, loud hum through it and the podcast, well, there was no podcast per say. The entire hour was lost save for the recorded interview with John "The Arrow" Fallon.

The problem was a technical issue at The X that, while annoying to radio listeners, rendered the podcast inaudible. We're told the issue has been corrected but, because the podcast is a huge part of Film Reviews From the Basement, the crew isn't taking any chances with future episodes.

Starting tonight the show will be recorded live in The Basement. That means the full hour will run uninterrupted just as it has on the air every Friday night at The X with two reviews, the movie news, music and the live tweets of Mike S over at @basementreviews. And, of course, the lively banter of Jason and Shawn.

The hour will be podcast on Sunday and air the following Friday on 92.5FM CFBX Kamlooops at 9 p.m. PST. You can also find it at the same Bat Time on Shaw Cable 106.1 and www.thex.ca. We encourage our radio fans to tune in then.

The Basement believes this is the best way to keep the integrity of the podcast, which has been the show's calling card since the beginning. And it allows the radio show to continue as well.

Tonight Jason and Shawn will recap their lost reviews of Grave Encounters and Julia's Eyes plus tackle the mountain climbing thriller A Lonely Place To Die starring Melissa George (above) and The Asylum knockoff 11-11-11. Plus our thoughts on the worst movie kills of all time.

Don't get 11-11-11 confused with Darren Lynn Bousman's 11-11-11, because that's what Jason did and that's how the flick ended up on the schedule for tonight's hour of entertainment.

We hope Basement fans appreciate the new arrangement, and thanks to Steve and Brant for being so accommodating. As always, stick with us!

And now for a look at tonight's attractions:

A Lonely Place To Die



11-11-11

Thursday, January 12, 2012

Retro Review: My Bloody Valentine (1981)

Given that My Bloody Valentine is a cheap Halloween cash-in, this Canadian slasher movie hasn't aged too badly in its 31 years. Yes, it's poorly written and the acting borderlines on camp, but the kills are decent enough and the film is technically superior. Interestingly enough, the film had nine minutes cut upon initial release by the MPAA because of violence and gore. I'd be like to see that cut, because the theatrical release is no better or worse than the average slasher flick of the era. Not bad, but it was ripe to be remade. And My Bloody Valentine 3D (2009) is a lot more fun. Still, I'm glad I saw it. A Bad for me.

Micro Review: Rise Of The Planet of the Apes

 
Shawn from Film Reviews From The Basement, reporting live, from...the...er..basement.

After much internal debate in regards to actually taking in this movie, it was legitimately a Christmas gift, so I had to watch it. The actual debate being my absolute hate on for James Franco. 

After watching this movie, I don't think that I could picture another actor in his place.  He really did a great job. Enough, in fact, to remove a lot of hate.

This movie was built around one moment in the pre-history of all the Planet of the Apes movies.  The moment an ape spoke.

Can't tell you how much I enjoyed this movie, the build up, the moment...I've already watched it a few times.  I give it a good, without question. If you liked the original ones, you'll dig this one a lot too.

Briana Evigan joins The Devil's Carnival

Any excuse to post a pic of the lovely Briana Evigan is a good excuse in my book. And hey, it's horror-related news, so why the deuce not!?!

Evigan, the hottie who starred in Burning Bright and Sorority Row, has signed on to Darren Lynn Bousman's 45-minute experimental short film The Devil's Carnival. The latest genre offering from Bousman, who helmed several of the Saw movies plus Mother's Day, The Barrens, the non-Asylum 11-11-11 and Repo: The Genetic (spits) Opera.

She joins Taryn Manning and Bill Moseley in the short, which is a quasi musical about a carnival run by the devil. The musical aspect turns me right off, but with Evigan in it . . . Yeah. I might just give it a shot. And it's only 45 minutes. Right?

Not much more is known about the project, but we'll try and keep you Basementites in the loop.

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

It's a 2-Headed Shark Attack

Because, really, how else can you describe a movie called 2-Headed Shark Attack? It's a movie. About a two-headed shark. And the two-headed shark attacks people. You don't get any more on the nose than that.

The film comes care of those wacky purveyors of mockbuster entertainment -- The Asylum. Yup, the same Asylum that made the Mega Shark movies and the knockoff 11-11-11, which we review on Friday.

2-Headed Shark Attack stars Carmen Electra (pic) and is directed by Christopher Douglas-Olen Ray from a story by Edward DeRuiter a screenplay by H. Perry Horton.

Does the plot matter? Fuck no! But here it is in a nutshell: Survivors escape to a deserted atoll after a Semester at Sea ship is sunk by a mutated two-headed shark. But when the atoll starts flooding, no one is safe from the double jaws of the monster.

We in The Basement have a soft spot for movies like this, Anthony Michael Bosa especially. You know we'll see it, and you know we'll let you know whether or not it's Good, Bad or Ugly when we do.

Here's some footage from a special effects test to tide you over until the film hits DVD/Blu-Ray later this month:

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

A clip from Chronicle

The super hero and found-footage genres have been getting pretty stale lately, but perhaps by putting them together one plus one will equal three.

That's what the makers of the upcoming super hero flick Chronicle appear to be shooting for. The story involves three high school students who make a startling discovery that leaves them with strange powers. But things soon spiral out of control when the trio start using these powers to their advantage.

The clip below shows the boys learning how to use their powers. It's a short clip, but I have to admit it's pretty darn groovy. I've watched the feature trailer for the film as well and dig what I see. At some point I intend to watch Chronicle, which hits theatres Feb. 3. Josh Trank directs from a script by Max Landis.

Check out the clip and let us know if you intend to give Chronicle a view.

Monday, January 9, 2012

Hansel and Gretel to hunt witches next year

Yup, there's a movie featuring classic children's characters who grow up to be witch hunters. And it stars The Hurt Locker's Jeremy Renner and Quantum of Solace's Gemma Arterton. And it's directed by the guy who made Basement fave Dead Snow.

Pretty good pedigree, yes? Indeed.

Hansel and Gretel: Witch Hunters was actually due out March 2, a few scant months down the road with nary a trailer to judge the movie by in sight. But today Paramount Pictures announced it was pushing the action/horror/comedy back until Jan. 11, 2013.

Usually a schedule shift means bad scoobies for the movie in question. But buzz on Hansel and Gretel has been quite good and Renner is a star in the making. One can speculate Paramount wants to take advantage of his upcoming turns in The Avengers and The Bourne Movie Without Matt Damon to increase his popularity.

Tommy Wirkola's film takes place 15 years after the siblings' troubling gingerbread house encounter and finds them as bounty hunters who track and kill witches around the globe.

Sounds like fun if you ask me!

A killer trip to the bank in ATM

I think this trailer for the new slasher movie ATM is proof filmmakers are running out of ideas.

For one, I'm not sure how they can milk the formula of three people trapped at an automated teller machine by a killer interesting for 90 minutes. Plus, as a character says in the preview below, there's three of them and only one killer. Just rush the fucker, get it over with, and go grab a beer or something.

But discounting a movie based on a trailer is almost as bad as getting too hyped up for one because of the same. And the film does star Alice Eve who is, well, hot. So I'm half way there already.

David Brooks directs from a script by Chris Sparling, who penned the incredible Buried. That just increased my interest level. Hopefully he kept the plot holes to a minimum and we don't spend the entire running time watching people stand around looking scared.

No word yet on when this hits theatres, but we'll keep you posted.

Sunday, January 8, 2012

Jason and Shawn review: Grave Encounters and Julia's Eyes

Grave Encounters

Jason: A personal experience similar to what transpires in this movie might make me connect with it more but regardless, this is creepy, creepy stuff. Even when things go off the rails and into the realm of the impossible, it's still believable. No monsters. No demons. Just stuff one would possibly encounter in a haunted place. This kept the movie grounded and, ultimately, scary. Nothing here is overdone. It's all slow burn. It works for the most part. Maybe things take a little too long to get going, but the payoff is there. I own this movie. I've watched it twice. I will see it again. A Good!


Shawn: This movie looks FAR too familiar for both Jay and I.  This is another case where our idea got made into a real movie. Except we did this. Did. It. Along with a psychic, skeptic and camera dude. There is the mother of all jump scares here. I don't usually like jump scares, but this one works, probably because the rest of the movie is scary too. What more can I say? Shorts. Shitting. Entertainment. Good.

Julia's Eyes

Jason: How can something that starts off so strongly end so badly? See the universe in her eyes? Lame! That said, there's a lot to like here. Some really, really good scares and suspense. Foot chase at the clinic for the blind? Loved it! Final showdown lit with only a camera flash? Very cool. A couple very good killer-in-the-house sequences. The movie is scary and suspenseful, it's got Belen Rueda – good actress, nice boobs – but it's too long and too Hollywood for my liking. I didn't mind watching it once, but it's a Bad for me.


Shawn: Man, blind people, my heart goes out to you. This movie made me feel very claustrophobic in the eye section…wow. …and the creepy eyes that some blind people have always scare the shit out of me. You know, the zombie, dead eyes. Not the wondering weird ones. Anyway, this movie had a lot of excellent elements. I really liked it, but won’t ever need to watch it again. There were too many boring times. I was let down as I thought it was going to be supernatural related. AND no boobies from the main actress, but saw other unknown characters' boobies. Like I said, not loveable. Definitely suspenseful. But still a Bad for dragging on and on.

Saturday, January 7, 2012

Micro Review: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011)

I had a hard time enjoying David Fincher's take on The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and it has nothing to do with the quality of the movie. In some ways this is Fincher's best work since Se7en and in many aspects it's a far superior, more faithful adaptation of the Stieg Larsson novel than the Swedish film. If you've not read the book or seen that film, you will probably really dig this version. If, like me, you've enjoyed both, you might find few surprises to warrant sitting through the film's two hour and 38 minute running time. I like the performances and love Fincher's command of the material, but was kept at arm's length by the movie as a whole. This has to be a Bad from this Basement Dweller.

Friday, January 6, 2012

The Arrow returns, Grave Encounters and Julia's Eyes

Welcome to 2012. If you're a Mayan, this is the year the world ends. If not, it's another 12 months filled with promise, potential and, as is the case in The Basement: movies. Lots of 'em. Some Good, others Bad and a handful downright Ugly.

And what better way to kick off the second half of the season then by having John Fallon -- The Arrow himself -- back in The Basement. John was the first guest Jason and Shawn interviewed on the show and the head honcho of Arrow in the Head has been a busy man since. Tonight, John talks about his role in the upcoming French horror flick Dead Shadows and the plethora of other projects he's got on the go during a feature interview . . . one that must not be missed!

But that's not all. Oh no. This is a film review show, so there's a couple of movies the boys have lined up for the chopping block. First up is the found-footage frightfest Grave Encounters from the aptly named Vicious Brothers. The film earned high praise during a limited theatrical run and the preview (see below) looks creepy as fuck. Is Grave Encounters shorts shitting entertainment? Stick with us!

Then it's the Spanish thriller Julia's Eyes care of that master of the macabre, Guillermo del Toro. This tale of a woman seeking her sister's killer while losing her sight certainly sounds promising. But you'll have to tune in tonight at 10 p.m. PST to find out if it sits well with the Basement Dwellers.

If you're in the Kamloops area you need to tune that dial to 92.5FM CFBX or Shaw Cable 106.1. For everyone else, log on to www.thex.ca and get ready for an hour of radio that must be heard to be believed!

And for our Twitter followers, join Mike S as he tweets along to our show at @basementreviews. The man knows his tweeting. Trust us on that!

And now for a look at our feature presentations:

Grave Encounters



Julia's Eyes

Thursday, January 5, 2012

Real fear in real time with Silent House

I would love to get my hands on the original Uruguayan horror film Silent House, but we in The Basement are content to share the trailer for the U.S. remake until then.

The film, which plays out in real time, follows a young woman as her panic turns into real terror when she's trapped inside her family's crumbling lake house with an unknown entity. Elizabeth Olsen stars in the film hot off her success in the indie flick Martha Marcy May Marlene, which is supposed to be quite brilliant.

This is a killer premise and the real-time gimmick is perfect for the horror genre. The original Silent House is considered a minor classic and the trailer for the U.S. version is quite effective.

But we'll let you be the judge of that. Press play and sound off. The film hits theatres March 9.


Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Ash cast in Evil Dead remake

And, as previously reported here in The Basement, he is a she this time around. Yup. Ash, or should we say Mia, is chick.

We love chicks in The Basement, but us Basement Dwellers aren't sold on this Evil Dead redo at all. Nope. Not one bit. Why? Mia is a drug addict. And she's at the cabin for detox. And she's not Bruce Campbell, which renders the existence of another Evil Dead movie pointless.

In this version, the story centers on five friends (David, Natalie, Eric, Olivia, and Mia) holed up at a remote cabin where they discover a Book of the Dead. A demonic force is unleashed and possesses each until only one is left to fight for survival. 

Oh, Mia will be played by Lily Collins (above), who also starred in The Blind Side (didn't see it), Priest (sucked) and Mirror, Mirror (don't intend to see it). The film shoots in New Zealand in March and FilmDistrict plans to release it in theatres on April 12, 2013. 

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

The dead speak in spooky clip from The Innkeepers

Ti West's latest horror offering is available on VOD right now and hits theatres Feb. 3. We in The Basement have heard many a good thing about this ghost story and are jonesing to see it ourselves. Until then, we must make do with this creepy clip care of Yahoo Movies.

Short, sweet and hinting at the atmospheric chills to come, the clip shows stars Sara Paxton and Pat Healy as they attempt to converse with one of the spirits haunting the Yankee Pedlar Inn. Are they successful? You'll have to watch.

I know. We're bastards.

As for the film's official synopsis? Read on: "After over one hundred years of service, The Yankee Pedlar Inn is shutting its doors for good. The last remaining employees --Claire (Paxton) and Luke (Healy)—are determined to uncover proof of what many believe to be one of New England's most haunted hotels. As the Inn’s final days draw near, odd guests check in as the pair of minimum wage “ghost hunters” begin to experience strange and alarming events that may ultimately cause them to be mere footnotes in the hotel’s long unexplained history"

Enjoy the clip, and share your thoughts below!


Monday, January 2, 2012

Paranormal Activity 4 will be made!

Like, duh! When the third installment in the Paranormal Activity series outgrossed the second and made almost as much as the first, it was only a matter of time before Paramount announced a fourth.

And, if you doubt my words, check out the following blurb from a Paramount Pictures press release:

“In 2012, Paramount’s release slate highlights include “World War Z,” a zombie thriller starring Brad Pitt and directed by Marc Forster, “G.I. Joe: Retaliation,” the next installment in the global franchise starring Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and Channing Tatum, a new chapter in the “Paranormal Activity” franchise, and “The Dictator,” starring Sacha Baron Cohen and directed by Larry Charles, the team behind “Borat.”

The question that must now be asked is what will the latest entry be about? Two and three were prequels. Where will the story go from here? Another prequel? An official sequel? Something different altogether? And, most importantly, will Katie Featherstone (pic) be back? Thanks for not including THOSE details in the press release, jerkoffs!!

To be honest, does it really matter? No. Shawn and I have yet to see Paranormal Activity 3. It's supposed to be good. But how much life can there be in this found-footage franchise? I guess we'll learn that answer when the grosses die off.

Until then, check back here for more as the project develops. We anticipate Paranormal Activity 4 will be in theatres for Halloween

Sunday, January 1, 2012

Micro Review: The Expendables Extended Cut

How do you improve on awesome? By giving us more. More action, more character development, more humour and more heart. Scenes are extended, scenes are changed, but everything you loved about the original cut -- which was just fine thank you -- is still here. This is badass entertainment. Stallone knows how to shoot an action scene and get everything he can from his actors. And that scene with Sly, Willis and Schwarzenegger? Still puts a big smile on this movie geeks face. Also good for film nerds is the lengthy documentary Inferno. It shows Sly at work and gives some great insights into the process behind making an old school action flick like this. Worth the purchase and one to watch again and again. A Good from me on this!